DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “imaging element” and “driving mechanism” in claims 1-3. “first imaging unit”, “second imaging unit”, “imaging element”, “driving mechanism” in claims 4-7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated Kafuman Pub. No.: US 20150124336 (Hereinafter “Kafuman”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kafuman discloses an imaging device configured to capture an image of an object (see fig.3B), the imaging device comprising:
an imaging element (see fig.10A: Imaging Target),
an imaging optical system (see fig.6B and paragraph [0076]:spherical mirror, e.g. primary mirror M1 and secondary mirror M2); and
a driving mechanism configured to change positions of the imaging element and a part of the imaging optical system (see paragraph [0073]: The control system (54) can be configured to mechanically control movement of internal field optics (55) and (57) or other components to provide various functions such as zoom or focus control. In addition, see paragraph [0076]), wherein
the imaging optical system includes an off-axis parabolic mirror (see figs. 2A-2D, 3A-3B: off-axis mirror (20)), and
the driving mechanism is configured to change the positions of the imaging element and the part of the imaging optical system so as to change an imaging direction of the imaging device while maintaining a position of a focal point of the off-axis parabolic mirror (see paragraph [0075]: a back focus adjustment for moving the imager (64) back and forth to a position between or at end points 64A and 64B to vary the distance from a last optical element (e.g., M2) from the imager focal plane so as to accommodate focusing at different image distances as well as for the requirements of the different imager sizes and camera mount sizes. NOTE, intermediate "off axis" image that can be redirected by secondary mirror M2 to the imager (64) (e.g., focal plane array)).
Regarding Claim 2, Kafuman discloses the imaging device as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kafuman further discloses wherein the imaging optical system further includes an optical member configured to guide, to the imaging element, light coming from the object and reflecting on the off-axis parabolic mirror a position of the off-axis parabolic mirror is fixed (see paragraphs [0073] and [0076]); and the driving mechanism is configured to change positions of the imaging element and the optical member so as to change a position of an area on a reflective surface of the off- axis parabolic mirror corresponding to an imaging range of the imaging element (see paragraphs [0073] and [0076]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kafuman discloses the imaging device as discussed in the rejection of claim 1. Kafuman further discloses wherein the driving mechanism is configured to rotationally move the off-axis parabolic mirror about a focal point of the off- axis parabolic mirror with a radius of a focal length of the off-axis parabolic mirror (see paragraph [0077]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kafuman Pub. No.: US 20150124336 (Hereinafter “Kafuman”) in view of Tokimitsu Pub. No.: US 20200278197 (Hereinafter “Tokimitsu”).
Regarding Claim 4, Kafuman discloses a distance measuring device configured to measure a distance to an object (see fig.5), the distance measuring device comprising:
a first imaging unit and a second imaging unit (see figs.24 and 25: imaging device (245) and mini board camera (246)); and
an image processor configured to calculate a distance to the object based on plural images of the object captured by the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit (see paragraph [0097]: The laser beam (104) is fixedly mounted to emit a laser beam (b1) that passes through the aperture (h1) and through hole (24) while the laser beam (105) is mounted to emit a laser beam (b2) that passes through the aperture (h2) and through hole (25), to thereby form two laser dots (s1) and (s2) on a target T. …Therefore, the number of pixels between the laser dots can be used to approximate the distance to the target. A scale can be drawn on the monitor screen or superimposed in the video to indicate distance, or the microcontroller can locate the dots and compute the distance from the number of pixels between the dots and the zoom factor or magnification.), wherein
each of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit (see figs.24-26: imaging device (245) and mini board camera (246), paragraphs [0133]-[0136]) includes:
an imaging element (see fig.10A: Imaging Target ):
an imaging optical system (see paragraphs [0133]-[0136]: a primary mirror (M1), a secondary mirror (M2)); and
a driving mechanism configured to change positions of the imaging element and a part of the imaging optical system (see paragraph [0073]: The control system (54) can be configured to mechanically control movement of internal field optics (55) and (57) or other components to provide various functions such as zoom or focus control. In addition, see paragraph [0076]),
the imaging optical system includes an off-axis parabolic mirror (see figs. 2A-2D, 3A-3B: off-axis mirror (20)), and
the driving mechanism is configured to change the positions of the imaging element and the part of the imaging optical system so as to change an imaging direction of the each of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit while maintaining a position of a focal point of the off-axis parabolic mirror (see paragraph [0075]: a back focus adjustment for moving the imager (64) back and forth to a position between or at end points 64A and 64B to vary the distance from a last optical element (e.g., M2) from the imager focal plane so as to accommodate focusing at different image distances as well as for the requirements of the different imager sizes and camera mount sizes. NOTE, intermediate "off axis" image that can be redirected by secondary mirror M2 to the imager (64) (e.g., focal plane array)).
Kafuman fails to disclose:
a first imaging unit and a second imaging unit arranged such that optical axis of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit intersect with each other at a convergence angle;
In analogous art, Tokimitsu teaches:
a first imaging unit and a second imaging unit arranged such that optical axis of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit intersect with each other at a convergence angle (see fig; and paragraph [0049]: The pattern corresponding to the coordinate UPx is projected on an intersection 46 between the straight line 432 and the surface of the measurement object 51, and captured by the first image capturing unit 1 in the incident light path indicated by a straight line 15 and by the second image capturing unit 2 in the incident light path indicated by a straight line 25).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective
filing date of the claimed invention to modify the distance measuring device of Kafuman with the teaching as taught by Tokimitsu in order to measure the position of a measurement object with high accuracy.
Regarding Claim 5, Kafuman in view of Tokimitsu disclose the distance measuring device as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. Kafuman further discloses
wherein the imaging optical system of the each of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit further includes an optical member configured to guide, to the imaging element, light coming from the object and reflecting on the off-axis parabolic mirror a position of the off-axis parabolic mirror is fixed (see paragraphs [0073], [0076] and [0130]); and the driving mechanism is configured to change the positions of the imaging element and the optical member so as to change a position of an area on a reflective surface of the off-axis parabolic mirror corresponding to an imaging range of the imaging element (see paragraphs [0073], [0076] and [0130]).
Regarding Claim 6, Kafuman in view of Tokimitsu disclose the distance measuring device as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. Kafuman further discloses
wherein the driving mechanism of the each of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit is configured to rotationally move the off-axis parabolic mirror about a focal point of the off-axis parabolic mirror with a radius of a focal length of the off-axis parabolic mirror (see paragraph [0077]).
Regarding Claim 7, Kafuman in view of Tokimitsu disclose the distance measuring device as discussed in the rejection of claim 4. Tokimitsu further discloses
wherein, when changing the convergence angle, the image processor is configured to: provide the each of the first imaging unit and the second imaging unit with amounts of change in the positions changed by the driving mechanism (see fig.5 and paragraph [0050]); and calculate a new convergence angle based on the amounts of change that is instructed (see fig.5 and paragraph [0050]).
Conclusion
/ALAZAR TILAHUN/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2424
/A.T/
March 21, 2026