DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “region” of the deflection point must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 22 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claim 22 recites the chip detector configured to indicate a threshold, which is clearly disclosed in the original disclosure. Paragraph [0035] states the monitoring unit 10 outputs a signal that a threshold value is exceeded.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 8, 9, 10, 21, and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US 20070241043 A1) in view of Aufreiter et al. (US 20240310267 A1). Long discloses a system (10) for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles in a flow of lubricant (fig. 1), comprising
Re claim 1, a housing (16) with a channel that guides the flow of lubricant and that fluidically connects a lubricant inlet (inlet at upstream end of 16) and a lubricant outlet (22) that is positioned perpendicular with respect to the lubricant inlet via a deflection point (point where flow direction coming from the inlet is deflected and guided to change direction toward the outlet), further comprising a chip detector (20) which is arranged downstream of the particle sensor (taught below), releasably attachable to the housing by interlocking and/or force-fitting engagement (20 is locked in the cavity 18 due to its larger width, 20 is releasably attached via wall 26), and configured to locate and magnetically retain magnetisable particles present in the flow of lubricant (fig. 3), wherein the chip detector comprises a longitudinal extension (fig. 2: vertical direction of 20) that is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet (fig. 2) and a magnetic section (20 is described as a magnet) that is arranged in a region of the deflection point of the channel (fig. 3).
Re claim 8, a method for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles in a flow of lubricant by means of a system (10) for detecting the presence as well as for analysing particles in the flow of lubricant, comprising a housing (16) with a channel that guides the flow of lubricant and that fluidically connects a lubricant inlet (inlet at upstream end of 16) and a lubricant outlet (22) that is positioned perpendicular with respect to the lubricant inlet via a deflection point (point where flow direction coming from the inlet is deflected and guided to change direction toward the outlet), and wherein magnetisable particles present in the flow of lubricant are located and magnetically retained by means of a chip detector (20) that is arranged downstream of the particle sensor (taught below) and releasably attachable to the housing by interlocking and/or force-fitting engagement (20 is locked in the cavity 18 due to its larger width, 20 is releasably attached via wall 26), wherein the chip detector comprises a longitudinal extension (fig. 2: vertical direction of 20) that is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet (fig. 2) and a magnetic section (20 is described as a magnet) that is arranged in a region of the deflection point of the channel (fig. 3).
Re claim 9, a gearbox (taught below) comprising a lubricant return line and the system according to claim 1 (see claim 1) arranged in the lubricant return line (par [0009] describes 12 may be a transmission, fig. 1 shows 10 is downstream of 12 therefore is construed as part of the return line).
Re claim 10, a gearbox (taught below), comprising a lubricant supply with a lubricant supply line for supplying a flow of lubricant to at least one gearbox component to be lubricated (Examiner takes Official Notice that supply line to the gearbox is known in the art) and a lubricant return line for returning the flow of lubricant, wherein a system for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles in the flow of lubricant according to claim 1 (see claim 1) is arranged in the lubricant return line (par [0009] describes 12 may be a transmission, fig. 1 shows 10 is downstream of 12 therefore is construed as part of the return line).
Re claim 21, a system (10) for detecting the presence of, and for analysing, particles in a flow of lubricant, comprising: a housing (16) with a channel to guide the flow of lubricant and fluidically connect a lubricant inlet (inlet at upstream end of 16) and a lubricant outlet (22), wherein the channel includes a deflection point (point where flow direction coming from the inlet is deflected and guided to change direction toward the outlet) between the lubricant inlet and the lubricant outlet; and a chip detector (20) arranged downstream of the particle sensor (as taught below) to magnetically retain magnetisable particles present in the flow of lubricant, wherein the chip detector comprises a magnetic section (20 is described as a magnet) arranged in a region of the deflection point of the channel (fig. 3).
Long does not disclose:
Re claims 1, 8, 21, a particle sensor which is configured to detect and to analyse particles present in the flow of lubricant.
Re claim 4, wherein the particle sensor is configured to analyse electrically conductive particles present in the flow of lubricant, at least in respect of size and quantity of the conductive particles.
Re claim 9, a gearbox for an aircraft.
Re claim 10, a gearbox for an aircraft, in particular for a helicopter gearbox.
Re claim 22, wherein the chip detector is configured to indicate when a quantity of magnetisable particles retained at the magnetic section exceeds a threshold.
However, Aufreiter teaches a sensor device comprising:
Re claims 1, 8, 21, a particle sensor (100) which is configured to detect and to analyse particles present in the flow of lubricant (Aureiter teaches the particle sensor 100 upstream of a particle trapping device 17, which would be equivalent to the chip detector of Long).
Re claim 4, wherein the particle sensor is configured to analyse electrically conductive particles present in the flow of lubricant, at least in respect of size and quantity of the conductive particles (Aufreiter: par [0012] describes counting particles and par [0015] describes additional feature of determining chip size).
Re claim 9, a gearbox for an aircraft (par [0002]: helicopters).
Re claim 10, a gearbox for an aircraft, in particular for a helicopter gearbox (par [0002]: helicopters).
Re claim 22, wherein the chip detector is configured to indicate when a quantity of magnetisable particles retained at the magnetic section exceeds a threshold (par [0012] the count is evaluated to differentiate the wear into critical wear indications; the critical moment is construed as the threashold).
Regarding claims 1 and 8, it would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a particle sensor, as taught by Aufreiter, for detecting damaging particles in the oil system for monitoring wear.
Regarding claim 10, Examiner takes Official Notice that supply line to the gearbox is known in the art. It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a supply line to introduce oil into the rotating components.
Claim(s) 3, 11, 13, 14, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US 20070241043 A1) in view of Aufreiter et al. (US 20240310267 A1) and Botstiber et al. (US 4,657,671 A). Long discloses the system (as cited above):
Re claims 11, 14, 19, wherein the particle sensor is configured to analyse electrically conductive particles present in the flow of lubricant, at least in respect of size and quantity of the conductive particles (Aufreiter: par [0012] describes counting particles and par [0015] describes additional feature of determining chip size).
Long does not disclose:
Re claims 3, 13, 18, wherein the chip detector is screwed into the housing.
However, Botstiber teaches a particle sensor (fig. 8):
Re claims 3, 13, 18, wherein the chip detector (60,64,66) is screwed into the housing (24; screwed via the threads adjacent to 103A).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ screw threads, as taught by Botstiber, to provide a tighter fit and prevent the magnet from wobbling as it receives the flow.
Claim(s) 5, 15, 20, and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US 20070241043 A1) in view of Aufreiter et al. (US 20240310267 A1) and Whittington et al. (US 5811664). Long discloses the system (as cited above). Long does not disclose:
Re claims 5, 15, 20, 23, wherein the particle sensor comprises a channel section which is integrated into the channel, wherein the channel section is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet.
However, Whittington teaches a particle sensor (fig. 3):
Re claims 5, 15, 20, 23, wherein the particle sensor comprises a channel section (channel defined within 2,14) which is integrated into the channel (11), wherein the channel section is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel section integrated into the channel of the housing, as taught by Whittington, to provide symmetry and better detect damaging particles flowing therethrough.
Claim(s) 12, 16, and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Long et al. (US 20070241043 A1) in view of Aufreiter et al. (US 20240310267 A1), Botstiber et al. (US 4,657,671 A), and Whittington et al. (US 5811664). Long as modified discloses the system (as cited above). Long as modified does not disclose:
Re claims 12, 16, 17, wherein the particle sensor comprises a channel section which is integrated into the channel, wherein the channel section is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet.
However, Whittington teaches a particle sensor (fig. 3):
Re claims 12, 16, 17, wherein the particle sensor comprises a channel section (channel defined within 2,14) which is integrated into the channel (11), wherein the channel section is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet (fig. 5).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the channel section integrated into the channel of the housing, as taught by Whittington, to provide symmetry and better detect damaging particles flowing therethrough.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8-23 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
On pages 11-12 of the Remarks, Applicant argues Long does not describe a chip detector releasably attachable to the housing by interlocking and/or force-fitting engagement. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Long par [0010] describes the magnet 20 is held within the cavity 18 due to its larger width compared to the width of the passage 16. The interference between the sizes allows for the magnet 20 to stay in place. As such, this arrangement meets the claimed “releasably attachable to the housing by interlocking and/or force-fitting engagement.” Boststiber further teaches this configuration via a threaded engagement.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Minh Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654