DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the outlet “positioned obliquely” of claim 7 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered. The term oblique is defined as “neither perpendicular nor parallel” by https://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/oblique. However, the drawings show the outlet is right-angle, or perpendicular, to the inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “a flow of lubricant” in line 4, it is unclear if this is the same flow as that already recited in lines 2-3. Claims 8 and 10 have a similar issue.
Claim 4 recites “at least in respect of size and quantity”, it is unclear what these traits are directed to. The particles or flow of lubricant?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 5, and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Worthen (US 2020/0325806 A1). Worthen discloses:
Re claim 1, a system (160) for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles (par [0038]) in a flow of lubricant (flow of lubricant indicated by the arrows in fig. 2), comprising a housing (housing of 160) with a channel (158) that guides a flow of lubricant and that fluidically connects a lubricant inlet (upstream end of 212) and a lubricant outlet (downstream end of 214), further comprising a particle sensor (212,404) which is configured to detect and to analyse particles present in the flow of lubricant (par [0038]), as well as a chip detector (216) which is arranged downstream of the particle sensor and configured to locate and magnetically retain magnetisable particles present in the flow of lubricant (par [0039]).
Re claim 4, wherein the particle sensor is configured to analyse electrically conductive particles present in the flow of lubricant, at least in respect of size and quantity (par [0047-48]: size and quantity would be derived by the voltage feedback or current induced in the coil 404).
Re claim 5, wherein the particle sensor comprises a channel section which is integrated into the channel, wherein the channel section is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet (fig. 4A shows 404 is coaxial to the channel 158).
Re claim 8, a method for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles (par [0038]) in a flow of lubricant (flow of lubricant indicated by the arrows in fig. 2) by means of a system (160) for detecting the presence as well as for analysing particles in the flow of lubricant, comprising a housing (housing of 160) with a channel (158) that guides a flow of lubricant and that fluidically connects a lubricant inlet (upstream end of 212) and a lubricant outlet (downstream end of 214), wherein particles present in the flow of lubricant are detected and analysed by means of a particle sensor (212,404), and wherein magnetisable particles present in the flow of lubricant are located and magnetically retained by means of a chip detector (216) arranged downstream of the particle sensor.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worthen (US 2020/0325806 A1) in view of Weiser (US 10,254,210 B2). Worthen discloses the system (as cited above). Worthen does not disclose:
Re claim 2, wherein the chip detector is releasably attachable to the housing by interlocking and/or force-fitting engagement.
Re claim 3, wherein the chip detector is screwed into the housing.
However, Weiser teaches a system (fig. 1)
Re claim 2, wherein the chip detector (40) is releasably attachable to the housing by interlocking and/or force-fitting engagement (col 3 ln 61-65 describes a threaded engagement at 40B).
Re claim 3, wherein the chip detector is screwed into the housing (col 3 ln 61-65 describes a threaded engagement at 40B).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a force-fitting engagement, as taught by Weiser, to easily attach and detach the chip detector during maintenance.
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worthen (US 2020/0325806 A1) in view of Long (US 2007/0241043 A1). Worthen discloses the system (as cited above). Worthen does not disclose:
Re claim 6, wherein the longitudinal extension of the chip detector is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet.
Re claim 7, wherein the lubricant outlet is positioned obliquely with respect to the lubricant inlet.
However, Long teaches a system housing (10):
Re claim 6, wherein the longitudinal extension of the chip detector (20) is arranged coaxially with respect to the lubricant inlet (figs. 1-3 show the channel along the longitudinal axis of the housing 10 and fig. 1 shows the inlet is at the left end of the housing, fig. 3 shows the chip detector 20 at the right end of the housing is coaxial to the inlet).
Re claim 7, wherein the lubricant outlet (22) is positioned obliquely with respect to the lubricant inlet (figs. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to rearrange the inlet and outlet as claimed, as taught by Long, to enable the momentum of the flow to push the large particles towards the chip detector. Because the large particles are heavier than the fluid, the particles have a greater momentum and would tend to keep flowing straight towards the chip detector while the fluid turns towards the outlet.
Claim(s) 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Worthen (US 2020/0325806 A1) in view of Aufreiter et al. (US 2024/0310267 A1). Worthen discloses the system (as cited above):
Re claim 10, a lubricant supply (flow of lubricant indicated by the arrows in fig. 3) with a lubricant supply line (332) for supplying a flow of lubricant (flow of lubricant indicated by the arrows in fig. 3) to at least one gearbox component to be lubricated and a lubricant return line (334) for returning a flow of lubricant, wherein a system (160) for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles in a flow of lubricant according to claim 1 (see claim 1) is arranged in the lubricant return line (fig. 3).
Worthen does not disclose:
Re claim 9, use of a system for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles in a flow of lubricant according to claim 1 in a gearbox for an aircraft.
Re claim 10, a gearbox for an aircraft, in particular for a helicopter gearbox.
However, Aufreiter teaches:
Re claim 9, use of a system (figs. 1-2) for detecting the presence of as well as for analysing particles in a flow of lubricant according to claim 1 (see claim 1) in a gearbox for an aircraft (par [0002]: helicopters).
Re claim 10, a gearbox (fig. 1) for an aircraft (par [0002]: helicopters), in particular for a helicopter gearbox (par [0002]: helicopters).
It would have been obvious to person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention employ the system in an aircraft, as taught by Aufreiter, to remove impurities and prevent damages to the drive components.
Conclusion
The cited prior art(s) made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/Minh Truong/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3654