Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 and 4 of U.S. Patent No. 12,273,557. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 8 of the current application are anticipated by claims 1 and 4 of the U.S. Patent.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Hur et al. (U.S. 2021/0209813), hereinafter Hur.
Regarding claim 1, Hur discloses a method of transmitting point cloud data, the method comprising:
acquiring point cloud data using a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (Hur [0107] and fig. 1, #10001);
encoding the point cloud data (Hur fig. 1, #10002); and
transmitting the encoded point cloud data and signaling information (Hur fig. 1, #10003).
Regarding claim 8, Hur discloses a device for transmitting point cloud data, comprising:
an acquirer configured to acquire point cloud data using a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system (Hur [0107] and fig. 1, #10001);
an encoder configured to encode the point cloud data (Hur fig. 1, #10002); and
a transmitter configured to transmit the encoded point cloud data and signaling information (Hur fig. 1, #10003).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 and 9-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hur in view of Wang et al. (U.S. 2022/0342044), hereinafter Wang.
Regarding claim 2, Hu discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the encoding of the point cloud data comprises:
splitting points in the point cloud data into a road and an object (Hur [0240]); and
encoding geometry information including positions of points spilt into the road and the object and attribute information including one or more attribute values of the points spilt into the road (Hur [0107], [0240] and cover figure, bottom).
Hur does not explicitly disclose compensating for refraction occurring in the point cloud data; and splitting points in the refraction-compensated point cloud data into a road and an object.
However, Wang teaches compensating for refraction occurring in the point cloud data (Wang [0126]);
splitting points in the refraction-compensated point cloud data into a road and an object (Wang [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught by Hur with the missing limitations as taught by Wang to improve the accuracy of the optical devices and improve overall LiDAR performance (Wang [0004]).
Regarding claim 3, Hur in view of Wang teaches the method of claim 2, wherein the signaling information comprises refraction compensation-related information of the point cloud data (Wang [0120] and [0046]).
The same motivation for claim 2 applies to the missing limitations of claim 3.
Regarding claim 9, Hur in view of Wang teaches the device of claim 8, wherein the encoder comprises:
a refraction compensator configured to compensate for refraction occurring in the point cloud data (Wang [0050] and [0126]);
a road-object splitter configured to split points in the refraction-compensated point cloud data into a road and an object (Wang [0053] and Hur [0240]); and
an encoder configured to encode geometry information including positions of points spilt into the road and the object and to encode attribute information including one or more attribute values of the points spilt into the road (Hur [0107], [0240] and cover figure, bottom).
The same motivation for claim 2 applies to the missing limitations of claim 9.
Regarding claim 10, Hur in view of Wang teaches the device of claim 9, wherein the signaling information comprises refraction compensation-related information of the point cloud data (Wang [0120] and [0046]).
The same motivation for claim 2 applies to the missing limitations of claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 15 is allowed.
Claims 4-7 and 11-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MATTHEW K KWAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2482