DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on 3 July, 2026.
Claims 1 – 21 have been cancelled.
Claims 22 – 42 have been added.
Claims 22 – 42 are currently pending and have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 39 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. Claim 39 recites the limitation “the imaging device”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Examiner assume that the term should be “the monocular camera”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 22 - 42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e. a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea), and does not include additional elements that either: 1) integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or 2) that provide an inventive concept – i.e. element that amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. The Claims are directed to an abstract idea because, when considered as a whole, the plain focus of the claims is on an abstract idea.
Claim 22 is independent. Claim 22 recites:
A computer-implemented method of monitoring tidal breathing of a monitored subject, the method comprising:
capturing, using a monocular camera not in physical contact with the monitored subject, two-dimensional video imagery comprising successive image frames of the monitored subject during tidal breathing;
analyzing the video imagery to define a region of interest (ROI) comprising a thoracic subregion and an abdominal subregion of the monitored subject;
processing successive frames of the video imagery to calculate optical-flow values corresponding to movement within the thoracic subregion and optical-flow values corresponding to movement within the abdominal subregion;
generating, from the optical-flow values, a thoracic movement signal corresponding to movement within the thoracic subregion and an abdominal movement signal corresponding to movement within the abdominal subregion; and
calculating a quantitative thoraco-abdominal asynchrony (TAA) metric based on a phase relationship or correlation relationship between the thoracic movement signal and the abdominal movement signal, and
determining TAA based on the quantitative TAA metric.
STEP 1
The claims are directed to a method which is included in the statutory categories of invention.
STEP 2A PRONG ONE
The claims, as illustrated by Claim 1, recite limitations that encompass an abstract idea including:
A method of monitoring tidal breathing of a monitored subject, the method comprising:
capturing, using a monocular camera not in physical contact with the monitored subject, two-dimensional video imagery comprising successive image frames of the monitored subject during tidal breathing;
analyzing the video imagery to define a region of interest (ROI) comprising a thoracic subregion and an abdominal subregion of the monitored subject;
determining TAA based on the quantitative TAA metric.
The claims, as illustrated by Claim 22, recite limitations that encompass an abstract idea within the “mental processes” grouping – concepts performed in the human mind including observation, evaluation, judgment and opinion.
The claims recite capturing video of a subject and analyzing the video to define a region of interest (ROI) and to determine Thoraco-Abdominal Asynchrony (TAA) based on a TAA metric. TAA refers to the non-coincident motion of the rib cage (RC) and the abdomen (ABD) during tidal breathing, and is often observed clinically in many respiratory disorders. The prior art teaches that “it is possible to assess the degree of TAA qualitatively simply by visual inspection or palpation of RC and ABD movements with respiration.” (see Hammer et al. cited below @ p.75-76) Indeed, the present specification discloses that “in young children, diagnosis and disease management (for TAA) are mainly based on parental descriptions and subjective non-measurable evaluations.” (@ 2/19-21)
The specification discloses that video of subject may be captured using a camera of a portable computing device such as a smartphone, operating in its normal capacity – i.e. a monocular camera. The broadest reasonable interpretation of “analyzing the video imagery to define a region of interest” includes visually identifying the chest and abdomen, which is a process that, except for generic computer implementation steps, can be performed in the human mind. The technical details described in the specification for performing this function are limited to detecting the ROI “by neutralizing surrounding interference”, “using image processing”, “based on AI models that detect body pose”.
Similarly, determining TAA based on the quantitative TAA metric, is disclosed as comparing the angle between abdomen FIFO and the chest FIFO to a reference value – i.e. less than 10 degrees- and is a process that can be performed in the human mind.
Collecting information, including when limited to particular content, is within the realm of abstract ideas, and analyzing information by steps people go through in their minds, or by mathematical algorithms, without more, are mental processes within the abstract idea category (Electric Power Group v. Alstom S.A. (Fed Cir, 2015-1778, 8/1/2016).
As such, the claims recite an abstract idea within the mental process grouping.
The claims, as illustrated by Claim 22, also recite limitations that encompass a mathematical formula or relationship including: .
processing successive frames of the video imagery to calculate optical-flow values corresponding to movement within the thoracic subregion and optical-flow values corresponding to movement within the abdominal subregion;
generating, from the optical-flow values, a thoracic movement signal corresponding to movement within the thoracic subregion and an abdominal movement signal corresponding to movement within the abdominal subregion; and
calculating a quantitative thoraco-abdominal asynchrony (TAA) metric based on a phase relationship or correlation relationship between the thoracic movement signal and the abdominal movement signal.
The claims process video images to calculate optical flow values corresponding to movement of the thoracic and abdominal subregions respectively. The specification discloses optical flow values are calculated using well-known mathematical techniques such as the Lucas-Kanade optical flow algorithm (0104). The thoracic movement signal is disclosed as a summation of optical flow values for each of the subregions. Adding values is a mathematical formula or relationship. Similarly, calculating the TAA metric is disclosed as calculating the phase shift of the movement signals. As such, the claims recite a mathematical formula or relationship.
The claims, as illustrated by Claim 1, recite limitations that encompass an abstract idea within the “certain methods of organizing human activity” grouping –
managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people including social activities, teaching, and following rules or instructions.
The claims recite generating a diagnosis – i.e. determine TAA - based on analyzing video images and making a series of mathematical calculations. This process is typical in medicine, where a doctor analyzes medical images which to determine if any diagnosis is indicated, and is process that merely organizes this human activity. (See MPEP 2016.04 (a)(2) II C finding that “a mental process that a neurologist should follow when testing a patient for nervous system malfunctions” is a method of organizing human activity, In re Meyer, 688 F.2d 789, 791-93, 215 USPQ 193, 194-96 (CCPA 1982). As such, the claims recite an abstract idea within the certain methods of organizing human activity grouping.
STEP 2A PRONG TWO
The claims recite limitations that include additional elements beyond those that encompass the abstract idea above including:
computer-implemented
a monocular camera not in physical contact with the monitored subject.
However, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of that idea in accordance with the MPEP. (see MPEP 2106.05)
The computer that implements the method is recited at a high level of generality such that it amounts to no more than instructions to apply the abstract idea using a generic computer component. These elements merely add instructions to implement the abstract idea on a computer, and generally link the abstract idea to a particular technological environment.
The specification discloses that the imaging device may be integral to known smartphones. Further, while collecting information is included as part of the abstract mental process above, capturing, using a monocular camera not in physical contact with the monitored subject, two-dimensional video imagery comprising successive image frames of the monitored subject during tidal breathing may also be construed as is an insignificant extra-solution activity – i.e. a data gathering step.
Nothing in the claim recites specific limitations directed to an improved technology or technological process. Similarly, the specification is silent with respect to these kinds of improvements. A general purpose computer that applies a judicial exception by use of conventional computer functions, as is the case here, does not qualify as a particular machine, nor does the recitation of a generic computer impose meaningful limits in the claimed process. (see Ultramercial, Inc. v. Hulu, LLC, 772 F.3d 709, 716-17 (Fed. Cir. 2014)). As such, the additional elements recited in the claim do not integrate the abstract diagnostic process into a practical application of that process.
STEP 2B
The additional elements identified above do not amount to significantly more than the abstract diagnostic process. Capturing video imagery, when considered as an additional limitation, is a conventional computer function based on the disclosure of these techniques in the specification, in particular with respect to the disclosed smartphone embodiment. As such, the additional elements recited in the claim do not provide significantly more than the abstract diagnostic process, or an inventive concept.
The dependent claims add additional features including:
those that merely serve to further narrow the abstract idea above such as:
further limiting how the TAA metric is calculated, (Claim 23, 24);
further limiting the stored values to a respiratory cycle (Claim 27);
further limiting the side view angle (Claim 35);
further limiting the criteria for providing an alerts (Claim 38);
further limiting the imaging device (Claim 39);
those that recite additional abstract ideas such as:
applying a filter to the movement signals; (Claim 24);
computing sums of optical flow values; (Claim 28, 29);
using Lucas-Kanade optical flow algorithm; (Claim 30);
identifying body points in images; (Claim 31);
using a body-pose neural network; (Claim 33);
using color and contrast analysis to determine the boundary; (Claim 34);
using a trained neural network to identify regions; (Claim 36);
analyzing the video (Claim 40);
those that recite well-understood, routine and conventional activity or computer functions such as:
storing filtered movement values; (Claim 24, 26);
FIFO buffers; (Claim 25);
using Lucas-Kanade optical flow algorithm; (Claim 30);
using a body-pose neural network; (Claim 33);
using color and contrast analysis to determine the boundary; (Claim 34);
sending video off-site for analysis (Claim 41, 42);
those that recite insignificant extra-solution activities such as:
providing an alert; (Claim 37);
or those that are an ancillary part of the abstract idea.
The limitations recited in the dependent claims, in combination with those recited in the independent claims add nothing that integrates the abstract idea into a practical application, or that amounts to significantly more. As such, the additional element do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, or provide an inventive concept that transforms the claims into a patent eligible invention. Therefore, the claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 22, 23, 28, 31, 33, 35 and 37 - 41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1).
CLAIM 22
Jacquel discloses a video-based patient monitoring method that includes the following limitations:
A method of monitoring tidal breathing of a monitored subject; (Jacquel: Abstract, 0025, 0028, 0032, 0060); comprising:
capturing, using a monocular camera not in physical contact with the monitored subject, two-dimensional video imagery comprising successive image frames of the monitored subject during tidal breathing; (Jacquel: 0005, 0006, 0008, 0025, 0027, 0035);
analyzing the video imagery to define a region of interest (ROI) comprising a thoracic subregion and an abdominal subregion of the monitored subject; (Jacquel: 0008, 0025, 0028 – 0031, 0039, 0040, 0049);
calculating a quantitative thoraco-abdominal asynchrony (TAA) metric based on a phase relationship or correlation relationship between the thoracic movement signal and the abdominal movement signal, and determining TAA based on the quantitative TAA metric; (Jacquel: 0028, 0032, 0039, 0040, 0046, 0048, 0067, 0073).
Jacquel discloses a method for improving video-based, non-contact, patient monitoring for detecting and monitoring patient breathing, including various “breathing parameters” such as “tidal volume”. The method includes capturing video sequences of a patient over time using a monocular camera – i.e. a camera of a smartphone, and to define one or more regions of interest (ROI) on the video of the patient, using various image analysis techniques. The ROI is monitored over time, and changes in depth of the region are determined that represent movements of the patient’s body associated with breathing. Jacquel analyzes the ROI to determine various parameters of the patient’s breathing; in particular to detect paradoxical breathing of the patient based on the chest and abdomen being out of phase. Paradoxical breathing is known to those of ordinary skill in the art as a condition where the chest and abdomen move out of phase with each other – i.e. they move in the opposite directions. Paradoxical breathing represents the highest degree of thoraco-abdominal asynchrony. As such, paradoxical breathing is inherently included in the definition of thoraco-abdominal asynchrony. Jacquel discloses that the method of video-based monitoring of breathing can be useful in elderly or neonatal individuals (a category of infant) within their homes. (Jacquel: 0026).
With respect to the following limitations:
processing successive frames of the video imagery to calculate movement within the thoracic subregion and movement within the abdominal subregion; generating a thoracic movement signal corresponding to movement within the thoracic subregion and an abdominal movement signal corresponding to movement within the abdominal subregion; (Jacquel 0008, 0025, 0028 – 0032, 0039, 0040, 0049, 0046, 0048, 0067, 0073
Jacquel discloses measuring changes in the depth of pixels (i.e. calculate movement), in defined thoracic and abdominal regions of successive images over time that represent movements of the region. With respect to the following limitations:
calculate optical-flow values corresponding to movement in a region and generating a movement signal from the optical-flow values; (Wixson Abstract, col. 1 line 53 to col. 2 line 7, col. 3 line 3 – 8, col. 4 line 35 – 65).
Jacquel discloses measuring changes in the depth of pixels (i.e. calculate movement), in defined thoracic and abdominal regions of successive images over time that represent movements of the region, but does not expressly disclose using optical flow values. Wixson discloses a system and method for detecting motion in a sequence of images using optical flow values. In particular, for each pixel in a region of interest, frame-to-frame optical flow information is collected and summed to yield a total distance traveled by each pixel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel so as to have included using known techniques for generating a movement signal, in accordance with the teachings of Wixson, in order to apply known, proven and reliable techniques to detect the distance traveled by a pixel in a sequence of images over time.
CLAIM 23
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 22. Additionally, Jacquel discloses the following limitations:
wherein calculating the quantitative TAA metric comprises determining at least one of a phase-difference value and a normalized correlation value between the thoracic movement signal and the abdominal movement signal; (Jacquel 0047, 0048, , 0066, 0067, 0073, 0085, 0099).
Jacquel discloses calculating a value for the phase difference of breathing.
CLAIMS 35 and 37 - 41
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 22. Additionally, Jacquel discloses the following limitations:
wherein the monocular camera comprises an integrated camera of a portable computing device (PCD); (Jacquel: 0005, 0027 - 0029, 0038).
Jacquel discloses using a camera integrated in a smartphone. Such cameras are well-known, and operate using a single objective lens – i.e. monocular. Jacquel further discloses the following limitations:
analyzing the video imagery using a computer program executed by the PCD; (Jacquel: 0032 – 0034, 0075 – 0090);
sending or streaming the video imagery to an off-site computer or server for remote analysis using a communications application in the PCD; (Jacquel: 0032 – 0037);
providing an alert when the quantitative TAA metric exceeds a predetermined threshold; wherein the alert is based on an increase in the quantitative TAA metric over a plurality of successive measurement intervals or a change exceeding a predetermined amount over a predetermined time interval; (Jacquel: Abstract, 0010, 0025, 0067, 0073, 0077)
wherein the video imagery is captured from a side view of the monitored subject; (Jacquel: 0055).
Jacquel discloses a routine (i.e. a diagnostic program) that can be executed in the local computer (i.e. the PDC) for analyzing video streams, including side views of the patient. Alternately, the video may be sent to a remote server for analysis by the diagnostic program. Alerts in various forms are provided when paradoxical breathing is detected.
CLAIM 28
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 22. Additionally, Wixson discloses the following limitations:
wherein generating the movement signal comprises computing a summation of optical-flow values; (Wixson Abstract, col. 1 line 53 to col. 2 line 7, col. 3 line 3 – 8, col. 4 line 35 – 65).
Jacquel discloses measuring changes in the depth of pixels in the ROI over time that represent movements of the thoracic and abdominal regions, (@ 0025, 0028), but does not disclose using a summation of optical flow values. Notably, using optical flow values, as claimed, is performed using techniques that the specification discloses are known in the art – i.e. the Lucas-Kanade optical flow algorithm is well-known. Wixson discloses a system and method for detecting motion in a sequence of images using optical flow. In particular, for each pixel in a region of interest frame-to-frame optical flow information is collected and summed to yield a total distance traveled by each pixel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel so as to have included using known techniques for generating a movement signal for the thoracic and abdominal regions, in accordance with the teachings of Wixson, in order to apply known, proven and reliable techniques to detect the distance traveled by a pixel in a sequence of images over time.
CLAIMS 31 and 33
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 22. Additionally, Jacquel discloses the following limitations:
wherein analyzing the video imagery to define the ROI comprises identifying body points of the thoracic portion and the abdominal portion of the monitored subject in the successive frames of the video imagery; determining a boundary of the thoracic portion and a boundary of the abdominal portion based on body contours of the monitored subject derived from the video imagery; (Jacquel 0029 – 0031, 0039).
Jacquel discloses analyzing video images to define an ROI in the thoracic and abdominal region, including the outer edge of the regions (i.e. boundary) by identifying points in the respective regions.
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Sanil et al.: (US PGPUB 2017/0024614 A1).
CLAIM 24
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 23. With respect to the following limitations:
applying an exponential filter to the thoracic movement signal and to the abdominal movement signal to generate filtered thoracic movement values and filtered abdominal movement values; (Sanil 0064 – 0069);
storing the filtered thoracic movement values and the filtered abdominal movement values in respective buffers; (Sanil 0058).
Jacquel/Wixson discloses generating and storing thoracic and abdominal movement signals, but does not disclose filtering. Sanil discloses calculating optical flows between image frame to measure motion using the Lucas-Kanade method, applies a filter to the optical flows and stored the data in memory. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel/Wixson so as to have included filtering data, in accordance with the teachings of Sanil, in order obtain a global motion pattern.
With respect to the following limitations:
wherein the TAA is determined based at least in part on a covariance between the filtered thoracic movement values and the filtered abdominal movement values stored in the respective buffers; (Jacquel 0040 – 0042, 0048).
Jacquel discloses determining TAA based on the degree to which the abdominal and thoracic regions are in or out of phase (i.e. covariance).
Claim 29 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Nishigaki: (US PGPUB 2011/0286635 A1).
CLAIM 29
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 28. With respect to the following limitations:
wherein the summation of optical-flow values is a summation of vertical components of optical-flow values; (Nishigaki 0002, 0024, 0028, 0036 – 0038, 0040, 0044 - 0046).
Jacquel/Wixson discloses measuring movement of pixels in defined thoracic and abdominal regions of successive images over time using a summation of optical flow values, but does not expressly disclose summing vertical components of the optical flow values. Nishigaki discloses a system and method for optical flow estimation in sequential images. In particular, for each pixel in a region of interest, frame-to-frame vertical and horizontal components of the optical flow information is collected and summed to yield a total vertical and horizontal distance traveled by each pixel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel/Wixson so as to have included calculating the vertical component of optical flow, in accordance with the teachings of Nishigaki, in order to detect the distance traveled by a pixel in a particular direction.
Claim 30 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Official Notice.
CLAIM 30
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 22. With respect to the following limitations:
wherein the optical-flow values are calculated using a Lucas-Kanade optical-flow algorithm.
Jacquel/Wixson discloses calculating optical flow values, but does not expressly disclose using a Lucas-Kanade optical-flow algorithm. Notably, Applicant admits that Lucas-Kanade is known in the art, and Examiner takes Official Notice of such facts. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel/Wixson so as to have included calculating optical flow using Lucas-Kanade algorithm, in accordance with the Official Notice taken, in order to apply known, proven and reliable techniques to detect the distance traveled by a pixel in a sequence of images over time.
Claims 25 - 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Sanil et al.: (US PGPUB 2017/0024614 A1) and in view of Official Notice.
CLAIM 25 - 27
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson/Sanil discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 24. With respect to the following limitations:
wherein the respective buffers comprise respective first-in-first-out (FIFO) buffers.
wherein each of the respective FIFO buffers stores a predetermined number of most recent filtered values.
wherein each of the respective FIFO buffers stores filtered values corresponding to a predetermined time interval comprising one or more respiratory cycles; (Jacquel 0046, 0079).
Jacquel/Wixson/Sanil discloses storing various data elements, including filtered optical flow values corresponding to a time interval comprising a respiratory cycle, but does not discloses FIFO buffers. Nonetheless, Examiner takes Official Notice that FIFO buffers are notoriously old and well known. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel/Wixson/Sanil so as to have included FIFO buffers, in accordance with the Official Notice taken, in order to apply known, proven and reliable techniques for data storage. Storage limitations are inherent to FIFO buffers.
Claims 32 and 36 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Raz et al.: (US PGPUB 2022/0067410 A1).
CLAIMS 32 and 36
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 28. Additionally, Jacquel discloses the following limitations:
wherein identifying the body points comprises to mark an upper abdominal wall and a chest wall of the monitored subject; (Jacquel 0008, 0025, 0028 - 0030, 0039, 0042 – 0044).
Jacquel discloses defining regions of interest in a sequence of images including defining the outer edge of the abdominal and thoracic regions, and marks the regions using visual indicators such as patterns, colors or shapes.
With respect to the following limitations:
wherein identifying the body points comprises using a body-pose artificial neural network; using a trained machine-learning model to identify the thoracic portion and the abdominal portion; (Raz 0008, 0009, 0064, 0066, 0073, 0074, 0200, 0219).
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses identifying and marking body parts, but does not disclose using a body-pose artificial neural network. Raz discloses a system and method for determining the medical status of a person, and in particular to detecting breathing by analyzing sequential images and identifying body parts using a body pose neural network. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel so as to have included using a body pose neural network to identify body parts, in accordance with the teachings of Raz, in order to apply known, proven and reliable techniques to detect body parts in a sequence of images over time.
Claim 34 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Givon: (US PGPUB 2014/0347479 A1).
CLAIM 34
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 33. With respect to the following limitations:
wherein determining the boundary of the thoracic portion and the boundary of the abdominal portion comprises using color analysis and contour analysis of the video imagery; (Givon 0113).
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses identifying the boundary of the thoracic and abdominal regions, but does not disclose using color analysis and contour analysis. Givon discloses a system and method for monitoring a person, and in particular to identify dimensions and relations of a human body elements. Givon contemplates using color analysis and contour analysis to identify human body parts and track the motion of the body parts relative to each other. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel so as to have included using color or contour analysis to identify body parts, in accordance with the teachings of Givon, in order to apply known, proven and reliable techniques to detect body parts in a sequence of images over time.
Claim 42 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jacquel et al.: (US PGPUB 2020/0046302 A1) in view of Wixson: (US 6,303,920 B1) and in view of Ramanathan et al.: (US PGPUB 2021/0304574 A1).
CLAIM 42
The combination of Jacquel/Wixson discloses the limitations above relative to Claim 41. Additionally, Jacquel discloses the following limitations:
determining the TAA on the off-site computer or server; (Jacquel 0032, 0034)
Jacquel discloses determining TAA in a remote server.
With respect to the following limitations:
calculating the optical-flow values on the off-site computer or server; (Ramanathan 0070).
Jacquel/Wixson discloses calculating optical flow values, but does not expressly disclose performing this function in a remote computer. Ramanathan discloses a system and method for detecting human activity with a camera including determining optical flow values in a remote server. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing data of the claimed invention, to have modified the video-based monitoring system of Jacquel/Wixson so as to have included calculating optical flow in a remote server, in accordance with the teachings of Ramanathan, in order to use additional processing power of a server.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
CONCLUSION
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US PGPUB 2022/0378321 A1 to Rehouma et al. discloses a system and method for assessing the severity of respiratory distress, including TAA, using images captured by cameras.
US PGPUB 2003/0139691 A1 to Kumar et al discloses a system and method for determining TAA based on a phase angle of breathing.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or concerning this communication or earlier communications from the Examiner should be directed to John A. Pauls whose telephone number is (571) 270-5557. The Examiner can normally be reached on Mon. - Fri. 8:00 - 5:00 Eastern. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the Examiner’s supervisor, Robert Morgan can be reached at (571) 272-6773.
Official replies to this Office action may now be submitted electronically by registered users of the EFS-Web system. Information on EFS-Web tools is available on the Internet at: http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/index.jsp. An EFS-Web Quick-Start Guide is available at: http://www.uspto.gov/ebc/portal/efs/quick-start.pdf.
Alternatively, official replies to this Office action may still be submitted by any one of fax, mail, or hand delivery. Faxed replies should be directed to the central fax at (571) 273-8300. Mailed replies should be addressed to “Commissioner for Patents, PO Box 1450, Alexandria, VA 22313-1450.” Hand delivered replies should be delivered to the “Customer Service Window, Randolph Building, 401 Dulany Street, Alexandria, VA 22314.”
/JOHN A PAULS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3683
Date: 29 August, 2026