DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The lengthy specification has not been checked to the extent necessary to determine the presence of all possible minor errors. Applicant’s cooperation is requested in correcting any errors of which applicant may become aware in the specification.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 11-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11, lines 5-6, the limitation, “including a conductive polymer which contacts to at least a conductive polymer” is confusing. Is the second conductive polymer in addition to the conducive polymer already claimed? Should the conductive polymer contact at least the conductive layer?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 7, and 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Naraya (US 6,515,847).
Regarding claim 1, Naraya discloses in fig. 1 and 2, a solid electrolytic capacitor (Fig. 1), comprising:
an anode body (3) formed of valve action metal (3 – C: 7, L: 53) and having dielectric film (10);
a cathode body (2, 9) including cathode foil (2) formed of valve action metal (C: 5, L: 63-67) and a conductive layer (9) formed on the cathode foil (2); and
an electrolyte layer (7, PEDT – C: 7, L: 60-67) intervening between the anode body and the cathode body and including a conductive polymer (7, PEDT – C: 7, L: 60-67) which contacts to at least the conductive layer (9),
wherein the cathode foil has foil capacity of 20 µF/cm² or more (inherent to the claimed cathode foil – the capacitance of the cathode foil is infinite, C: 3, L: 37-40).
Regarding claim 2, Naraya discloses the cathode foil (2) has an etching layer formed by etching pits (8) and dielectric film (not illustrated) formed on a surface of the cathode foil (2).
Naraya teaches in C: 5, L: 5-8 – “The cathode foil to be used may be produced by subjecting an etched aluminum foil to a chemical treatment with an aqueous 0.005 % to 3 % solution of ammonium dihydrogen phosphate at 10 V or less.” This treatment inherently produces an oxide layer on the etched cathode foil. In addition, aluminum spontaneously forms a thin native oxide immediately upon exposure to air.
Regarding claim 7, Naraya discloses the cathode foil has the foil capacity of 250 µF/cm² (inherent to the claimed cathode foil – the capacitance of the cathode foil is infinite, C: 3, L: 37-40).
Regarding claim 11, Naraya discloses a manufacturing method of a solid electrolytic capacitor, comprising:
a cathode body (2) formation process of forming a cathode body by forming a conductive layer (9) on cathode foil (2) formed of valve action metal and with foil capacity of 20 µF/cm² (inherent to the claimed cathode foil – the capacitance of the cathode foil is infinite, C: 3, L: 37-40); and
an electrolyte layer formation (7) process of forming an electrolyte layer intervening between an anode body having dielectric film and the cathode body, and including a conductive polymer (7, PEDT – C: 7, L: 60-67) which contacts to at least a conductive polymer.
Regarding claim 12, Naraya discloses the cathode foil (2) has an etching layer (8) formed by etching pits and dielectric film (not illustrated – see rejection of claim 2 above) formed on a surface of the cathode foil.
Claim(s) 1-5, 7, 11-14, 16, and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as anticipated by Fukui et al. (JP 2005-109272 A) or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Naraya (US 6,515,847).
Regarding claim 1, Fukui et al. disclose a solid electrolytic capacitor (title), comprising:
an anode body [0011] formed of valve action metal [0011] and having dielectric film [0011];
a cathode body [0016] including cathode foil [0016] formed of valve action metal [0011] and a conductive layer [0016] formed on the cathode foil [0016]; and
an electrolyte layer [0014] intervening between the anode body [0011] and the cathode body [0016] and including a conductive polymer [0011] which contacts to at least the conductive layer [0014],
wherein the cathode foil has foil capacity of 20 µF/cm² or more (inherent to the cathode foil – see process of forming – [0017], [0023] – 50 µm thick etched film of 2V /chemically converted).
Naraya discloses a cathode foil that has a foil capacity of 20 µF/cm² or more (the capacitance of the cathode foil is infinite, C: 3, L: 37-40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the cathode foil of Fukui et al. so that the capacitance of the cathode foil is 20 µF/cm² or more, since such a modification would form a solid electrolytic capacitor having maximum capacitance.
Regarding claim 2, Fukui et al. disclose the cathode foil [0016] has an etching layer [0016] formed by etching pits (from etching) and dielectric film ([0016], “an etching foil which a chemical conversion film is formed on the surface” or natural oxide) formed on a surface of the cathode foil [0016].
Regarding claim 3, Fukui et al. disclose all or a part of the etching pits [0016] have a region where the conductive layer [0016] does not contact at a deep portion thereof.
While Fukui et al. do not expressly state that all or a part of the etching pits have a region where the conductive layer does not contact at a deep portion thereof, it is understood to be an inherent feature. Fukui et al. disclose the claimed process of forming the conductive layer (vapor-deposited on the etched foil layer [0017]). When the structure / process recited in the references is substantially identical to that of the claims, claimed properties or functions are presumed to be inherent.
Regarding claim 4, Fukui et al. disclose the conductive layer is a vapor-deposited layer at least contacting the cathode foil [0017].
Regarding claim 5, Fukui et al. disclose the conductive layer contains titanium carbide [0016], [0023].
Regarding claim 7, Fukui et al. (Naraya) disclose the cathode foil [0016] has the foil capacity of 250 µF/cm².
Regarding claim 11, Fukui et al. disclose a manufacturing method of a solid electrolytic capacitor (title), comprising:
a cathode body [0016] formation process of forming a cathode body by forming a conductive layer [0016] on cathode foil [0016] formed of valve action metal [0011] and with foil capacity of 20 µF/cm² (inherent to the cathode foil – see process of forming – [0017], [0023] – 50 µm thick etched film of 2V /chemically converted); and
an electrolyte layer formation [0014] process of forming an electrolyte layer intervening between an anode body [0011] having dielectric film [0011] and the cathode body [0016], and including a conductive polymer [0014] which contacts to at least a conductive layer [0016].
Naraya discloses a cathode foil that has a foil capacity of 20 µF/cm² or more (the capacitance of the cathode foil is infinite, C: 3, L: 37-40).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the cathode foil of Fukui et al. so that the capacitance of the cathode foil is 20 µF/cm² or more, since such a modification would form a solid electrolytic capacitor having maximum capacitance.
Regarding claim 12, Fukui et al. disclose the cathode foil [0016] has an etching layer [0016] formed by etching pits (inherent to the etching process) and dielectric film (chemical conversion film – [0016]) formed on a surface of the cathode foil.
Regarding claims 13-14, 16, and 18, Fukui et al. disclose the conductive layer contains titanium carbide [0016], [0023].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6, 8-10, 15, 17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fukui et al. (JP 2005-109272 A) (Naraya (US 6,515,847)) in view of Ishimaru et al. (US 2021/0313119 A1).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 17, and 19, Fukui et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the electrolyte layer is formed so that solution of the conductive polymer or the conductive polymer in dispersion is attached thereto.
Ishimaru et al. disclose a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising an anode foil (24), cathode foil (22) and an electrolyte (13) that is formed so that solution of the conductive polymer or the conductive polymer in dispersion is attached thereto [0118]-[0125].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the electrolyte art to form the solid polymer of Fukui et al. so that the electrolyte layer is formed so that solution of the conductive polymer or the conductive polymer in dispersion is attached thereto, since such a modification would form a high heat resistant solid electrolytic capacitor having high capacitance and low ESR.
Regarding claim 8, Fukui et al. disclose the claimed invention except for the electrolyte layer includes an electrolytic solution.
Ishimaru et al. disclose a solid electrolytic capacitor comprising an electrolytic solution [0064]-[0078], [0127], [0143].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to form the solid electrolytic capacitor of Fukui et al. using an electrolytic solution, since such a modification would from an electrolytic capacitor having excellent repairing function.
Regarding claim 9, Ishimaru et al. disclose the electrolytic solution contains ethylene glycol of 25 % or more relative to a total solvent of the electrolytic solution [0143].
Regarding claim 10, Ishimaru et al. disclose the electrolytic solution is formed by both gamma-butyrolactone and sulfolane [0143].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 2009/0021894 A1 – teaches using a conductive polymer dispersion process produces a heat resistant solid electrolytic capacitor having high capacitance and low ESR.
US 2006/0023396 A1 – teaches typical cathodes that have 98 % aluminum purity or higher generally have capacitance per unit area of 250 µF/cm2
US 2006/0107506 A1 -- teaches typical cathodes that have 98 % aluminum purity or higher generally have capacitance per unit area of 250 µF/cm2
US 7,715,174 B1 – teaches TiNx coated aluminum cathode having a capacitance of 600 to 800 µF/cm2
/ERIC W THOMAS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2847
ERIC THOMAS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2847