DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a moveable closure means configured to selectively seal the inlet” in claim 10. The written description discloses the corresponding structure, material, or acts for performing the entire claimed function as a plunger or cover; a roller arrangement; and/or a pair of rollers.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4, 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "the base wall and" in Line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the lid" in Line . There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 9, 11, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kikushima JP 2001104929 A. JP 2001104929 A is a published patent application henceforth to be referred to as the Kikushima patent.
Regarding claim 1, Kikushima discloses a waste processing apparatus comprising a chamber (Kikushima – 7; FIG. 1) having a first opening through which a portion of waste is received into the chamber (Kikushima Para [0007]: a rotating drum for storing used disposable diapers); and a heating member (Kikushima – 22; FIG. 1) adapted to provide heat to the portion of waste in the chamber (Kikushima Para [0029]: heater 22 is turned on, and the water in which the used diapers stored in the rotating drum 7 are immersed is heated).
Regarding claim 2, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the chamber (Kikushima – 7) is rotatable (Kikushima Para [0017]: a rotating drum 7 rotatably mounted inside the outer body 6).
Regarding claim 3, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the chamber (Kikushima – 7) comprises a base and a side wall extending away from the base (See Kikushima FIG. 1 below).
Kikushima FIG. 1
Regarding claim 9, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), further comprising a lid (Kikushima – 2; FIG. 1) for selectively closing the first opening (Kikushima Para [0017]: an opening/closing lid 2 on its front).
Regarding claim 11, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the apparatus further comprises at least one blade member (Kikushima – 12; FIG. 1) arranged to project into the chamber (Kikushima – 6), wherein the at least one blade member (Kikushima – 12) is actuatable so as to agitate the portion of waste in the chamber (Kikushima Para [0019]: stirring protrusions 12 are formed axially on the inner circumferential wall of the rotating drum 7 to catch and agitate used disposable diapers during rotation…. The stirring protrusions 12 can have any shape that promotes the dismantling and separation of the disposable diapers by stirring them. For example, they can be…a plate-shaped stirring blade).
Regarding claim 16, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the heating member (Kikushima – 22) is adapted to provide heat for a predetermined period of time (See Kikushima [0029] for heating during sterilization process and Para [0043]: sterilization by heating and separation/disassembly are performed in parallel, so the processing time can be shortened).
Regarding claim 18, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), wherein the heating member (Kikushima – 22) provides heat to increase a temperature of the portion of waste to at least 50°C, preferably at least 70°C (Kikushima Para [0021]: the heating temperature of the heating means is appropriately set to 40 to 100 degrees Celsius, and the wastewater containing filth contained in the rotating drum 7 is heated and sterilized).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima in view of Nomizu et al. JP H11239539 A. JP H11239539 A is a published patent application henceforth to be known as the Nomizu patent.
Regarding claim 4, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus comprising a chamber (Kikushima – 7), wherein the chamber comprises a base and a side wall extending away from the base (See claim 1 rejection above), however Kikushima fails to disclose wherein the base wall and / or the side wall is metallic.
Nomizu teaches a metal grinding container (Nomizu – 8; FIG. 1), wherein the base and the side wall are metal (Nomizu Para [0009]: A metal grinding container 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber disclosed by Kikushima, to be a metallic container, as taught by Nomizu, given that it is well known in the art that certain metals exhibit heat resistance properties.
Claims 5-7, and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima in view of Hurlin et al. WO 2016/012334 A1. WO 2016/012334 A1 is a published patent application henceforth to be referred to as the Hurlin patent.
Regarding claim 5, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus comprising a chamber (Kikushima – 7)(See claim 1 rejection above), however, Kikushima fails to disclose wherein the chamber is configured to form a passageway and the portion of waste passes through the passageway as the heating member provides heat.
Hurlin teaches a treatment chamber (Hurlin – 22; FIG. 7) configured to form a passageway (See Hurlin FIG. 1) and wherein a portion of waste passes through the passageway as a heating member (Hurlin – 221; FIG. 7) provides heat (Hurlin Para [0059]: a second system 21; 22 for the continuous treatment of products by thermal input, for raising the temperature of waste). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the chamber disclosed by Kikushima, to be configured to form a passageway, wherein a portion of waste passes through the passageway as a heating member provides heat, as taught by Hurlin, to provide a continuous heat treatment system (Hurlin Para [0021]).
Regarding claim 6, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), however Kikushima fails to disclose a waste processing apparatus further comprising a second opening configured to discharge the portion of waste from the chamber.
Hurlin teaches a continuous waste treatment installation comprising a second opening configured to discharge a portion of waste from the chamber (See Hurlin FIG. 7A below). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to include a first and a second opening, as taught by Hurlin, to provide a continuous waste treatment system (Hurlin Para [0057]).
Hurlin FIG. 7A
Regarding claim 7, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), however Kikushima fails to disclose a waste processing apparatus further comprising a conveyor assembly to convey the portion of waste from the first opening to the second opening. Hurlin teaches a conveyor assembly 223a, 223b to convey the portion of waste from the first opening to the second opening (See Hurlin FIG. 7A above). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to include a conveyor assembly to convey a portion of waste from the first opening to the second opening, as taught by Hurlin, to provide a continuous waste treatment system (Hurlin Para [0057]).
Regarding claim 12, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 rejection above), ), however Kikushima fails to disclose a waste processing apparatus further comprising at least one contacting element, wherein each contacting element is adapted to at least partially disintegrate the portion of waste.
Hurlin teaches at least one contacting element (See Hurlin FIG. 7B below), wherein each contacting element is adapted to at least partially disintegrate the portion of waste (Hurlin Para [0058]: a first system 10 for shredding or even mixing products). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to include at least one contacting member adapted to at least partially disintegrate a portion of waste, as taught by Hurlin, where it is known within the art to reduce the size of waste into granules of sufficient small size (See Hurlin Para [0006]).
Hurling FIG. 7B
Regarding claim 13, Kikushima in view of Hurlin discloses the waste processing apparatus comprising the at least one contacting element (See claim 12 rejection above), the waste processing apparatus further comprising a shredding assembly (Hurlin – 10; FIG. 7), wherein the shredding assembly has at least one contacting element moveably mounted therein (See Hurlin FIG. 7B above)(Hurlin Para [0058]: a first system 10 for shredding or even mixing products).
Regarding claim 14, Kikushima in view of Hurlin discloses the waste processing apparatus comprising the shredding assembly (See claim 13 rejection above), wherein the shredding assembly is positioned at an entrance to the first opening (See Hurlin FIG. 7B above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima in view of Hurlin et al. as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Niu CN 206359004 U. CN 206359004 U is a published patent henceforth to be referred to as the Niu patent.
Regarding claim 8, Kikushima in view of Hurlin discloses the waster processing apparatus comprising the conveyor assembly to convey the portion of waste from the first opening to the second opening (See claim 7 rejection above) through the chamber (See Hurlin FIG. 7A above), however, Kikushima in view of Hurlin fails to disclose wherein the conveyor assembly comprises a pair of moveable belts oriented to cooperatingly engage the portion of waste.
Niu teaches a waste treatment conveyor assembly (Niu – 31; FIG. 1) comprised of a pair of moveable belts (Niu – 311; FIG. 1) oriented to cooperatingly engage the portion of waste (Niu Para [0035]). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the conveyor assembly disclosed by Kikushima in view of Hurlin, to include a pair of moveable belts oriented to cooperatingly engage the portion of waste and convey the portion of waste, as taught by Niu, to provide a means to greatly improve production efficiency (See Niu Para [0035]: The main conveyor 31 is designed to collect semi-finished products in a unified manner, reduce manpower, and make the use of machinery more convenient and faster, which can greatly improve production efficiency).
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima in view of Harkess et al. US 2010/0301147 A1. US 2010/0301147 A1 is a published patent application henceforth to be referred to as the Harkess patent.
Regarding claim 10, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 above), comprising a lid (Kikushima – 2), however Kikushima fails to disclose an inlet having a moveable closure means configured to selectively seal the inlet.
Harkess teaches a apparatus for processing medical waste, wherein the apparatus comprises an inlet having a moveable closure means (Harkess – 4; FIG 2) configured to selectively seal the inlet (Harkess Para [0031]: a cover 4 may be used to provide a seal, which may be implemented as a fluid-tight seal). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to include an inlet having a moveable closure means configured to selectively seal the inlet, as taught by Harkess, to prevent the escape of liquids, germs, and other substances from the chamber (Harkess Para [0031]).
Regarding claim 20, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus (See claim 1 above), however, Kikushima fails to disclose the waste processing apparatus further comprising a conduit for extracting air from chamber so as to maintain negative pressure within the chamber during use, and optionally, wherein the conduit is fluidly connected to a filter element.
Harkess teaches a apparatus for processing medical waste, wherein the apparatus comprises a conduit (See Harkess FIG. 2 below) for extracting air from chamber (Harkess – 3; FIG. 2) so as to maintain negative pressure within the chamber (Harkess – 3) during use, and optionally, wherein the conduit is fluidly connected to a filter element (Harkess Para [0031]: suction system 9 may further include a suction pump and at least one filter (e.g., a hepa-filter)). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to include a conduit for extracting air from the chamber, wherein the conduit is fluidly connected to a filter element, as taught by Harkess, to provide a means to inhibit the emission of germs or other substances into the atmosphere (Harkess Para [0031]).
Harkess FIG. 2
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima in view of Hurlin et al. as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of Lin et al. CN 207056704 U. CN 207056704 U is a published patent henceforth to be referred to as the Lin patent.
Regarding claim 15, Kikushima in view of Hurlin discloses the waste process apparatus comprising at least one contacting element (See claim 12 rejection above), however, Kikushima in view of Hurlin fails to disclose wherein the at least one contacting element is mounted on a blade member.
Lin teaches a blade provided with serrated blades on their sides (Lin Para [0025]: The centrifugal blade and the stator blade are provided with serrated blades on their sides). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify at least one contacting element disclosed by Kikushima in view of Hurlin, to be mounted on a blade member, as taught by Lin, to further improve the crushing effect of the blade member (Lin Para [0025]: The centrifugal blade and the stator blade are provided with serrated blades on their sides to further improve the crushing effect).
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kikushima as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kagami et al. JP H08145567 A. JP H08145567 A is a published patent henceforth to be referred to as the Kagami patent.
Regarding claim 17, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus comprising a heating member (See claim 1 rejection above), however, Kikushima fails to disclose wherein the heating member is adapted to provide heat intermittently.
Kagami teaches a waste treatment device comprised of a heating member (Kagami – 3; FIG. 8) adapted to heat intermittently (Kagami Para [0003]: the heating device (3) intermittently generates heat). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating member of the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to heat intermittently, as taught by Kagami, so as to maintain the temperature inside the chamber at the set temperature (Kagami Para [0003]).
Regarding claim 19, Kikushima discloses the waste processing apparatus comprising a heating member (See claim 1 rejection above), however, Kikushima fails to disclose wherein the heating member is arranged so that at least a portion of the heating member projects into the chamber.
Kagami teaches a waste treatment device comprised of a heating member (Kagami – 3; FIG. 8) arranged so that at least a portion of the heating member (Kagami – 3) projects into the chamber (See Kagami FIG. 8). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the heating member of the waste processing apparatus disclosed by Kikushima, to be arranged so that at least a portion of the heating member projects into the chamber, as taught by Kagami, so that the heating member generates heat to maintain the temperature inside the chamber (See Kagami Para [0003]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hino WO 0300167 A1. Hino discloses a waste processing apparatus comprising a chamber having a first opening through which a portion of waste is received into the chamber, wherein the chamber comprises a base and a sidewall; a lid; at least one contacting element; a shredding assembly having at least one contacting element moveably mounted therein; and a heating member adapted to provide heat to the portion of waste in the chamber.
D.N.I.
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3725
/Christopher L Templeton/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3725