DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/13/2025 is in compliance with the provisions on 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “a support unit” in claims 1-5, 7-13, 15-20.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 19 recites the limitation "the base" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 8, 11-13, 15, 17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Birnbaum et al. (US 2021/0341705 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Birnbaum et al. (hereafter referred as Birn) teaches a camera device (Birn, Fig. 1) comprising:
a fixed unit comprising a cover member comprising an upper plate and a side plate connected to the upper plate (Birn, Fig. 1, shield can 124 (or additionally stiffener 134), Paragraph 0026);
a moving unit (Birn, Fig. 1, lens carrier 108, base structure 110, substrate 106, image sensor 104 (or additionally flex circuit 132), Paragraphs 0022-0024, Elements 108, 110, 106, 104, or additionally 132 are all considered to be the moving unit.) comprising a holder (Birn, Fig. 1, lens carrier 108 and base structure 110, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0044) disposed inside the cover member (Birn, Fig. 1, shield can 124), a first circuit board disposed on the holder (Birn, Fig. 1, substrate 106 and/or flex circuit 132, Paragraph 0028), and an image sensor conductively connected to the first circuit board (Birn, Fig. 1, image sensor 104, Paragraph 0023); and
a support unit coupled to the holder, the support unit being configured to support the moving unit with respect to the fixed unit (Birn, Figs. 1-2, suspension arrangement 126 and spring mounting spacer 224, Paragraph 0027),
wherein the holder comprises a side portion (Birn, Fig. 4, A side portion is a side with a horizontal bumper 412.), a corner portion (Birn, Fig, 4, A corner portion is the corner between sides with horizontal bumper 412 and holder portion 410.), and a stopper protruding from an outer side surface of the side portion of the holder toward the side plate of the cover member (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper(s) 412, Paragraph 0048), and
wherein the stopper is disposed closer to a center of the side portion of the holder than to the corner portion of the holder (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper(s) 412, Paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 3, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein a shortest distance between the stopper and the side plate of the cover member is less than a shortest distance between the outer side surface of the side portion of the holder and the side plate of the cover member (Birn, Figs. 2B and 4, The side plate of shield can 226 is closer to the horizontal bumper 412 than the side from which the horizontal bumper 412 protrudes from.).
Regarding claim 4, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein a shortest distance between the stopper and the side plate of the cover member is less than a shortest distance between an outer side surface of the corner portion of the holder and the side plate of the cover member (Birn, Figs. 2B and 4, The side plate of shield can 226 is closer to the horizontal bumper 412 than corner of the holder.).
Regarding claim 5, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 3 (see claim 3 analysis), wherein the holder comprises a protruding portion (Birn, Figs. 2B and 4, lower portion 404, Paragraph 0045, The protruding portion is considered to be lower portion 404.) formed so as to allow a portion of the support unit to be coupled thereto (Birn, Fig. 2B, Paragraph 0034), and
wherein the stopper comprises a first stopper protruding from an outer side surface of the protruding portion of the holder (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper(s) 412, Paragraph 0048).
Regarding claim 8, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the fixed unit comprises:
a base disposed below the cover member (Birn, Fig 1, stiffener 134); and
a second circuit board coupled to the base (Birn, Fig. 1, flex circuit 132), and
wherein the stopper comprises a second stopper protruding from the outer side surface of the side portion of the holder toward the base (Birn, Figs. 1, 2B and 4, horizontal bumper 412, The horizontal bumper protrudes toward the vertical side of the base.).
Regarding claim 11, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein when a center of the side portion of the holder is a point corresponding to 50% of the overall length of the side portion of the holder, the stopper is disposed within a region between points corresponding to 35% and 65% of the length of the side portion of the holder (Birn, Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, Birn teaches a camera device (Birn, Fig. 1) comprising:
a fixed unit including a cover member (Birn, Fig. 1, shield can 124, Paragraph 0026);
a moving unit (Birn, Fig. 1, lens carrier 108, base structure 110, substrate 106, flex circuit 132 and image sensor 104, Paragraphs 0022-0024, Elements 108, 110, 106, 132 and 104 are all considered to be the moving unit.) including a holder (Birn, Fig. 1, lens carrier 108 and base structure 110, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0044) disposed inside the cover member and an image sensor (Birn, Fig. 1, image sensor 104, Paragraph 0023); and
a support unit coupled to the holder and configured to support the moving unit with respect to the fixed unit (Birn, Figs. 1-2, suspension arrangement 126 and spring mounting spacer 224, Paragraph 0027),
wherein the holder comprises a first stopper protruding (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper 412, Paragraph 0048) from an outer side surface of a first side portion (Birn, Fig. 4, A side portion is a side with a horizontal bumper 412.) of the holder toward a first side plate of the cover member in a second direction perpendicular to a first direction parallel to an optical axis (Birn, Figs. 1 and 2B, Paragraph 0048),
wherein the first stopper protrudes relative to the support unit coupled to the holder (Birn, Figs. 2B and 4, The first stopper protrudes relative to the support unit.).
Regarding claim 13, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 12 (see claim 12 analysis), wherein the holder comprises a second stopper protruding from an outer side surface of a second side portion of the holder toward a second side plate of the cover member in a direction opposite the first stopper (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper 412, Paragraph 0048, The second stopper is a stopper on the opposite side of the first stopper.), and
wherein the second stopper protrudes relative to the support unit coupled to the holder (Birn, Figs. 2B and 4, The second stopper protrudes relative to the support unit.).
Regarding claim 15, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 12 (see claim 12 analysis), wherein the holder comprises:
a third stopper protruding from an outer side surface of a third side portion of the holder in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Birn, Fig. 4, coil holder portion 410, Paragraph 0047, The coil holder portion is considered to be a stopper since it prevents movement of a coil.); and
a fourth stopper protruding from an outer side surface of a fourth side portion of the holder in a direction opposite the third stopper (Birn, Fig. 4, coil holder portion 410, Paragraph 0047, The third and fourth stoppers are on opposite sides of lens carrier 400.).
Regarding claim 17, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 15 (see claim 15 analysis), wherein each of the third stopper and the fourth stopper is located farther inward than the support unit (Birn, Figs. 2B and 4, The third stopper and the fourth stopper are located farther inward in the y-axis direction than the suspension arrangement 126 and spring mounting spacer 224 in the y-axis direction.).
Regarding claim 20, Birn teaches an actuator (Birn, Fig. 1)comprising:
a fixed unit comprising a cover member including an upper plate and a side plate connected to the upper plate (Birn, Fig. 1, shield can 124, Paragraph 0026);
a moving unit (Birn, Fig. 1, lens carrier 108, base structure 110, substrate 106, flex circuit 132 and image sensor 104, Paragraphs 0022-0024, Elements 108, 110, 106, 132 and 104 are all considered to be the moving unit.) comprising a holder (Birn, Fig. 1, lens carrier 108 and base structure 110, Fig. 4, Paragraph 0044) disposed inside the cover member and a first circuit board disposed on the holder (Birn, Fig. 1, substrate 106 and flex circuit 132, Paragraph 0028); and
a support unit coupled to the holder and configured to support the moving unit with respect to the fixed unit (Birn, Figs. 1-2, suspension arrangement 126 and spring mounting spacer 224, Paragraph 0027),
wherein the holder comprises a side portion (Birn, Fig. 4, A side portion is a side with a horizontal bumper 412.), a corner portion (Birn, Fig, 4, A corner portion is the corner between sides with horizontal bumper 412 and holder portion 410.), and a stopper protruding from an outer side surface of the side portion of the holder toward the side plate of the cover member (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper(s) 412, Paragraph 0048), and the stopper is disposed closer to a center of the side portion of the holder than to the corner portion of the holder (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper(s) 412, Paragraph 0048).
Claim(s) 12-13, 15 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (US 2017/0289455 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Hu teaches a camera device (Hu, Fig. 1) comprising:
a fixed unit including a cover member (Hu, Fig. 1-2, housing 40, Paragraph 0036);
a moving unit (Hu, Fig. 1, base 10, holder 30, bottom 20, columnar position members P1 and P2, and image sensor IM) including a holder (Hu, Fig. 1, base 10, holder 30, bottom 20 and columnar position members P1 and P2) disposed inside the cover member and an image sensor (Hu, Fig. 1, image sensor IM, Paragraph 0037-0038); and
a support unit coupled to the holder and configured to support the moving unit with respect to the fixed unit (Hu, Fig. 1, elastic elements S1, S2, elements W1, W2, and conductive blocks L, Paragraphs 0047-0048 and 0050),
wherein the holder comprises a first stopper protruding (Hu, Figs. 1-2, Either columnar position members P1 or P2 may be the stopper.) from an outer side surface of a first side portion (Hu, Figs. 1-2, A side portion is a side from which columnar position members P1 and P2 protrude.) of the holder toward a first side plate of the cover member in a second direction perpendicular to a first direction parallel to an optical axis (Hu, Figs. 1-2),
wherein the first stopper protrudes relative to the support unit coupled to the holder (Hu, Fig. 2, The first stopper protrudes relative to the support unit.).
Regarding claim 13, Hu teaches the camera device according to claim 12 (see claim 12 analysis), wherein the holder comprises a second stopper protruding from an outer side surface of a second side portion of the holder toward a second side plate of the cover member in a direction opposite the first stopper (Hu, Figs. 1-2, The second stopper is a stopper on an opposite side of the first stopper.), and
wherein the second stopper protrudes relative to the support unit coupled to the holder (Hu, Fig. 2, The second stopper protrudes relative to the support unit.).
Regarding claim 15, Hu teaches the camera device according to claim 12 (see claim 12 analysis), wherein the holder comprises: a third stopper protruding from an outer side surface of a third side portion of the holder in a third direction perpendicular to the first direction and the second direction (Hu, Figs. 1-2, The third stopper is a stopper on an adjacent side of the first stopper.); and
a fourth stopper protruding from an outer side surface of a fourth side portion of the holder in a direction opposite the third stopper (Hu, Figs. 1-2, The fourth stopper is a stopper on an opposite side of the third stopper.).
Regarding claim 17, Hu teaches the camera device according to claim 15 (see claim 15 analysis), wherein each of the third stopper and the fourth stopper is located farther inward than the support unit (Hu, Fig. 2, A portion of the third stopper and the fourth stopper is farther inward than the portion of the support unit (for example, a portion of S2.).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Birnbaum et al. (US 2021/0341705 A1) in view of Shin et al. (US 2017/0052342 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Birn teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein the stopper comprises a first stopper located on one side of the holder and a second stopper located on an opposite side of the holder (Birn, Fig. 4, horizontal bumper(s) 412, Paragraph 0048).
However, Birn does not teach wherein the holder comprises a protruding portion protruding in an optical-axis direction so as to allow a portion of the support unit to be coupled thereto, and wherein the stopper comprises a first stopper located on one side of the protruding portion of the holder and a second stopper located on an opposite side of the protruding portion of the holder.
In reference to Shin et al. (hereafter referred as Shin), Shin teaches wherein a holder (Shin, Fig. 2, bobbin 210) comprises a protruding portion protruding (Shin, Figs. 2-3, upper coupling part 213) in an optical-axis direction so as to allow a portion of a support unit (Shin, Fig. 2-3, support member 610) to be coupled thereto (Shin, Paragraph 0089), and
wherein the holder comprises a side on one side of the protruding portion of the holder and a side located on an opposite side of the protruding portion of the holder (Shin, Fig. 3, Left and right sides of bobbin 210 are on opposite sides of an upper coupling part 213.).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to moving elements in a camera device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Birn with the protrusion for connecting to a support member as seen in Shin since it is a known method of connecting a support member to a movable structure and would provide similar and expected results for coupling the support unit to the holder. Further, the limitation “wherein the stopper comprises a first stopper located on one side of the protruding portion of the holder and a second stopper located on an opposite side of the protruding portion of the holder” would be met since the first and second stopper are on opposite sides of the holder.
Claim(s) 1-4, 11 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hu et al. (US 2017/0289455 A1) in view of Rho et al. (US 2022/0311916 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Hu et al. (hereafter referred as Hu) teaches a camera (Hu, Fig. 1) device comprising:
a fixed unit comprising a cover member comprising an upper plate and a side plate connected to the upper plate (Hu, Fig. 1-2, housing 40, Paragraph 0036);
a moving unit (Hu, Fig. 1, base 10, holder 30, bottom 20, columnar position members P1 and P2, and image sensor IM), comprising a holder disposed inside the cover member (Hu, Fig. 1, base 10, holder 30, bottom 20 and columnar position members P1 and P2), and an image sensor (Hu, Fig. 1, image sensor IM, Paragraph 0037-0038); and
a support unit coupled to the holder, the support unit being configured to support the moving unit with respect to the fixed unit (Hu, Fig. 1, elastic elements S1, S2, elements W1, W2, and conductive blocks L, Paragraphs 0047-0048 and 0050),
wherein the holder comprises a side portion (Hu, Figs. 1-2, A side portion is a side from which columnar position members P1 and P2 protrude.), a corner portion (Hu, Figs. 1-2, protrusions 12, Paragraph 0047, A corner portion is a protrusions 12 opposite columnar position members P2.), and a stopper protruding from an outer side surface of the side portion of the holder toward the side plate of the cover member (Hu, Figs. 1-2, Either columnar position members P1 or P2 may be the stopper.), and
wherein the stopper is disposed closer to a center of the side portion of the holder than to the corner portion of the holder (Hu, Figs. 1-2, Both columnar position members P1 and P2 are closer to the center of the side portion than to the protrusions 12 opposite columnar position members P2.).
However, Hu does not teach a first circuit board disposed on the holder and an image sensor conductively connected to the first circuit board.
In reference to Rho et al. (hereafter referred as Rho), Rho teaches a first circuit board disposed on a holder and an image sensor conductively connected to the first circuit board (Rho, Fig. 5, image sensor 463 and circuit board 464, Paragraphs 0135).
These arts are analogous since they are both related to moving elements in a camera device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to modify the invention of Hu with the teaching of a circuit board connected to the image sensor as seen in Rho since it is well known to mount an image sensor on a circuit board and would provide similar and expected results of providing signals to control the image sensor and read signals from the image sensor.
Claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons as claim 1.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Hu and Rho teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein at least a portion of the stopper passes through the support unit (Hu, Fig. 2, Both columnar position members P1 and P2 are considered to pass through element W2 of the support unit.).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Hu and Rho teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein a shortest distance between the stopper and the side plate of the cover member is less than a shortest distance between the outer side surface of the side portion of the holder and the side plate of the cover member (Hu, Fig. 2, The side plate of housing 40 is closer to the columnar position members P1 and P2 than the side from which the columnar position members P1 and P2 protrudes from).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Hu and Rho teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein a shortest distance between the stopper and the side plate of the cover member is less than a shortest distance between an outer side surface of the corner portion of the holder and the side plate of the cover member (Hu, Fig. 2, The side plate of housing 40 is closer to the columnar position members P1 and P2 than an outer side surface of the corner portion where the outer side surface in an inward facing surface.).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Hu and Rho teaches the camera device according to claim 1 (see claim 1 analysis), wherein when a center of the side portion of the holder is a point corresponding to 50% of the overall length of the side portion of the holder, the stopper is disposed within a region between points corresponding to 35% and 65% of the length of the side portion of the holder (Hu, Fig. 2, columnar position members P1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 6, 9-10, 14, 16 and 18 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
With regard to claim 6, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The camera device according to claim 5, wherein the support unit comprises a connection portion connected to the first circuit board and coupled to the protruding portion of the holder, and wherein the first stopper passes through the connection portion.”
With regard to claim 9, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
The camera device according to claim 8, wherein the base comprises a protruding portion formed so as to allow a portion of the support unit to be coupled thereto, wherein the holder comprises a recess depressed in the outer side surface of the side portion of the holder so as to correspond to the protruding portion of the base, and wherein the second stopper protrudes from a bottom surface of the recess in the holder toward the protruding portion of the base.”
Claim 10 depends on and further limits claim 9. Therefore, claim 10 is allowable for the same reasons.
With regard to claim 14, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The camera device according to claim 13, wherein the support unit comprises: a first hole formed therein to allow a portion of the first stopper to pass therethrough; and a second hole formed therein to allow the second stopper to pass therethrough.”
With regard to claim 16, prior art of record neither anticipates nor renders obvious:
“The camera device according to claim 15, wherein the holder comprises: a first recess formed in the outer side surface of the third side portion of the holder; and a second recess formed in the outer side surface of the fourth side portion of the holder, wherein the third stopper protrudes from a bottom surface of the first recess, and the fourth stopper protrudes from a bottom surface of the second recess.
Claim 18 depends on and further limits claim 16. Therefore, claim 18 is allowable for the same reasons.
Conclusion
/WESLEY J CHIU/ Examiner, Art Unit 2639
/TWYLER L HASKINS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2639