DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/25 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7-8, 10-13, 19, 21 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 recites “one or more layers” in line 2 then recites “a plurality of layers”. It is unclear if the layers in the “plurality of layers” are the same as the “one or more layers”. Antecedence should be reflected or claim terms clearly differentiated from each other. Further, claim language should be consistent (e.g. “one or more layers” versus “a plurality of layers”).
Each of claims 10 and 12-13 depend from canceled claim 6. Each has been examined as depending from claim 1. Each claim includes structures that lack antecedent basis (e.g. “one or more layers” in claim 10 and “the layers” in claim 12).
Claim 13 recites “the central opening” lacking antecedent basis.
Claim 19 recites “in walls”. It is unclear if these walls are the same as the walls introduced in claim 18.
Claim 21 recites details of the structure. Parent claim 1 specifies a system comprising modular parts for forming at least a part of a structure. Is applicant positively reciting the structure or specifying that the modular parts are capable of forming the structure as specified in claim 21? Further, it is not understood what structure is being claimed with “arranged on a double grid layout”. What is the structure of the grid? Is this directed to a specific arrangement of the modules forming a structure or something else entirely?
Claim 21 recites “the grid” lacking antecedent basis. Is this referring to the grid layout or a different structure?
Claim 23 recites “a story has a corresponding to an integer” that is grammatically incorrect. It is unclear what is being claimed.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 10-14, 16, 18-19, 21, 23, 26-27 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Renneberg, DE 10 2010 018 625.
Regarding claim 1:
Renneberg discloses a system comprising modular parts arranged to be assembled to form at least part of a structure (Fig. 23), the system including:
a plurality of interengageable modules (1) arranged to be fixed together;
wherein the plurality of modules comprises at least one modules forming an opening in the structure (Fig. 7, with window 14);
wherein each module includes one or more frame elements (4); and
wherein the modules are arranged such that in the assembled structure, the frame elements of the modules at least partly transmit loads between adjacent modules, through the structure (16-18).
Regarding claim 2:
Renneberg discloses wherein each module has a first face and an opposing second face that are parallel and separated by a thickness of the module (Figs. 3 and 4 showing the module in cross section).
Regarding claims 3 and 5:
Renneberg discloses wherein each modules includes a first frame (4) at or near the first face of the module, defining a surface parallel to the first face of the module and a second frame (also identified as 4) at the second face, defining a surface parallel to the second face of the module; the first and second frames also being peripheral frame elements extending around the periphery of the modules between the faces defining edge faces (5) facing outward from the module, perpendicular to the first and second face.
Regarding claims 7-8:
Renneberg discloses wherein a first set of the plurality of modules comprises one or more layers (8, 12) and each module in the first set comprises a plurality of layers arranged in a stack, wherein the plurality of layers includes a core material (8) arranged to bind at least some of the plurality of layers into a composite structure, wherein the composite structure is arranged to at least partly transmit loads between adjacent modules;
a volume defined between two layers (exterior layer 9) of the plurality of layers.
Regarding claim 10:
Renneberg discloses wherein the one or more layers comprise an outer skin (9).
Regarding claim 11:
Renneberg discloses wherein the one or more layers include a service layer and wherein channels are formed in the body of the layers or recessed into a face of the module (the panels can be equipped with sockets and side plates have openings that allow passage of supply lines into the wall elements, or with recesses – ~20th paragraph of the translation).
Regarding claim 12:
Renneberg discloses wherein at least some of the layers (layer 2) are retained between two frame elements (refer to Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 13:
Renneberg discloses wherein at least some of the one or more frame elements comprises an opening (slot that receives layer 2), and wherein at least some of the layers are received in the central opening of one of the frame elements.
Regarding claim 14:
Renneberg discloses wherein at least one face of the module comprises fixation points (slots 5) formed in the frame elements to suspend finish 17 shown in Fig. 15.
Regarding claim 16:
Renneberg discloses sealing elements arranged to form seals between adjacent modules, the seals integral with the modules, wherein the seals comprise weather/environmental seals (Teflon gasket).
Regarding claim 18:
Renneberg discloses wherein the plurality of modules are arranged to form walls.
Regarding claim 19:
Renneberg discloses wherein in walls formed by a plurality of modules, modules extending in parallel or non-parallel directions are joined by posts (25), the posts enclosing conduits for transport of sewage waste, ventilation and rainwater disposal (refer to Fig. 9, the posts are hollow conduits).
Regarding claim 21:
Renneberg discloses wherein the structure is arranged on an at least a double grid layout, such that at least some of the dimensions of at least some of the modules corresponds to a unit on the grid, wherein the structure defines a closed perimeter, and wherein at least two walls of the perimeter of the assembled structure are arranged off the grid.
Regarding claim 23:
Renneberg discloses wherein the system is arranged to form a structure having multiple stories, and wherein each module has a height such that the combination of modules forming the height of a story has a corresponding to an integer multiple of the height of a step of a staircase in the building (the height of a story corresponds to an integer multiple of hypothetical stairs, wherein the stairs can be of any given height such that the story corresponds to a multiple of the stairs – implicit).
Regarding claims 26 and 27:
Renneberg discloses wherein at least some of the modules form a roof (20) and shows a ridge module (Fig. 23) arranged to join non-parallel roof modules and one or more eaves modules (Fig. 15), each eaves module interengageable with modules forming walls, and modules forming a roof, wherein the one or more eaves modules are arranged such the roof joins the wall at a non-parallel angle (Fig. 15); wherein the eaves modules includes a gutter channel for carrying rain water from the roof.
Regarding claim 30:
Renneberg discloses wherein the opening forms a window (14).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Renneberg, DE 10 2010 018 625.
Regarding claim 24:
Renneberg discloses the use of a staircase with the multistory structure but does not expressly disclose wherein at least some of the modules have a width corresponding to an integer multiple of the depth of a tread of a staircase in the building.
It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to construct the modules to have a width corresponding to an integer multiple of the depth of a tread of a staircase in the building, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. An engineer could readily modify the sizing of a module to correspond to the sizing of a staircase. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level or ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). There would be no unexpected or unpredictable result obtained from changing the size of the modules to be compatible with a staircase size. There is no evidence that the claimed dimensions not specifically taught by Renneberg provide a criticality that would be unachievable and unexpected with a reasonable amount of experimentation.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/BRENT W HERRING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633