DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the shaft". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-10 and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 7549543) in view of Ernst (US 6312185).
Regarding claim 1, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches a screen basket (Col. 1 lines 13-16) comprising:
a first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #9) including a first support ring (Fig. 7 #9b) for securing a first end of a tubular screen (Fig. 7 #9b securing first end of #3) and a first lateral flange (Fig. 7 #9a) that extends radially outward from the first support ring (Fig. 7 #9a extends radially outward from #9b);
a plurality of rods (Fig. 1 #6) arranged around a perimeter of the screen basket (Fig. 1 #6 arranged around perimeter of #1) and secured to the lateral flange of the first screen retainer (Fig. 7 see #6 secured to #9a), each of the rods including a threaded section (Fig. 5 #6a, Col. 7 lines 38-44) spaced from the first screen retainer (Fig. 5 #6a spaced from #9);
a second screen retainer (Fig. 1 #7) including a second support ring (Fig. 5 #7b) for securing a second end of the tubular screen (Fig. 5 #7b securing second end of #3) and a second lateral flange (Fig. 5 #7a) that extends radially outward from the second support ring (Fig. 5 #7a extends radially outward from #7b), the second screen retainer being adjustably mounted on the plurality of rods at a distance from the first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #7 adjustably mounted on #6 at a distance from #9, Col. 9 lines 8-14);
a plurality of elongated sleeve nuts (Fig. 5 #16), wherein each sleeve nut is respectively disposed on a rod of the plurality of rods between the first support ring of the first screen retainer and the second support ring of the second screen retainer (Fig. 5 #16 disposed between #9 and #7), wherein each sleeve nut engages the threaded section of the respective rod (Fig. 5 #16 engage #6a) and is configured to hold the second screen retainer spaced from the first retainer to a tensioned position upon tightening of the respective sleeve nut on the threaded section of the respective rod (Col. 9 lines 8-25).
Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching wherein each sleeve nut is sized and configured to enclose the threaded section of the respective rod when the second retainer is in the tensioned position.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) is sized and configured to enclose the threaded section of the respective rod (Fig. 2 #8 is sized and configured to enclose threaded section #5 of #7) when in the tensioned position (Col. 2 lines 23-36).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut is sized and configured to enclose the threaded section of the respective rod when the second retainer is in the tensioned position as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 2, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the screen basket of claim 1, wherein the first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #9) has a fixed position on the rods (Col. 8 lines 37-42).
Regarding claim 3, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the screen basket of claim 2, further comprising a third screen retainer (Fig. 1 #8) adjustably mounted on the plurality of rods (Col. 9 lines 11-14) opposite the second screen retainer (Fig. 1 #8 opposite #7), wherein the third screen retainer includes a third support ring (Fig. 6 #8b) for securing a first end of another tubular screen (Fig. 6 #8b securing first end of #5), and wherein the first support ring (Fig. 7 #9b) of the first screen retainer is configured to secure a second end of the other tubular screen (Fig. 7 #9b securing second end of #5).
Regarding claim 4, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the screen basket of claim 1, wherein the second support ring (Fig. 5 #7b) of the second screen retainer (Fig. 5 #7) includes an annular groove (Fig. 5 ‘K1’) configured to receive a ring clamp (Fig. 5 ‘K1’ configured for securing #11) for securing the tubular screen to the second support ring (Col. 6 lines 21-26, Col. 7 lines 51-67).
Regarding claim 5, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the screen basket of claim 1, wherein the first support ring (Fig. 7 #9b) of the first screen retainer (Fig. 7 #9) includes an annular groove (Fig. 7 ‘K3’) configured to receive a ring clamp (Fig. 7 ‘K3’ configured to receive #12) for securing the tubular screen to the first support ring (Col. 6 lines 21-26).
Regarding claim 6, Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching the screen basket of claim 1, wherein each sleeve nut includes a first seal disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut so as to engage the respective threaded rod.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) includes a first seal (Fig. 2 #11) disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #11 disposed at first end of #8 on inner surface of #8) so as to engage the respective threaded rod (Fig. 2 #11 engages #7).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut includes a first seal disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut so as to engage the respective threaded rod as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 7, Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching the screen basket of claim 6, wherein each sleeve nut includes a second seal disposed at a second end of the sleeve nut on an end surface so as to engage the flange of the second screen retainer.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) includes a second seal (Fig. 2 #13) disposed at a second end of the sleeve nut on an end surface (Fig. 2 see #13 disposed at a second end of #8 on an end surface) so as to engage the anchor (Fig. 2 #13 engaging #1).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut includes a second seal disposed at a second end of the sleeve nut on an end surface so as to engage the flange of the second screen retainer as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 8, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches a centrifugal sorting machine (Col. 1 lines 13-16) comprising:
an input hopper (Fig. 13 #103) configured to receive material for sorting (Col. 9 lines 57-64);
a sorting chamber (Fig. 13 #105) coupled to the input hopper (Fig. 13 #105 coupled to #103);
an agitator (Fig. 13 #106, 182) extending through the sorting chamber (Fig. 13 #106 extending through #105); and
a screen basket (Fig. 13 #107) disposed in the sorting chamber (Fig. 13 #107 disposed on #105), surrounding the agitator (Fig. 13 #107 surrounding #106), and positioned to receive material from the input hopper (Col. 9 line 57-Col. 10 line 5), wherein the screen basket comprises:
a first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #9) including a first support ring (Fig. 7 #9b) for securing a first end of a tubular screen (Fig. 7 #9b securing first end of #3) and a first lateral flange (Fig. 7 #9a) that extends radially outward from the first support ring (Fig. 7 #9a extends radially outwards from #9b);
a plurality of rods (Fig. 1 #6) arranged around a perimeter of the screen basket (Fig. 1 #6 arranged around perimeter of #1) and secured to the lateral flange of the first screen retainer (Fig. 7 see #6 secured to #9a), each of the rods including a threaded section (Fig. 5 #6a, Col. 7 lines 38-44) spaced from the first screen retainer (Fig. 5 #6a spaced from #9);
a second screen retainer (Fig. 1 #7) including a second support ring (Fig. 5 #7b) for securing a second end of the tubular screen (Fig. 5 #7b securing second end of #3) and a second lateral flange (Fig. 5 #7a) that extends radially outward from the second support ring (Fig. 5 #7a extends radially outward from #7b), the second screen retainer being adjustably mounted on the plurality of rods at a distance from the first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #7 adjustably mounted on #6 at a distance from #9, Col. 9 lines 8-14); and
a plurality of elongated sleeve nuts (Fig. 5 #16), wherein each sleeve nut is respectively disposed on a rod of the plurality of rods between the first support ring of the first screen retainer and the second support ring of the second screen retainer (Fig. 5 #16 disposed between #9 and #7), wherein each sleeve nut engages the threaded section of the respective rod (Fig. 5 #16 engage #6a) and is configured to hold the second screen retainer spaced from the first retainer at a tensioned position upon tightening of the respective sleeve nut on the threaded section of the respective rod (Col. 9 lines 8-25).
Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching wherein each sleeve nut is sized and configured to enclose the threaded section of the respective rod when the second retainer is in the tensioned position.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) is sized and configured to enclose the threaded section of the respective rod (Fig. 2 #8 is sized and configured to enclose threaded section #5 of #7) when in the tensioned position (Col. 2 lines 23-36).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut is sized and configured to enclose the threaded section of the respective rod when the second retainer is in the tensioned position as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 9, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 8, wherein the agitator (Fig. 13 #106, 182) is configured to move a first portion of the material radially outward through the screen so as to form screened material (Col. 11 lines 24-40) and to move a second portion of the material to an outlet end of the screen basket (Col. 11 lines 40-55).
Regarding claim 10, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 9, wherein the agitator (Fig. 13 #106, 182) is disposed on a shaft (Fig. 13 #106) and includes a plurality of agitator paddles (Fig. 13 #182) radially extending outward from the shaft (Fig. 13 #182 radially extending outward from #106).
Regarding claim 12, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 8, wherein the first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #9) has a fixed position on the rods (Col. 8 lines 37-42).
Regarding claim 13, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 12, further comprising a third screen retainer (Fig. 1 #8) adjustably mounted on the plurality of rods (Col. 9 lines 11-14) opposite the second screen retainer (Fig. 1 #8 opposite #7), wherein the third screen retainer includes a third support ring (Fig. 6 #8b) for securing a first end of another tubular screen (Fig. 6 see #8b securing a first end of #5), and wherein the first support ring of the first screen retainer is configured to secure a second end of the other tubular screen (Fig. 7 #9b securing second end of #5).
Regarding claim 14, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 8, wherein the second support ring (Fig. 5 #7b) of the second screen retainer includes an annular groove (Fig. 5 ‘K1’) configured to receive a ring clamp (Fig. 5 ‘K1’ configured for securing #11) for securing the tubular screen to the second support ring (Col. 6 lines 21-26, Col. 7 lines 51-67).
Regarding claim 15, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 8, wherein the first support ring (Fig. 7 #9b) of the first screen retainer includes an annular groove (Fig. 7 ‘K3’) configured to receive a ring clamp (Fig. 7 ‘K3’ configured to receive #12) for securing the tubular screen to the first support ring (Col. 6 lines 21-26).
Regarding claim 16, Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 8, wherein each sleeve nut includes a first seal disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut so as to engage the respective threaded rod.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) includes a first seal (Fig. 2 #11) disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #11 disposed at first end of #8 on inner surface of #8) so as to engage the respective threaded rod (Fig. 2 #11 engages #7).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut includes a first seal disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut so as to engage the respective threaded rod as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 17, Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 16, wherein each sleeve nut includes a second seal disposed at a second end of the sleeve nut on an end surface so as to engage the flange of the second screen retainer.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) includes a second seal (Fig. 2 #13) disposed at a second end of the sleeve nut on an end surface (Fig. 2 see #13 disposed at a second end of #8 on an end surface) so as to engage the anchor (Fig. 2 #13 engaging #1).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut includes a second seal disposed at a second end of the sleeve nut on an end surface so as to engage the flange of the second screen retainer as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 18, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches a method of installing a tubular screen in a screen basket (Col. 1 lines 13-16), the method comprising:
securing a first end of the tubular screen to a first screen retainer (Fig. 7 first end of #3 secured on #9) that is mounted on a plurality of rods (Fig. 7 #9b mounted on plurality of #6) arranged around a perimeter of the screen basket (Fig. 1 #6 arranged around perimeter of #1);
securing a second end of the tubular screen to a second screen retainer (Fig. 5 securing second end of #3 on #7) that is adjustably mounted on the plurality of rods at a distance from the first screen retainer (Fig. 1 #7 adjustably mounted on #6 at a distance from #9, Col. 9 lines 8-14);
moving the second screen retainer to a tensioned position (Col. 9 lines 15-24); and
tightening a plurality of sleeve nuts (Fig. 5 #16) disposed on the rods so as to hold the second screen retainer in the tensioned position (Col. 9 lines 24-31), wherein each sleeve nut engages a threaded section of a respective rod (Fig. 5 #16 engages #6a).
Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching wherein each sleeve nut encloses the threaded section of the respective rod when the second screen retainer is in the tensioned position.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) encloses the threaded section of the respective rod (Fig. 2 #8 is sized and configured to enclose threaded section #5 of #7) when in the tensioned position (Col. 2 lines 23-36).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut encloses the threaded section of the respective rod when the second retainer is in the tensioned position as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Regarding claim 19, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the method of claim 18, wherein securing the first end of the tubular screen to the first screen retainer (Fig. 7 first end of #3 secured on #9) comprises securing a ring clamp (Fig. 7 #12) onto the first end of the tubular screen and a support ring of the first screen retainer (Fig. 7 #12 secured on first end of #3 and #9b).
Regarding claim 20, Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching the method of claim 18, wherein each sleeve nut includes a first seal disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut so as to engage the respective threaded rod.
Ernst (US 6312185) teaches a rod anchor for tension rods (Col. 1 lines 6-9), wherein each sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #8) includes a first seal (Fig. 2 #11) disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut (Fig. 2 #11 disposed at first end of #8 on inner surface of #8) so as to engage the respective threaded rod (Fig. 2 #11 engages #7).
Ernst (US 6312185) explains that corrosion may occur in the area of the thread connection between a tension rod and an anchor head (Col. 1 lines 16-21), and provides the sealing nut which forms a special seal around the tension rod to prevent penetration of moisture and development of corrosion (Col. 1 lines 33-54).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein each sleeve nut includes a first seal disposed at a first end of the sleeve nut on an inner surface of the sleeve nut so as to engage the respective threaded rod as taught by Ernst (US 6312185) in order to prevent corrosion.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kato et al. (US 7549543) in view of Ernst (US 6312185) and further in view of Datta (US 4904377).
Regarding claim 11, Kato et al. (US 7549543) teaches the centrifugal sorting machine of claim 9, wherein the shaft extends through the input hopper (Fig. 13 #106 extends through #103).
Kato et al. (US 7549543) lacks teaching wherein the shaft includes a feed screw configured to move material from the input hopper into the sorting chamber.
Datta (US 4904377) teaches a centrifugal sorting machine (Col. 1 lines 6-11), wherein the shaft (Fig. 2 #22) includes a feed screw (Fig. 2 #16) configured to move material from the input hopper (Fig. 2 #14) into the sorting chamber (Fig. 2 #16 configured to move material into #18).
Datta (US 4904377) explains that the material to be sifted enters into the chamber and is driven by the action of the auger into the sifting chamber (Col. 2 lines 22-28).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Kato et al. (US 7549543) to include wherein the shaft includes a feed screw configured to move material from the input hopper into the sorting chamber as taught by Datta (US 4904377) in order to feed material into the chamber due to the driving action of the auger.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zaun (US 5485924) teaches a centrifugal sifter wherein the threaded ends of the rods extend through the locking plate, and a shoulder on each rod abuts against a locking plate, such that the material being sifted does not contact the threaded ends of the rods.
/MOLLY K DEVINE/Examiner, Art Unit 3653