DETAILED OFFICE ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-7 are pending examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
1. Claims 1,6 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 103(a) as being unpatentable over REIMER et al. ( USPUB 20190190648) in view of Jie Liu et al. (NPL Doc: “ Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers,” 21st February 2017, Optical Fiber Technology 36 (2017),Pages 75-79.).
As per claim 1, REIMER et al. teaches An optical power distribution estimation device comprising: a coherent receiver configured to receive a signal transmitted from an optical transmission device via an optical transmission line ( FIG. 2- COHERENT OPTICAL RECEIVER and Paragraph [0014-0015]- “… estimates of the OSNR and signal to noise ratio due to nonlinear interference (NL-SNR) developed from the measurement of the distribution of received optical symbols can be incorporated into power control algorithms …”) ; and
REIMER et al. does not explicitly teach an optical power distribution estimator configured to estimate an optical power distribution on a basis of at least a signal obtained by compensating for or applying a characteristic of an optical reception device to a reception signal received by the coherent receiver or a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device restored on a basis of the reception signal.
However, within analogous art, Jie Liu et al. teaches an optical power distribution estimator configured to estimate an optical power distribution on a basis of at least a signal obtained by compensating for (Power distribution measurement /estimation of signal received from transmitted optical transmission device and the CD compensation process taught within Page 76- Col. 1- “…we proposed a simple MFI technique described in [18] that studies the distribution of received normalized signal power after CD compensation, timing phase recovery and constant modulus algorithm (CMA) equalization, as shown in Fig. 1. The MFI technique requires simple computations, needs no prior training and is independent of phase noise…” AND Page 76- Col. 1- Fig. 1 AND “…Fig. 2 shows the normalized power distributions of five common modulation formats including QPSK, 8-QAM, 16-QAM, 32- QAM and 64-QAM. Signals in presence of frequency offset and other phase impairments [shown in Fig. 2(b)] have the same normalized power distributions as that of the ideal constellations [Fig. 2(a)]. In a practical setting, the distribution can be obtained empirically from a block of received symbols if a sufficient symbol size is available. Clearly, different modulation formats have different power distributions, from which one can extract distinctive features for MFI….” ) or applying a characteristic of an optical reception device to a reception signal received by the coherent receiver or a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device restored on a basis of the reception signal ( Coherent Receiver on receiving from transmitted optical transmission device optical signal and the CD compensation process taught within Page 79-Fig. 6 AND Page 8- Col. 1- “…the received signal was filtered by a 3rd order Gaussian optical BPF with a 0.4-nm bandwidth followed by an integrated coherent receiver. The linewidth of the transmitter and the local oscillator (LO) were 50 kHz and 100 kHz, respectively. The frequency offset was set to 1 GHz. The coherently detected signal was sampled by a 50G sample/s real-time oscilloscope and then processed offline with the DSP described in the previous section, including normalization, re-sampling, CD compensation and CMA pre-equalization with step size of 1e-5 regardless of modulation format. In our experiments, 10,000 symbols were used to generate the received power distribution for MFI….” ) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Jie Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Systems and methods for error-free reconstruction of transmitted symbols in a coherent receiver mentioned by REIMER et al. because the Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers mentioned by Jie Liu et al. provides a method and system for implementation of coherent optical receiver system for optical power distribution measurement within optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers mentioned by Jie Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Systems and methods for error-free reconstruction of transmitted symbols in a coherent receiver mentioned by REIMER et al. for implementation of coherent optical receiver system for optical power distribution measurement within optical communication system.
As per claim 6, REIMER et al. teaches An optical power distribution estimation method comprising: receiving a signal transmitted from an optical transmission device via an optical transmission line ( FIG. 2- COHERENT OPTICAL RECEIVER and Paragraph [0014-0015]- “… estimates of the OSNR and signal to noise ratio due to nonlinear interference (NL-SNR) developed from the measurement of the distribution of received optical symbols can be incorporated into power control algorithms …”) ;
REIMER et al. does not explicitly teach an optical power distribution estimator configured to estimate an optical power distribution on a basis of at least a signal obtained by compensating for or applying a characteristic of an optical reception device to a reception signal received by the coherent receiver or a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device restored on a basis of the reception signal.
However, within analogous art, Jie Liu et al. teaches estimating an optical power distribution on a basis of at least a signal obtained by compensating for (Power distribution measurement /estimation of signal received from transmitted optical transmission device and the CD compensation process taught within Page 76- Col. 1- “…we proposed a simple MFI technique described in [18] that studies the distribution of received normalized signal power after CD compensation, timing phase recovery and constant modulus algorithm (CMA) equalization, as shown in Fig. 1. The MFI technique requires simple computations, needs no prior training and is independent of phase noise…” AND Page 76- Col. 1- Fig. 1 AND “…Fig. 2 shows the normalized power distributions of five common modulation formats including QPSK, 8-QAM, 16-QAM, 32- QAM and 64-QAM. Signals in presence of frequency offset and other phase impairments [shown in Fig. 2(b)] have the same normalized power distributions as that of the ideal constellations [Fig. 2(a)]. In a practical setting, the distribution can be obtained empirically from a block of received symbols if a sufficient symbol size is available. Clearly, different modulation formats have different power distributions, from which one can extract distinctive features for MFI….” ) or applying a characteristic of an optical reception device to a received reception signal or a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device restored on a basis of the reception signal( Coherent Receiver on receiving from transmitted optical transmission device optical signal and the CD compensation process taught within Page 79-Fig. 6 AND Page 8- Col. 1- “…the received signal was filtered by a 3rd order Gaussian optical BPF with a 0.4-nm bandwidth followed by an integrated coherent receiver. The linewidth of the transmitter and the local oscillator (LO) were 50 kHz and 100 kHz, respectively. The frequency offset was set to 1 GHz. The coherently detected signal was sampled by a 50G sample/s real-time oscilloscope and then processed offline with the DSP described in the previous section, including normalization, re-sampling, CD compensation and CMA pre-equalization with step size of 1e-5 regardless of modulation format. In our experiments, 10,000 symbols were used to generate the received power distribution for MFI….” ) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Jie Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Systems and methods for error-free reconstruction of transmitted symbols in a coherent receiver mentioned by REIMER et al. because the Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers mentioned by Jie Liu et al. provides a method and system for implementation of coherent optical receiver system for optical power distribution measurement within optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers mentioned by Jie Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Systems and methods for error-free reconstruction of transmitted symbols in a coherent receiver mentioned by REIMER et al. for implementation of coherent optical receiver system for optical power distribution measurement within optical communication system.
As per claim 7, REIMER et al. teaches Anon-transitory storage medium that stores a program for making a computer perform processes ( Paragraph [0066]- “…a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having computer readable code stored thereon for programming a computer, server, appliance, device, processor, circuit, etc. each of which may include a processor to perform functions … Flash memory, and the like. When stored in the non-transitory computer readable medium, software can include instructions executable by a processor or device (e.g., any type of programmable circuitry or logic) that…”) , the processes comprising: ( FIG. 2- COHERENT OPTICAL RECEIVER and Paragraph [0014-0015]- “… estimates of the OSNR and signal to noise ratio due to nonlinear interference (NL-SNR) developed from the measurement of the distribution of received optical symbols can be incorporated into power control algorithms …”) ;
REIMER et al. does not explicitly teach an optical power distribution estimator configured to estimate an optical power distribution on a basis of at least a signal obtained by compensating for or applying a characteristic of an optical reception device to a reception signal received by the coherent receiver or a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device restored on a basis of the reception signal.
However, within analogous art, Jie Liu et al. teaches estimating an optical power distribution on a basis of at least a signal obtained by compensating (Power distribution measurement /estimation of signal received from transmitted optical transmission device and the CD compensation process taught within Page 76- Col. 1- “…we proposed a simple MFI technique described in [18] that studies the distribution of received normalized signal power after CD compensation, timing phase recovery and constant modulus algorithm (CMA) equalization, as shown in Fig. 1. The MFI technique requires simple computations, needs no prior training and is independent of phase noise…” AND Page 76- Col. 1- Fig. 1 AND “…Fig. 2 shows the normalized power distributions of five common modulation formats including QPSK, 8-QAM, 16-QAM, 32- QAM and 64-QAM. Signals in presence of frequency offset and other phase impairments [shown in Fig. 2(b)] have the same normalized power distributions as that of the ideal constellations [Fig. 2(a)]. In a practical setting, the distribution can be obtained empirically from a block of received symbols if a sufficient symbol size is available. Clearly, different modulation formats have different power distributions, from which one can extract distinctive features for MFI….” ) or applying a characteristic of an optical reception device to a received reception signal or a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device restored on a basis of the reception signal ( Coherent Receiver on receiving from transmitted optical transmission device optical signal and the CD compensation process taught within Page 79-Fig. 6 AND Page 8- Col. 1- “…the received signal was filtered by a 3rd order Gaussian optical BPF with a 0.4-nm bandwidth followed by an integrated coherent receiver. The linewidth of the transmitter and the local oscillator (LO) were 50 kHz and 100 kHz, respectively. The frequency offset was set to 1 GHz. The coherently detected signal was sampled by a 50G sample/s real-time oscilloscope and then processed offline with the DSP described in the previous section, including normalization, re-sampling, CD compensation and CMA pre-equalization with step size of 1e-5 regardless of modulation format. In our experiments, 10,000 symbols were used to generate the received power distribution for MFI….” ) .
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Jie Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Systems and methods for error-free reconstruction of transmitted symbols in a coherent receiver mentioned by REIMER et al. because the Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers mentioned by Jie Liu et al. provides a method and system for implementation of coherent optical receiver system for optical power distribution measurement within optical communication system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one in the ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to the Signal power distribution based modulation format identification for coherent optical receivers mentioned by Jie Liu et al. within the modified teaching of the Systems and methods for error-free reconstruction of transmitted symbols in a coherent receiver mentioned by REIMER et al. for implementation of coherent optical receiver system for optical power distribution measurement within optical communication system.
It is noted that any citations to specific, pages, columns, lines, or figures in the prior art references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered to be limiting in any way. A reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123.
Allowable Subject Matter
2. Claims 2,3,4 and 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but it would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
3. The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for objecting the claims as allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 2: “…a transmission signal restorer configured to restore a signal transmitted from the optical transmission device on a basis of the reception signal; an optical transmission device characteristic applicator
As to claim 3, Claim 3 depends on objected allowable claim 2 , therefore prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 3.
As to claim 4, prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 4 : “…the reception signal is a signal obtained by compensating for a characteristic of the optical transmission device in the optical transmission device, the optical power distribution estimation device further comprises: an optical reception device characteristic compensator configured to compensate for a characteristic of the optical reception device with respect to the reception signal; and a transmission signal restorer
As to claim 5, Claim 5 depends on objected allowable claim 4 , therefore prior art of record does not teach or suggest the limitation mentioned within claim 5.
Examiner’s Notes
4. The Examiner acknowledges the following prior arts below as pertinent to the current applications claim limitations and inventive concept, although the following prior arts shown below were not relied upon to address the limitations within the claim , they are analogous art mentioning the inventive concept key points on (Coherent receiver, optical power distribution measurement, transmission of optical signal etc.).
1) Nebojsa Stojanovic,"An Efficient Method for Skew Estimation and Compensation in Coherent Receivers,"20th January 2016, IEEE PHOTONICS TECHNOLOGY LETTERS, VOL. 28, NO. 4, FEBRUARY 15, 2016,Pages 489-492.
2) Ruben Andres Soriano t al.,"Chromatic Dispersion Estimation in Digital Coherent Receivers,"21st April 2011, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 29, NO. 11, JUNE 1, 2011,Pages 1627-1630.
3) Aditya Kakkar et al.,"Comprehensive Study of Equalization-Enhanced Phase Noise in Coherent Optical Systems,"1st November 2015, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 33, NO. 23, DECEMBER 1, 2015,Pages 4834-4836.
4) Shaoliang Zhang et al.,"Decision-Aided Carrier Phase Estimation for Coherent Optical Communications,"26th May 2010, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 28, NO. 11, JUNE 1, 2010,Pages 1597-1604.
5) Takeo Sasai et al.,"Digital Longitudinal Monitoring of Optical Fiber Communication Link,"18th April 2022, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 40, NO. 8, APRIL 15, 2022,Pages 2390-2400.
6) Takahito Tanimura et al.,"Fiber-Longitudinal Anomaly Position Identification Over Multi-Span Transmission Link Out of Receiver-end Signals," 6th May 2020, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 38, NO. 9, MAY 2020,Pages 2726-2731.
7) Kazuro Kikuchi, " Fundamentals of Coherent Optical Fiber Communications," 24th January 2016, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 34, NO. 1, JANUARY 1, 2016,Pages 157-170.
8) Jiacheng Feng et al.,"Intelligent Optical Performance Monitoring Based on Intensity and Differential-Phase Features for Digital Coherent Receivers," 16th June 2022, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 40, NO. 12, JUNE 15, 2022,Pages 3592-3597.
9) Adaickalavan Meiyappan et al.,"On Decision Aided Carrier Phase and Frequency Offset Estimation in Coherent Optical Receivers," 25th April 2013, JOURNAL OF LIGHTWAVE TECHNOLOGY, VOL. 31, NO. 13, JULY 1, 2013,Pages 2055-2059.
10) Wei et al. (USPUB 20240364419)
11) WAKISAKA et al. (USPUB 20230175884 )
12) SHI et al. (USPUB 20230055077)
13) Ma et al. (USPUB 20220263582)
14) GOEBUCHI (USPUB 20200235819 )
15) RAPP (USPUB 20200049587 )
16) Bao et al. (USPUB 20190003879)
17) Kamei et al. (USPUB 20180139007)
18) AN et al. (USPUB 20160377813 )
19) Li et al. (USPUB 20160204871 )
20) Neilson et al. (USPAT 9008515 )
21) Yonenaga et al. (USPUB 20140126905 )
22) Woodward et al. ( USPUB 20110234435 )
Conclusion
5. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892, Notice of Reference Cited for a listing of analogous art.
http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice.
/OMAR S ISMAIL/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635