DETAILED ACTION
The claims 1-8 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/13/25, 2/4/26 and 9/11/26 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 & 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ideguchi et al. (US Pub No 2021/0067506) in view of Gan et al (US Pub No 2023/0017263).
Prior art Ideguchi teaches Claim:
1. An loT system comprising:
a communication device [capable of identifying a user via a security device] (e.g., IoT server @ Fig. 2 & 5 #103); and
an loT device including a secure element, the secure element performing an encryption process for establishing a secure channel with the communication device (e.g., IoT device 101 @ Fig.3 with IoT device establishing secure channel with the IoT server ¶ 0035),
wherein the communication device and the loT device each stores a list indicating first information and second information, the first information being exchangeable when no mutual authentication is performed between the communication device and the loT device, the second information being exchangeable when the mutual authentication is performed (e.g., the IoT device and IoT server each storing a certificate cache ¶ 0044-0049 and comparing the received certificate against stored certificate to determine mutual authentication status ¶ 0051-0052),
the communication device is configured to acquire the list from the loT device, and, based on the acquired list, transmit the first information to the loT device when the mutual authentication is not performed and transmit the second information to the loT device when the mutual authentication is performed (e.g., receive ClientHello message from IoT device with cached_info field ¶ 0054 & Fig. 4 #S401 as well as ¶ 0075 with Fig. 5, and based on comparing the received ClientHello to determine validity to determine mutual authentication status ¶ 0055-0057 & 0076), and
the loT device is configured to acquire the list from the communication device, and, based on the acquired list, transmit the first information to the communication device when the mutual authentication is not performed and transmit the second information to the communication device when the mutual authentication is performed (e.g., received ServerHello message from the IoT server ¶ 0057 & 0078 and comparing the hash value of the server certificate ¶ 0078-0082). Ideguchi teaches both the IoT device and server receiving information to be checked for validity when a cache hit occurs (¶ 0076), when the determination result is false, transmitting CertificateRequest (¶ 0077 for step S502-S503 @ Fig. 5) and when the determination result is true, transmitting a different response (¶ 0078 and step S504), and likewise for the IoT device performing the validitity check. Ideguchi further discloses “ that a “client information set” may include information referred to at the time of communication (e.g., information indicating an encryption scheme or information referred to in mutual authentication processing) in addition to a client certificate or its hash value. The client information set may further include a client ID or a session ID.” (¶ 0106).
Ideguchi discloses the claimed subject matter as discussed above with regards to the communication device, but does not explicitly discloses the communication device capable of identifying a user via a security device . However, analogous art from the same field of endeavor, Gan teaches this using an IoT control device allowing a user to control an IoT device with an IoT application installed (e.g., ¶ 0056 & 0101). Therefore, based on Ideguchi in view of Gan, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Gan to the system of Ideguchi in order to allow the user to control the IoT deice using an IoT application program installed on a mobile phone and to ensure security communication between the mobile phone and the IoT device (¶ 0003-0004) . Hence, it would have been obvious to combine the references to obtain the invention as specified in the instant claim(s).
The prior arts above further teach Claim:
5. The loT system according to claim 1, wherein the communication device is configured to enable setting of availability of the list acquired from the loT device, the setting being performed through operation of a user who is identified by the security device (e.g., control signaling and device status information exchanges between the IoT control device and Iot device @ Gan ¶ 0059-0062).
The prior arts above further teach Claim:
6. The loT system according to claim 1, wherein the loT device is configured to enable setting of availability of the list acquired from the communication device, the setting being performed through operation of an administrator who is registered in advance in the loT device (e.g., enabling setting of availability by a user @ Gan ¶ 0134 & Fig. 9).
The prior arts above further teach Claim:
7. The loT system according to claim 1, wherein the second information includes information about an authentication algorithm and a key used for performing the mutual authentication (e.g., ‘client information set’ may include encryption scheme or information referred to in mutual authentication processing @ Ideguchi ¶ 0106 and negotiating encryption algorithm @ Gan ¶ 0031-0033 & 0064).
Claim 8 is substantially similar to claim 1 above, and therefore the claim is likewise rejected.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CHAU LE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408