Status of the Claims
The examiner acknowledges the amended claims filed on 09/08/2026
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claims 8-20 are withdrawn from consideration for being directed to non-elected invention(s).
Claims 1-7 are examined herein.
Withdrawn Rejections
Double patenting rejections on Claims 4 and 6-7 are withdrawn as prior patent’s claims do not encompass pest resistance, altering architecture, or improving yield.
Claim Interpretation
Even though Claim 1 does not recite a function, the recited mts-siRNA target element is interpreted to require the ability to selectively regulate protein expression in male reproductive tissue in transgenic maize. Thus, no 35 USC § 101 rejection is made.
Double Patenting
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a
prior Office action.
For patent No: 11,560,574 (see form 892 mailed on 06/30/2026)
Claims 1-3 and 5 are still rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting over Claims 1-3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,560,574 (i.e., ‘574) even after consideration of Claim amendments. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because ‘574 claims a recombinant DNA construct (i.e. polynucleotide) comprising a protein coding sequence (i.e. heterologous transcribable DNA polynucleotide) operably linked to a maize male tissue-specific siRNA element comprising at least 18 contiguous nucleotides of their SEQ ID NOs: 63 and 73. Instantly claimed SEQ ID NO: 1 comprises at least 18 continuous nucleotides overlap with SEQ ID NOs:63 and 73 from ‘574 (see alignment below) which reads upon Instant Claims 1-2. Furthermore, ‘574 teaches linking the recombinant DNA construct to 5-enolypyruvyl shikimate 3-phosphate synthase (EPSPS) which is a transcribable DNA polynucleotide of Applicant’s Claim 1 that is a gene of agronomic interest (i.e. Claim 3) that confers herbicide resistance (i.e. Claim 5).
Screenshot 1: Alignment of Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 (query) where at least 18 continuous nucleotides overlap with SEQ ID NO: 63 (sbjct) from ‘574.
Screenshot 2: Alignment of Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 (query) where at least 18 continuous nucleotides overlap with SEQ ID NO: 73 (sbjct) from ‘574.
For Co-Pending Application: 18/504941 (see form 892 mailed on 06/30/2026)
The examiner is withdrawing this rejection because of amendments to the claims for application 18/504941 which were filed on 10/13/2026 and removed SEQ ID NO: 42. Thus, Applicant’s arguments for overcoming rejection based on double patenting for Co-Pending Application: 18/504941 are moot.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The text of these sections of Title 35 U.S. Code, not included in this action, can be found in a
prior Office action.
Claims 1-7 are still rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the teachings of US 2020/0283790 A1 (see form 892 mailed on 06/30/2026).
US 2020/0283790 Al is directed to using mts-siRNA to regulate gene expression in male tissue. This is clearly described in paragraph 7 in the phrase “In one aspect, the invention provides a recombinant DNA molecule comprising a mts-siRNA target element operably linked to a heterologous transcribable polynucleotide molecule” and paragraph 6 which recites “The invention relates generally to improvements to methods of selectively regulating protein expression in the male reproductive tissue of transgenic plants”. This is also claimed in Claim 1 of US 2020/0283790 Al and covers limitations of instant Claims 1-2 in regards to a recombinant DNA polynucleotide comprising an mts-siRNA target element operably linked to a heterologous transcribable DNA polynucleotide.
Claim 2 of US 2020/0283790 Al also teaches the heterologous transcribable polynucleotide molecule encodes a protein that confers herbicide tolerance in plants which was also directly claimed in the instant Claims 3 and 5.
Instant Claims 4 and 6-7 which encompass DNA polynucleotide comprises a gene of agronomic interest which confers pest resistance, alteration of architecture, and improvement of yield in plants are addressed in paragraph 55 US 2020/0283790 Al, of which recites “a transgene or transcribable polynucleotide molecule of the invention includes, but is not limited to, a transgene or transcribable polynucleotide molecule that provides a desirable characteristic associated with plant morphology [i.e. architecture], physiology [i.e. architecture], growth, development, yield, nutritional properties, disease resistance, pest resistance, herbicide tolerance, stress tolerance, environmental stress tolerance, or chemical tolerance”.
US 2020/0283790 Al does not explicitly teach a mts-siRNA target element comprising a DNA sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1 (Claim 1 (i)), with 90 percent sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1(Claim 1 (ii)), with 95 percent sequence identity to SEQ ID NO: 1 (i.e. Claim 2).
However, Claim 1 of US 2020/0283790 Al is directed to a mts-siRNA target element comprising a sequence selected from the group containing SEQ ID NO: 42 wherein the mts-siRNA target element is operably linked to a heterologous transcribable polynucleotide molecule. Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 contains this sequence (see below). Additionally, Applicant’s SEQ ID NO: 1 is comprised of multiple siRNA as was described in Table 1 and 2 in the disclosure and below. All Applicant’s siRNA sequences that were not explicitly stated by US 2020/0283790 Al, would still have been obvious based on its teachings. Paragraph 45 of US 2020/0283790 Al teaches it is within ordinary skill in the art to identify such sequences in the passage “Examples of the identification of mts-siRNA, mts-siRNA targets, and mts-siRNA target elements are provided herein and can be identified by methods known to those skilled in the art, for example through bioinformatic analysis of plant sRNA and cDNA libraries. In particular, mts-siRNA can be identified from sRNA libraries and sequenced”. Paragraph 46 teaches the mts-siRNA sequence can be rearranged in any order in the passage “In some embodiments, mts-siRNA target elements are created, synthesized, or modified in vitro. For instance, mts-siRNA target elements may be modified to contain more, fewer, or different mts-siRNA target sequences or to rearrange the relative position of one or more mts-siRNA target sequence(s )”.
>SEQ ID NO: 42 US 2020/0283790 Al
actacagtgagagtctaggaaagc
>SEQ ID NO: 1
gtatgcatcctactgccatggaggtcatgattgcgtagagagcccttggttatcgatgtccacaatcggcttcatactacagtgagagtctaggaaagcactacctgtacattgtgccgactctcggcgtcactcacaactaaccttggacgaaaatgcctggtggaa
NOTE: SEQ ID NO: 42 from US 2020/0283790 Al is underlined.
Accordingly, it would have been prima facie obvious and within the scope of an ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the compositions and methods taught by US 2020/0283790 Al, to generate the composition of a recombinant DNA polynucleotide comprising a mts-siRNA target element comprising a DNA sequence of SEQ ID NO:1 operably linked to a heterologous transcribable DNA polynucleotide. This would result in the Applicant’s invention; with a reasonable expectation of success, and without any surprising results. Obviously, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so for the purpose of obtaining a polynucleotide that could be used to transform maize for “providing improved selective regulation of the expression of a protein encoded by a transcribable polynucleotide molecule … for inducing male sterility in transgenic plants for the production of hybrid seed” (see paragraph 6).
Response to Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant’s arguments for Claims 1-7 based on the claim amendments have been considered. Responses to applicant’s arguments are below.
Regarding the double patenting rejection, the Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s point that patent '574 sequences SEQ ID NOs:63 and 73 comprise a very short regions of overlap with SEQ ID NO:1, whereas the full length of SEQ ID NO:1 is a deliberately engineered, 168 bp chimeric mts-siRNA target element constructed by combining seven distinct mts-siRNA fragments (SEQ ID NOs:2-8). They also remark the design and assembly of multiple discrete siRNA fragments into the single composite target element in the specific arrangement of SEQ ID NO: 1 was not suggested prior to the instant disclosure, and there would have been no certainty of achieving a functional target element, let alone one with any particular level of efficacy. Thus, the applicant argues that the claim amendments overcome the rejection as it requires the sequence with % similarity to have a specific percent identity “to the full length of SEQ ID NO:1”, and the rejection based on a small fragments are now moot. The examiner disagrees as the amendments to the immediate claims does not change what is already encompassed (i.e. claimed) by ‘574. Claims 1-3 in patent ‘574 clearly encompass recombinant DNA polynucleotides comprising a mts-siRNA [target] element operably linked to a protein coding sequence (i.e. heterologous transcribable DNA polynucleotide). Said mts-siRNA element can contain fragments (18 continuous nucleotides) from sequences with SEQ ID NOs: 63 and 73. Furthermore, claims from‘574 encompass maize mts-siRNA elements which selectively suppress expression of protein-coding sequence in male reproductive tissue and is precisely what the Applicant’s invention is directed to. Finally, patent ‘574 also encompass DNA constructs which encode herbicide resistance genes which directly reads upon present Claims 3 and 5.
Regarding the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 103, the examiner acknowledges that Huang does not explicitly teach the sequence of SEQ ID NO: 1, or a sequence with at least 90 percent or 95 percent identity thereto. The examiner also acknowledges that the mts-siRNA sequences from Huang (i.e. SEQ ID NO:42), which is present in SEQ ID NO:1, is not a chimeric mts-siRNA target element of SEQ ID NO: 1. The Applicant argues (i) “the construction of SEQ ID NO: 1 was not a routine or arbitrary selection, but was derived from a comprehensive bioinformatic analysis of small RNA libraries prepared from leaf and pollen tissues of multiple corn varieties, followed by empirical validation of the tissue specificity and efficacy of the resulting element, as described in Example 1 and Example 3 of the specification” and Huang’s generic teachings only recites target sequences “may be” rearranged “does not supply the missing teaching of the specific seven-fragment architecture of SEQ ID NO: 1, particularly where, as here, four of the seven fragments are placed in reverse-complement orientation.” Secondly, (ii) Huang does not disclose or suggest that its isolated SEQ ID NO:42 fragment, standing alone, would achieve the specific expression profile demonstrated for SEQ ID NO: 11 which is allegedly an unexpected and superior technical effect. Thus, Huang does not teach or suggest the specific combination, number, order, and orientation of fragments reflected in SEQ ID NO:1, nor does it provide any reasonable expectation that such a specific combination would succeed in achieving a functional, tissue-selective target element. Applicant further believes, since (iii) Claims 1 and 2 are non-obvious, dependent Claims 3-7 are also non-obvious.
The examiner disagrees with the applicant’s arguments for the following reasons. Huang clearly teaches one with skill in the art can use bioinformatics analysis to identify mts-siRNAs which can be used in mts-siRNA target elements in paragraph 45. It further teaches mts-siRNA target elements can be generated from clustering at least two or more mts-siRNA targets (paragraph 40) while paragraph 46 teaches “mts-siRNA target elements may be modified to contain more, fewer, or different mts-siRNA target sequences or to rearrange [i.e. including reverse complement] the relative position of one or more mts-siRNA target sequence”. Paragraph 7 and Claim 1 of Huang also recites mts-siRNA target element sequences can comprise SEQ ID NOs 23-92 (i.e. mts-siRNA sequences in the form of the corresponding DNA sequence see paragraph 38) or complements while paragraph 39 teaches a single strand of a double-stranded mts-siRNA molecule can then bind or hybridize under typical physiological conditions to the mts-siRNA target the mRNA. This indicates a complement or reverse complement sequence would be effective in a mts-siRNA target element. Regardless, the applicant’s mts-siRNA target element still contain three other mts-siRNA target sequences not in the reverse complement. Thus, it does make the present invention (i.e. SEQ ID NO:1) obvious and gives one with ordinary skill in the art a reasonable expectation of success that a mts-siRNA target element comprising 7 mts-siRNA target sequences (including a mts-siRNA target sequence where 4 of the mts-siRNA target sequences are in the reverse complement orientation) would be functional in silencing the expression of a operably linked heterologous transcribable DNA polynucleotide in male maize tissue (i.e. argument i). The examiner further disagrees with argument ii, as Huang does suggest that SEQ ID NO:42 fragment would achieve the specific expression profile demonstrated for SEQ ID NO: 1 as the siRNAs which correspond to this sequence are highly expressed in male tassels and not other tissues (see table 5 and paragraph 80). Huang may not suggest the use of SEQ ID NO: 42 alone, but it does clearly recite its use in mts-siRNA target elements in Claim 1 and paragraph 7. The fact it has 100% similarity to applicant’s SEQ ID NO:7 further gives one with ordinary skill in the art that applicant’s SEQ ID NO:1 would show selective suppression of gene expression in male reproductive tissue. Furthermore, the claims do not require the argued superior or technical results, meaning the claims are not commensurate within the scope of the disclosure. Because the applicant’s teachings parallel the teachings of Huang, one with ordinary skill in the art would have known this mts-siRNA target element could be used to regulate expression of protein/genes involved in pest resistance, plant architecture, and yield in the male reproductive tissue2 (i.e. argument iii). To summarize, while Huang does not explicitly teach this exact sequence, it teaches all the steps required to generate such a sequence, such as the use of bioinformatics to identify siRNAs in male tissue, that mts-siRNA target elements can be rearranged for any combination, and that they can be used for regulating expression of proteins/genes in male reproductive tissue. Thus, applicant’s claim amendments (i.e. requiring a sequence identity of at least 90% identity to the full length sequence) are not found persuasive by the examiner.
Conclusion
Claims 1-7 are rejected.
Applicants’ amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office
action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded
of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR § 1.136(a).
the mailing date of this action. In the event a first reply is filed within TWO MONTHS of the mailing
date of this final action and the advisory action is not mailed until after the end of the THREE-MONTH
shortened statutory period, then the shortened statutory period will expire on the date the advisory action
is mailed, and any nonprovisional extension fee (37 CFR 1.17(a)) pursuant to 37 CFR 1.136(a) will be
calculated from the mailing date of the advisory action. In no event, however, will the statutory period for
reply expire later than SIX MONTHS from the mailing date of this final action.
Contact Information
/GEORGE W MEYER/Examiner, Art Unit 1662
/BRATISLAV STANKOVIC/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Units 1661 & 1662
1 Based on Example 3 of the specification.
2 See paragraph 55 of Huang.