DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
The numbering of claims is not in accordance with 37 CFR 1.126 which requires the original numbering of the claims to be preserved throughout the prosecution. When claims are canceled, the remaining claims must not be renumbered. When new claims are presented, they must be numbered consecutively beginning with the number next following the highest numbered claims previously presented (whether entered or not).
Amended claim set dated 13 March 2025, which adds claims 21-23, does not include claim 7. For the purpose of examination, Examiner has used the limitations of originally filed claim 7 for the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5-10, 13, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0176192, in view of Sun, CN 109951452. Referring to claim 1, Davis discloses the establishment of a communication session between customers 302 and secure proxies such that the customers communication sensitive data to the secure proxies ([0035]-[0036]), which meets the limitation of responsive to a session of a proxy service being initiated, [obtaining, by the proxy service and from a reverse proxy, portable binary instructions]. A secure proxy 506 executing in a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]: secure proxy 506 reads on the claimed proxy service; sensitive data reads on the claimed user request/request response to the extent that the data is decrypted. The encrypted data is never functionally utilized in the claims outside of being decrypted. Therefore, the name “user request” or “request response” would be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05; McEliece cryptosystem can be utilized [0120] which represents a post-quantum cryptosystem), which meets the limitation of executing, by the proxy service, the obtained portable binary instructions within a secure virtualized environment of a user agent to perform decryption of a user request or a request response.
Davis does not specify that the applications/processes are received from a reverse proxy. Sun discloses a cryptographic service implementation wherein commands are transmitted by a reverse proxy to a machine implementing cryptographic functionality (Page 12, last full paragraph: commands read on the claimed portable binary instructions), which meets the limitation of obtaining, by the proxy service, from a reverse proxy, portable binary instructions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, because Sun discloses that implementation of cryptographic tasks using an encryption machine and other devices such as the reverse proxy represents one of a finite number of possible embodiments that could be implemented with a reasonable expectation of success (Page 6, second paragraph).
Referring to claim 5, Davis discloses that the secure proxy 506 executes a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]) such that the virtual computing system can include an isolated execution environment ([0068]-[0069]), which meets the limitation of wherein the secure virtualized environment comprises an independent context of execution within the user agent, the independent context of execution having an independent memory space.
Referring to claim 6, Davis discloses that the virtual computing system can include a virtual machine ([0057]), which meets the limitation of wherein the independent context of execution comprises a virtual machine (VM).
Referring to claim 7, Davis discloses that the secure proxy 506 executing in a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]) wherein the virtual computing system is implementing using a programming module executed on a computing system ([0109]: programming module reads on the claimed another client application), which meets the limitation of wherein the user agent comprises another client application.
Referring to claim 8, Davis does not specify that the applications/processes are received from a reverse proxy. Sun discloses a cryptographic service implementation wherein commands are transmitted by a reverse proxy to a machine implementing cryptographic functionality (Page 12, last full paragraph: commands read on the claimed portable binary instructions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, because Sun discloses that implementation of cryptographic tasks using an encryption machine and other devices such as the reverse proxy represents one of a finite number of possible embodiments that could be implemented with a reasonable expectation of success (Page 6, second paragraph).
Sun does not specify that this transmission would be performed by encapsulating the commands. Davis does specify that the secure proxy establishes TLS channels for communication ([0038]), which meets the limitation of wherein the portable binary instructions executed to perform the post-quantum custom decryption are encapsulated within the first custom cryptography binary instruction module implementing a first custom cryptographic method or protocol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, using TLS channels in order to provide secure communications as suggested by Davis ([0018] & [0038]).
Referring to claim 9, Davis suggests that TLS or other secure connections ([0038]) could be utilized and that the other secure connections include SSL and HTTPS ([0018]: the recitation of TLS or other secure connections shows a decision step implemented to determine which connection protocol should be used and this decision logic would read on the claimed policy), which meets the limitation of exchanging, based on a policy, the first custom cryptographic binary instruction module with a second custom cryptographic binary instruction module implementing a second custom cryptographic method or protocol different from the first custom cryptographic method or protocol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, using one of the secure channels discussed in Davis, in order to provide secure communications as suggested by Davis ([0018] & [0038]).
Referring to claim 10, Davis discloses the establishment of a communication session between customers 302 and secure proxies such that the customers communication sensitive data to the secure proxies ([0035]-[0036]) wherein the proxies can be implemented on devices having memory and processors ([0116]), which meets the limitation of a computing system configured to perform custom cryptography, the computing system comprising a memory, and at least one processor coupled to the memory and configured to responsive to a session of a proxy service being initialized, [obtain, via the proxy service and from a reverse proxy, portable binary instructions]. A secure proxy 506 executing in a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]: secure proxy 506 reads on the claimed proxy service; sensitive data reads on the claimed user request/request response to the extent that the data is decrypted. The encrypted data is never functionally utilized in the claims outside of being decrypted. Therefore, the name “user request” or “request response” would be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05; McEliece cryptosystem can be utilized [0120] which represents a post-quantum cryptosystem), which meets the limitation of execute, via the proxy service, the obtained portable binary instructions within a secure virtualized environment of a user agent to perform decryption of a user request or a request response.
Davis does not specify that the applications/processes are received from a reverse proxy. Sun discloses a cryptographic service implementation wherein commands are transmitted by a reverse proxy to a machine implementing cryptographic functionality (Page 12, last full paragraph: commands read on the claimed portable binary instructions), which meets the limitation of obtaining, by the proxy service, from a reverse proxy, portable binary instructions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, because Sun discloses that implementation of cryptographic tasks using an encryption machine and other devices such as the reverse proxy represents one of a finite number of possible embodiments that could be implemented with a reasonable expectation of success (Page 6, second paragraph).
Referring to claim 13, Davis discloses that the secure proxy 506 executes a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]) such that the virtual computing system can include an isolated execution environment ([0068]-[0069]), which meets the limitation of wherein the secure virtualized environment comprises an independent context of execution within the user agent, the independent context of execution having an independent memory space.
Referring to claim 16, Davis discloses the establishment of a communication session between customers 302 and secure proxies such that the customers communication sensitive data to the secure proxies ([0035]-[0036]), which meets the limitation of responsive to a session of a proxy service being initiated, [obtain, via the proxy service and from a reverse proxy, portable binary instructions]. A secure proxy 506 executing in a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]: secure proxy 506 reads on the claimed proxy service; sensitive data reads on the claimed user request/request response to the extent that the data is decrypted. The encrypted data is never functionally utilized in the claims outside of being decrypted. Therefore, the name “user request” or “request response” would be considered to be non-functional descriptive material that is not given patentable weight. See MPEP 2111.04-2111.05; McEliece cryptosystem can be utilized [0120] which represents a post-quantum cryptosystem), which meets the limitation of execute, via the proxy service, the obtained portable binary instructions within a secure virtualized environment of a user agent to perform decryption of a user request or a request response.
Davis does not specify that the applications/processes are received from a reverse proxy. Sun discloses a cryptographic service implementation wherein commands are transmitted by a reverse proxy to a machine implementing cryptographic functionality (Page 12, last full paragraph: commands read on the claimed portable binary instructions), which meets the limitation of obtain, via the proxy service, from a reverse proxy, portable binary instructions. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, because Sun discloses that implementation of cryptographic tasks using an encryption machine and other devices such as the reverse proxy represents one of a finite number of possible embodiments that could be implemented with a reasonable expectation of success (Page 6, second paragraph).
Referring to claim 19, Davis discloses that the secure proxy 506 executes a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]) such that the virtual computing system can include an isolated execution environment ([0068]-[0069]), which meets the limitation of wherein the secure virtualized environment comprises an independent context of execution within the user agent, the independent context of execution having an independent memory space.
Referring to claim 20, Davis does not specify that the applications/processes are received from a reverse proxy. Sun discloses a cryptographic service implementation wherein commands are transmitted by a reverse proxy to a machine implementing cryptographic functionality (Page 12, last full paragraph: commands read on the claimed portable binary instructions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, because Sun discloses that implementation of cryptographic tasks using an encryption machine and other devices such as the reverse proxy represents one of a finite number of possible embodiments that could be implemented with a reasonable expectation of success (Page 6, second paragraph).
Sun does not specify that this transmission would be performed by encapsulating the commands. Davis does specify that the secure proxy establishes TLS channels for communication ([0038]), which meets the limitation of wherein the portable binary instructions executed to perform the post-quantum custom decryption are encapsulated within the first custom cryptography binary instruction module implementing a first custom cryptographic method or protocol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, using TLS channels in order to provide secure communications as suggested by Davis ([0018] & [0038]).
Davis suggests that TLS or other secure connections ([0038]) could be utilized and that the other secure connections include SSL and HTTPS ([0018]: the recitation of TLS or other secure connections shows a decision step implemented to determine which connection protocol should be used and this decision logic would read on the claimed policy), which meets the limitation of the first custom cryptographic binary instruction module is configured to be exchangeable, based on a policy, with a second custom cryptographic binary instruction module implementing a second custom cryptographic method or protocol different from the first custom cryptographic method or protocol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the for the secure proxy of Davis to have received commands specific to the cryptographic functionality, from a reverse proxy, using one of the secure channels discussed in Davis, in order to provide secure communications as suggested by Davis ([0018] & [0038]).
Claims 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0176192, in view of Sun, CN 109951452, and further in view of Van Hooser, U.S. Publication No. 2025/0141923. Referring to claim 2, Davis does not specify the utilization of the QSL or the PQTLS protocols. Van Hooser discloses the utilization of the QSL or the PQTLS protocols ([0002]), which meets the limitation of wherein the post-quantum custom encryption or decryption comprises a Quantum Secure Layer (QSL) protocol or a Post-Quantum Transport Layer Security (PQTLS) protocol. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the QSL or PQTLS protocols in Davis in order to provide security systems that are more resilient to non-classical computers as suggested by Van Hooser ([0001]).
Claims 3, 11, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0176192, in view of Sun, CN 109951452, and further in view of Del Pino, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0396432. Referring to claims 3, 11, 17, Davis discloses that the cryptosystem can be implemented using classic McEliece ([0120]). Davis does not specify that the cryptosystem can be implemented using the Kyber/SABER/NIST algorithms.
Del Pino discloses the utilization of encryption schemes that include classic McEliece, Kyber, SABER, and other encryption schemes that can be found in the NIST Post-Quantum cryptography project files ([0028]), which meets the limitation of wherein the post-quantum custom encryption or decryption comprises a Kyber algorithm, a SABER algorithm, a National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) candidate post-quantum algorithm. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have alternatively utilized Kyber, SABER, or an NIST algorithm instead of classic McEliece because Del Pino suggests that Kyber/SABER/NIST algorithms represent one of a finite number of possible encryption systems that could be utilized by one of ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success (Del Pino: [0028]).
Claims 4, 12, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0176192, in view of Sun, CN 109951452, and further in view of Helms, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0075825. Referring to claims 4, 12, 18, Davis does not specify the utilization of bytecode to implement the applications. Helms implementing applications as bytecode ([0144]), which meets the limitation of wherein the portable binary instructions comprise a bytecode.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the applications of Davis to have been implemented using bytecode in order to provide predictable performance and reduced processing time as suggested by Helms ([0145]).
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Davis, U.S. Publication No. 2018/0176192, in view of Sun, CN 109951452, and further in view of Brown, U.S. Publication No. 2023/0179425. Referring to claim 21, Davis discloses that the secure proxy 506 executes a virtual computing system instance that further executes applications/processes to perform decryption of received sensitive data ([0054]), which meets the limitation of wherein executing the portable binary instructions to perform the post-quantum decryption further comprises calling, by the portable binary instructions a custom cryptography library [via a POSIX socket].
Davis does not specify that the cryptographic functionality is performed using a POSIX socket. Brown discloses operating system functionality calls via a POSIX ([0068]), which meets the limitation of calling, by the portable binary instructions a custom cryptography library via a POSIX socket. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention for the cryptographic functionality is performed using a POSIX socket because Brown suggests that POSIX represents one of a finite number of possible elements that could be implemented to perform function calls by one having ordinary skill in the art with a reasonable expectation of success.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 14, 15, 22, 23 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Benson, U.S. Publication No. 2022/0182413, discloses a cryptographic platform that establishes encrypted communications between two devices using cryptographic keys obtained by the two devices.
Melchor, U.S. Patent No. 12,549,601, discloses secure cryptographic communications between a user device and an external service using a server acting as a proxy between the user device and external service for legacy applications.
Rudzitis, U.S. Publication No. 2019/0342079, discloses key management service for network connected devices.
/BENJAMIN E LANIER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2437