DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the Preliminary Amendment filed 3/13/2025. Currently, claims 1-8 are pending in the application.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper language and format for an abstract of the disclosure.
The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph on a separate sheet within the range of 50 to 150 words in length. The abstract should describe the disclosure sufficiently to assist readers in deciding whether there is a need for consulting the full patent text for details.
The language should be clear and concise and should not repeat information given in the title. It should avoid using phrases which can be implied, such as, “The disclosure concerns,” “The disclosure defined by this invention,” “The disclosure describes,” etc. In addition, the form and legal phraseology often used in patent claims, such as “means” and “said,” should be avoided.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is not structured as a single paragraph, as required. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract includes legal phraseology, which is not permitted. The term “comprising” should be removed from the abstract to avoid this error. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Interpretation
Claim limitation “fastening means” (see claims 4 and 5) invokes 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. Applicant’s disclosure teaches the following corresponding structure(s) as performing the claimed function: buckles.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3-6 and 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Queen (US 2,927,581 A).
In regard to claim 1, Queen teaches in Figures 1-6, column 1, line 13 and column 3, lines 16-19
a bed (standard sized mattress 7, mattress support 9 and side frame members 14);
and a fall-prevention functional limitation device (“restraining jacket,” taught in column 1, line 13) configured to be wrapped around a patient (as shown in Figure 1), wherein said fall-prevention functional limitation device (“restraining jacket,” taught in column 1, line 13) comprises
a long smock (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2 and pairs of straps or tape strips 11) comprising a cape (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2) and two pairs of side bands (pairs of straps or tape strips 11; two pairs of straps or tape strips 11 are taught in Figure 3),
wherein said two pairs of side bands (pairs of straps or tape strips 11; two pairs of straps or tape strips 11 are taught in Figure 3) comprise an upper pair of bands (top pair of straps or tape strips 11) placed at (as shown in Figure 3) lateral ends (left and right edges) of the cape (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2 and pairs of straps or tape strips 11), and a lower pair of bands (bottom pair of straps or tape strips 11) placed in (as shown in Figure 3) a lower part (lower half) of the long smock (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2 and pairs of straps or tape strips 11), respectively;
wherein said two pairs of side bands (pairs of straps or tape strips 11; two pairs of straps or tape strips 11 are taught in Figure 3) comprise respective bands (straps or tape strips 11) in mirroring position with respect to a longitudinal plane of symmetry of (as shown in Figure 3, the straps or tape strips 11 are symmetrical about the center axis at line 5-5) the fall-prevention functional limitation device itself (“restraining jacket,” taught in column 1, line 13), and,
a hole (neck opening 16) that allows passage of a head of the patient (as shown in Figure 1; column 3, lines 16-19 teaches “in the case of the neck opening it preferably extends from spaced points along edge 3 (Fig. 3) into the panel 1, and the diameter is such as to permit the head of the person to pass through with but little clearance”);
wherein said two pairs of side bands (pairs of straps or tape strips 11; two pairs of straps or tape strips 11 are taught in Figure 3) are configured to be used to move the patient (pairs of straps or tape strips 11 are capable of being pulled on to move a patient wearing the restraining jacket).
In regard to claim 3, Queen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Queen teaches in Figures 1 and 3 and columns 2-3, lines 69-1 that the lower pair of bands (bottom pair of straps or tape strips 11) are configured to be directly or indirectly constrained to a bed structure (mattress support 9, side frame members 14; columns 2-3, lines 69-1 teaches that “the straps of these pairs 11, 13, are adapted to be tied together around any suitable portions of the mattress support 9, such as side frame members 14 or the corresponding side rims of conventional spring assembly for the mattress support”) or wrapped at a back around lower limbs of the patient and a length of each lower band (bottom strap or tape strip 11) of said lower pair of bands (bottom pair of straps or tape strips 11) is such that a free end of said each lower band (bottom strap or tape strip 11) is directly or indirectly constrainable to (columns 2-3, lines 69-1 teaches that “the straps of these pairs 11, 13, are adapted to be tied together around any suitable portions of the mattress support 9, such as side frame members 14 or the corresponding side rims of conventional spring assembly for the mattress support”) the bed structure (mattress support 9, side frame members 14) on an opposite side (bottom portion of the bed, which is opposite the top portion of the bed) of the bed (standard sized mattress 7, mattress support 9 and side frame members 14) itself (Figure 1 teaches the bottom pair of straps or tape strips 11 being attached to the bottom portion of the bed).
In regard to claims 4 and 5, Queen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Queen teaches in Figures 1 and 3 and columns 2-3, lines 69-1 that said two pairs of side bands (pairs of straps or tape strips 11; two pairs of straps or tape strips 11 are taught in Figure 3) are directly or indirectly secured to a bed structure (mattress support 9, side frame members 14) via simple binding (via tying; columns 2-3, lines 69-1 teaches that “the straps of these pairs 11, 13, are adapted to be tied together around any suitable portions of the mattress support 9, such as side frame members 14 or the corresponding side rims of conventional spring assembly for the mattress support”) or via fastening means; and wherein said fastening means comprises buckles (Applicant should note that the fastening means is not required by the claim(s)).
In regard to claim 6, Queen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Queen teaches in column 1, line 13 and column 2, lines 18-21 that said fall-prevention functional limitation device (“restraining jacket,” taught in column 1, line 13) is made of fabric (column 2, lines 18-21 teaches “the jacket herein illustrated comprises an elongated, rectangular front panel 1 (Fig. 1 ), preferably of cloth of any suitable type” and “a relatively light weight cotton duck cloth has been found to be suitable”).
In regard to claim 8, Queen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Queen teaches in Figures 1-5 and column 3, lines 30-32 that said long smock (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2 and pairs of straps or tape strips 11) further comprises a sheet (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2) of sturdy fabric (column 2, lines 18-22 teaches “the jacket herein illustrated comprises an elongated, rectangular front panel 1 (Fig. 1 ), preferably of cloth of any suitable type” and “a relatively light weight cotton duck cloth has been found to be suitable, the main consideration being that it cannot be torn by a person”) configured to cover a whole body of the patient at a front, from the head of the patient to feet of the patient and up a foot of the bed (Figure 1 teaches the rectangular front panel 1 being sized such that it is capable of covering a whole body of the patient at a front, from the head of the patient to feet of the patient and up a foot of the bed, depending on the size of the patient and the size of the bed), and configured to be wrapped under a mattress (rectangular front panel 1 is capable of being wrapped under the standard sized mattress 7); while a length (length of rectangular rear panel 2) of the sheet (rectangular front panel 1, rectangular rear panel 2) on an opposite side (rear side) is such as to be wrapped behind shoulder of the patient to cover a back of the patient at least up to under shoulder blades of the patient (column 3, lines 30-32 teaches “when the jacket is in this position, the lower edge 5 of panel 2 will be approximately at the waist line of the person and will extend across the back of the latter”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Queen (US 2,927,581 A) in view of SCHOWALTER (US 2,449,675 A).
In regard to claim 2, Queen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Queen does not teach that the upper pair of bands are configured to be wrapped at a front around a chest of the patient and a length of each upper band of said upper pair of bands is such that a free end of said each upper band is directly or indirectly constrained to a bed structure on an opposite side of the bed itself.
However, SCHOWALTER teaches in Figures 1 and 2 and columns 1-2, lines 54-3 an analogous device wherein the upper pair of bands (cross strap members 11 and 12) are configured to be wrapped at a front around a chest of the patient (as shown in Figure 2) and a length of each upper band (cross strap members 11 and 12) of said upper pair of bands (cross strap members 11 and 12) is such that a free end (tie cords 18 and 19) of said each upper band (cross strap members 11 and 12) is directly or indirectly constrained to a bed structure on an opposite side of the bed (crib) itself (as shown in Figure 2; columns 1-2, lines 54-3 teaches “the cross strap members 11and 12 may be pulled as tightly as desired and tied to the crib by means of tie cords 18 and 19 provided thereon”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to modify the upper pair of bands of Queen to provide that the upper pair of bands are configured to be wrapped at a front around a chest of the patient and a length of each upper band of said upper pair of bands is such that a free end of said each upper band is directly or indirectly constrained to a bed structure on an opposite side of the bed itself as taught by SCHOWALTER because this element is known to “cause the central area portion to move with the child and keep him covered at all times,” as SCHOWALTER teaches in column 2, lines 54-56.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Queen (US 2,927,581 A).
In regard to claim 7, Queen teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Queen teaches in column 2, lines 18-21 that “the jacket herein illustrated comprises an elongated, rectangular front panel 1 (Fig. 1 ), preferably of cloth of any suitable type.”
Queen does not teach explicitly that said fall-prevention functional limitation device is made of lyocell.
However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the present invention to provide that said fall-prevention functional limitation device is made of lyocell, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended us as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wootan (US 4,742,821 A)
Thiele (US 4,679,267 A)
Serrao (US 4,524,768 A)
Hummel (US 3,872,524 A)
STERNAGEL (US 3,536,067 A)
CHINN (US 2,478,239 A)
HAMMERMAN (US 2,140,797 A)
/VICTORIA HICKS FISHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3786 1/20/2026