DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This action is in response to the preliminary amendment filed on March 14, 2025. Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, and 13-24 are pending, of which claims 1, 5-8, 11, 13, 16-19, and 22-24 have been amended and claims 3, 4, 10, 12, and 25 have been canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on April 9, 2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR § 1.97. Accordingly, the IDS has been considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the control unit must be shown or the feature canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to informalities. Figs. 3, 4A, 5A, 6, and 7 include grayscale and blurred lines that are difficult to read and/or reproduce. Legibility includes ability to be photocopied and scanned so that suitable reprints can be made and paper can be electronically reproduced by use of digital imaging and optical character recognition. This requires a high contrast, with black lines and a white background. Gray lines and/or a gray background sharply reduce photo reproduction quality. Appropriate correction is required.
In addition, Fig. 7 lacks lead lines for the reference characters. The reference characters should be underlined to indicate the correspond to the blocks in which they are located. Fig. 7 also appears to include unlabeled artifacts near the blocks surrounding elements 650/608 and 690/692. Also these blocks also are not labeled or identified by reference characters. Appropriate correction is required.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
P. 7, l.25 includes the language “to replicate thrills generate by heart” which should read -- to replicate thrills generated by heart --. Appropriate correction is required.
P. 8, l.18 includes the language “to replicate a thrill generate by one of the four heart valves” which should read -- to replicate a thrill generated by one of the four heart valves --. Appropriate correction is required.
P. 10, l.28 includes the language “the base may positioned” which should read -- the base may be positioned --. Appropriate correction is required.
P. 12, l.5 includes the language “may results in” which should read -- may result in --. Appropriate correction is required.
P. 12, l.6 includes the language “increasing the number steps” which should read -- increasing the number of steps --. Appropriate correction is required.
P. 12, l.23 includes the language “that is generate by a given plate” which should read -- that is generated by a given plate --. Appropriate correction is required.
P. 17, l.17 “However, is Figure 5B, plate 525 has been omitted.” which should read -- However, in Figure 5B, plate 525 has been omitted. --. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contain subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
The claims recite the following computer/processor-based function limitations:
` 1) wherein the module is configured to output content from the memory via the transmitter when the RFID reader detects the RFID tag, and wherein the medical simulation system further comprises (claim 1);
2) a processor configured to synchronize the output to the movement of the mechanically moveable element. a receiving unit that receives an input of the pieces of timing information indicated by the indicating regions (claim 1)
3) a processor configured to synchronize vibration of the thrill simulation actuator to the movement of a mechanically moveable element (claim 11)
4) comprising a processor configured to synchronize the output to the rotation of the plate (claim 22)
According to MPEP 2161.01 I., when examining computer-implemented claims, examiners should determine whether the specification discloses the computer and the algorithm (e.g., the necessary steps, operations and/or flowcharts) that perform the claimed functions in sufficient detail such that one of ordinary skill in the art can reasonably conclude that the inventor possessed the claimed subject matter at the time of filing. An algorithm is defined, for example, as "a finite sequence of steps for solving a logical or mathematical problem or performing a task." Microsoft Computer Dictionary (5th ed., 2002). Applicant may "express that algorithm in any understandable terms including as a mathematical formula, in prose, or as a flow chart, or in any other manner that provides sufficient structure." Finisar Corp. v. DirecTV Grp., Inc., 523 F.3d 1323, 1340, 86 USPQ2d 1609, 1623 (Fed. Cir. 2008) (internal citation omitted). It is not enough that one skilled in the art could write a program to achieve the claimed function because the specification must explain how the inventor intends to achieve the claimed function to satisfy the written description requirement. See, e.g., Vasudevan Software, Inc. v. MicroStrategy, Inc., 782 F.3d 671, 681-683, 114 USPQ2d 1349, 1356, 1357 (Fed. Cir. 2015) (reversing and remanding the district court’s grant of summary judgment of invalidity for lack of adequate written description where there were genuine issues of material fact regarding "whether the specification show[ed] possession by the inventor of how accessing disparate databases is achieved"). If the specification does not provide a disclosure of the computer and algorithm in sufficient detail to demonstrate to one of ordinary skill in the art that the inventor possessed the invention a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) for lack of written description must be made.
With regard to above-referenced the limitations 1) - 4), the specification appears to provide disclosure of a computer to implement the functions but lacks a complete description of the algorithms (e.g., flow chart, mathematical model, code, prose) of how to implement these functions. With regard to these limitations the specification at p. 14 describes controlling the movement of the plate driving actuator may control the rotation of the plate about its axis. The control unit may modify the speed, tempo and/or range of rotation of the plate about the axis, in use, by adjusting the speed, tempo and/or range of moment of the plate driving actuator. P. 3 describes the system may further comprise a processor configured to synchronize the output to the movement of the mechanically moveable element. For example, the output may comprise an audio file configured to replicate the sound of breathing. The mechanically moveable element may replicate the expanding and contacting of a chest. Synchronizing the output with the movable element enables the sound of the breathing to be heard at the same time as the mechanical element simulates the inhaling or exhaling of breath, for example. Other examples, including but not limited to the sound and movement of a beating heart or pulse, or a thrill, can also be envisaged. In addition, p. 20 describes the module processor 230 is also in electronic communication with a webserver and audio module (WAM) PCBA 632 located within the medical simulation unit 600. The WAM PCBA is connected to a memory 627. The memory 627 comprises all the content stored within the module memory 225. The memory 627 may also comprises additional content and or files.
While the functions are described, there is no corresponding description or example of how the movements are synchronized by the controller or processor to the content. For example, there is no description, prose, drawings as to the steps or operations performed by the processor that describe how the processor 630 synchronizes the content from unit 200 stored in memory to control the and/or what constitute synchronized movements. In addition, there is no explanation of the steps or operations of how the content is determined, what is meant by synchronization, how the movement of the actuator and/or plates are coordinated with the content. Therefore, Applicant has not described in any detail what process Applicant intended to implement the functions and how the process is applied to achieve the functions recited in Applicant’s claims. Therefore, one skilled in the art is left to “guess” at what is meant by the limited description provided.
The specification must explicitly disclose the algorithm for performing the claimed function, and simply reciting the claimed function in the specification will not be a sufficient disclosure for an algorithm which, by definition, must contain a sequence of steps. Blackboard, Inc. v. Desire2Learn, Inc., 574 F.3d 1371, 1383-85, 91 USPQ2d 1481, 1491-93 (Fed. Cir. 2009); Net MoneyIN, Inc. v. VeriSign, Inc., 545 F.3d 1359, 1366-67, 88 USPQ2d 1751, 1756-57 (Fed. Cir. 2008); Ex parte Rodriguez, 92 USPQ2d 1395, 1405-06 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 2009). Here the specification provides no such description, therefore, the specification lacks adequate written description for the claimed functions of the computing device.
As a result, claims 1, 11, 22, and 23 contain subject matter which lacks adequate written description, and for at least these reasons, claims 1, 11, 22, and 23 are found to fail the written description requirement. Claims 2, 5-9, 11, and 13-24 depend from a rejected base claim, and therefore also lack adequate written description.
Claims 1, 2, 5-9, 11, and 13-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b), as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, regards as the invention.
In re claim 1, the claim recites the limitation “the movement of the mechanically moveable element” at lines 9-10. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
In re claim 11, the claim recites the limitation “the movement of a mechanically moveable element” at line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim.
In re claim 20, the language “discrete” is indefinite. The term “discrete” is a subjective term that is not defined by the claim, and the specification does not provide an objective standard for ascertaining the meaning of the term “discrete” such that one of ordinary skill in the art would be reasonably apprised of the scope of the claim.
Claims 2, 5-9, 11, and 13-24 depend from a rejected base claim, and therefore are rejected for at least the reasons provided for the base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Publication No. 2013/0196302 by Lecat (“Lecat”); or, in the alternative, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lecat in view of US Publication No. 2016/0055767 by Tessier et al. (“Tessier”).
In re claim 1, Lecat discloses a medical simulation system [Fig. 1 shows simulation system 100 for medical training, Abstract] comprising: a medical simulation unit having a mechanically moveable element and an RFID tag [Fig. 1 shows mannequin 110 ¶¶13,14 describe a mannequin for medical training simulating heart and breath sound. The mannequin 110 may including a breathing function (mechanically moveable element) and a proximity sensor 101 may be of any type, including RFID]; and a separate module comprising an RFID reader, a transmitter and a memory for storing content, wherein the module is configured to output content from the memory via the transmitter when the RFID reader detects the RFID tag [¶¶13, 14 describe the proximity sensor 101, (which may be RFID) embedded within the mannequin 110, communicates proximity data to a controller 120. Controller 120 determines the position of the auscultation device 170 relative to mannequin 110, and thus determines which sound, or class of sounds, is appropriate for transmission. For instance, if the auscultation device 170 is found to be proximal to a heart region, then an appropriate sound may be one or more heart sounds. Accordingly, controller 120 selects an appropriate sound file from database 130 and retrieves the selected sound file. The controller 120 then communicates the sound file to a transmitter 14], and wherein the medical simulation system further comprises a processor configured to synchronize the output to the movement of the mechanically moveable element [¶¶ 13, 14, controller 120 determines the position of the auscultation device 170 relative to mannequin 110, and thus determines which sound, or class of sounds, is appropriate for transmission and the sounds that are generated could be synchronized with the EKG, breathing, pulses, and any of the other mannequin functions].
Lecat teaches a mannequin for medical training including simulating breathing functions. Such breathing functions (as shown in the art of record) may include a mechanical mechanisms to move a portion of the dummy to simulate breathing motions. As such, Lecat teaches a medical simulation unit having a mechanically moveable element.
However, to the extent Lecat lacks an explicit teaching of a medical simulation unit having a mechanically moveable element, Tessier teaches a medical simulation unit having a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element [Figs. 24, 25, and 26, ¶¶90, 129, 135, 142, 144-153, describe the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize lung sounds and chest rise and fall with respiration rate. Alternatively, the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize an ECG trace, heart sounds, and pulse with heart rate. Further, the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize Korotkoff sounds with systolic and diastolic blood pressure values and applied cuff pressure. Many of the physiological functions simulated in the medical simulation system 100 are driven by a single parameter, such as heart rate or respiration rate. For example, heart rate determines how an ECG trace is displayed, when heart sounds occur, and when a pulse should happen. Similarly, respiration rate determines how a respiration trace is displayed, when lung sounds occur, and when chest motion happens. To maximize the reality of a simulation, these functions want to be synchronized so they not only occur at the correct rate, but also at the correct moment in time. This can be accomplished by sending a heartbeat trigger message and respiration trigger message to the system components. The components then create the desired simulation at the appropriate time. A motor and gear box 612R and 612L (only 612R shown in FIG. 25B) drive the mechanism 611R and 611L pushing up on the flexible ribs 607R and 607L, thus causing them to “bow” creating a breathing-like motion].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing), as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 2, Lecat discloses the module is configured to connect to a device for receiving the output [¶¶14-16 describe connecting to a database to receive/retrieve sounds].
In re claim 5, Lecat discloses a content generation unit configured to generate and/or modify the content [¶¶14-16 describe allowing modification of sounds (content)].
In re claim 6, Lecat discloses the medical simulation unit is a human mannequin or part thereof [Fig. 1 shows mannequin 110].
In re claim 7, Lecat discloses the medical simulation unit comprises a plurality of RFID tags [Claim 9 describes a second sensor (which may be RFID ¶13)].
Claims 13-18 and 20-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lecat in view of Tessier.
In re claim 13, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the medical simulation unit comprises a main body and a plate, wherein the plate is operably connected to a plate driving actuator configured to rotate the plate about an axis [Figs. 24-26, ¶151, among others, describe a motor and gear box 612R and 612L (only 612R shown in FIG. 25B) drive the mechanism 611R and 611L pushing up on the flexible ribs 607R and 607L, thus causing them to “bow” creating a breathing-like motion with rotation about hinges 610R/L].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including plates (ribs) and corresponding actuator, as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 14, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the main body comprises a substantially planar back and wherein the axis of rotation of the plate is inclined by an angle, a, relative to the plane of the back [Fig. 24B shows body has planar back 601 and rib plates 607 hinge at angle relative to the plane].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including planar back and rotations of plates (ribs), as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 15, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the axis of rotation of the plate comprises a first directional component and a second directional component, wherein the first directional component is inclined, by angle a, relative to the plane of the back and the second directional component is inclined, by angle a, relative to the plane of the back and non- parallel to the first directional component [Figs. 26A/B shows axis of rotation with multiple directional components relative to the back plane].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including multiple directional movements, as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 16, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the plate driving actuator is a linear actuator having a line of actuation transverse to the axis of rotation of the plate [Fig. 25B shows actuator 611 with motor 612 is linear].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including linear actuator for moving plates (ribs), as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 17, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the plate driving actuator is a linear actuator having a line of actuation substantially perpendicular to the axis of rotation of the plate [Fig. 25B shows actuator 611 with motor 612 is linear and perpendicular to the axis of hinge 610].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including actuator for rotational movement of the plates (ribs), as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 18, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the plate comprises a lip portion configured to contact the main body and prevent further rotation of the plate when a predetermined maximum amount of rotation has occurred [¶150 describe the sides of the sternum plate 608 contact ridges (lip) in the structural ribs 603R and 603L that come up through openings in the flexible ribs 607R and 608R].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including plates and corresponding actuators with lip/ridge, as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
in re claim 20, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches a switch configured to allow movement of the plate driving actuator only when the skin is fitted over the main body the plate [¶¶9,77-80, 88, 89, among others, describe a controller (switch) to control power to the system that may be operated to turn on/off the manikin functions. As such it is configured to be operated by a user to only supply power when the skin is fitted over the main body].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including module to control application of power as desired, as taught by Tessier, to improve user control of the system, for example, to conserve power used by the system.
In re claim 21, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches at least one of: a spring configured to apply pressure to a component fixed within the main body; and a damper located between the plate driving actuator and the main body [¶¶145, 150-153 describe spring mechanism 609].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including a spring mechanism, as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 22, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches a processor configured to synchronize the output to the rotation of the plate ¶¶90, 129, 135, 142, 144-153, describe the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize lung sounds and chest rise and fall with respiration rate. Alternatively, the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize an ECG trace, heart sounds, and pulse with heart rate. Further, the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize Korotkoff sounds with systolic and diastolic blood pressure values and applied cuff pressure. Many of the physiological functions simulated in the medical simulation system 100 are driven by a single parameter, such as heart rate or respiration rate. For example, heart rate determines how an ECG trace is displayed, when heart sounds occur, and when a pulse should happen. Similarly, respiration rate determines how a respiration trace is displayed, when lung sounds occur, and when chest motion happens. To maximize the reality of a simulation, these functions want to be synchronized so they not only occur at the correct rate, but also at the correct moment in time. This can be accomplished by sending a heartbeat trigger message and respiration trigger message to the system components. The components then create the desired simulation at the appropriate time. A motor and gear box 612R and 612L (only 612R shown in FIG. 25B) drive the mechanism 611R and 611L pushing up on the flexible ribs 607R and 607L, thus causing them to “bow” creating a breathing-like motion].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including rotational movement of the chest plates (ribs), as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 23, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches system according to claim 13, wherein the plate driving actuator is operably connected to a control unit configured to control the movement of the actuator ¶¶90, 129, 135, 142, 144-153, among others, describe the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize lung sounds and chest rise and fall with respiration rate. Alternatively, the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize an ECG trace, heart sounds, and pulse with heart rate. Further, the control panel 105 may be able to synchronize Korotkoff sounds with systolic and diastolic blood pressure values and applied cuff pressure. Many of the physiological functions simulated in the medical simulation system 100 are driven by a single parameter, such as heart rate or respiration rate. For example, heart rate determines how an ECG trace is displayed, when heart sounds occur, and when a pulse should happen. Similarly, respiration rate determines how a respiration trace is displayed, when lung sounds occur, and when chest motion happens. To maximize the reality of a simulation, these functions want to be synchronized so they not only occur at the correct rate, but also at the correct moment in time. This can be accomplished by sending a heartbeat trigger message and respiration trigger message to the system components. The components then create the desired simulation at the appropriate time. A motor and gear box 612R and 612L (only 612R shown in FIG. 25B) drive the mechanism 611R and 611L pushing up on the flexible ribs 607R and 607L, thus causing them to “bow” creating a breathing-like motion].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including a controller to control an actuator for the movement, as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 24, Lecat lacks, but Tessier teaches the medical simulation unit comprises a plurality of plates, and wherein each plate is connected to a corresponding plate driving actuator configured to rotate the plate about an independent axis [Figs 24-26 shows left and right plates 603R/L, 607R/L for each lung and corresponding actuators 611R/L 612R/L].
Lecat and Tessier are both considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a mechanically moveable element and synchronizing outputs to the movement of the mechanically moveable element (e.g., simulated breathing) including a plurality of plates and corresponding actuators, as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
Claims 8 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lecat in view of Tessier and further in view of US Publication No. 2023/0037654 by Singapogu (“Singapogu”).
In re claim 8, Lecat in view of Tessier lacks, but Singapogu teaches the medical simulation unit further comprises a thrill simulation actuator configured to vibrate [¶52 describes a vibration motor may be embedded to render feedback for palpation. By controlling the power and frequency of the vibration, the characteristic “thrill” haptic sensation of blood flow in an AVF is simulated].
Lecat, Tessier, Singapogu are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training simulators. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat and include a thrill simulation actuator configured to vibrate, as taught by Singapogu, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient.
In re claim 11, Lecat in view of Tessier and Singapogu and Singapogu teach a processor configured to synchronize vibration. Tessier teaches a processor configured to synchronize bodily functions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training manikin as taught by Singapogu to a thrill simulation actuator configured to vibrate and to synchronize it movement with other bodily functions (such as breathing), as taught by Tessier, in order to provide a better training experience, for example, by providing a more realistic simulation and/or anatomically correct simulated patient and to allowing training of various skills need by a medical practitioner.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lecat in view of Tessier and Singapogu and further in view of US Publication No. 2007/0117075 by Gordon et al. (“Gordon”).
In re claim 9, Lecat in view of Tessier and Singapogu teach simulating a thrill with vibrations. The combination does not explicitly teach the thrill simulation actuator is a linear actuator. However, Gordon describes a manikin with linear actuators to simulate vibrations associated with physiological signals such as pulse Fig. 10. Pulsation generators are disposed inside the hollow body 14 of the manikin and reach the outer flexible layer representing the skin of the manikin. They are attached to the hard wall 12 of the body 14. The pulsation generators are configured to simulate movements mimicking cardiovascular pulsations and respiratory movements of the human body including ausculatory areas [¶49 62 describe the linear actuating members 106R and 106L].
Lecat, Tessier, Singapogu, and Gordon are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training simulators. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the training manikin to substitute on type of actuator (vibration a thrill simulation actuator) as taught by Singapogu with another type of actuator (linear) as taught by Gordon, in order to achieve the predictable result of providing a signal for medical training that simulates a physiological condition.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over Lecat in view of Tessier and further in view of EP Publication No. EP0263156 by Dorleans (“Dorleans”).
In re claim 19, Lecat in view of Tessier teach simulated skin to enclose the main body and the plate ¶¶31,81,151. Lecat in view of Tessier lacks, but Dorleans teaches a skin for a medical simulation dummy wherein a discrete area of the skin comprises reinforcement [¶7].
Lecat, Tessier, and Dorleans are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of medical training mannequins. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the invention of Lecat in view of Tessier to include a skin for a medical simulation dummy wherein a discrete area of the skin comprises reinforcement, as taught by Dorleans, in order to provide improved performance, for example, to provide flexibility and resister tearing (See, e.g., 7, 11).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure and is listed on the attached Notice of References Cited.
US 11288979 describes a housing adapted for use by a trainee to contact a surface, for example, the surface of the body of manikin, and a sensor mounted in the housing and configured to detect approach or contact of the surface by the housing. The device may include a transmitter, for example, a speaker for transmitting predetermined sounds of bodily organs, such as, heartbeats or breathing. The transmitter may be activated only upon contact or proximity of the housing with a surface as indicated by the sensor. In particular, he device may include an RFID interrogator. The devices detects an RFID tag; and identifies an audible signal associated with the RFID tag. The audible signal may be a bodily sound.
US 20240221540 describes a medical mannequin. The mannequin may include a chest plate with joints for three or more rotational degrees of freedom (DOF).
US 20230076333 describes a manikin with moveable chest plate including actuator to rotate a chest plate.
/ANDREW BODENDORF/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/XUAN M THAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3715