DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of group II, claims 11-12, 15, 17-19, in the reply filed on 09 June 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 1-9 and 22-26 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention(s), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09 June 2026.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Specification
The title of the invention is not descriptive. A new title is required that is clearly indicative of the invention to which the claims are directed.
The following title is suggested:
APPARATUS FOR SURFACE TREATMENT OF 3D PRINTED PARTS FOR BIOPROCESSING EQUIPMENT
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11-12, 15, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Smith et al. (US 7,768,619 B2).
Regarding claim 11, Smith discloses an apparatus for surface treatment of parts (title/abstract), which is capable of treating 3D printed parts for bioprocessing equipment, the apparatus comprising:
an elastomeric resurfacing tool 12 comprising a contact surface 16, wherein the contact surface comprises a negative shape of a surface to be treated of a part (FIG. 1; 2:28+);
pistons 50, equated with the pressure source, configured to apply pressure to the surface using the contact surface; and
heated oil, equated with the claimed heat source, configured to apply heat to the contact surface (FIG. 1-2; 2:28+, 3:9+).
Regarding claim 12, Smith discloses the heat source comprises an activatable heating element (2:45); and/or wherein the heat source comprises a pump 30 configured to supply heated fluid to the apparatus (2:47+).
Regarding claim 15, Smith discloses ambient oil, equated with the claimed cooling source, configured to cool the contact surface (2:56+).
Regarding claim 18, Smith discloses the resurfacing tool comprises a housing 14 with a hollow interior, equated with the claimed inflatable void (FIG. 1; 2:28+).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 7,768,619 B2) as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Schulman (US 2,575,734 A).
Regarding claim 17, Smith does not appear to expressly disclose the thicknesses of the various parts of the press 12.
However, Schulman discloses a similar inflatable press (FIG. 1; 1:25+) wherein the impervious flexible diaphragm 20 which has the contact surface has a thinner wall thickness than the platen 12 and rim member 18 (FIG. 1)
At the time of invention, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the apparatus of Smith to include the wall thicknesses of Schulman, in order to provide adequate rigidity to the housing and flexibility to the diaphragm.
Regarding claim 19, Shulman discloses the flexible diaphragm is silicon polymer, e.g. silicone (1:41).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Alriksson; Johan et al.
US 20250178277 A1
Achten; Dirk et al.
US 10300660 B2
Hikmet; Rifat Ata Mustafa et al.
US 11718017 B2
Regen; Thomas et al.
US 10307937 B2
Antesberger; Timothy Eugene et al.
US 11833604 B2
Jara Rodelgo; Alvaro et al.
US 11446872 B2
WADA NORIYA et al.
JP 2003039199 A
BOK H K et al.
US 20080178797 A1
/BENJAMIN A SCHIFFMAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1742