DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities: “The driving assistance system of” is repeated. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-15 and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pagel et al. (DE102015219231) in view of Oh et al. (2019/0315374).
Regarding claim 11: Pagel discloses a driving assistance system for lateral guidance of a vehicle, comprising:
an actuating element for a directional indicator, wherein the actuating element is configured to initiate an automatic lateral guidance process if a lateral guidance assistant is active upon an actuation by a driver (Paragraph 0003, 0004, 0026); and
at least one audio output module, which is configured to:
output a first sound signal if the automatic lateral guidance process is performable and the lateral guidance assistant is active (Paragraph 0003,0004, 0026). Pagel does not explicitly disclose output a second sound signal different from the first sound signal if the automatic lateral guidance process is not performable. However, Oh discloses a similar discloses a driving assistance system and further discloses output a second sound signal different from the first sound signal if the automatic lateral guidance process is not performable (Paragraph 0008, 0076). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the invention to modify Pagel in view of Oh in order to improve vehicle safety.
Regarding claim 12: as discussed above Pagel in view of Oh discloses the claimed invention and Pagel further discloses wherein the at least one audio output module is configured, upon an actuation of the actuating element by the driver, to output the second sound signal to indicate an activation of the directional indicator if the lateral guidance assistant is inactive (Paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 13: Pagel discloses wherein: the second sound signal is a standard turn signal sound; and/or the actuating element is a turn signal lever having multiple functions (Paragraph 0028).
Regarding claim 14: As discussed above, Pagel in view of Oh discloses the claimed invention and Oh discloses of wherein the first sound signal comprises a first sound signal part and a second sound signal part different from the first sound signal part, and wherein the at least one audio output module is configured to output the first sound signal part during a preparation phase of the automatic lateral guidance process and the second sound signal part during a performance of the automatic lateral guidance process (Paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 15: Oh discloses wherein the at least one audio output module is configured to output the first sound signal until the automatic lateral guidance process is ended (Paragraph 0076).
Regarding claim 17: Pagel discloses wherein the automatic lateral guidance process is selected from the group which consists of an automatic lane change and an automatic turnoff process (Figs. 2-6 and Paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 18: Pagel discloses a motor vehicle comprising the driving assistance system of claim 11 (Fig. 1).
Regarding claims 19-20: these claims contain the same features and limitations as claims 11-15 and 17 and are therefore rejected under the same basis and rationale.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 16 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/MICHAEL D LANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3667