DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 11 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 2019/0382047 A1 to Yoshida et al (hereinafter Yoshida).
Regarding claim 11, Yoshida discloses [an electric power steering device (1a)] (Fig. 1 paragraph 0022) comprising:
[a rack shaft (4) linked with a steering shaft (3)] (Fig. 1; paragraph 0023);
[a transmission mechanism (9) structured to transmit a steering assist force to the rack shaft, wherein the steering assist force is generated by an electric motor (7)] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0027);
[a first housing (21) accommodating the rack shaft;
[a second housing (22) accommodating the transmission mechanism and coupled with the first housing such that the second housing faces the first housing in an axial direction (A1) of the rack shaft] (Figs. 1, 2; paragraph 0026);
[a ball screw mechanism (94) disposed radially outside the rack shaft] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0029);
[a bearing (11) structured to support a rotation part (941) of the ball screw mechanism rotatably with respect to the first housing] (Fig. 3; paragraph 0039);
[a holder (12) structured to hold the bearing such that the bearing is sandwiched between the holder and the first housing, wherein the holder has an axial end face in contact with the second housing, and wherein the axial end face faces away from the bearing] (Fig. 8; paragraph 0051) and
[an elastic member (13) disposed between the bearing and the holder or between the bearing and the first housing in the axial direction of the rack shaft] (Figs. 4, 6; paragraph 0046);
[wherein the holder includes a portion radially outside the bearing at which portion the holder is positioned with respect to the second housing] (Fig. 8; paragraph 0051).
Regarding claim 12, Yoshida discloses [the electric power steering device as claimed in claim 11, comprising two of the elastic members including a first one disposed between the bearing and the holder in the axial direction of the rack shaft and a second one disposed between the bearing and the first housing in the axial direction of the rack shaft (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0045 – 0046).
Regarding claim 13, Yoshida further discloses [the elastic member is disposed between the bearing and the holder in the axial direction of the rack shaft; and
the holder includes a projecting part (122) that projects toward the bearing in the axial direction of the rack shaft and surrounds the elastic member] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0041 – 0042).
Regarding claim 14, Yoshida further discloses [the holder includes a corner portion at a boundary of the projecting part, wherein the corner portion includes a groove that extends away from the elastic member in the axial direction of the rack shaft] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0041 – 0042).
Regarding claim 15, Yoshida further discloses [the holder has an outer peripheral surface fitted with the first housing or the second housing] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0041 – 0042).
Regarding claim 16, Yoshida further discloses [the holder includes a projecting part facing the bearing in the axial direction of the rack shaft; and
the projecting part has an inner diameter larger than an outer diameter of the bearing] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0041 – 0042).
Regarding claim 17, Yoshida further discloses [the holder includes a projecting part facing the bearing in the axial direction of the rack shaft;
the projecting part has a tapered portion at an end of the projecting part in the axial direction of the rack shaft; and the tapered portion has an outer diameter that decreases toward the end of the projecting part] (Fig. 4; paragraphs 0041 – 0042).
Regarding claim 19, Yoshida further discloses [the holder is in contact with the second housing and out of contact with the first housing, wherein the first housing and the second housing are coupled with each other] (Fig. 10; paragraphs 0082 – 0083)
Regarding claim 18, Yoshida discloses [an electric power steering device (1a)] (Fig. 1 paragraph 0022) comprising:
[a rack shaft (4) linked with a steering shaft (3)] (Fig. 1; paragraph 0023);
[a transmission mechanism (9) structured to transmit a steering assist force to the rack shaft, wherein the steering assist force is generated by an electric motor (7)] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0027);
[a first housing (21) accommodating the rack shaft;
[a second housing (22) accommodating the transmission mechanism and coupled with the first housing such that the second housing faces the first housing in an axial direction (A1) of the rack shaft] (Figs. 1, 2; paragraph 0026);
[a ball screw mechanism (94) disposed radially outside the rack shaft] (Fig. 2; paragraph 0029);
[a bearing (11) structured to support a rotation part (941) of the ball screw mechanism rotatably with respect to the first housing] (Fig. 3; paragraph 0039);
[a holder (12) structured to hold the bearing such that the bearing is sandwiched between the holder and the first housing, wherein the holder has an axial end face in contact with the second housing, and wherein the axial end face faces away from the bearing] (Fig. 8; paragraph 0051) and
[an elastic member (13) disposed between the bearing and the holder or between the bearing and the first housing in the axial direction of the rack shaft] (Figs. 4, 6; paragraph 0046);
[wherein the holder includes a part (172) that protrudes toward the second housing and is in contact with the second housing] (Fig. 10; paragraph 0082).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure
WO 2021/039009 A1 – teaches an electric power steering device substantially similar to Applicant’s claimed invention.
US 2019/0092399 A1 – teaches an electric power steering device substantially similar to Applicant’s claimed invention.
/Tyler Ferguson/Examiner, Art Unit 3611 /VALENTIN NEACSU, Ph.D./Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3611