DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/14/2025, 07/16/2025 are being considered by the examiner.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: in para [0042], page 21, line 10, the spec recites “magnet insertion hole 10” whereas elsewhere the first rotor core is refnum 10 and the magnet insertion hole is 11 or 21.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, claim 10 recites “arrenged” which is presumed to mean ‘arranged’. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, claim 2 recites “the recess portion” whereas elsewhere this is called “the recessed portion.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities: in line 4, claim 11 recites “the recess portion” whereas elsewhere this is called “the recessed portion.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the width direction" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the facing surfaces" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness direction" in line 15. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the thickness of the permanent magnet" in line 16. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the width direction of the permanent magnet" in line 18. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the inner surfaces" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the magnet insertion hole" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim, i.e. to which of the previously claimed magnet insertion holes is this referring?
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the inner surface" in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the flux barrier region" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 10 recites the limitation "the gap region" in line 4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the inner surfaces" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the inner surface" in lines 3-4. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMOTO - US 20230145591 (previously disclosed) in view of HISADA - US 20230045291.
Regarding claim 1, TAKEMOTO discloses a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine [0001-0002], comprising:
a stator [0033]; and
the rotor has a rotor core 1 formed by laminating a plurality of electromagnetic steel plates 2 in the axial direction [0022],
the rotor core 1 includes a plurality of magnet insertion holes (1L/1R) formed therein, the magnet insertion holes (1L/1R) being mounted with a strip-shaped permanent magnet 5 passing through in the axial direction,
the rotor core 1 has a first rotor core and a second rotor core (see Fig. 8, the first and second rotor cores are identical stampings, rotated relative to one another),
the magnet insertion holes (1L/1R) formed in the first and second rotor cores are provided with flux barriers on both sides of the permanent magnet 5 in the width direction to prevent flux leakage ([0039]-[0040] and Fig. 3-4),
a gap is formed between the permanent magnet 5 and the magnet insertion holes (1L/1R) by setting the distance between the facing surfaces in the thickness direction of the permanent magnet 5 to be greater than the thickness of the permanent magnet 5 (Fig 5a-5b),
the magnet insertion hole (10L/10R) of the first rotor core is provided with a guide portion (13L/13R) for positioning in the width direction of the permanent magnet 5 formed on at least one end side in the width direction of the permanent magnet 5 (Fig. 3),
the magnet insertion hole (20L/20R) of the second rotor core has an opening portion (S3/S4) (Figs. 4 and 5a-b), and
the first and second rotor cores are laminated in a mixed manner in the axial direction (Fig. 8).
However, TAKEMOTO does not disclose a rotor rotatably supported by a rotating shaft inside the stator or the opening portion that communicates with the gap and the flux barrier.
HISADA discloses a rotor rotatably supported by a rotating shaft 22 inside the stator [0015] and an opening portion 35d that communicates with a gap (G1/G2) and a flux barrier (34c) (Fig. 4 and [0045]) as well as the gap is formed between a permanent magnet M and the magnet insertion holes 34 by setting a distance between facing surfaces [of the magnet insertion holes] in a thickness direction [perpendicular to the width direction] of the permanent magnet M to be greater than the thickness of the permanent magnet M.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the rotor of TAKEMOTO with a rotor rotatably supported by a rotating shaft inside the stator or the opening portion that communicates with the gap and the flux barrier as well as the gap formed between a permanent magnet and the magnet insertion holes by setting a distance between facing surfaces of the magnet insertion holes in a thickness direction perpendicular to the width direction] of the permanent magnet to be greater than the thickness of the permanent magnet, similar to HISADA.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide, as taught by HISADA, a rotary drive motor [0015] with reduced leakage of magnetic flux while still providing sufficient bridge strength for stress resistance [0005].
Regarding claim 2, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein
HISADA teaches the opening portion 35d includes a recessed portion (Fig. 4) formed on an inner surface on the radially inner side at a position facing a corner of the permanent magnet M (Fig. 4); and
the recessed portion is configured as the opening portion that straddles the corner of the permanent magnet 5 (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein HISADA teaches the gap is formed between [an] inner [surface] 35b on the radially inner side of the magnet insertion hole 34 and the radially inner surface of the permanent magnet M facing the inner surface 35b, and the flux barrier and the gap are filled with resin SR (Fig. 4 and [0033]).
Regarding claim 4, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 3, wherein HISADA teaches at least a portion of the permanent magnet 5 is in contact with an inner surface 35a on a radially outer side of the magnet insertion hole (Fig. 4, upper right corner).
Regarding claim 5, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 1, wherein TAKEMOTO and HISADA teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in a V-shaped configuration that protrudes inward in the radial direction of the rotor.
Regarding claim 10, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotating electric machine according to claim 1, wherein HISADA teaches the guide portion is formed at a position facing a corner of the permanent magnet M, [arranged] between the flux barrier region and the gap G2, so that a path connecting the flux barrier region 34c to the gap region G2 is narrowed (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 11, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 10, wherein
HISADA teaches the opening portion 35d includes a recessed portion (Fig. 4) formed on an inner surface on the radially inner side at a position facing a corner of the permanent magnet M; and
the recessed portion is configured as the opening portion 35d that straddles the corner of the permanent magnet M (Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 12, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 10, wherein HISADA teaches the gap G2 is formed between the inner [surface] on the radially inner side of the magnet insertion hole 34 and the radially inner surface of the permanent magnet M facing the inner surface, and the flux barrier 34c and the gap G2 are filled with resin SR (Fig. 4 and [0033]).
Regarding claim 13, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 10, wherein TAKEMOTO and HISADA teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in a V-shaped configuration that protrudes inward in the radial direction of the rotor.
Regarding claim 14, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 3, wherein TAKEMOTO and HISADA teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in a V-shaped configuration that protrudes inward in the radial direction of the rotor.
Regarding claim 15, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 4, wherein TAKEMOTO and HISADA teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in a V-shaped configuration that protrudes inward in the radial direction of the rotor.
Regarding claim 16, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 10, wherein TAKEMOTO and HISADA teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor.
Claims 6 and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA as applied to claims 1 and 3-5 above, and further in view of LAHR - US 20230045291.
Regarding claim 6, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 1.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor.
LAHR teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine with a rotor 14 magnet 40 having flux barriers18 and a gap 22 filled with resin 44 wherein magnet insertion holes 18 and the permanent magnets 40 are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor, similar to LAHR.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a motor with increased torque and strength with no penalty in torque/flux leakage, as taught by LAHR [0003].
Regarding claim 17, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 3.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor.
LAHR teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine with a rotor 14 magnet 40 having flux barriers18 and a gap 22 filled with resin 44 wherein magnet insertion holes 18 and the permanent magnets 40 are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor, similar to LAHR.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a motor with increased torque and strength with no penalty in torque/flux leakage, as taught by LAHR [0003].
Regarding claim 18, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 4.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor.
LAHR teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine with a rotor 14 magnet 40 having flux barriers 18 and a gap 22 filled with resin 44 wherein magnet insertion holes 18 and the permanent magnets 40 are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor, similar to LAHR.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a motor with increased torque and strength with no penalty in torque/flux leakage, as taught by LAHR [0003].
Regarding claim 19, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 5.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor.
LAHR teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine with a rotor 14 magnet 40 having flux barriers18 and a gap 22 filled with resin 44 wherein magnet insertion holes 18 and the permanent magnets 40 are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor (Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the magnet insertion holes and the permanent magnets are arranged in at least two layers in a radial direction of the rotor, similar to LAHR.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a motor with increased torque and strength with no penalty in torque/flux leakage, as taught by LAHR [0003].
Claims 7 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA as applied to claims 1 and 10 above, and further in view of FUKUMARU - US 20110000079 (previously disclosed)
Regarding claim 7, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 1.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach the permanent magnet is divided into a plurality of parts in the axial direction of the rotor, and at least one first rotor core is arranged within a range corresponding to the axial length of one of the divided permanent magnets.
FUKUMARU teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine with a rotor 10 magnet 22 having flux barriers 21 and a gap filled with resin [0065] wherein the permanent magnet 22 is divided into a plurality of parts in the axial direction of the rotor, and at least one first rotor core is arranged within a range corresponding to the axial length of one of the divided permanent magnets (Fig. 2 and [0072]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the the permanent magnet is divided into a plurality of parts in the axial direction of the rotor, and at least one first rotor core is arranged within a range corresponding to the axial length of one of the divided permanent magnets, similar to FUKUMARU.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a rotor that can be produced at reduced cost while minimizing imbalances in the rotor, as taught by FUKUMARU [0100].
Regarding claim 20, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 10.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach the permanent magnet is divided into a plurality of parts in the axial direction of the rotor, and at least one first rotor core is arranged within a range corresponding to the axial length of one of the divided permanent magnets.
FUKUMARU teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine with a rotor 10 magnet 22 having flux barriers 21 and a gap filled with resin [0065] wherein the permanent magnet 22 is divided into a plurality of parts in the axial direction of the rotor, and at least one first rotor core is arranged within a range corresponding to the axial length of one of the divided permanent magnets (Fig. 2 and [0072]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the permanent magnet is divided into a plurality of parts in the axial direction of the rotor, and at least one first rotor core is arranged within a range corresponding to the axial length of one of the divided permanent magnets, similar to FUKUMARU.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to provide a rotor that can be produced at reduced cost while minimizing imbalances in the rotor, as taught by FUKUMARU [0100].
Claims 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA as applied to claims 1 above, and further in view of KITAO - US 20200186007 (previously disclosed).
Regarding claim 8, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 1.
However, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA does not teach, wherein a refrigerant flows through the flux barrier, the gap, and the opening portion of the second rotor core.
KITAO teaches a permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine [0001] with a rotor 22 magnet 23 having flux barriers 31 and a gap 44 filled with resin 43 wherein a refrigerant flows through the flux barrier, the gap, and the opening portion of the second rotor core [0048].
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to provide the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine of TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA with the refrigerant flows through the flux barrier, the gap, and the opening portion of the second rotor core, similar to KITAO.
A person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains would have been motivated to make such modification in order to “to provide a rotating electric machine which is increased in cooling area of permanent magnets to effectively cool permanent magnets so that cooling performance for the permanent magnets is enhanced” as taught by KITAO [0010].
Regarding claim 9, TAKEMOTO in view of HISADA and further in view of KITAO teaches the permanent magnet-type rotary electric machine according to claim 8, wherein KITAO teaches the refrigerant is oil or air [0048].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US-20220271589-A1 HIRAI discloses multiple layers of magnet insertion holes with a gap; US-20230116012-A1 NIGO discloses magnet insertion holes with a gap; CN-111463937-A KUBOTA discloses magnet insertion holes with a gap.
/JUSTIN STEFANON/Examiner, Art Unit 2834
/OLUSEYE IWARERE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2834