Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2025 was filed after the mailing date of the application on 3/14/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: misspelling “formalise”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “Real Semantic Twin” and “Virtual Semantic Twin” in claim 1-11 is is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "univocally identifiable, transposable and interoperable " renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 1, the phrase "One or more Metaverses" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim 1 recites the limitation "IOT sensors" in line 13. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "HW key" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 recites the limitation "FPGA" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5, 7-8 and 11 recites the limitation "DLT" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claims 5, 7-8 and 11 recites the limitation "NFT" in line 5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim recites sharing one or more cyber physical assets and/or equipment, which cyber physical assets and/or equipment consist of at least one real object and at least one virtual representation thereof in connection with each other. The limitation of recites sharing one or more cyber physical assets and/or equipment, as drafted, is a process that, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components. That is, other than reciting “by a processor,” nothing in the claim element precludes the step from practically being performed in the mind. For example, but for the “by a processor” language, “sharing” in the context of this claim encompasses the user manually recites sharing one or more cyber physical assets and/or equipment. If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claim recites an abstract idea. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. In particular, the claim only recites one additional element – using a processor to perform the sharing step. The processor in the sharing step is recited at a high-level of generality such that it amounts no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Accordingly, this additional element does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claim is directed to an abstract idea. The claim does not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea into a practical application, the additional element of using a processor to perform the sharing step amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using a generic computer component. Mere instructions to apply an exception using a generic computer component cannot provide an inventive concept.
The claim is not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sokolov (US Patent Pub. 2022/0242450) in view of Mehmedagic (US Patent Pub. 2023/0384778).
As per claim 1: (Currently Amended) Sokolov discloses a method for sharing one or more cyber physical assets and/or equipment, which cyber physical assets and/or equipment consist of at least one real object and at least one virtual representation thereof in connection with each other (see abstract),
wherein the connection between the real object and its virtual representation is made through the use of a real semantic twin, consisting of a semantic representation of the real object, and of a virtual semantic twin, consisting of a semantic representation of the virtual representation, the real semantic twin and the virtual semantic twin being adapted to represent respectively the state and the operational data of the real object and of its virtual representation (Paragraph 44; ModuleTwin 558 is a persisted, cloud-based, digital twin of scheduler module 534. ModuleTwin 558 can, for example, be a module image retrieved from a container registry (324/424). In the most general case, however, ModuleTwin 558 can broadly be a persistence object that mirrors at least some properties of scheduler module 534, including the contents of subsystem schedule 536. ModuleTwin 558 reflects a desired state of scheduler module 534, and EventService 552 receives state changes SC from ModuleTwin 558 necessary to conform scheduler module 534 to this desired state),
Sokolov does not specifically disclose in such a way that said cyber physical assets and/or equipment are univocally identifiable, transposable and interoperable between real worlds and one or more metaverses maintaining in the transposition univocal characteristics of identity, property, persistence and responsiveness between real object and virtual representation, in which a connection of control parameters of the virtual semantic twin to the control data of one or more IoT sensors and/or actuators present in the real object and made accessible by the real semantic twin is provided (See Mehmedagic; Paragraph 84; The element 700 may be a device which is installed or installable at a location, for example at a machine or cabinet thereof. The element 700 may be included on a location model and/or a network model of the location, for example in a dual twin scheme. The location model may include a physical location and/or configuration of the element 700 in space and/or physical connectivity to one or more other devices or elements of the location. The element 700 may further be modeled by a network model of the location, for example reflecting one or more logical or communication paths or connections within or otherwise associated with the location, for example between one or more machines or devices within or associated with the location).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains, having the teachings of Sokolov and Mehmedagic in it’s entirety, to modify the technique of Sokolov for Metaverse Data Fusion System by adopting Mehmedagic's teaching for dual twin scheme for providing visual lifecycle information for industrial networks. The motivation would have been to improve sharing one or more cyber physical assets and/or equipment.
As per claim 2: (Currently Amended) Method-The method according to claim 1 , wherein said control parameters of the virtual semantic twin are control parameters of animations and/or state and/or environmental and operational context (See Mehmedagic; Paragraph 87; a parameter associated with the electronic device 320, or any combination thereof. For example, an installer user 310 of the electronic device 320 may only be permitted to view information and/or AR data limited only to a defined installation area, a known device to be installed or configured, a time period during which the installer is provided access to an area, or any other limitation, for example geophysical, temporal, and/or role-based).
As per claim 11: (Currently Amended) The method according to claim 1, wherein the coupling between the real semantic twin and the virtual semantic twin is carried out through the interchange of data packets describing the cyber physical asset or equipment saved on a central cloud or on a distributed file system with access key saved on a distributed DLT and which data packets are open and interoperable in such a way as to guarantee the loading, the activation and the interoperability among different compatible software and used to manage the cyber physical assets and/or equipment in the real worlds and in the Metaverses compatible with the format and the protocols included in said data packets (See Sokolov; Paragraph 106; In a Metaverse World Model: [0107] There is a real-world source that includes (i) a spatially mapped real-world region, such as a digital twin of a certain venue (e.g. proving ground, road network, racetrack, sports arena) and/or (ii) one or more spatially located digital twins of real objects, such as a full-size vehicle, robot, drone, person or obstacle, all having certain physical characteristics in the above mentioned real-world region).
Relevant Prior Art References
The following prior art is cited as being of interest to the claimed invention but has not been applied in any of the current rejections.
Kotvis et al.- US Patent Publication 2023/0205577- the prior art teaches techniques for Internet of Things (IoT) systems.
Ramachandran et al.- US Patent Publication 2022/0239648- the prior art teaches techniques for Internet of Things (IoT) device registry display.
Van den Berghe - US Patent Publication 2022/0124001- the prior art teaches techniques for predicting the evolution of simulation results for an Internet of Things (IoT) network by creating a source digital twin for the IoT network
Conclusion
/ANTHONY D BROWN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2408