Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "the virtual switch 201". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10-11, 13, 17, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20120324442 to Barde.
Regarding claim 1, Barde teaches a physical server, comprising:
a physical machine and a programmable network card device, a virtual machine is deployed on the physical machine, and a virtual switch for data forwarding between different virtual machines is deployed on the programmable network card device (¶ 6, 25, 41, 81, 86);
wherein the programmable network card device comprises a message parsing acceleration module and a hardware message queue implemented based on programmable hardware; the message parsing acceleration module is configured to (figs. 3A, 3B, ¶ 33-35, ¶ 82, 86, 87, message parsing and hardware queue):
receive a target message that needs to be forwarded by the virtual switch (¶ 41, 63-70, 81),
parse header information of the target message to obtain metadata information of the target messages and write the target message and the metadata information to the hardware message queue for the virtual switch to read (¶ 35, 41, 63-70, 81, parsing obtain metadata and writing to queue for switch);
wherein the virtual switch runs on a processor of the programmable network card device and is configured to:
read the target message and the metadata information from the hardware message queue (¶ 63-70),
obtain information to be matched of the target message according to the metadata information (¶ 26-29, 63-70, 81-87, obtaining information to be matched),
match the information to be matched in a forwarding flow table, and forward the target message according to a matched flow table entry (¶ 26-29, 40-41, 49-53, 63-64, 66, flow table lookup matching and forwarding).
Regarding claim 4, 10, 13, 21,
Barde teaches:
wherein the message parsing acceleration module is specifically configured to:
perform keyword parsing on the header information of the target message to obtain a value of each protocol field corresponding to a specified protocol type in the header information (¶ 61-62, parsing header for protocol information; see also 62-70); and
generate the metadata information according to the value of each protocol field corresponding to the specified protocol type in the header information ¶ 26-29, 63-70, 81-87, generation of metadata);
the virtual switch is specifically configured to: obtain the value of each protocol field corresponding to the specified protocol type in the metadata information as the information to be matched (¶ 26-29, 40-41, 49-53, 63-64, 66, obtaining metadata and matching; flow table lookup matching and forwarding).
Claims 7, 11 and 17 are addressed by similar rationale as claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2-3, 8-9, 12, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barde in view of US 20140056151 to Petrus
Regarding claim 2, 8, 12, 20,
Barde fails to teach but Petrus teaches:
wherein the message parsing acceleration module is specifically configured to:
pre-parse the header information of the target message to obtain respective position offsets of multiple protocol fields in the header information; and generate the metadata information according to the respective position offsets of the multiple protocol fields in the header information (¶ 14-24, parsing header information for offset positions; generation of metadata).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Petrus. The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Petrus would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating transmission of packets through virtual networks (Petrus, ¶ 20-23).
Regarding claim 3, 9,
Barde fails to teach but Petrus teaches:
wherein the virtual switch is specifically configured to:
obtain a value of each protocol field corresponding to a specified protocol type from the header information of the target message as the information to be matched according to the respective position offsets of the multiple protocol fields in the metadata information (¶ 14-24). Motivation to include Petrus is the same as presented above.
Claim 5, 14, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barde in view of US 20050147126 to Qiu.
Regarding claim 5, 14, 22,
Barde teaches:
wherein the message parsing acceleration module is further configured to:
generate parsed additional information according to a parsing result of the header information of the target message, and use the parsed additional information as part of the metadata information (¶ 26-29, 40-41, 49-53, 63-64, 66, 81);
Barde fails to teach but Qiu teaches:
the parsed additional information comprises at least one of first identifier information indicating whether the target message supports hardware parsing, second identifier information indicating whether the parsing result is incorrect in a case that the target message supports hardware parsing, and protocol characteristic information of the parsed target message (¶ 47, identifier indicating support for hardware parsing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Qiu . The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Qiu would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating large packet transfer and the efficient utilization of processing resources (Qiu, ¶ 32, 47).
Claim 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Barde and Petrus in view of US 20050147126 to Qiu.
Regarding claim 18, 19,
Barde teaches:
wherein the message parsing acceleration module is further configured to:
generate parsed additional information according to a parsing result of the header information of the target message, and use the parsed additional information as part of the metadata information (¶ 26-29, 40-41, 49-53, 63-64, 66, 81);
Barde fails to teach but Qiu teaches:
the parsed additional information comprises at least one of first identifier information indicating whether the target message supports hardware parsing, second identifier information indicating whether the parsing result is incorrect in a case that the target message supports hardware parsing, and protocol characteristic information of the parsed target message (¶ 47, identifier indicating support for hardware parsing).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to include the teachings of Qiu . The motivation to do so is that the teachings of Qiu would have been advantageous in terms of facilitating large packet transfer and the efficient utilization of processing resources (Qiu, ¶ 32, 47).
CONCLUSION
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to RYAN J JAKOVAC whose telephone number is (571)270-5003. The examiner can normally be reached on 8-4 PM EST. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Oscar A. Louie can be reached on 572-270-1684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/RYAN J JAKOVAC/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2445