DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-17 are presented for consideration.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "each device" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the similar device" in line 11. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "the device" in line 12. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "the similar device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "a similar device" in line 7. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 6 recites the limitation "a similar device" in line 3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the two electronic devices" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 8, 12-14, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0323859 ], in view of Silvestri et al. [ US Patent Application No 2021/0383376 ].
As per claim 1, Patel discloses the inventions as claimed including a combination of at least two similar handheld electronic devices designed to be stackable, each device comprising:
a chassis in which at least one processor is arranged [ i.e. multiple servers may be stored in a rack or chassis ] [ Figure 3; and paragraphs 0030, 0040, 0042, and 0043 ], and
wireless means of communication [ i.e. direct wireless connection ] [ 308, Figure 3; Abstract; and paragraphs 0046, and 0047 ],
wherein each device is configured to switch automatically or in response to an action by a user, into a stacked mode of operation [ i.e. detect when new servers are introduced in a rack ] [ paragraph 0076 ], and, in the stacked mode of operation, when a first device is stacked with a second similar device to form a stack and is at a top of the stack [ i.e. physical electrical connection 314 used to couple the server 306 to the wire-based network switch 312 ] [ 306, Figure 3; and paragraph 0051, and 0059 ], establish communication with the similar device present in the stack [ 307, Figure 3; and paragraphs 0047, and 0051 ], receive information provided by the device present in the stack [ i.e. direct wireless connection may be formed between each of the servers may be used to achieve effective data transfer between each of the servers and a network access point ] [ Figure 3; and paragraphs 0051, and 0073 ].
Patel does not specifically disclose
a touch screen covering all or part of a front side of the chassis, and display the information on the touch screen.
Silvestri discloses
a touch screen covering all or part of a front side of the chassis, and display the information on the touch screen [ i.e. display device combined with touch-sensitive panel that can enable a user to provide inputs via touch-controls ] [ 108, Figure 1; and paragraph 0027, 0062, an d0073 ].
It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Patel and Silvestri because the teaching of Silvestri would enable to incorporate unique hardware and software features to improve ease of use while also providing increased security for private keys and blockchain transaction signatures [ Silvestri, paragraph 0079 ].
As per claim 2, Silvestri discloses wherein each device is further configured to receive user-provided commands via the touch screen and transmit the commands to the similar device in the stack [ i.e. receive touch input controls ] [ paragraphs 0027, and 0062 ].
As per claim 3, Patel discloses wherein each device is configured, in the stacked operation mode, to execute a first mode of operation in which the device is not at the top of the stack, and a second mode of operation in which the device is at the top of the stack, and where, in the first mode of operation, the device can be controlled via the touch screen of a similar device present at the top of the stack, and in the second mode of operation, the touch screen of the device allows control of a similar device present in the stack [ i.e. the server designated as the aggregator effectively acts as an intermediary between a network access point and a number of other servers in the rack, the connection between the aggregator and the remaining servers is preferably achieved via the direct wireless connection, while the connection between the aggregator and the network access point may be via a physical electrical connection ] [ 314, 307, Figure 3; and paragraphs 0047, 0050, 0051, and 0057 ].
7. As per claim 4, Silvestri discloses wherein each device comprises a secure element configured to manage the stacked mode of operation [ i.e. one processing unit to specialize in encryption and digital currency-related operations such as the generation of key pairs and storage of private keys ] [ 114, Figure 1; paragraphs 0034, 0043, and 0052 ].
8. As per claim 8, Silvestri discloses wherein each device is a hardware wallet for storing private keys of cryptoasset accounts [ Figure 1; Abstract; and paragraph 0042 ].
9. As per claim 12, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
10. As per claim 13, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 1.
11. As per claim 14, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 2.
12. As per claim 17, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 8.
Claim(s) 5, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0323859 ], in view of Silvestri et al. [ US Patent Application No 2021/0383376 ], and further in view of Kolin et al. [ US Patent Application No 2012/0005344 ].
14. As per claim 5, Patel in view of Silvestri does not specifically disclose wherein each device comprises at least one sensor for detecting a presence of a device above or below the chassis. Kolin discloses wherein each device comprises at least one sensor for detecting a presence of a device above or below the chassis [ i.e. sensors to detect insertion and removal of the blade host ] [ Figure 3; and paragraphs 0011, and 0034 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Patel, Silvestri and Kolin because the teaching Kolin would enable to manage computing resource, track physical locations of the plurality of hosts and virtual machines in the data center [ Kolin, paragraph 0010 ].
15. As per claim 15, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 5.
Claim(s) 6, 7, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0323859 ], in view of Silvestri et al. [ US Patent Application No 2021/0383376 ], and further in view of Morrison et al. [ US Patent Application No 2020/0392759 ].
17. As per claim 6, Patel in view of Silvestri does not specifically disclose wherein each device comprises magnets for magnetically stacking the device with a similar device. Morrison discloses wherein each device comprises magnets for magnetically stacking the device with a similar device [ i.e. magnets ] [ Figure 4A; Abstract; and paragraphs 0073, and 0085 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Patel, Silvestri and Morrison because the teaching of Morrison would enable to provide ease of mobility and security [ Morrison, paragraph 0030 ].
18. As per claim 7, Morrison discloses wherein the sensor is a hall effect sensor configured to detect a presence of at least one magnet above or below the chassis [ paragraphs 0044, and 0079 ].
19. As per claim 16, it is rejected for similar reasons as stated above in claim 6.
Claim(s) 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patel et al. [ US Patent Application No 2018/0323859 ], in view of Silvestri et al. [ US Patent Application No 2021/0383376 ], and further in view of Ramasamy et al. [ US Patent Application No 2022/0344825 ].
21. As per claim 9, Patel discloses wherein each device is configured to transmit or receive data in a specified frequency band [ paragraph 0024 ]. Patel in view of Silvestri does not specifically disclose a radio frequency antenna comprising a combination of a closed- slot antenna and an open-slot parasitic antenna, both antennas being configured so that: when the device is in open air, the open-slot parasitic antenna has a tuning frequency within the specified frequency band while the closed-slot antenna has a tuning frequency outside a specified frequency band, and when the device is stacked with a similar device, the closed-slot antenna has a tuning frequency within the specified frequency band while the open-slot parasitic antenna has a tuning frequency outside the specified frequency band. Ramasamy discloses a radio frequency antenna comprising a combination of a closed- slot antenna and an open-slot parasitic antenna [ i.e. parasitic ] [ paragraphs 0032, 0072, and 0107 ], both antennas being configured so that: when the device is in open air, the open-slot parasitic antenna has a tuning frequency within the specified frequency band while the closed-slot antenna has a tuning frequency outside a specified frequency band, and when the device is stacked with a similar device, the closed-slot antenna has a tuning frequency within the specified frequency band while the open-slot parasitic antenna has a tuning frequency outside the specified frequency band [ i.e. antenna tuning ] [ paragraphs 0027, 0072, and 0078 ]. It would have been obvious to a person skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Patel, Silvestri and Ramasamy because the teaching Ramasamy would enable to provide telecommunication, network communication, and video communication capabilities to the information handling system [ Ramasamy, paragraph 0002 ].
22. As per claim 10, Ramasamy discloses wherein: the closed-slot antenna comprises a traversing longitudinal port in a side wall of the chassis, the longitudinal port comprising two longitudinal surfaces facing each other, and means for applying a ground voltage to a first longitudinal surface of the longitudinal port and applying a radio frequency signal (RFS) to a second longitudinal surface of the longitudinal port [ i.e. edge ] [ paragraphs 0032, 0052, and 0066 ], and the open-slot parasitic antenna comprises an electrically conductive arm arranged parallel to the side wall of the chassis and in a vicinity of the longitudinal port, the electrically conductive arm having a free end and an end electrically connected to the side wall [ i.e. grounding walls and conductive gasket ] [ paragraphs 0088, and 0097 ].
23. As per claim 11, Patel discloses wherein the specified frequency band is the Bluetooth band or a Wi-Fi band [ paragraphs 0046, and 0056 ].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Huang [ US Patent Application No 2024/0338266 ] discloses chassis management system includes touch control liquid crystal display
Vogel et al. [ US Patent Application No 2020/0193420 ] discloses a system includes hardware wallet configured to communicate with the carbon key
Calio et al. [ US Patent Application No 2014/0211984 ] discloses a mechanism for determining physical location of a physical asset in a physical area
/DUSTIN NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2446