Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitations are: storing unit, adjusting unit, confirming unit, determining unit in claims 1 - 8.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1 - 10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 states in line 3 “in face authentication“ and in line 5 “when face authentication” but it is unclear based on how the claims are written if the two instances of face authentication are the same. Due to the face authentication wording being indefinite, the claim is rejected. All claims that depend on claim 1 (claims 1- 8) also inherit the rejection over being indefinite. Additionally claims 9- 10 recite the same limitations as claim 1, therefore the face authentication wording is unclear, therefore the claims are rejected over being indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 6 and 9-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20150371098 (hereinafter referred to as Ishii).
Regarding claim 1, Ishii teaches a processing apparatus comprising: a storing unit that stores a false authentication score [See paragraph 0039 which teaches a storage unit for authentication data, and 0012 which teaches a identity fraud probability (false authentication score)],
which is a score calculated when it is determined that false authentication has occurred in face authentication, into a storage device [see 0012 above where the identity fraud user probability the likelihood that a person is fraudulently pretending to be a registered person (i.e. false authentication)]; and an adjusting unit that adjusts a value used when face authentication is performed based on the false authentication score [See paragraph 0017 and 0011 where the determination is adjusted based on the identity fraud probability (false authentication score), this is done by adjusting the degree of similarity of biological data (including face information) by the score calculation unit (adjusting unit)].
Regarding claim 2, Ishii teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising a confirming unit that confirms whether false authentication has occurred by performing confirmation different from face authentication on an authentication target person in face authentication, [see 0039 above where authentication is multimodal and use other biological information such as iris scan, fingerprint, or hand images, not just face authentication]. wherein the storing unit stores the false authentication score in accordance with a result of the confirmation by the confirming unit [See 0039 above where data is stored in the storage device, this includes the false authentication score as result of a confirmation unit (score calculation unit)].
Regarding claim 3, Ishii teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein: the confirming unit confirms whether false authentication has occurred by confirming whether a person identified by face authentication is the authentication target person [See paragraph 0035 where the determination unit (confirmation unit) determines if the person being verified is the target person, or someone fraudulently pretending to be them, and 0039 where the biological information could be facial recognition]; and the storing unit stores the false authentication score in accordance with the result of the confirmation by the confirming unit. [See 0039 above where data is stored of the biological information, as result of the confirming unit (determination unit)].
Regarding claim 5, Ishii teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein the confirming unit confirms whether the person identified by face authentication is the authentication target person when it is determined that authentication is successful in face authentication [See paragraph 0035 above where identity verification using facial recognition (see 0039) determines if the target person is present, or if someone is fraudulently pretending to be the target person (where face authentication could also be successful)].
Regarding claim 6, Ishii teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 3, further comprising a determining unit that determines whether to perform the confirmation by the confirming unit based on a given condition determined in advance [See paragraph 0033 and 0034 where the probability calculation unit [determining unit] calculates if spoofing may be occurring (a given condition), and this score is used to determine if identity verification should be confirmed using the determining unit of Ishii].
wherein the confirming unit performs the confirmation in accordance with a result of the determination by the determining unit [See fig 3 where the confirming unit (determine, step 105) is performed in accordance to the determining unit (Calculate, step 103 and calculation unit above)].
Claims 9 and 10 are similarly analyzed to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of “Multi-modal Multi-layer Fusion Network with Average Binary Center Loss for Face Anti-spoofing” (hereinafter referred to as Kuang).
Regarding claim 4, ishii teaches the processing apparatus according to claim 3, wherein: the storing unit stores a false acceptance score, which is a score calculated when false authentication based on a face image of another person has been performed, as the false authentication score [see 0039 above where the data is stored and 0044 where a identity fraud probability is calculated (false authentication score), indicating that the facial authentication matches, but there is a possibility of fraud happening];
Ishii also does teach an adjusting unit [See 0011 above where a score calculation unit adjusts the degree of similarity to biological data] and a threshold [See 0064 where a threshold value L determined]
However, Ishii does not explicitly teach that the threshold is adjusted based on the false acceptance score.
Kuang does teach adjusting a threshold value used when face authentication is performed based on the false acceptance score. [See page 53 section 4.2 where the false positive rate (false acceptance score) is used to select a suitable threshold].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the multimodal approach to determine identity of Ishii with the adjusting of a threshold value to categorize if proper authentication occurred of Kuang. The motivation to combine would been to have a dynamic recognition model that uses the collected data of false positives/ negatives to adjust the threshold needed to be reached to accurately authenticate a user.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view of AI-Driven Adaptive Authentication for Multi-Modal Biometric Systems (hereinafter referred to as Durgaraju).
Regarding claim 7, Ishii teaches the confirming unit the confirming unit confirms whether false authentication has occurred by accepting input of predetermined [see 0039 where biological data is stored. This data is used by the determining unit (confirming unit) to identify the target person].
Ishii does not teach that the predetermined input is encrypted.
Durgaraju teaches a method of performing facial authentication, and does teach that the predetermined information is encrypted [See page 84 section 6.3 where the biometric information is encrypted]
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the obtaining of information from the target person of Ishii with the encryption of biometric information of Durgaraju. The motivation to combine is to ensure data privacy for the information collected from the user.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ishii in view Durgaraju in further view of Kuang.
Regarding claim 8, Ishii and Durgaraju teach the processing apparatus according to claim 7 of using face authentication for identifying a target user. Ishii teaches that the storing unit stores collected data [See 0039 of Ishii above] and that a false authentication score is calculated [See Ishii above where a fraud probability is calculated]. Durgaraju also teaches that a false rejection score is calculated [See page 85 where the false rejection score is calculated]. Durgaraju also teaches that the data collected from recent authentication history is used so the threshold is dynamically adjusted by an adjusting unit [See Durgaraju section 3.2 page 81].
Ishii and Durgaraju do not explicitly state that the false rejection score data is used to adjust a threshold value.
Kuang does teach that the threshold value adjusted based off of the false rejection score [See section 4.2 of page 53 of Kuang above where the false negative rate is used as a metric to adjust the threshold].
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to combine the authentication method of Ishii with a variable threshold that is dynamically adjusted based off of metrics (as seen in Durgaraju) with the metrics including the false negative rate (as seen in Kuang). The motivation to combine is to reduce the error rate in the authentication.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Contact information
/ANUSHA KASHYAPA/Examiner, Art Unit 2669 /CHAN S PARK/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2669