DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-9, in the reply filed on 10/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 10-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/16/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 02/20/2026, 09/03/2026, and 03/17/025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glenn et al. (US 2020308359) [IDs dated 09/03/2026], herein Glenn.
Regarding claim 1, Glenn teaches a packaging material comprising a cellulose foam having a density of 20 to 100 kg/m3 and by example about 36 or 37 kg/m3 [0016, 0035, 0037, 0045, 0055, 0069,Table 2 examples F1 and F3 ]. This range overlaps the claimed range, and the examples are within the claimed range. A sheet or film is deposited on the outer surface of the foam to impart moisture protection [0059, 0074].
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
While Glenn does not teach a singular example of the instantly claimed packaging material, Glenn teaches conventionally packaging material comprised of the claimed cellulose foam, having a density within the claimed range, and skin layer. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine these features as this is considered a conventionally known combination of features known to form packaging material and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 2, Glenn further teaches the fiber is present at about 82 wt% to about 95 wt% in the dry foam [0047]. This overlaps the claimed range. If a binder is present the final amount of fiber in the dry foam is about 82 wt% to about 89 wt% [0047]. This range is encompassed by the claimed range.
Regarding claim 3, Glenn further teaches the fiber is present at about 82 wt% to about 95 wt% in the dry foam [0047]. This overlaps the claimed range. If a binder is present the final amount of fiber in the dry foam is about 82 wt% to about 89 wt% [0047]. This range is encompassed by the claimed range. The thickener/binder is present at about 2 wt% to about 30 wt% [0049-0050]. This overlaps the claimed range. Glenn teaches that at least one foaming agent/surfactant is present [0012, 0087].
While Glenn does not teach a singular example of the instantly claimed foam composition with at least two surfactants, Glenn teaches at least one surfactant/foaming agent is present. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have chosen two surfactants/foaming agents since Glenn teaches it is conventionally known to use at least one and one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 4, Glenn further teaches the sheets of foam could be compressed into a nonwoven sheet for use as a filter, here one layer would be considered the substrate [0059].
Regarding claim 9, Glenn further teaches a film is laminated to one side of the foam and provides moisture and oil resistance [0059, 0074]. Glenn does not expressly teach the film is added to the other side of the foam.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added a second film on the other side of the foam in order to allow for protection from moisture and oil to both sides of the foam and increase applications of the foam.
Claims 1-5, and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Paananen et al. (WO 2022175394 A1) [IDs dated 03/17/2025], herein Paananen.
Regarding claim 1, Paananen teaches a cellulose foam for packaging material [Abstract, claim 1, Pg. 1 lines 14-18]. The foam has a density that is greater than 20 kg/m3 and less than 100 kg/m3 [Pg. 2 lines 18-21, claims 3-4]. This overlaps the claimed range. The foam is laminated on a fire-retardant substrate [Pg. 4 lines 27-30, Pg. 7 lines 24-27].
As set forth in MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed range “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art”, a prima facie case of obviousness exists, In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Regarding claims 2-3, Paananen further teaches the cellulose fiber if present at 60-80 wt%, starch or polyvinyl alcohol is present at less than 10 wt% and two surfactant/foaming agent are present [Pg. 6 lines 1-2, 21-24, Pg. 8 lines 5-8, Pg. 10 lines 4-7, claims 1, 7,13, 14 ]. It is noted that Material E teaches the use of two surfactant/foaming agents with starch [Pg. 10 lines 26-33]. The ranges overlap the claimed ranges.
Regarding claim 4, Paananen further teaches the substrate is paper or textile or nonwoven material can all be considered fibrous [Claim 11].
Regarding claim 5, Paananen further teaches the substrate is paper [Claim 11].
Regarding claim 9, Paananen further teaches the foam is laminated on a fire-retardant substrate [Pg. 4 lines 27-30, Pg. 7 lines 24-27] Paananen does not expressly teach the substrate is added to the other side of the foam.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have added a second substrate on the other side of the foam in order to allow for protection from fire to both sides of the foam and increase applications of the foam.
Claims 1-2 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Westgeest et al. (US 20190047767 A1), herein Westgeest.
Regarding claims 1 and 7, Westgeest teaches a cushioning sheet for packaging [Abstract]. The sheet comprising a plurality of spaced apart cushions on a flexible base film [Abstract, Fig. 1, claim]. The cushions comprise cellulose foam and have a density in the range of 10 kg/m3 and 600 kg/m3 [0065-0066]. This overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claim 2, Westgeest further teaches the cellulose is at least 70 wt% of the foam [0065].
Regarding claim 8, Westgeest further teaches the foam cushion is attached via an adhesive or glue to the base substrate [0110].
Regarding claim 9, Westgeest further teaches a cover film is attached to the outer surface of the foam cushion [0016, 0055, 0113]
Claims 1, 4-6 and 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang et al. (US 20220250349 A1), herein Zhang.
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a packaging material comprising a cellulose-based foam [0026, 0040, 0078]. The foam has a density of less than 100 kg/m3 [Claim 1]. This overlaps the claimed range. The foam has a laminate applied to a surface of the foam [Abstract, claim 1, 0019].
Regarding claim 4, Zhang further teaches the laminate is fibrous [0028].
Regarding claim 5, Zhang further teaches the laminate is paper [claim 8].
Regarding claim 6, Zhang further teaches the laminate is cellulose fiber/foam which has a different composition from the main porous foam [0028, claim 5].
Alternatively, Zhang further teaches the foam is multiple players with different compositions [0023]. While not expressly teaching an example using two foams comprising cellulose, Zhang teaches the foams are conventionally known and thus one would have had a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 8, Zhang further teaches the laminate is adhered to the side of the foam with glue [0027].
Regarding claim 9, Zhang further teaches the laminate to both sides of the foam [0023, Fig. 3].
Conclusion
/ELIZABETH COLLISTER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1784