DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Status of Application
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10 & 12-25 have been examined in this application. This communication is a Final Rejection in response to the Amendment filed on May 26, 2026. Claims 4, 7 & 11 stand canceled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 6, 8-10 & 12-25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nguyen et al. (US 2018/0149008).
With respect to Claim 1, Nguyen discloses a method for creating a fluid barrier in a geological formation surrounding a wellbore (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011]), comprising: delivering a plurality of swellable particulates into the wellbore and into a first zone of the geological formation, the plurality of swellable particulates configured to volumetrically swell to create the fluid barrier in response to exposure to a swelling activator; exposing the plurality of swellable particulates to the swelling activator in the first zone of the geological formation to create the fluid barrier and establish a restriction against fluid migration through the first zone; and performing an operation in a second zone of the geological formation (Nguyen: Sections [0025], [0026], [0028], [0029] & [0041]).
Nguyen further teaches one or more embodiments where flow barriers are tailored based on the desired diversion for the operation to enhance complex fracture networks and hydrocarbon production (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011] & [0025]-[0029]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with “obstructing a fluid flow within the geological formation from the second zone with the swellable particulates in the first zone”, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obstruct/restrict flow as desired by tailored delivery of the swellable particulates, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or hydrocarbon production; and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 2, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…comprising delivering the swellable particulates into a first fracture in the first zone” (Nguyen: Sections [0025] & [0026]).
With respect to Claim 3, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 2, and further teaches one or more embodiments where the treatment fluid comprising the swellable particulates is introduced at or above a fracture gradient; and where treatment zones are both fractured and fluidically sealed to enhance complex fracture networks (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011] & [0025]-[0029]); which provides for embodiments where delivering the swellable particulates into a zone creates the one or more fractures. As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with “delivering the swellable particulates into the first zone of the geological formation creates the first fracture”, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to deliver the swellable particulates as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 5, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…wherein the operation comprises creating a second fracture in the second zone” (Nguyen: Sections [0028] & [0029]).
With respect to Claim 6, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further teaches one or more embodiments where the intervals are treated and intended for the production of fluids (Nguyen: Sections [0008] & [0025]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with “wherein the operation comprises extracting a formation product from the second zone”, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to extract a formation product from a desired zone, such as the second zone, as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to benefit from the treatment and/or yield predictable results in enhanced hydrocarbon production operations.
With respect to Claim 8, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and, as set forth above, further teaches one or more embodiments where flow barriers are tailored based on the desired diversion for the operation to enhance complex fracture networks and hydrocarbon production (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011] & [0025]-[0029]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with “wherein the first zone is an upper zone and the method comprises creating the fluid barrier to establish a restriction against fluid migration from the second zone to surface”, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to obstruct/restrict flow as desired by tailored delivery of the swellable particulates, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or hydrocarbon production; and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 9, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses exposing the swellable particulates to the swelling activator in the first zone to volumetrically swell the particulates (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011], [0025], [0026] & [0041]); which volumetric swelling is considered “to create a region of stress around the first zone of the formation” as instantly claimed and described in at least page 2 of the instant specification. To the extent there is any difference between this feature as disclosed by Nguyen and this feature as instantly claimed, the difference is considered minor and obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
With respect to Claim 10, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…wherein the swellable particulates are non-degradable” (Nguyen: Sections [0043]-[0057]); where Nguyen does not disclose the swellable particulates as necessarily degradable, which is considered to disclose the feature as instantly claimed.
With respect to Claim 12, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further teaches one or more embodiments “wherein the swellable particulates comprise a coating configured to degrade after a certain duration of time” to enhance complex fracture networks and hydrocarbon production (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011], [0025], [0026], [0043]-[0057] & [0078]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with this feature, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ swellable particulates comprising a coating as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or hydrocarbon production; and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 13, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further teaches one or more embodiments where the swelling of the swellable particulates is adjusted/controlled/tailored, such as by selection of type, size, coating, triggers etc., to enhance complex fracture networks and hydrocarbon production (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011], [0035], [0026], [0042]-[0057] & [0078]), which is considered to teach “wherein the swellable particulates are configured to swell at a certain swell rate in response to exposure to the swelling activator to provide the swellable particulates in a swelled condition after a certain duration of time”. As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with this feature, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ swellable particulates configured as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or hydrocarbon production; and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 14, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses delivering a plurality of fibre elements into the wellbore and into the first zone (Nguyen: Sections [0025], [0026] & [0058]-[0060]). Nguyen further teaches one or more embodiments where the fibre elements are configured to adhere to one another and/or the swellable particulates to enhance the seal (Nguyen: Sections [0063]-[0076]), which is considered “a web arrangement for constraining movement of the swellable particulates in response to exposure to an adhesion activator” as instantly claimed. As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with this feature, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ fibre elements configured as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance the seal and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 15, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 14, and further discloses pumping a fluid comprising the swellable particulates and the fibre elements (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011] & [0025]-[0029]), which is considered to disclose “a pre-mixed state”, and thereby disclose “mixing the swellable particulates with the fibre elements for subsequent delivery into the wellbore in a premixed state”.
To the extent the pumping in Nguyen fails to disclose this feature, it is noted that Nguyen further teaches one or more embodiments where the treatment fluid comprising the swellable particulates and the fibre elements is formulated by mixing prior to delivery downhole in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or hydrocarbon production (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011], [0089] & [0090]). As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to mix the swellable particulates with the fibre elements as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance complex fracture networks and/or hydrocarbon production; and/or yield predictable results in pumping treatment compositions in subterranean applications.
With respect to Claim 16, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 14, and further teaches “…wherein the swelling activator and adhesion activator are different activators” (Nguyen: Sections [0025], [0026], [0041], [0058]-[0060] & [0063]-[0076]).
With respect to Claim 17, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…wherein the swelling activator comprises water, a water-based fluid or an oil” (Nguyen: Section [0041]).
With respect to Claim 18, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 14, and further teaches one or more embodiments where adhesive materials are activated under downhole conditions, such as temperature, to enhance the seal (Nguyen: Sections [0063]-[0080]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with this feature, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the adhesion activator as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance the seal and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 19, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 14, and further teaches one or more embodiments where the fibre elements comprise a core-shell configuration to enhance the seal (Nguyen: Sections [0058]-[0080]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with this feature, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ fibre elements comprising a core-shell configuration as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance the seal and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 20, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further teaches one or more embodiments where the swellable particulates are configured to comprise or exhibit an adhesive characteristic after absorbing the swelling activator to enhance the seal (Nguyen: Sections [0063]-[0076]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly disclose the above method steps in combination with this feature, in a single embodiment, as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ swellable particulates configured as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to enhance the seal and/or yield predictable results in fracturing applications.
With respect to Claim 21, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…transporting the swellable particulates through the wellbore and into the first zone with a carrier fluid” (Nguyen: Sections [0025], [0026] & [0081]).
With respect to Claim 22, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 21, and further discloses “…wherein the carrier fluid comprises the swelling activator” (Nguyen: Sections [0025], [0026] & [0081]).
With respect to Claim 23, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…exposing the swellable particulates to the swelling activator only after the swellable particulates have been delivered into the first zone of the formation” (Nguyen: Section [0041]).
With respect to Claim 24, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further teaches wherein the swellable particulates comprise a grain size distribution that overlaps with the range as instantly claimed, where the size is selected based on factors such as particulate type, expansion size, fracture size etc. to form an effective seal (Nguyen: Sections [0007]-[0011], [0026] & [0042]). As such, although the reference fails to explicitly limit the grain size distribution to the range as instantly claimed, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ a suitable grain size distribution based on factors such as particulate type, expansion size, fracture size etc., with a reasonable expectation of success, to form an effective seal insofar as because it has been held. "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233,235 (CCPA 1955). Therefore, based on the actual conditions encountered in the formation, one of ordinary skill would recognize the optimal grain size distribution to employ therein in order to obtain the desired result.
It is also noted that, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, there had been a recognized need in the art for increasing oil recovery, and a finite number of identified, predictable solutions including injecting a composition comprising swellable particulates sized depending on operational factors as set forth above. As such, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, based on the teachings of Nguyen, one of ordinary skill in the art could have pursued a desired grain size distribution, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that "a person of ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely that product [was] not of innovation but of ordinary skill and common sense. In that instance the fact that a combination was obvious to try might show that it was obvious under § 103."KSR, 550 U.S. at 421, 82 USPQ2d at 1397.
With respect to Claim 25, Nguyen teaches the method as provided above with respect to Claim 1, and further discloses “…wherein delivering the swellable particulates into the wellbore comprises pumping the swellable particulates into the wellbore” (Nguyen: Sections [0011] & [0086]-[0089]).
Double Patenting
Claims 12-19 & 21-25 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over Claims 1, 7, 16-18, 20-27 & 29 of copending Application No. 19/112,419 (‘419 hereinafter). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application overlap in scope with those of ‘419 and do not contain any additional limitations that are patentably distinguishable. The instant application discloses a method for creating a fluid barrier comprising the delivery of swellable particulates and fibre elements, which overlaps in scope with ‘419 which discloses a method for creating a fluid barrier comprising the delivery of swellable particulates and fibre elements. Although one or more of the instant claims differ in reciting features separately in distinct claims or in combination within a single claim, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine or separate features in a claim, such as instantly claimed, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to yield predictable results in creating fluid barriers in a subterranean formation.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Arguments
Applicants' amendments regarding the objections to the specification/drawings and claims, and regarding the 35 USC § 112 rejections are persuasive and, therefore, these objections and rejections have been withdrawn.
Applicants’ arguments with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-25 under 35 USC 102 and/or 35 USC 103, respectively, as being unpatentable over Nguyen, have been fully considered. In light of the amendments to Claim 1, the 35 USC 102(a)(1) rejections are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, the claims are rejected under 35 USC 103 in view of Nguyen for reasons discussed below. Applicants assert that Claim 1 now recites limitations moved from canceled Claims 4 & 7 and that Nguyen does not teach these features; and specifically, Nguyen does not teach or suggest preventing or delaying migration of unwanted fluids from the second zone into productive zones, thereby avoiding contamination or operational interference.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
With respect to Claim 1, Nguyen discloses/teaches the additional limitations moved from canceled Claims 4 & 7, as set forth above. Further, in response to Applicants’ argument that the references fail to show certain features of Applicants’ invention, it is noted that the features upon which Applicants rely (i.e., preventing or delaying migration of unwanted fluids from the second zone into productive zones, thereby avoiding contamination or operational interference) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Applicants remarks regarding the double patenting rejection are noted. As a terminal disclaimer has not been filed, the double patenting rejection is maintained as set forth above, with updates to address any amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANURADHA AHUJA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674