DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 6/9/26 has been entered. Claims 4, 15, and 17-20 have been canceled. Claims 1-3, 6-7, 9-10, 12-14, and 16 have been amended. Claims 1-3, 5-14, and 16 remain pending in the application.
Applicant’s amendments to the Claims have overcome every objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 3/11/26.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/9/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Tange JPH116419, Applicant has argued “Tange does not disclose or teach a structure wherein ‘the exhaust gas inflowed into the internal space through the gas inlet is configured to pass through the first electrical heating plate or the second electrical heating plate in a direction substantially perpendicular to an inflow direction of the exhaust gas’” (see Remarks file 6/9/26, Page 10). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. Tange discloses a second embodiment in Figs. 4-5 which has identical internal structure to the embodiment of Figs. 1-2 (see Figs. 1-5 and Para 29). In the second embodiment of Tange, there is a gas inlet (12, exhaust gas inflow portion - Para 23) formed at one end of a ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 below - A)(see Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 below) to allow an exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) to flow into an internal space (16, distance between blocks - Para 23) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 below - A)(See Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 below), and the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) inflowed into the internal space (16) through the gas inlet (12) is configured to pass through a first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 below - B) or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 below - D) in a direction (Modified Fig. 4 below - A) substantially perpendicular to an inflow direction of the exhaust gas (Modified Fig. 4 below - B)(see Modified Figs. 2 and 4 below and Figs. 2-5). Therefore, Tange discloses the limitation in question and Applicant’s arguments are not found persuasive and the rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Tange is maintained.
Regarding the rejection of claim 1 as being anticipated by Tange JPH116419, Applicant has argued “Tange does not have an ‘internal space’ of a ceramic filter structure configured to divert flow’” (see Remarks filed 6/9/26, Page 11). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive. As an initial matter, Tange discloses internal space of a ceramic filter structure at element 16 of Figs. 2 and 5 and per description at Para 26. However, in this argument, Applicant argues a limitation which is not claimed - that the internal space of the ceramic filter structure is configured to divert flow. This detail is not currently required by Claim 1 and therefore Applicant’s arguments regarding this limitation are not found persuasive.
Applicant has argued claims 2-16 are allowable for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1 (see Remarks filed 6/9/26, Pages 11-12). The Examiner does not find this argument persuasive for the same reasons as indicated above regarding claim 1.
Claim Objections
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
“at one end of the ceramic filter structure” in line 16 should be --at the one end of the ceramic filter structure--;
“an exhaust gas” in line 17 should be --the exhaust gas--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7, 9, 12, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tange JPH116419A.
Re claim 1:
Tange discloses a filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) used in an exhaust gas reduction device (Fig. 8)(see Figs. 4-5, 8, Paras 25 and 29), comprising:
a ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of ceramic filter structure; element A corresponds to an element 14 which is described as ceramic filter structure in Paras 23-25) (elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) formed to filter a particulate material (see Figs. 2-3, 5 and Paras 25 and 29);
a first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first electrical heating plate; element B corresponds to an element 15 which is described as an electrical heating plate in Para 23 (elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) disposed on a first side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of one side of element A)( elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to generate heat (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Paras 23 and 24); and
a second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of second electrical heating plate; element D corresponds to an element 15 which is described as an electrical heating plate in Para 23)(elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) disposed on a second side (Modified Fig. 2 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of other side of element A)(elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to generate heat (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Paras 23 and 24),
wherein a gas inlet (12, exhaust gas inflow portion - Para 23) is formed at one end of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above) to allow an exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) to flow into an internal space (16, distance between blocks - Para 23) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(See Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above), and
the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) inflowed into the internal space (16) through the gas inlet (12) is configured to pass through the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) in a direction (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of direction of exhaust gas passing through either elements B or D of Modified Fig. 2 above per views of Figs. 2-5)) substantially perpendicular to an inflow direction of the exhaust gas (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inflow direction of exhaust gas))(see Modified Figs. 2 and 4 above and Figs. 2-5).
Re claim 2:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein:
the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) includes a ceramic filter plate (14a, alumina ceramic mesh - Para 24 (shown as a type of plate in Fig. 3)), and the gas inlet (12) is formed at one end (Modified Fig. 2 above - F (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element F as a type of one end of element 14a (see Figs. 2-5))) of the ceramic filter plate (14a) to allow the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) to flow (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23).
Re claim 3:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 2 (as described above), wherein:
the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) is designed such that a current is supplied in parallel (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Para 23 (elements B and D are shown with structure capable of having current supplied in parallel)).
Re claim 7:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 1 (as described above), wherein:
the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) comprises:
a ceramic insulator (Modified Fig. 2 above - G (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element G as a type of ceramic insulator; element G corresponds to an element 14a which is an “alumina ceramic mesh” per Para 24));
a first filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - H (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element H as a type of first filter plate; element H corresponds to an element 14b which is a metal mesh portion per Para 24)) disposed between the ceramic insulator (Modified Fig. 2 above - G) and the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B)(see Modified Fig. 2 above); and
a second filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - I (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element I as a type of second filter plate; element I corresponds to an element 14b which is a metal mesh portion per Para 24)) disposed between the ceramic insulator (Modified Fig. 2 above - G) and the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D)(see Modified Fig. 2 above),
wherein one end (see Modified Fig. 2 above at left side of element G) of the ceramic insulator (Modified Fig. 2 above - G) is provided with the gas inlet (12) configured to allow an exhaust gas to flow (see Figs. 1-5 and Para 23).
Re claim 9:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 7 (as described above), wherein:
the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) inflowed through the gas inlet (12) is configured to move through the first filter plate and the first electrical heating plate, or through the second filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - I) and the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 2 above and Figs. 1-3).
Re claim 12:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 7 (as described above), wherein:
the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) is a first ceramic filter structure (see Modified Fig. 2 above),
the filter unit structure (Fig. 4-5) further comprises a second ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - J (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element J as a type of second ceramic filter structure; element J corresponds to an element 14 which is described as ceramic filter structure in Paras 23-25)) fixed to the first ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) with the first electrical heating plate or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) in between (see Fig. 1, Modified Fig. 2 above, and Para 23 - “…Fig. 2 is a perspective view showing the structure of a filter device guilt in the filter housing 11…”), the second ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - J) includes a second ceramic insulator (Modified Fig. 2 above - K (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element K as a type of second ceramic insulator; element K corresponds to an element 14a which is an “alumina ceramic mesh” per Para 24)), and a gas outlet (Modified Fig. 2 above - L (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element L as a type of gas outlet of element J)) is formed at one end (Modified Fig. 2 above - M (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element M as a type of one end of element J)) of the second ceramic insulator (Modified Fig. 2 above - J) such that the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) passing through the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - H) or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - I) is discharged (see Modified Fig. 2 above, Figs. 1-3, and Para 23).
Re claim 14:
Tange discloses a particulate filter (Fig. 4 (see Paras 23 and 29)) comprising:
a first filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - N (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element N as a type of first filter unit structure; element N corresponds to an element 14 which is described as ceramic filter structure in Paras 23-25 and an element 15 which is a heater per Para 23)); and
a second filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - O (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element O as a type of second filter unit structure; element O corresponds to an element 14 which is described as ceramic filter structure in Paras 23-25 and an element 15 which is a heater per Para 23)),
wherein the first filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - N) and the second filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - O) are stacked and connected (see Figs. 1-5 and Paras 23-25),
wherein:
at least one of the first filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - N) and the second filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - O) comprises:
a ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of ceramic filter structure; element A corresponds to an element 14 which is described as ceramic filter structure in Paras 23-25) (elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) formed to filter a particulate material (see Figs. 2-3, 5 and Paras 25 and 29);
a first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first electrical heating plate; element B corresponds to an element 15 which is described as an electrical heating plate in Para 23 (elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) disposed on a first side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of one side of element A)( elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to generate heat (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Paras 23 and 24); and
a second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of second electrical heating plate; element D corresponds to an element 15 which is described as an electrical heating plate in Para 23)(elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) disposed on a second side (Modified Fig. 2 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of other side of element A)(elements of Fig. 5 are identical to those of element 2 as shown in Figs. 2 and 5 and per description of Para 29)) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to generate heat (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Paras 23 and 24),
wherein a gas flow path (see arrows in Fig. 4) through which an exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) flows is formed at one end of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above),
wherein a gas inlet (12, exhaust gas inflow portion - Para 23) is formed at one end of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above) to allow an exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) to flow into an internal space (16, distance between blocks - Para 23) of the ceramic filter structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(See Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above), and
the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) inflowed into the internal space (16) through the gas inlet (12) is configured to pass through the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) in a direction (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of direction of exhaust gas passing through either elements B or D of Modified Fig. 2 above per views of Figs. 2-5)) substantially perpendicular to an inflow direction of the exhaust gas (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inflow direction of exhaust gas))(see Modified Figs. 2 and 4 above and Figs. 2-5).
Re claim 16:
Tange discloses the particulate filter (Fig. 4) of claim 14 (as described above), wherein:
the gas flow path of the first filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - N)(see arrow of Fig. 2) is disposed at an opposite end of the gas flow path of the second filter unit structure (Modified Fig. 2 above - O)(see Modified Fig. 2 above).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tange JPH116419A, as applied to claims 2 and 7 above, and further in view of Hayashi et al. (U.S. 4,934,142).
Re claim 5:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 2 (as described above).
Tange fails to disclose wherein the ceramic filter structure is coated with a catalyst.
Hayashi teaches wherein a ceramic filter structure (15, filter - Col. 3, Line 3 (ceramic filter structure per Col. 3, Lines 3-9)) is coated with a catalyst (Col. 3, Lines 10-14)(Col. 3, Lines 3-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the ceramic filter structure of Tange after that of Hayashi, thereby coating the ceramic filter structure of Tange with a catalyst in the way taught by Hayashi, for the advantage of lower temperature required to ignite trapped particulate (Hayashi; Col. 3, Lines 3-14).
Re claim 8:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 7 (as described above).
Tange fails to disclose wherein the first filter plate and the second filter plate are coated with a catalyst.
Hayashi teaches wherein a filter (15, filter - Col. 3, Line 3 (ceramic filter structure per Col. 3, Lines 3-9)) is coated with a catalyst (Col. 3, Lines 10-14)(Col. 3, Lines 3-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized the first filter plate and the second filter plates of Tange could have been modeled after the filter of Hayashi because the filter of Hayashi is a filter for particulates in exhaust gas (Hayashi; Col. 2, Lines 16-27) and the first filter plate and the second filter plate of Tange are filters for particulates in exhaust gas (Tange; Paras 23-25).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the first filter plate and the second filter plate of Tange after the filter of Hayashi, thereby coating the first filter plate and the second filter plate of Tange with a catalyst in the way taught by Hayashi, for the advantage of lower temperature required to ignite trapped particulate (Hayashi; Col. 3, Lines 3-14).
Claims 6 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tange JPH116419A, as applied to claims 2 and 7 above, and further in view of Yoshida et al. (U.S. 4,535,589).
Re claim 6:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 2 (as described above).
Tange fails to disclose wherein the first electrical heating plate or the second electrical heating plate includes a plurality of air passages through which the exhaust gas passes.
Yoshida teaches wherein an electrical heating plate (43, electric heater - Col. 3, Line 15) includes a plurality of air passages (43f, large number of open passages - Col. 7, Line 17) through which an exhaust gas passes (see Figs. 13 and 14 and Col. 7, Lines 31-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the electrical heating plates of Tange after that of Yoshida, thereby including a plurality of air passages on the electrical heating plates of Tange in the way taught by Yoshida, for the advantage of being able to efficiently heat particulates such that particulates can be ignited by a small amount of electric (Yoshida; Col. 7, Lines 60-65).
Re claim 10:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 7 (as described above).
Tange fails to disclose wherein the first electrical heating plate or the second electrical heating plate includes a plurality of air passages through which the exhaust gas passes.
Yoshida teaches wherein an electrical heating plate (43, electric heater - Col. 3, Line 15) includes a plurality of air passages (43f, large number of open passages - Col. 7, Line 17) through which an exhaust gas passes (see Figs. 13 and 14 and Col. 7, Lines 31-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modeled the electrical heating plates of Tange after that of Yoshida, thereby including a plurality of air passages on the electrical heating plates of Tange in the way taught by Yoshida, for the advantage of being able to efficiently heat particulates such that particulates can be ignited by a small amount of electric (Yoshida; Col. 7, Lines 60-65).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tange JPH116419A, as applied to claim 7 above, and as evidenced by Rao et al. (U.S. 4,544,388).
Re claim 11:
Tange discloses the filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) of claim 7 (as described above), wherein electrical resistance of the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) is above - H), and electrical resistance of the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) is smaller than electrical resistance of the second filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - I)(see Modified Fig. 2 above (each of elements B, D, H, and I inherently include an electrical resistance).
Tange fails to disclose wherein electrical resistance of the first electrical heating plate is smaller than electrical resistance of the first filter plate, and electrical resistance of the second electrical heating plate is smaller than electrical resistance of the second filter plate.
Rao teaches that the electrical resistance of a heating plate is a results effective variable that determines surface temperature (Col. 3, Lines 35-48). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to have modified Tange such that electrical resistance of the first electrical heating plate is smaller than electrical resistance of the first filter plate, and electrical resistance of the second electrical heating plate is smaller than electrical resistance of the second filter plate as a matter of routine optimization since it has been held that “where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tange JPH116419A in view of Hayashi et al. (U.S. 4,934,142) and Salmona et al. (U.S. 2013/0055694).
Re claim 13:
Tange discloses a filter unit structure (Figs. 4-5) used in an exhaust gas reduction device (Fig. 8)(see Figs. 4-5, 8, Paras 25 and 29), comprising:
a
a first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of first electrical heating plate; element B corresponds to an element 15 which is described as an electrical heating plate in Para 23)) disposed on a first side (Modified Fig. 2 above - C (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element C as a type of first side of element A)) of the ceramic filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to generate heat (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Paras 23 and 24); and
a second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element D as a type of second electrical heating plate; element D corresponds to an element 15 which is described as an electrical heating plate in Para 23)) disposed on a second side (Modified Fig. 2 above - E (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element E as a type of other side of element A)) of the ceramic filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) to generate heat (see Modified Fig. 2 above and Paras 23 and 24),
wherein the ceramic filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) is connected to the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) by a 1-2 and Para 23 (elements of Fig. 2 described built in element 11 of Fig. 1 which requires a type of bonding)), and the ceramic filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - A) is connected to the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) by the
wherein a gas inlet (12, exhaust gas inflow portion - Para 23) is formed at one end of the ceramic filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(see Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above) to allow an exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) to flow into an internal space (16, distance between blocks - Para 23) of the ceramic filter plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - A)(See Figs. 2-5 and Modified Fig. 2 above), and
the exhaust gas (shown as arrows in Figs. 1-5 per description in Para 23) inflowed into the internal space (16) through the gas inlet (12) is configured to pass through the first electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - B) or the second electrical heating plate (Modified Fig. 2 above - D) in a direction (Modified Fig. 4 above - A (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element A as a type of direction of exhaust gas passing through either elements B or D of Modified Fig. 2 above per views of Figs. 2-5)) substantially perpendicular to an inflow direction of the exhaust gas (Modified Fig. 4 above - B (person having ordinary skill in the art would recognize element B as a type of inflow direction of exhaust gas))(see Modified Figs. 2 and 4 above and Figs. 2-5).
Tange fails to disclose a catalyst-coated ceramic filter plate.
Hayashi teaches wherein a ceramic filter structure (15, filter - Col. 3, Line 3 (ceramic filter structure per Col. 3, Lines 3-9)) is coated with a catalyst (Col. 3, Lines 10-14)(Col. 3, Lines 3-14).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have recognized the filter plate of Tange could have been modeled after the filter of Hayashi because the filter of Hayashi is a filter for particulates in exhaust gas (Hayashi; Col. 2, Lines 16-27) and the filter plate of Tange is a filter for particulates in exhaust gas (Tange; Paras 23-25).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LOREN C EDWARDS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746 7/10/26