DETAILED ACTION
Applicant's Submission of a Response
Applicant’s submission of a response on 3/17/2025 has been received and fully considered. In the response, claims 9, 10, and 12-15 have been amended and claims 19-25 have been canceled. Therefore, claims 1-18, 26, and 27 are pending.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “markers configured to identify a player of the game” and “each tile is personalized to a player” (claims 15-17) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Additionally, “each of the nine rays include two ray portions configured to attach to each other, each portion of each ray being a different color than the other portion of the same ray” (claims 6 and 9) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim (s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 6, 9, 18, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 1, line 6, it is unclear what is meant by “a set of retainers”. The specification fails to define “a set”. In paragraphs 8, 9, and 13, it provides example of three, six, and nine retainers define a set. It appears, from additional recitations of claim 1, that “a set” is at least 3 retainers because “each retainer of each ray…forming a ring of retainers” and “the retainers of the nine rays collecting forming at least three rings of retainers. Is a set three, six, or nine retainers? Clarification is required. Claim 18 is similar and clarification is also required.
In claim 26, line 12, it is unclear what is meant by “a set of spaces”. The specification fails to define “set of spaces”. What defines “a set of spaces”? Are “spaces” equivalent to retainers (of claims 1 and 18) but in digital format? Clarification is required.
Regarding claims 6 and 9, it is unclear how ray portions are attached. Are each of the ray portions attached directly to each other with fasteners, adhesive? Clarification is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 7, 9, 13, 14, 18, 26, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0296911 to Kunz in view of U.S. Patent No. 8,454,022 to Zou.
With regard to claim 1, Kunz discloses an apparatus for playing a combinatorial number puzzle game (e.g., see at least Figs 1 and 17 that each show a circular puzzle game), the apparatus comprising:
a framework (e.g., see at least Figs 1 and 17 that each show a circular puzzle game) having:
a centerpiece (e.g., see at least Fig. 17 that shows an unnumbered center circle/oval);
nine rays extending outwardly from the centerpiece (e.g., see at least Fig. 17 that shows ten rays extending outwardly, which includes nine rays; the number of rays may vary based on how much challenge the user desires), each ray having a set of retainers thereon (e.g., see at least Fig. 17 that shows various fields 12 that are equivalent to retainers based on the current specification disclosure that retainers may be merely be a designated area), the retainers of each set of retainers being equally spaced apart along the ray (e.g., as seen in Figs. 1 and 17, the retainers/fields 12 are equally spaced), each retainer of each ray spaced apart from the centerpiece by a same distance forming a ring of retainers around the centerpiece (e.g., as seen in Figs. 1 and 17, the retainers/fields 12 are the same distance around the centerpiece; see Fig. 4, outer, concentric ring 18), the retainers of the nine rays collectively forming at least three rings of retainers of the framework (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 17 that show 8 and 10 concentric rings, respectively), the retainers of the rays also forming three cells of the framework (e.g., see at least Fig. 6 that shows three cells, 24, 23, and 24), each cell being formed by three adjacent rays of the nine rays and three retainers on each of the three adjacent rays e.g., see at least Fig. 6 that shows three cells, 24, 23, and 24 that are adjacent; see also paragraph 36 that discloses adjacent/center rows 23 and 24); and
a plurality of user placed solution entries (e.g., see at least paragraph 49 that discloses that the puzzled “could be solved either on print or using a computer generated puzzle”), each user placed solution entry having one of a number of unique indicators (e.g., see at least numbers 1-8 in Fig. 1 and numbers 0-9 in Fig. 17), the number of unique indicators being equal to a number of rays of the framework (e.g., see at least numbers 1-8 in Fig. 1 and numbers 0-9 in Fig. 17), each tile being configured to be retained on the retainers of the rays (e.g., see at least Figs 1 and 17 that shows the user placed solution entries on each retainer/field 12);
[claim 2] wherein the set of retainers of each ray includes three retainers and the framework includes three rings (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 17, wherein each ray includes either 8 rings or 10 rings, respectfully, which includes three rings);
[claim 4] wherein the set of retainers of each ray includes six retainers (e.g., see at least Figs. 1 and 17, wherein each ray includes either 8 rings or 10 rings, respectfully, which includes six rings);
[claim 6, as best understood] wherein each of the nine rays includes two ray portions configured to attach to each other (e.g., see Fig 2, wherein eight fields are highlighted/shaded at 42 to distinguish from fields attached radially inward and radially outward), each portion of each ray being a different color than the other portion of the same ray (e.g., see at least paragraph 32 that discloses that fields 12 defining a pattern 42 that is indicated by “shading or coloring”);
[claim 7] wherein the set of retainers of each ray includes nine retainers (e.g., see at least Fig. 17, wherein each ray includes 10 rings, which includes nine rings);
[claim 9] wherein each of the nine rays includes three portions configured to attach to each other (e.g., see Fig 17, wherein the eight fields are highlighted/shaded at 42 to distinguish from fields attached radially inward and radially outward), each portion of each ray being a different color than the other portions of the same ray (e.g., see at least Fig. 6, that shows all fields in a ray shaded/colored; see also paragraph 32);
[claim 13] wherein two adjacent cells are different color from each other (e.g., see at least Fig. 6, that shows a cell of three adjacent rays that are shaded/colored and rays outside of the cell are not shaded/colored the same in order to distinguish the pattern/cell); and
[claim 14] wherein the centerpiece is circular (e.g., see at least Fig. 1 that shows a circular centerpiece at the center of the circle puzzle).
Regarding claim 1, Kunz fails to disclose that the user placed solution entries are “tiles” and that the unique indicators are colors (as opposed to numbers)
In the same field of endeavor, Zou teaches an apparatus for playing a combinatorial number puzzle game where each user placed solution entries are “tiles” (e.g., see at least Fig. 3 and Fig. 7) and that the unique indicators are colors (e.g., see at least Figs. 10 and 11 that shows 9 different colors for each tile; see also column 2, lines 55-62 that discusses using numbers and colors as unique identifiers)
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Kunz with the color-coded tiles as taught by Zou in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, color-coding “attracts the attention of learners to perceptually salient information” and increases retention (e.g., see Zou at column 1, lines 32-35).
Claim 18 is made obvious by the combination of the Kunz and Zou as set forth above in detail for claim 1, which is similar in claim scope. Kunz notes that the puzzle may be a “computer generated puzzle” (e.g., see at least paragraph 49). It is noted that claim 18 fails to recite what defines “size” of retainers. Since Kunz includes “tiles”/player placed solution entries that are of different values, the value of the player placed solution entry is a representation of size.
Claims 26 and 27 are made obvious by the combination of Kunz and Zou a set forth above in detail for claim 1, which is similar in claim scope. Kunz notes that the puzzle may be a “computer generated puzzle” (e.g., see at least paragraph 49). As best understood, it appears that the recited term “spaces” is equivalent to fields 12 of Kunz.
Claim 3, 5, 8, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz in view of Zou as applied to claims 2, 4, and 7 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0361230 to Bujak.
Regarding claims 3, 5, 8, and 18, Kunz in combination with Zou fails to disclose tiles that are different sizes (i.e., physical size). Claim 18 is included in this rejection if it is held that the value of the solution in Kunz does not meet the scope of “size”. It is noted that Kunz disclose 3, 6, and 9 rings (e.g., see at least Fig. 17 that shows 10 rings, which includes 3, 6, and 9 rings).
Solving a similar problem, Bujak teaches a circular puzzle with different size tiles (e.g., see Fig. 1, that shows smaller tiles closer to the center piece 1 (e.g., see at least Fig. 1 that shows tiles 2b are smaller in size than tiles 2d).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Kunz with the different sized tiles as taught by Bujak in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, the size of tiles in a circular puzzle are needed to accommodate the increased diameter of rings further removed from the center.
Claim 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz in view of Zou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 4,040,630 to Brattain.
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Kunz in combination with Zou fails to disclose tiles that are retained on a post via an aperture.
Solving a similar problem, Brattain teaches a circular puzzle with a retainer that includes a post extending upwardly and each tile includes an aperture shaped to fit around the post of the retainers (e.g., see at least Figs 5 and 7 that show tiles/arcuate strips 30 with various apertures 34, 36, and 40 and retainers that include posts/pegs 34’, 36’, and 40’ having different shapes; see also paragraph bridging columns 3 and 4). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Kunz with the peg/hole retainers as taught by Brattain in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, the using a peg/hole retainer provides additional complexity to the math circle puzzle to increase the challenge for the user.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz in view of Zou as applied to claim 12 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 7,156,395 to Rosado-Galarza.
Regarding claim 12, Kunz in combination with Zou fails to disclose a ray is removably attached to a centerpiece.
Solving a similar problem, Rosado-Galarza teaches a circular game with rays/end pieces that are removably attached to a centerpiece (e.g., see at least Figs. 1A-1C that shows a centerpiece 102 surrounded by radially extending player pieces 104, 106, 108, 110, 112, and 114, wherein rays/end pieces 106, 110, and 114 are removed from attachment to the centerpiece 102 in Fig. 1B). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Kunz with the removable rays/end pieces as taught by Rosado-Galarza in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, the removing rays/end pieces allows for varying the number of players.
Claims 15-17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kunz in view of Zou as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Patent No. 2,722,424 to Hum.
Regarding claims 15-17, Kunz in combination with Zou fails to disclose plurality of markers configured to identify a player of the game, being a washer, sticker, or elastic that is personalized to the player.
Solving a similar problem, Hum teaches a circular game with markers configured to identify a player of the game, being a washer, sticker, or elastic that is personalized to the player (e.g., see at least Figs. 1-4 that shows game pieces 38 made of layers with dark and light layers cover opposite sides to identify players; see also column 2, lines 56-64 that discusses that upper and lower faces 40/42 are different colors to identify a player; layers 40/42 are equivalent to stickers). It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the current invention to modify Kunz with the player markings as taught by Hum in order to use a known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way. In this case, marking a game piece allows the game pieces to be associated with a specific player, thereby allowing easier play for multiplayer games.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0326440 to Kris discusses a game with central core and a plurality of stems emanating from the central core (e.g., see Figs. 1-4).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0233865 to Al-Buijan discusses a board game with multi-colors with radially extending arms surrounding a central hub (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2010/0148438 to Amos discusses color-coded game tokens in a sudoku game (e.g., see at least Fig. 2 and paragraph 19).
U.S. Patent No. 6,176,490 to Brown shows a centerpiece for domino games with nine attachment points for domino (e.g., see at least Fig. 4).
U.S. Patent No. 6,619,661 to Collins discusses a circular puzzle for practicing arithmetic (e.g., see at least Fig. 3).
U.S. Patent No. 5,772,209 to Thompson discusses a circular math game (e.g., see at least Fig. 1).
U.S. Patent No. 5,230,516 to Semmens discusses a two-player circular board game (e.g., see at least Figs. A-F).
U.S. Patent No. 4,019,740 to Ball discusses a circular board game with unique player markers (e.g., see at least Figs. 1-6).
/James S. McClellan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715