DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 a(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (US 2016/0098963).
[Claim 1] Kim teaches A display device comprising:
a display (180) (fig. 2);
a memory (140) (fig. 2); and
a processor (170) configured to transmit and receive data to and from the memory (fig. 2),
wherein the processor is configured to configure an input list (2130) including areas allocated for the respective inputs (i.e. each quadrant 2000) and output the input list on a screen (i.e. input list displayed in center) (fig. 37C; p. 0434-0435), and
wherein the processor is configured to control data received through an input mapped to at least one area among the areas (i.e. an input for each quadrant) included in the input list determined according to a predefined order (i.e. left to right as inputs are selected 1, 2, 3, 4, fig. 20) to be reproduced (fig. 37C; p. 0283-0287, 0434-0435).
[Claim 2] Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to control, for areas other than the at least one area determined according to the predefined order (i.e. user dragging and dropping an input), a still image of data to be received and reproduced through an input mapped to the corresponding area or a representative image representing the corresponding input to be provided (i.e. images are displaying according to user selection) (fig. 37C; p. 0434-0435).
[Claim 3] Kim teaches The display device of claim 2, wherein the processor is configured to receive a user input from a connected terminal (i.e. input output from connected terminal) (p. 0057).
[Claim 4] Kim teaches the display device of claim 3, wherein the terminal includes at least one of a remote control (200) (fig. 37C), an artificial intelligence speaker, and a mobile device.
[Claim 5] Kim teaches The display device of claim 4, wherein the processor is configured to control the input list to configured when the user input is an input list request (i.e. selecting input object) (fig. 37C; p. 0434-0435) or an erroneous input unrelated to the content being output through the display.
[Claim 6] Kim teaches The display device of claim 5, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a first condition indicating whether a user input has been received (i.e. user selecting input object) (fig. 37C; p. 0434-0435) or whether a predefined time has elapsed has been satisfied.
[Claim 7] Kim teaches The display device of claim 6, wherein the processor is configured to control to provide data received through an input in which video data is mapped to the next area in the predefined order among the areas included in the input list when the first condition has been satisfied (i.e. first condition is user selecting input object, then selecting an input and the default display is to display in order in quadrants 1-4) (i.e. left to right as inputs are selected 1, 2, 3, 4, fig. 20) to be reproduced (fig. 37C; p. 0283-0287, 0434-0435).
[Claim 8] Kim teaches The display device of claim 7, wherein when providing data received through input mapped to the next area according to the satisfaction of the first condition, the processor is configured to control, for the previous order area, at least one of a first frame of data provided (i.e. image are displayed for multiple inputs, the previous input area will continue to display image frames) (fig. 37C; p. 0283-0287, 0434-0435), a last frame, a representative thumbnail image of the corresponding data, a representative thumbnail image representing the input mapped to the corresponding area, and a still image for a scene where the user input was made for the corresponding area to be output.
[Claim 9] Kim teaches the display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to configure the input list so that no area is allocated for a deactivated input (i.e. system recognizes when a device is connected and only those devices listed in input list) (p. 0365-0372).
[Claim 10] Kim teaches The display device of claim 1, wherein the processor is configured to configure the input list by allocating an area even for a deactivated input (i.e. black data, greyed out input), and when it is the turn to provide data to the area for the deactivated input, control to transmit a control signal (i.e. device is connected) SO that the power of the device connected to the deactivated input is turned on (fig. 13a-b, 33-34; p. 0217-0224, 0394-0408).
[Claim 12] Kim teaches The display device of claim 8, wherein the processor is configured to determine whether a second condition (i.e. user dragging and dropping a second input into a second location) regarding whether data has been provided in order in all allocated areas is satisfied (i.e. all quadrants are displaying an input) (fig. 37C; p. 0434-0435).
[Claim 13] Kim teaches The display device of claim 12, wherein when the second condition has been satisfied, the processor is configured to control one of a black screen and a content screen previously provided before the user input to be provided on the screen (i.e. user dragging an input into black data and that input being displayed) (fig. 13a-b, 33-34, 37C; p. 0217-0224, 0394-0408, 0434-0435).
Claim 14 is analyzed and interpreted with respect to claim 1. Claim 14 additionally recites “at least one view screen are of a full screen or a multi-view mode to be reproduced”.
Kim teaches the specific feature of: “at least one view screen are of a full screen or a multi-view mode to be reproduced” (fig. 37C).
Claim 15 is analyzed and interpreted as a method of claim 14.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (US 2016/0098963) in view of Kimura (US 2010/0118194).
[Claim 11] Kim is silent regarding The display device of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to control to transmit the control signal using the HDMI-CEC protocol.
Kimura teaches The display device of claim 10, wherein the processor is configured to control to transmit the control signal using the HDMI-CEC protocol (p. 0064-0065).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the present invention to have provided HDMI-CEC protocol as taught by Kimura to the system of Kim to provide input control (p. 0064).
Conclusion
Claims 1-15 are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 12457376 B2 Pian; Zhaofeng et al.
US 20150281771 A1 CHO; Sung Tak et al.
US 20140059606 A1 Selim; Mohammed et al.
US 20120236210 A1 Matsubayashi; Koji
Inquiries
MUSHFIKH I. ALAM
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2426
/MUSHFIKH I ALAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2426 2/20/2026