DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 5, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Mizumura WO_2022092101_A1 (see English equivalent: USPA_20230395319_A1).
Regarding Claims 5, 6, 9, Mizumura discloses a laminated structure of a core (paragraph 0025) comprising a plurality of steel sheets (corresponds to claimed blocks) (paragraph 0009). Mizumura further discloses a surface roughness of a steel sheet portion in a direction connecting a center in the sheet thickness direction of a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet positioned on the innermost periphery of the wound core among the laminated grain-oriented electrical steel sheets and a center in the sheet thickness direction of a grain-oriented electrical steel sheet positioned on the outermost periphery of the wound core is Ral, and a surface roughness of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheet in a direction parallel to the longitudinal direction on an end surface of the planar portion of the laminated grain-oriented electrical steel sheet is Rac, a ratio Ral/Rac between Ral and Rac satisfies the relationship of 1.5≤Ral/Rac≤12.0; thereby meeting the claimed surface roughness relationship of instant claims 5, 6, and 9. Furthermore, Mizumura discloses a method of cutting and roughening that meets the limitations of instant Claim 9.
Claim(s) 5 and 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiota et al. (US 2016/0336100).
Regarding claims 5, 6, Shiota discloses a wound core having a shape including a rectangular hollow portion in the center and a portion in which a stack of grain-oriented electrical steel sheets in which planar portions and bent portions are alternately continuous in a longitudinal direction are stacked in the sheet thickness direction the layers are connected to each other via at least one joining part (14) (Fig. 3 and 8). The joint portion (14) formed from two ends of the core material (0027), and are parallel to the longitudinal direction of the grain-oriented electrical steel sheets (Fig. 3).
Shiota does not expressly teach when a surface roughness of a steel sheet portion in a direction connecting a center in the sheet thickness direction of the sheet positioned on the innermost periphery of the wound core and a center in the sheet thickness direction of the sheet positioned on the outermost periphery of the wound core is Ra1, and a surface roughness of the sheet in a direction parallel to the longitudinal direction on an end surface of the planar portion of the sheet is Rac, a ratio Ra(D)/Ra(S) between Ra(D) and Ra(S) satisfies 1.5≤Ra(D)/Ra(S)≤12.0. However, as the specification teaches that these are arbitrary points on the sheet (see e.g., specification paragraph 0008) a person of ordinary skill may select points which will anticipate the relationship as claimed.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 7 and 8 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/TAHSEEN KHAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781 September 5, 2026