DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 and 9-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao (CN 204974617) (translation provided in IDS dated 9/15/2026) in view of Kobayashi (JP H10151332) (translation provided in IDS dated 9/15/2026).
Regarding claim 1, Bao discloses an apparatus for removing a foreign substance from waste plastic (paragraph 0006), comprising: a waste raw material injector on a portion of a first side of the apparatus (see Fig. 1; element 201), the waste raw material injector is configured to inject a waste plastic flake (element 201; feeding port); a foreign substance remover that is configured to remove foreign substance attached to the waste plastic flake by friction (element 11 and paragraph 0030); a raw material outlet on a second side of the apparatus, the raw material outlet is configured to discharge the waste plastic flake from which the foreign substance is removed (element 202; discharge port); a friction screen disposed inside the foreign substance remover, the friction screen is configured to accommodate the waste plastic flake supplied from the waste raw material injector (element 11); a moisture injection nozzle configured to supply moisture to the foreign substance remover (paragraph 0029-0030 and element 12); a rotating shaft rotatably disposed inside the friction screen, the rotating shaft is configured to peel off the foreign substance attached to the waste plastic flake by rubbing the waste plastic flake in a rotational manner (paragraphs 0015-0019); the shaft comprises: a moisture injection path therein, the moisture injection path is configured to receive the moisture from the moisture injection nozzle and transport the moisture (element 3 and paragraph 0029); but Bao does not disclose the shaft is rotating, a friction blade on an outer circumferential surface of the rotating shaft, and a moisture supply port on one surface of the friction blade, the moisture supply port is configured to discharge the moisture from the moisture injection path to an outside of the rotating shaft and supply the moisture to the foreign substance remover, wherein the moisture injection nozzle is disposed at one end of the rotating shaft. Kobayashi teaches the shaft is rotating (element 5 and paragraph 0005), a friction blade on an outer circumferential surface of the rotating shaft (elements 11), and a moisture supply port on one surface of the friction blade, the moisture supply port is configured to discharge the moisture from the moisture injection path to an outside of the rotating shaft and supply the moisture to the foreign substance remover, wherein the moisture injection nozzle is disposed at one end of the rotating shaft (paragraph 0013) for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion.
Regarding claim 2, Bao does not disclose the claim limitation. Kobayashi teaches wherein the moisture injection nozzle is configured to inject the moisture from the second side in which the raw material outlet is positioned to the first side in which the waste raw material injector is positioned (see Fig. 2; element 10 opposite element 15) for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion.
Regarding claim 3, Bao does not disclose the claim limitation. Kobayashi teaches wherein the moisture supply port is parallel to a longitudinal direction of an edge of the friction blade (element 10 and elements 11), and wherein the moisture supply port is positioned in a direction opposite a direction in which the rotating shaft rotates based on the edge of the friction blade (see Fig. 2; element 10 opposite position of elements 11) for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion.
Regarding claim 4, Bao does not disclose the claim limitation. Kobayashi teaches wherein the friction blade has a twist angle of 00 to 500 based on a longitudinal direction of the rotating shaft (paragraph 0006; 15 degrees) for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion.
Regarding claim 5, Bao does not disclose the claim limitation. Kobayashi teaches wherein the moisture injection path has two sides that are closed (element 10 is a pipe, closed along the flow) for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of reducing the temperature of materials to avoid adhesion.
Regarding claim 6, Bao discloses injector comprises: an injection hopper that is configured to inject the waste plastic flake (element 201); an injection path configured to transport the waste plastic flake supplied from the injection hopper to the foreign substance remover (see Fig. 1); but Bao does not disclose a hopper cover on a portion of the injection hopper, the hopper cover is configured to block an inflow of external air. Kobayashi teaches a hopper cover on a portion of the injection hopper, the hopper cover is configured to block an inflow of external air (element 16) for the purpose of sealing the system and reducing pressure within the chamber. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao, as taught by Kobayashi, for the purpose of sealing the system and reducing pressure within the chamber.
Regarding claim 7, Bao discloses wherein the rotating shaft further comprises: an injection screw on the outer circumferential surface of the rotating shaft (element 7), wherein the outer circumferential surface of the rotating shaft is in the injection path (see Fig. 2; element 7 along shaft below inlet), and wherein the injection screw is configured to transport the waste plastic flake to the foreign substance remover (paragraph 0029).
Regarding claim 9, Bao discloses wherein the friction screen has a surface that includes a plurality of holes through which the foreign substance separated from the waste plastic flake is discharged to an outer side of the friction screen (paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 10, Bao discloses a foreign substance outlet at a portion of the foreign substance remover, the foreign substance outlet is configured to discharge the foreign substance peeled from the waste plastic flake in the foreign substance remover (paragraph 0015).
Regarding claim 11, Bao discloses wherein the friction screen has a structure selected from a polygonal tubular structure and a cylindrical structure (see Fig. 2; element 11).
Regarding claim 12, Bao in view of Kobayashi does not explicitly disclose the polygonal tubular structure is a hexagonal tubular structure or a decagonal tubular structure. However, before the time the invention was effectively filed, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to separating contaminants from desire products. One of ordinary skill in the art, furthermore, would have expected Bao in view of Kobayashi, and applicant’s invention, to perform equally well with either number of sides of the friction screen because both multi-sided screens would perform the same function of providing friction to the material for the purpose of separating contaminants from desired products.
Regarding claim 13, Bao discloses wherein the moisture injection nozzle is configured to supply the moisture in a mist state (elements 10 and 12).
Regarding claim 14, Bao discloses a porous guide that is connected to one end of the moisture injection nozzle, wherein the porous guide extends from the one end of the moisture injection nozzle, and wherein the porous guide is separated from an inner wall of the rotating shaft provided with the moisture injection path (paragraph 0030 where the nozzles are provided at the water spray holes).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bao/Kobayashi in view of Park (KR 20210074068).
Regarding claim 8, Bao in view of Kobayashi does not disclose the claim limitations. Park teaches the raw material outlet further comprises: a damper between the foreign substance remover and the raw material outlet, the damper is configured to open and close the raw material outlet (paragraph 0054); and a damper pressure controller that is configured to determine an internal pressure of the foreign substance remover (paragraph 0057) for the purpose of adjusting pressure for discharging material. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to modify Bao in view of Kobayashi, as taught by Park, for the purpose of adjusting pressure for discharging material.
Conclusion
/K.K./Examiner, Art Unit 3653
/MICHAEL MCCULLOUGH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3653