DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Invention I and Species C in the reply filed on 2/27/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 6, 7, 11, 12, and 16-20 withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention/Species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 2/27/2026.
Preliminary Amendment
The applicant’s preliminary amendment filed 3/18/2025 has been entered.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 3/18/2025 was filed and is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5, 8-10, and 13-15 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph, as based on a disclosure which is not enabling. The disclosure does not enable one of ordinary skill in the art to practice the invention without the terminal pins on each side of the polygon, and the RGB LED chips, which is/are critical or essential to the practice of the invention but not included in the claim(s). See In re Mayhew, 527 F.2d 1229, 188 USPQ 356 (CCPA 1976).
In regard to claim 1, the applicant recites:
A Light Emitting Diode (LED) lamp bead, comprising:
a substrate;
a chip, provided on the substrate; and
a signal pin group, comprising a signal input terminal and a signal output terminal electrically connected to the chip;
wherein the signal pin group is provided on a peripheral side of the substrate, and each of at least two sides of the substrate is provided with the signal pin group.
This claim is guilty of undue breadth. The applicant has not disclosed only a chip on a board with terminal pins on opposing sides of the board. The applicant quite specifically discloses a plurality of chips have a red, green, and blue chips, with positive and negative terminal pins for each of the red, green, and blue chips on each side of the polygon of the board. (See Figure 3 is the instant disclosure.)
These elements are essential to the practice of the invention, and must be included in the independent claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 2-5, 8-10, and 13-15 are further rejected for depending on claim 1.
Claims 3-5 and 8-10 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 3, the applicant recites “when the chip is the monochromatic chip, the monochromatic chip comprises at least one R chip and/or at least one G chip and/or at least one B chip; the signal pin group comprises a first signal input terminal and a first signal output terminal electrically connected to the R chip, a second signal input terminal and a second signal output terminal electrically connected to the G chip, and a third signal input terminal and a third signal output terminal electrically connected to the B chip; and each side of the substrate is provided with the first signal input terminal, the first signal output terminal, the second signal input terminal, the second signal output terminal, the third signal input terminal and the third signal output terminal.” This limitation is indefinite.
The applicant recites the red, green, and blue chips in alternative—the invention as claimed can be a single red chip, a single green chip, a single blue chip, red and green combined chips, red and blue combined chips, green and blue combined chips, or red, green, and blue combined chips. However, the first, second, and third input and output terminals going to the red, green, and blue chips, respectively, are positively recited not in alternative. The question becomes what is required by the claim: if there is only a red chip as permitted by the claim, are there still a second and third positive and negative terminals going to non-existent green and blue chips? The proper scope for the claim cannot be determined, thus rendering the claim indefinite.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 4, 5, and 8-10 are further rejected for depending on claim 1.
In regard to claim 4, the applicant recites a signal wire connected to the first, second, and third input and output terminals. However, in claim 3, there are terminals on all four sides of the board. It is unclear which terminals the signal wire is connecting to. This renders the claim indefinite. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 5 is further rejected for depending on claim 4.
In regard to claim 9, the applicant recites that the signal wire comprises a positive signal wire connected to the positive signal input terminal and a negative signal wire connected to the negative signal output terminal. This is indefinite. Similar to before, it is unclear which terminal of the plurality of terminals the signal wire is connected to. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 10 is further rejected for depending on claim 9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 13-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li (CN 204083871 U).
In regard to claim 1, Li et al disclose a Light Emitting Diode (LED) lamp bead, comprising:
a substrate (1);
a chip (2 and 3), provided on the substrate; and
a signal pin group, comprising a signal input terminal (4 and 6) and a signal output terminal (5 and 7) electrically connected to the chip;
wherein the signal pin group is provided on a peripheral side of the substrate, and each of at least two sides of the substrate is provided with the signal pin group. (Figure 1; see at least [0016]-[0017])
In regard to claim 2, Li et al disclose each side of the substrate is provided with at least one signal input terminal and at least one signal output terminal. (Figure 1; see at least [0016]-[0017])
In regard to claim 13 and 14, Li discloses the signal input terminals on each side of the substrate are arranged in a set order, and as recited in claim 14, the signal output terminals on each side of the substrate are arranged in a set order.
In regard to claim 15, Li discloses the signal input terminals and the signal output terminals on each side of the substrate are arranged symmetrically relative to a center of the substrate.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-5 and 8-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li (CN 204083871 U) in view of Stoyan (US 2015/0167910 A1).
In regard to claim 3, Li discloses the chip is a white light chip and/or a monochromatic chip; when the chip is the white light chip, the signal pin group comprises a positive signal input terminal and a negative signal output terminal electrically connected to the white light chip, and at least one positive signal input terminal and at least one negative signal output terminal are provided on each side of the substrate. (Figure 1; see at least [0016]-[0017])
Li fails to disclose an RGB chip array.
Stoyan teaches when the chip is the monochromatic chip, the monochromatic chip comprises at least one R chip and/or at least one G chip and/or at least one B chip; the signal pin group comprises a first signal input terminal and a first signal output terminal electrically connected to the R chip, a second signal input terminal and a second signal output terminal electrically connected to the G chip, and a third signal input terminal and a third signal output terminal electrically connected to the B chip. (Figures 14; see at least [0064])
Stoyan fails to teach each side of the substrate is provided with the first signal input terminal, the first signal output terminal, the second signal input terminal, the second signal output terminal, the third signal input terminal and the third signal output terminal.
However, Li already teaches a first signal output and input and a second signal output and input on two sides of the board. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to replace the two white light LEDs of Li with the RGB LEDs of Stoyan in order to provide for wider chromaticity.
Moreover, the combination if Li and Stoyan fail to disclose that the input/output terminals are on all sides of the board. Yet, where two sides are taught, all four sides would merely be a duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to duplicate the terminals on all sides of the board in order to provide more contacts to connect multiple boards in multiple arrangements.
In regard to claim 4, the combination of Li and Stoyan fail to explicitly disclose the LED lamp bead further comprises a signal wire;the signal wire comprises: a first signal input wire connected to the first signal input terminal and a first signal output wire connected to the first signal output terminal; a second signal input wire connected to the second signal input terminal and a second signal output wire connected to the second signal output terminal; and a third signal input wire connected to the third signal input terminal and a third signal output wire connected to the third signal output terminal.
However, in order for the terminals to be useful, they will require a signal wire to finish the circuit. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a signal wire to the terminals in order to complete the circuit.
In regard to claim 5, Li discloses the substrate is of a polygonal structure.
The combination of Li and Stoyan fail to disclose each side of the substrate is provided with the first signal input terminal, the first signal output terminal, the second signal input terminal, the second signal output terminal, the third signal input terminal and the third signal output terminal; and the first signal input wire, the second signal input wire and the third signal input wire, and the first signal output wire, the second signal output wire and the third signal output wire are provided on two adjacent sides of the substrate, respectively.
However, as discussed, the signal wire is required, and the addition of terminals on all side of the board would merely be a duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide terminals on all sides of the board in order to allow for additional circuit arrangements.
In regard to claim 8, Li discloses the substrate is of a polygonal structure.
The combination of Li and Stoyan fail to disclose each side of the substrate is provided with the positive signal input terminal and the negative signal output terminal.
However, as discussed, the addition of terminals on all side of the board would merely be a duplication of parts. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide terminals on all sides of the board in order to allow for additional circuit arrangements.
In regard to claim 9 and 10, the combination of Li and Stoyan fail to explicitly disclose the LED lamp bead further comprises a signal wire, and the signal wire comprises a positive signal wire connected to the positive signal input terminal and a negative signal wire connected to the negative signal output terminal, and as recited in claim 10, that the positive signal wire and the negative signal wire are provided on two adjacent sides of the substrate.
However, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide signal wires in order to circuit the board.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Xiong et al (US 2025/0334234 A1) disclose an LED lamp.
Meng et al (US 2024/0365452 A1) disclose an LED lamp.
Du et al (US 2024/0231152 A1) disclose a backlight module.
Pan et al (US 2024/0144864 A1) disclose an LED lamp.
Liu et al (US 2023/0228386 A1) disclose an LED lamp.
Abe et al (US 2018/0216803 A1) disclose an LED lamp.
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875