DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The applicant’s amendment filed 7/31/2026 has been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, and 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Matuschek et al (US 2024/0401769 A1).
In regard to claim 1, Matuschek et al disclose an inflatable cylindrical light, comprising:
a light body, provided with a sealed inflatable cavity inside, wherein the light body is provided with an inflation opening in communication with the inflatable cavity, and the light body comprises a soft light cloth (12) and an opaque base cloth (11); and
a Light Emitting Diode (LED) light source (18), provided inside the light body;
wherein a light-emitting surface of the LED light source faces the soft light cloth, and the light emitted by the LED light source is emitted from the soft light cloth through the inflatable cavity. (Figure 5; see at least [0023] onward)
In regard to claim 2, Matuschek et al disclose the base cloth and the soft light cloth are connected to enclose a cylindrical structure with openings at two ends and a hollow interior; wherein the light body further comprises two side cloths, respectively provided at the openings at two ends of the cylindrical structure to enclose the inflatable cavity of the light body.
In regard to claim 10, Matuschek et al disclose an air nozzle (15), provided at the inflation opening to open or close the inflation opening.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Matuschek et al (US 2024/0401769 A1).
In regard to claim 11, Matuschek et al disclose a light-transmitting sheet (17);
wherein the light-transmitting sheet and the soft light cloth are connected to form the inflatable cavity;
the light-transmitting sheet corresponds to a light-transmitting region of the light body, and the soft light cloth corresponds to a soft light region of the light body; and
the LED light source is a light bead (LED panel—these contain LED beads) provided on the base cloth;
wherein the inflatable cylindrical light further comprises a transition connector (14).
Matuschek et al fail to disclose a surface of the base cloth is detachably provided on a surface of the light-transmitting sheet through the transition connector.
However, Velcro straps are already taught, and further, the courts have held that if it were considered desirable for any reason to form a device in the prior art in separable pieces, it would be obvious to make the device separable for that purpose. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide separable pieces attachable by Velcro in order to provide for a separable device.
In regard to claim 12, Matuschek et al disclose a plurality of light beads (not depicted but a part of LED panel 18) are provided on the base cloth (11); and the base cloth covers the light-transmitting region of the light body through the transition connector (14). (Figure 5; see at least [0030])
In regard to claim 13, Matuschek et al disclose the transition connector (14) is a Velcro provided on an outer surface of the light body; and the base cloth of the LED light source is adhered to an outer surface of the light body through the Velcro. (See [0024])
In regard to claim 14, Matuschek et al disclose the light body further comprises two side cloths (region surrounding 15—integral to body), respectively provided at two ends of an overall structure formed by connecting the light-transmitting sheet and the soft light cloth. (See Figure 1)
In regard to claim 15, Matuschek et al fail to disclose a plurality of LED light sources are provided, and each LED light source is detachably provided on the light body through its own base cloth and the transition connector. However, this a mere duplication of parts/separable parts situation. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide plural light sources in order to make the device more modular.
In regard to claim 16, Matuschek et al disclose an air nozzle (15), provided at the inflation opening to open or close the inflation opening; wherein the inflatable cylindrical light further comprises an annular rubber pad, provided on an inner surface of the light body and surrounding the air nozzle.
Where the rubber pad is argued, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a rubber pad surrounding the nozzle in order to plastic weld it to the fabric.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 7/31/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the LED light source is not provided inside the light body. The Examiner disagrees. As claimed, the light body comprises a soft light cloth and an opaque base cloth. The LED light only needs to be inside one of them to be “inside the light body”. This is clearly taught.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHRISTOPHER E DUNAY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875