DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The following guidelines illustrate the preferred layout for the specification of a utility application. These guidelines are suggested for the applicant’s use.
Arrangement of the Specification
As provided in 37 CFR 1.77(b), the specification of a utility application should include the following sections in order. Each of the lettered items should appear in upper case, without underlining or bold type, as a section heading. If no text follows the section heading, the phrase “Not Applicable” should follow the section heading:
(a) TITLE OF THE INVENTION.
(b) CROSS-REFERENCE TO RELATED APPLICATIONS.
(c) STATEMENT REGARDING FEDERALLY SPONSORED RESEARCH OR DEVELOPMENT.
(d) THE NAMES OF THE PARTIES TO A JOINT RESEARCH AGREEMENT.
(e) INCORPORATION-BY-REFERENCE OF MATERIAL SUBMITTED ON A READ-ONLY OPTICAL DISC, AS A TEXT FILE OR AN XML FILE VIA THE PATENT ELECTRONIC SYSTEM.
(f) STATEMENT REGARDING PRIOR DISCLOSURES BY THE INVENTOR OR A JOINT INVENTOR.
(g) BACKGROUND OF THE INVENTION.
(1) Field of the Invention.
(2) Description of Related Art including information disclosed under 37 CFR 1.97 and 1.98.
(h) BRIEF SUMMARY OF THE INVENTION.
(i) BRIEF DESCRIPTION OF THE SEVERAL VIEWS OF THE DRAWING(S).
(j) DETAILED DESCRIPTION OF THE INVENTION.
(k) CLAIM OR CLAIMS (commencing on a separate sheet).
(l) ABSTRACT OF THE DISCLOSURE (commencing on a separate sheet).
(m) SEQUENCE LISTING. (See MPEP § 2422.03 and 37 CFR 1.821 - 1.825). A “Sequence Listing” is required on paper if the application discloses a nucleotide or amino acid sequence as defined in 37 CFR 1.821(a) and if the required “Sequence Listing” is not submitted as an electronic document either on read-only optical disc or as a text file via the patent electronic system.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by the publication ITT020100493 [cited by applicant].
The publication ITT020100493 teaches a transponder label 30 for a container 41 comprising: a carrier layer 1 and an RFID functional unit comprising an RFID chip 4 and an antenna structure 3a coupled thereto and coupled to the carrier layer (fig1), wherein the antenna structure comprises a first antenna section 83i,83s (fig6), a second antenna section (mirror inverted of the first antenna section) and an antenna loop 84 arranged between and coupled to the first and second antenna sections and wherein at least one of the two antenna sections comprises a first meander-shaped antenna arm 82i and a second meander-shaped antenna arm 82s, which are arranged at a predetermined distance from each other and electromagnetically coupled to each other (fig6). Since all the claimed structures are shown by the publication ITT020100493, the languages “so that a predetermined number of oscillation modes of the antenna structure is set up”, would result. The publication ITT020100493 also teaches the respective first antenna arm and the respective second antenna arm have a rectangular meander shape, each comprising a plurality of rectilinear sections of predetermined length (fig6), the respective first antenna arm and the respective second antenna arm are coupled to the inner antenna loop at different coupling points (fig6), the antenna arms with dimensions in the indicated regions are explicitly disclosed (figs1,6), the container 41 with a container body and a container closure, and the transponder label which is connected to the container body and/or the container closure, wherein the antenna structure of the RFID functional unit is formed on the carrier layer by means of etching and/or printing (p8, lines 6-11).
Claims 1, 4 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Shimada et al (US 2022/0318588 A1) [cited by applicant].
Shimada et al teach a transponder label 100 for a container 300 comprising: a carrier layer 40 and an RFID functional unit comprising an RFID chip 10 and an antenna structure 30 coupled thereto and coupled to the carrier layer, wherein the antenna structure comprises a first antenna section 30A, a second antenna 30B and an antenna loop 20 arranged between and coupled to the first and second antenna sections (fig2) and wherein at least one of the two antenna sections comprises a first meander-shaped antenna arm and a second meander-shaped antenna arm (fig2), which are arranged at a predetermined distance from each other and electromagnetically coupled to each other. Since all the claimed structures are shown by Shimada et al, the languages “so that a predetermined number of oscillation modes of the antenna structure is set up” would result. Shimada et al also teach at least one of the antenna arms comprises a flat antenna part 31 at a free end (fig4), the container 300 with a container body and a container closure 301, and the transponder label which is connected to the container body and/or the container closure, wherein the antenna structure of the RFID functional unit is formed on the carrier layer by means of etching and/or printing (para55).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over the publication ITT020100493/Shimada et al (US 2022/0318588 A1) [both cited by applicant].
Regarding a section length/width/distance of the antenna arms are formed or designed in coordination with the container to be labeled. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skilled in the art to provide the publication ITT020100493/Shimada et al (US 2022/0318588 A1) with a section length/width/distance of the antenna arms are formed or designed in coordination with the container to be labeled for the purpose of avoiding possible functional impairments by the container.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The patents to Balmakhtar, Suligoj, Shimada, Kato and Omori are cited as of interested and illustrated a similar structure to a transponder label for a container.
/THO G PHAN/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2845