Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 7-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podgorski (US 2019/0134848 A1) in view of Camus (WO2018/234669 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Podgorski discloses a method for manufacturing a part made of composite material (abstract), said method comprising
arranging a fibrous preform (20) in a mould [0007] comprising an impregnation chamber (201) the impregnation chamber by resting a first face of the preform on a support surface (240) of the impregnation chamber, the impregnation chamber being closed by a flexible membrane (280) placed facing a second face of the preform said membrane (280) separating the impregnation chamber from a compaction chamber (202, seeing figure 1);
injecting an impregnation fluid (250) into the impregnation chamber [0082]
injecting a compression fluid (compacting fluid 260) into the compaction chamber so as to apply a pressure on the membrane [0079],
aspiration of the compression fluid present in the compaction chamber via one or more outlet orifices (2210) of the compaction chamber wherein the surface of the membrane present on the a side of the compaction chamber [0083]
Podgorski does not explicitly disclose the membrane comprising a plurality of grooves.
However analogous manufacturing composite art, Camus, discloses reliefs on the texture, which reads on a plurality of grooves (pg. 4, paragraph 7) for the benefit of impregnating the membrane. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated relieves/grooves on the membrane as taught by Camus into the method taught by Podgorski for the benefit of impregnating the membrane.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Podgorski and Camus teaches wherein the grooves are disposed such that, when the membrane is in contact with a wall of the compaction chamber, at least one portion of the grooves (11 on Camus) opens into at least one outlet orifice of the compaction chamber on into a space of the compaction chamber at least one outlet orifice (Podgorski depicts the membrane 1140 connected to an exit in figure 5). Therefore, the combination would result in grooves opening into at least one outlet orifice of the compaction chamber on into a space of the compaction chamber at least one outlet orifice. Further, if Applicant does not agree, MPEP 2144.04 states It has generally been recognized that to shift location of parts when the operation of the device is not otherwise changed is within the level of ordinary skill in the art, In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70; In re Gazda, 104 USPQ 400. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the grooves are disposed such that, when the membrane is in contact with a wall of the compaction chamber, at least one portion of the grooves opens into at least one outlet orifice of the compaction chamber on into a space of the compaction chamber at least one outlet orifice since it have been held that a mere rearrangement of element without modification of the operation of the device involves only routine skill in the art.
Regarding claim 7, Podgorski discloses the compression fluid comprises at least one oil [0082].
Regarding claim 8, Podgorski discloses wherein the impregnation fluid is a resin, the method further comprising a polymerisation step of the resin impregnating the fibrous preform [0090]. As for the limitation, polymerization after the steps of injecting impregnation fluid and compression fluid and before the step of aspiration of the compression fluid [0007]. Further, MPEP 2144.04 states in general, the transposition of process steps or the splitting of one step into two, where the processes are substantially identical or equivalent in terms of function, manner and result, was held to be not patentably distinguish the processes (e.g., Ex parte Rubin, 128 USPQ 440 (Bd. Pat. App. 1959); In re Burhans, 154 F.2d 690, 69 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1946); In re Gibson, 39 F.2d 975, 5 USPQ 230 (CCPA 1930)). See MPEP 2144.04 (IV)(C).
Regarding claim 9, Podgorski discloses wherein the fibrous preform is produced by three-dimensional weaving of fibres (claim 6).
Regarding claim 11, Podgorski discloses a method for manufacturing a part made of composite material (abstract), said method comprising
arranging a fibrous preform (20) in a mould [0007] comprising an impregnation chamber (201) the impregnation chamber by resting a first face of the preform on a support surface (240) of the impregnation chamber, the impregnation chamber being closed by a flexible membrane (280) placed facing a second face of the preform said membrane (280) separating the impregnation chamber from a compaction chamber (202, seeing figure 1);
injecting an impregnation fluid (250) into the impregnation chamber [0082]
injecting a compression fluid (compacting fluid 260) into the compaction chamber so as to apply a pressure on the membrane [0079],
aspiration of the compression fluid present in the compaction chamber via one or more outlet orifices (2210) of the compaction chamber wherein the surface of the membrane present on the a side of the compaction chamber [0083]
Podgorski does not explicitly disclose wherein a surface of the membrane present on a side of the compaction chamber comprises a plurality of grooves, wherein the grooves are hollowed out in a thickness of the membrane, and wherein a thickness of the membrane is smaller at the groove than in portions of the membrane extending between the grooves.
However analogous manufacturing composite art, Camus, discloses reliefs on the texture, which reads on a plurality of grooves wherein the grooves are hollowed out in a thickness of the membrane (pg. 4, paragraph 7) for the benefit of impregnating the membrane. As for wherein the thickness of the membrane is smaller at the groove than in portions of the membrane extending between the grooves,
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated relieves/grooves on the membrane as taught by Camus into the method taught by Podgorski for the benefit of impregnating the membrane. MPEP 2144.05 discloses In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 Where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have determined the optimum values of the relevant process parameters through routine experimentation in the absence of a showing of criticality. Further given the limited number of options the thickness of the membrane is either smaller, larger or the same at the groove than in portions of the membrane extending between the grooves, MPEP 2144.04 states obvious to try is a prima facie evidence of obviousness.
Claim(s) 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Podgorski (US 2019/0134848 A1) in view of Camus (WO2018/234669 A1), as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Hoshino (US 2022/0288538 A1).
Regarding claims 3-5, the combination of Podgorski does not explicitly disclose wherein the grooves are interconnected, wherein the grooves form a two-dimensional network of grooves, and wherein the grooves form a grid. Analogous art, Hoshino, depicts the grooves are interconnected (figure 1c), wherein the grooves form a two-dimensional network of grooves (figures 2A-2D), and wherein the grooves form a grid (figure 7). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated the grooves are interconnected, wherein the grooves form a two-dimensional network of grooves, and wherein the grooves form a grid, as taught by Hoshino, into the combination of Podgorski for the benefit of producing product with different shapes and depths [0196].
Regarding claim 6, Podgorski does not explicitly disclose wherein the membrane is reinforced by glass fires or polyester fibres. However, Hoshino, discloses using glass [0039] in order to prevent other layers from being impregnated in the pores to block the pore [0038]. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have incorporated wherein the membrane is reinforced by glass fires or polyester fibres as taught by Hoshino into the method taught by Podgorski for the benefit of preventing other layers from being impregnated in the pores to block the pore.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot in light of the newly cited reference Camus (WO2018/234669 A1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/FARAH TAUFIQ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1754