DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 3-29 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
analysis assembly configured to perform the steps recited in claim 1 and further configured to receive a product recommendation and report the product recommendation in claim 3.
The analysis assembly is described in the specification by reciting in paragraph [0040] “a hair analysis assembly 104 (“HAA”, which may comprise a hair analysis device 108 - “scanner” - that attaches, preferably removably attaches, to a mobile device 106)”. Therefore for examination purposes the hair analysis assembly will be interpreted as a scanner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 14 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 14 and 26, claims 14 and 26 recite “the first set of head images of the user to be obtained and head characteristics to be assessed by establishing a capabilities setup therefor”.
However independent claims 1 and 15 define a plurality of capabilities setups and “obtain the first set of head images of the user using the camera and a selected capabilities setup”. Therefore it is unclear if the capabilities setup of claims 14 and 26 is the selected capabilities setup or another one of the plurality of capabilities setups. For examination purposes the limitation will be interpreted as “the first set of head images of the user to be obtained and head characteristics to be assessed by establishing the selected capabilities setup therefor”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4, 7, 8, 9, 15, 16, 19, 20, 21 and 27-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US 20210366614) and further in view of Mitchell (US 20230043674), Punyani (US 20220335614), and Cook (US 20180247365).
Regarding claims 1 and 15, Chong discloses a system for head health assessment of a user (Abstract – “a system and method for diagnosis and treatment of hair and scalp”), the system comprising: [claim 1]
a method for head health assessment of a user (Abstract – “a system and method for diagnosis and treatment of hair and scalp”), the method comprising: [claim 15]
an analysis assembly (Fig. 1a, mobile device 130a and scanning devices 132a…132n) […], the analysis assembly configured to:
[…] capture of a first set of head images of the user ([0026] – “The devices 132 are configured for scanning the image data”, [0033] – “collected images… head and scalp images”);
obtain the first set of head images of the user using the camera and a selected capabilities setup of the plurality of capabilities setups ([0026] – “The devices 132 are configured for scanning the image data”, [0033] – “collected images…the parameters that may be determined from head and scalp images are hair loss type, hair density, hair thickness, scalp status, balding status, and pore status”, [0044] – “The scanner may have interchangeable lens modules that may be irremovably attached to the scanner. Different stages of scanning process may require different levels of magnifying lens”);
send the first set of head images of the user to a trained artificial intelligence system for analysis of the first set of head images of the user for a first set of head health features ([0024] – “a database 120 configured to collect hair and scalp related data from a plurality of IOT devices 130, a processor 140 coupled to an AI engine 150 configured for identifying a characteristic information associated with the captured data and determining identifiers associated with the captured data”);
receive, from the trained artificial intelligence system, a first set of head health feature results comprising the locations and quantities of each of the first set of head health features in each image in the first set of user head images of the user ([0024] – “an AI engine 150 configured for identifying a characteristic information associated with the captured data and determining identifiers associated with the captured data”, [0027] – “the identifiers are location coordinates on the image data”);
apply a first set of head health rules to the first set of head health feature results ([0029] – “The AI engine 150 enables comparison of the data with a pre-existing diagnosis database 120 a for identifying a closest match to determine condition of the hair and scalp”, [0031] – “the AI engine 150 is configured to utilize previous results, score and rating, data matrix, and a plurality of pre-defined problem types”);
arrive at a first set of head health assessments based on the applying ([0033] – “the parameters that may be determined from head and scalp images are hair loss type, hair density, hair thickness, scalp status, balding status, and pore status. The hair loss type may be classified as M shape, or O shape or any other popular shapes”); and
report the first set of head health assessments ([0045] – “The scanning device is further configured to generate a scanning report of the scalp type, condition, hair type, hair loss, bald pattern, hair density, and thickness”).
Conversely Chong does not teach an analysis assembly comprising a mobile device having a camera and an analysis device removably attached to the mobile device,
receive an input to initiate the capture of a first set of head images of a user;
store a plurality of capabilities setups, each capabilities setup corresponding to one image type of a plurality of image types, the plurality of image types including hair images and scalp images, each capabilities setup comprising one or more settings selected from: magnification, focus distance, use of cross polarized light, and use of a flash;
However Mitchell discloses an analysis assembly comprising a mobile device having a camera and an analysis device removably attached to the mobile device ([0007] – the digital hair images may be captured using an image capture device, for instance an embedded digital camera of a mobile device (e.g., front-facing digital camera of a smartphone) or a digital microscope that may be used as a separate device or employed as an attachment to a mobile device, [0095] – “a USB microscope”).
The disclosure of Mitchell is an analogous art considering it is in the field of using an AI model to provide hair health assessments using images of the head.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Chong to incorporate the image capture device being removably detachable of Mitchell to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because It allows one to use a specific lens while using one’s own mobile device and remove the specific lens when it is no longer needed.
Conversely Chong and Mitchell do not teach receive an input to initiate the capture of a first set of head images of a user;
store a plurality of capabilities setups, each capabilities setup corresponding to one image type of a plurality of image types, the plurality of image types including hair images and scalp images, each capabilities setup comprising one or more settings selected from: magnification, focus distance, use of cross polarized light, and use of a flash;
However Punyani discloses receive an input to initiate the capture of a first set of head images of a user ([0111] – “the user may select selectable button 512 i for reanalyzing (e.g., either locally at computing device 111 c 1 or remotely at imaging server(s) 102) a new image. Selectable button 512 i may cause user interface 502 to prompt the user to attach for analyzing a new image. Imaging server(s) 102 and/or a user computing device such as user computing device 111 c 1 may receive a new image”);
The disclosure of Punyani is an analogous art considering it is in the field of using an AI model to classify the scalp using images of the scalp.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate receiving an input to initiate capture of images of Punyani to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow for more user control.
Conversely Chong, Mitchell, and Punyani do not teach store a plurality of capabilities setups, each capabilities setup corresponding to one image type of a plurality of image types, the plurality of image types including hair images and scalp images, each capabilities setup comprising one or more settings selected from: magnification, focus distance, use of cross polarized light, and use of a flash;
However Cook discloses store a plurality of capabilities setups, each capabilities setup corresponding to one image type of a plurality of image types, the plurality of image types including hair images and scalp images, each capabilities setup comprising one or more settings selected from: magnification, focus distance, use of cross polarized light, and use of a flash ([0027] – “the hand held imaging device may comprise: a housing with a high magnification optic for obtaining magnified images of surface characteristics of hair fibres, said high magnification optic comprising a first lens and a first light source; and a low magnification optic for obtaining magnified images of the scalp and hair, said low magnification optic comprising a second lens and a second light source”, under broadest reasonable interpretation the capabilities setups [magnification lenses] for hair images and scalp images are stored by the analysis assembly by being housed in the analysis assembly [hand held imaging device]);
The disclosure of Cook is an analogous art considering it is in the field of imaging the hair and scalp.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate sored capabilities setups of Cook to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would eliminate the need for the user to manually change the magnification lenses.
Regarding claims 3 and 28, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claim 1.
Chong further discloses wherein the hair analysis assembly is further configured to receive a product recommendation based on the first set of head health assessments produced by execution of a product recommendation algorithm and report the product recommendation ([0035] – “the processor 140 may utilize the machine learning to compare the data with standard library, […] and produce a score and rating for the collected image…the processor may utilize the previous results, the score and rating, the answer matrix of questionnaire, the parameters as determined by the processor and a plurality of pre-defined problem types in recommendation of solution and product”, [0041] – “The display device may be used to display the scanner output, closest results at each stage of the diagnosis process, recommended treatment information, product information among other information”).
Regarding claims 4 and 16, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1 and 15.
Chong further discloses wherein the first set of head images of the user comprises a first set of hair images (Abstract – “a plurality of data blocks configured to collect hair and scalp related data”, [0045] – “The scanning device is configured to scan a sample (for example, hairs and scalp of customer) from each zone”) and the first set of head health features comprises a first set of hair health features ([0033] – “the parameters that may be determined from head and scalp images are hair loss type, hair density, hair thickness, scalp status, balding status, and pore status”).
Regarding claims 7 and 19, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1 and 15.
Chong further discloses wherein the first set of head images of the user comprises a first set of scalp images (Abstract – “a plurality of data blocks configured to collect hair and scalp related data”, [0045] – “The scanning device is configured to scan a sample (for example, hairs and scalp of customer) from each zone”) and the first set of head health features comprises a first set of scalp health features ([0032] – “the characteristic information includes white spots on hair or scalp, buldge on the scalp, less moisture content, dandruff etc.”, [0033] – “the parameters that may be determined from head and scalp images are hair loss type, hair density, hair thickness, scalp status, balding status, and pore status”).
Regarding claims 8 and 20, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 7, 15, and 19.
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the first set of scalp health features comprises small flakes, medium and large flakes, flaky hair shaft, flaky scalp oil pooling, gooey hair shaft, and build-up.
However Punyani discloses wherein the first set of scalp health features comprises small flakes, medium and large flakes, flaky hair shaft, flaky scalp oil pooling, gooey hair shaft, and build-up ([0061] – “A “white residue” image classification indicates that a user's scalp skin or hair follicle region has feature(s) (e.g., identifiable within pixel data of a given image) indicating, for example, seborrheic dermatitis, dandruff, and/or other white scales, flakes, or crust on the scalp skin or hair follicle regions of the user's scalp”, [0063] – “indicating scalp plugs (e.g., excess sebum deposits) on the scalp skin or hair follicle regions”, one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that other scalp health features that are identifiable in an image can be used to train the AI model to identify the scalp health features).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the scalp health features of Punyani to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would make the scalp based learning model more accurate and useful at detecting, determining, or predicting additional classifications (Punyani [0062]).
Regarding claims 9 and 21, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 7, 8, 15, 19, and 20.
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the head health rules comprise scalp health rules wherein the scalp health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of scalp health features in the first set of scalp images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of scalp health features.
However Punyani discloses wherein the head health rules comprise scalp health rules wherein the scalp health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of scalp health features in the first set of scalp images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of scalp health features (As seen in Fig. 3 each classification for the grade of white residue, plugs, and acne porphyrin is determined based on a threshold/range of the amount of counts within each image).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the thresholds of Punyani to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow one to classify grade levels for each feature to determine the severity of the issue.
Regarding claims 27 and 29, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 3, 15, and 28.
Chong further discloses wherein the product recommendation algorithm is executed by a server in communication with the analysis assembly ([0035] – “the processor 140 may utilize the machine learning to compare the data with standard library,[…] and produce a score and rating for the collected image…the processor may utilize the previous results, the score and rating, the answer matrix of questionnaire, the parameters as determined by the processor and a plurality of pre-defined problem types in recommendation of solution and product”, as seen in Fig. 1a the processor is part of the hair and diagnosis system 100 [a server] which is in communication with the analysis assembly [mobile device 130a and scanning devices 132a…132n]).
Claims 5, 6, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US 20210366614), Mitchell (US 20230043674), Punyani (US 20220335614), and Cook (US 20180247365) as applied to claims 4 and 16 above, and further in view of Katzarov (US 20200221854).
Regarding claims 5 and 17, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 4, 15, and 16.
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the first set of hair health features comprises thermal damage, mechanical damage and dryness.
However Katzarov discloses wherein the first set of hair health features comprises thermal damage, mechanical damage and dryness ([0054] – “the smartphone, tablet or the smart mirror may be configured to show the user or the hair stylist additional information such as, for example, information regarding a degree of damage to the hair, dryness of the hair”, [0036] – “a degree of damage could be influenced by a daily hair treatment, hair washing, brushing, a heat treatment, chemical treatments, environmental factors, etc.”).
The disclosure of Katzarov is an analogous art considering it is in the field of determining a hair condition using a trained model.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the hair health features of Katzarov to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “damage to hair by mechanical influences may be identified and the damage to the hair can subsequently be corrected by using appropriate care products” (Katzarov [0042]).
Regarding claims 6 and 18, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, Cook, and Katzarov disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 4, 5, 15, 16, and 17
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the head health rules comprise hair health rules wherein the hair health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of hair health features in the first set of hair images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of hair health features.
However Punyani discloses wherein the head health rules comprise […] health rules wherein the […] health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of […] health features in the […] images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of hair health features (As seen in Fig. 3 each classification for the grade of white residue, plugs, and acne porphyrin is determined based on a threshold/range of the amount of counts within each image).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the thresholds of Punyani to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow one to classify grade levels for each feature to determine the severity of the issue.
Conversely Chong and Punyani do not teach the hair health features as defined in claims 5 and 17.
However Katzarov discloses the hair health features as defined in claims 5 and 17 ([0054] – “the smartphone, tablet or the smart mirror may be configured to show the user or the hair stylist additional information such as, for example, information regarding a degree of damage to the hair, dryness of the hair”, [0036] – “a degree of damage could be influenced by a daily hair treatment, hair washing, brushing, a heat treatment, chemical treatments, environmental factors, etc.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the hair health features of Katzarov to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “damage to hair by mechanical influences may be identified and the damage to the hair can subsequently be corrected by using appropriate care products” (Katzarov [0042]).
Claims 10 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US 20210366614), Mitchell (US 20230043674), Punyani (US 20220335614), and Cook (US 20180247365) as applied to claims 7 and 15 above, and further in view of Tang (CN214856590U).
Regarding claims 10 and 22, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 7, 15.
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the selected capabilities setup for capturing the first set of head images comprises a setting to use cross polarized light.
However Tang discloses wherein the selected capabilities setup for capturing the first set of head images comprises a setting to use cross polarized light ([n0020] – “the multispectral illuminator 8, […] sequentially houses a standard white light source structure, a cross-polarized light source structure, and a UV light source structure. This allows for switching between the standard white light source structure and the high-definition lens 7 via the spectrum switching button 401 on the controller panel. […] The cross-polarized light source structure emits a cross-polarized spectrum”).
The disclosure of Tang is an analogous art considering it is in the field of imaging human hair and scalp.
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the cross polarized light of Tang to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it forms “a real-time dermal video image for observing local inflammation in the scalp dermis. This instrument can detect capillary dilation, blood exudation, distribution patterns, and fluctuations.” (Tang [n0012]).
Claims 11 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US 20210366614), Mitchell (US 20230043674), Punyani (US 20220335614), and Cook (US 20180247365) as applied to claims 1 and 15 above, and further in view of Charraud (US 20190209077).
Regarding claims 11 and 23, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, and Cook disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1 and 15.
Chong further discloses the first set of head health features comprises a first set of hair health features and a first set of scalp health features ([0032] – “the characteristic information includes white spots on hair or scalp, buldge on the scalp, less moisture content, dandruff etc.”, [0033] – “the parameters that may be determined from head and scalp images are hair loss type, hair density, hair thickness, scalp status, balding status, and pore status”).
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the first set of head images of the user comprises a first set of hair images and a first set of scalp images.
However Charraud discloses wherein the first set of head images of the user comprises a first set of hair images and a first set of scalp images ([0062] – “The camera 181 may capture images of the hair and scalp during a combing operation. Images may be taken at areas of the scalp, or continuously as combing is occurring. In an exemplary aspect, the camera 181 may be used to take a picture of the overall hair and scalp from a proximate distance from the person's head”).
The disclosure of Charraud is an analogous art considering it is in the field of a trained system for classifying the scalp and hair based on images taken of the scalp and hair
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the first and second set of images of Charraud to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow one to gain information of the health of the scalp as well the entire length of the hair.
Claims 12-14 and 24-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chong (US 20210366614), Mitchell (US 20230043674), Punyani (US 20220335614), Cook (US 20180247365) and Charraud (US 20190209077) as applied to claims 11 and 23 above, and further in view of Katzarov (US 20200221854).
Regarding claims 12 and 24, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, Cook, and Charraud disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 11, 15 and 23.
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the first set of hair health features comprises thermal damage, mechanical damage and dryness and the first set of scalp health features comprises small flakes, medium and large flakes, flaky hair shaft, flaky scalp oil pooling, gooey hair shaft, and build-up.
However Punyani discloses the first set of scalp health features comprises small flakes, medium and large flakes, flaky hair shaft, flaky scalp oil pooling, gooey hair shaft, and build-up ([0061] – “A “white residue” image classification indicates that a user's scalp skin or hair follicle region has feature(s) (e.g., identifiable within pixel data of a given image) indicating, for example, seborrheic dermatitis, dandruff, and/or other white scales, flakes, or crust on the scalp skin or hair follicle regions of the user's scalp”, [0063] – “indicating scalp plugs (e.g., excess sebum deposits) on the scalp skin or hair follicle regions”, one with ordinary skill in the art would recognize that other scalp health features that are identifiable in an image can be used to train the AI model to identify the scalp health features).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the scalp health features of Punyani to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would make the scalp based learning model more accurate and useful at detecting, determining, or predicting additional classifications (Punyani [0062]).
Conversely Chong and Punyani do not teach wherein the first set of hair health features comprises thermal damage, mechanical damage and dryness.
However Katzarov discloses wherein the first set of hair health features comprises thermal damage, mechanical damage and dryness ([0054] – “the smartphone, tablet or the smart mirror may be configured to show the user or the hair stylist additional information such as, for example, information regarding a degree of damage to the hair, dryness of the hair”, [0036] – “a degree of damage could be influenced by a daily hair treatment, hair washing, brushing, a heat treatment, chemical treatments, environmental factors, etc.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the hair health features of Katzarov to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “damage to hair by mechanical influences may be identified and the damage to the hair can subsequently be corrected by using appropriate care products” (Katzarov [0042]).
Regarding claims 13 and 25, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, Cook, Charraud, and Katzarov disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 11, 12, 15, 23 and 24.
Conversely Chong does not teach wherein the head health rules comprise hair health rules, wherein the hair health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of hair health features in the first set of hair images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of hair health features, and scalp health rules wherein the scalp health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of scalp health features in the first set of scalp images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of scalp health features.
However Punyani discloses wherein the head health rules comprise […] health rules, wherein the […] health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of […] health features in the […] images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of hair health features (As seen in Fig. 3 each classification for the grade of white residue, plugs, and acne porphyrin is determined based on a threshold/range of the amount of counts within each image) and scalp health rules wherein the scalp health rules comprise comparing the quantities of each of the first set of scalp health features in the first set of scalp images to a configurable threshold for each of the first set of scalp health features (As seen in Fig. 3 each classification for the grade of white residue, plugs, and acne porphyrin is determined based on a threshold/range of the amount of counts within each image).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the thresholds of Punyani to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because it would allow one to classify grade levels for each feature to determine the severity of the issue.
Conversely Chong and Punyani do not teach the hair health features as defined in claims 12 and 24.
However Katzarov discloses the hair health features as defined in claims 12 and 24 ([0054] – “the smartphone, tablet or the smart mirror may be configured to show the user or the hair stylist additional information such as, for example, information regarding a degree of damage to the hair, dryness of the hair”, [0036] – “a degree of damage could be influenced by a daily hair treatment, hair washing, brushing, a heat treatment, chemical treatments, environmental factors, etc.”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system and method of Chong to incorporate the hair health features of Katzarov to achieve the same results. One would have motivation to combine because “damage to hair by mechanical influences may be identified and the damage to the hair can subsequently be corrected by using appropriate care products” (Katzarov [0042]).
Regarding claims 14 and 26, Chong, Mitchell, Punyani, Cook, Charraud, and Katzarov disclose all the elements of the claimed invention as cited in claims 1, 11, 12, 13, 15, 23, 24, and 25.
Chong further discloses wherein the obtaining further comprises preparing the analysis assembly for the first set of head images of the user to be obtained and head characteristics to be assessed by establishing a capabilities setup therefor ([0044] – “The scanner may have interchangeable lens modules that may be irremovably attached to the scanner. Different stages of scanning process may require different levels of magnifying lens”).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.C.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3797
/CHRISTOPHER KOHARSKI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3797