DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grethel et al. (20130333366) in view of Knudsen et al. (20100316503). Grethel et al. discloses (claim 1) a method for detecting a correct rotational direction of a pump 4 of a hydraulic system 1 of an actuator 10 in a motor vehicle with a first switchable valve 5, which is actuated by energization and with the pump 4, which has a pump motor 3 and which is actuated by energization, and with a control device 6, which controls the first switchable valve 5 and the pump 4, the method comprising: rotating the pump 4 in a first rotational direction and conveying into a pressure line 8,9, rotating the pump 4 in a second direction and conveying fluid into a reservoir 7, wherein the pressure line 8,9 has a pressure sensor 14 and is hydraulically connected to the first switchable valve 5. Grethel et al. does not disclose determining the rotational direction of the pump, sequentially energizing the pump motor in the first and second rotational directions and in each case determining the pressure at the pressure sensor, and deducing the rotational direction of the pump therefrom.
Knudsen et al. teaches for a method for detecting a correct rotational direction of a pump 4 of a hydraulic system, a pump motor 6, a control unit 8, and a pressure sensor 22 and that there is (claim 1) determining the rotational direction of the pump 4, sequentially energizing the pump motor 6 in the first and second rotational directions and in each case determining the pressure at the pressure sensor 22, and deducing the rotational direction of the pump 4 therefrom for the purposes of making startup simpler while reliably ensuring proper motor/pump rotation. See Knudsen et al. paragraphs [0043]-[0045].
Since Grethel et al. and Knudsen et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Knudsen et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Grethel et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the method of Grethel et al. to include determining the rotational direction of the pump, sequentially energizing the pump motor in the first and second rotational directions and in each case determining the pressure at the pressure sensor, and deducing the rotational direction of the pump therefrom for the purposes of making startup simpler while reliably ensuring proper motor/pump rotation.
Regarding claim 2, Knudsen et al. further teaches that the correct rotational direction is present if the pressure determined at the pressure sensor 22 is higher in the first rotational direction than in the second rotational direction (paragraph [0040])
Regarding claim 4, Grethel et al. discloses that the first switchable valve 5 is a 2/2-way valve.
Claims 3, 7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grethel et al. and Knudsen et al, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Asano et al (20110021301). Grethel et al., as modified, discloses all of the claimed subject matter except that the hydraulic system of the actuator has a second switchable valve which is also actuated by means of energization and the control device also controls the second switchable valve, and wherein the pressure line is also hydraulically connected to the second switchable valve, the second switchable valve is hydraulically connected to a clutch actuator for actuating a clutch, actuating the second switchable valve in the first and second rotational directions when the pump is actuated, and moving a clutch piston into a clutch actuator in a direction of a nearest stop in a clutch cylinder, wherein, when the pump is actuated in the first and second rotational directions, the pump is actuated such that the clutch piston does not move into the clutch actuator.
Asano et al. teaches for a method for detecting a correct rotational direction of a pump 631 of a hydraulic system, a pump motor 636, a control unit 640, a first switchable valve 632a, and an actuator 619 and that (claim 3) the hydraulic system of the actuator has a second switchable valve 632b which is also actuated by means of energization and the control device 640 also controls the second switchable valve 632b, and wherein the pressure line is also hydraulically connected to the second switchable valve 632b, (claim 7) the second switchable valve 632b is hydraulically connected to a clutch actuator 618 for actuating a clutch 610, (claim 9) actuating the second switchable valve 632b in the first and second rotational directions when the pump 631 is actuated, and moving a clutch piston 618b into a clutch actuator 618 in a direction of a nearest stop in a clutch cylinder, (claim 10) wherein, when the pump 631 is actuated in the first and second rotational directions, the pump 631 is actuated such that the clutch piston 618b does not move into the clutch actuator 618 (valve 632b is in the left position) for the purposes of allowing separate control of two clutch actuators. See Asano et al., paragraphs [0048] and [0049].
Since Grethel et al. and Asano et al. are both in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Asano et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Grethel et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to further modify the hydraulic system of Grethel et al. to include a second switchable valve which is also actuated by means of energization and the control device also controls the second switchable valve, and wherein the pressure line is also hydraulically connected to the second switchable valve, the second switchable valve is hydraulically connected to a clutch actuator for actuating a clutch, actuating the second switchable valve in the first and second rotational directions when the pump is actuated, and moving a clutch piston into a clutch actuator in a direction of a nearest stop in a clutch cylinder, wherein, when the pump is actuated in the first and second rotational directions, the pump is actuated such that the clutch piston does not move into the clutch actuator for the purposes of allowing separate control of two clutch actuators.
Claims 11-13, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grethel et al. (20130333366) in view of Knudsen et al. (20100316503) and Asano et al. (20110021301). Grethel et al. discloses (claim 11) a method for detecting a correct rotational direction of a pump 4 of a hydraulic system of an actuator 10 in a motor vehicle with a first switchable valve 5, which is actuated by energization and with the pump 4, which has a pump motor 3 and which is actuated by energization, and with a control device 6, which controls the first switchable valve 5 and the pump 4, the method comprising: rotating the pump 4 in a first rotational direction and conveying fluid into a pressure line 8,9 which has a pressure sensor 14 and is hydraulically connected to the first switchable valve 5, rotating the pump 4 in a second direction and conveying fluid into a reservoir 7. Grethel et al. does not disclose determining the rotational direction of the pump, closing the first switchable valve, sequentially energizing the pump motor in the first and second rotational directions and in each case determining the pressure at the pressure sensor, and determining the correct rotational direction of the pump being in the first direction by the pressure determined at the pressure sensor being higher in the first rotational direction than in the second rotational direction.
Knudsen et al., as stated above, teaches (claim 11) determining the rotational direction of the pump 4, sequentially energizing the pump motor 6 in the first and second rotational directions and in each case determining the pressure at the pressure sensor 22, and determining the correct rotational direction of the pump 4 being in the first direction by the pressure determined at the pressure sensor 22 being higher in the first rotational direction than in the second rotational direction (paragraph [0040]).
Asano et al., as stated above, teaches (claim 11) closing the first switchable valve (left position of valve 632a).
Since Grethel et al., Knudsen et al., and Asano et al. are all in the same field of endeavor the purpose disclosed by Asano et al. would have been recognized in the pertinent art of Grethel et al. It would have been obvious at a time before the invention was effectively filed to a person having ordinary skill in the art to modify the hydraulic system of Grethel et al. to include closing the first switchable valve, sequentially energizing the pump motor in the first and second rotational directions and in each case determining the pressure at the pressure sensor, and determining the correct rotational direction of the pump being in the first direction by the pressure determined at the pressure sensor being higher in the first rotational direction than in the second rotational direction.
Regarding claim 12, Asano et al further teaches for a second switchable valve 632b, which is also actuated by energization and the control device 640 also controls the second switchable valve 632b, and the pressure line 629a,b is also hydraulically connected to the second switchable valve 632b.
Regarding claim 13, Grethel et al. discloses that the first switchable valve 5 is a 2/2-way valve.
Regarding claim 17, Asano et al. teaches actuating the second switchable valve 632b in the first and second rotational directions when the pump 631 is actuated, and moving a clutch piston 618b into a clutch actuator 618 in a direction of a nearest stop in a clutch cylinder.
Regarding claim 18, Asano et al. teaches that when the pump 631 is actuated in the first and second rotational directions, the pump 631 is actuated such that the clutch piston does not move into the clutch actuator 618,619 (both valves 632a,b are in their respective left positions).
Prior Art
Prior art made of record but not relied upon is considered pertinent to Applicant's disclosure for showing other hydraulic systems with pumps, switchable valves, clutch actuators, pump motors, pressure lines, pressure sensors and control devices.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5, 6, 8, and 14-16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The improvement comprises that (claims 5 and 14) the second switchable valve is a 4/2-way valve, (claim 6) the first switchable valve is hydraulically connected to a cooling line for cooling a drive motor of the motor vehicle, (claim 8) closing the first switchable valve when the pump is actuated in the first and second rotational directions.
Contact Information
/THOMAS E LAZO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 3745
September 30, 2026