DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101/112
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to non-statutory subject matter. The claim(s) does/do not fall within at least one of the four categories of patent eligible subject matter because the claims are directed to “A method of using”, but there does not appear to be an active step, other than the use of the term “using”. As such, it is unclear whether this is a method claim with an active step or a composition claim with an intended use. For purposes of examination, these claims will be read as method claims with any use meeting the limitation.
Additionally, the claims are directed to a method of using resin acids, wherein the resin acids are derived from conifers, such as pine stump (see instant claim 6). As such, the resin acids appear to be naturally occurring, and as the conifers “use” the resin acids as part of their natural growth, the ability to provide dense gene induces for biotic stress in the plant would be an inherent function and the claims are then directed to a naturally occurring phenomenon. This category of discoveries is not patentable. See MPEP § 2106.04(b) — Laws of Nature, Natural Phenomena & Products of Nature
Claims 1-6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. As noted above, it is unclear what is mean by “using”, whether this is an active step or an intended use, therefore the claim is indefinite.
Note, these claims differ from instant claim 14, where claim 14 requires the active step of applying the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9, 16, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Anderson (Ind. Eng. Chem. (1947) 39 (12): 1664–1667).
Anderson discloses resin acids extracted from pine stumps (pg 1665, last ¶).
With regards to claims 1 and 11, the claims only require the resin acid and using it as defense gene inducers for biotic stress in a plant. As “use” is not defined, the extraction itself and testing of the extract meet the required active step. While claim 11 requires a solvent, the extract is in a solvent
With regards to claims 2, 3, 5, and 6 the claims are directed to a method of use, therefore the method of making limitations are interpreted as product by process limitations and are met where the end product is disclosed. See MPEP 2113(I).
With regards to claim 4, the claims are directed to the “use” of a composition, therefore the label given the composition does not render the claims distinct.
With regards to claim 7, the rosin was combined and analyzed with toluene to produce extracts (pg 1665, Extraction and Analysis section).
With regards to claim 8, the content of resin acids is about 58.7% (pg 1665 last ¶).
With regards to claim 9 and 19, terpenes were also found in the extract (pg 1666, Volatiles section).
Claims 1-8, 10, 11, 14, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tasci (Acta biologica cracoviensia, Series Botanica., 2020, pp 63-77).
Tasci et al teaches the effect of a diterpene resin acid, called dehydroabietic acid as activator of systemic acquired resistance under biotic stress. The role as a signal transmitted in soybean was studied. The pretreatment with DHA caused reduction in salt-induced damage, improvement in biomass, water status, chlorophyll, leaves area, regulation of proline, ROS scavenging ability. Furthermore, DHA had an effect on the expression of WRKY-71 gene that is associated with plant stress responses. DHA changes WRKY-gene expression and induces salt stress signaling pathway. The treatments were always of DHA, DHA+NaCI, NaCI and control. A solution maximum 3.3 mM in ethanol was used for the experiments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tasci (Acta biologica cracoviensia, Series Botanica., 2020, pp 63-77) in view of Sinochem (WO2015/003666).
Tasci is discussed above but does not teach the addition of fungicides or the instantly claimed excipients.
Sinochem teaches it was known to apply pesticides, such as organic copper or flumorph, for treatment of plant disease. It also teaches the addition of thickeners, preservatives wetting agents, etc, where rosin wetting agent is an option.
It is prima facie obvious to combine two compositions each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, in order to form a third composition to be used for the very same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06. Here, the resin acids and additional pesticides all treat and protect plants.
Further, it would have been obvious to add additional known excipients to aid in application and delivery of the composition.
Conclusion
/BENJAMIN J PACKARD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1612