DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 15, the phrase "optionally" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d). It is unclear what the phrase “optionally wherein the impedance event indicates that there is an electrical short between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin” requires in claim 15 because the optionally can, as written, be understood to apply to the previous limitation in the claim or the limitation quoted above as well as being indefinite for being an necessary or unnecessary requirement of claim 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 & 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) & (a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0393502).
Regarding Independent claim 1, Kim teaches:
A method for a device (Paragraph 0038.), the method comprising:
detecting a contamination state of input circuitry comprising a multi-pin connector configured to receive charging power and data (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraph 0038.); and
responsive to detecting the contamination state, causing at least one of:
an alert (Paragraph 0038.), and
turning off at least a portion of recharging circuitry for receiving charging power from the input circuitry (Paragraphs 0038-0040.).
Regarding claim 2, Kim teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches detecting the contamination state comprises: detecting an impedance between at least one of one or more data pins of the multi-pin connector and at least one of one or more power pins of the multi-pin connector (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraph 0066.), the impedance indicating an electrical short between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraph 0066.).
Regarding claim 3, Cancelled.
Regarding claim 4, Kim teaches all elements of claim 2, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches detecting the impedance comprises: inducing a current through the at least one data pin and a known resistance coupled to the at least one power pin (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0070.); measuring a differential voltage across the known resistance (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0070.); based on the measured differential voltage, determining a magnitude of the test current (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0070 & 0090-0092.); and determining the impedance between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin based on the magnitude of the test current (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0070.).
Regarding claim 5, Kim teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches detecting the impedance comprises: detecting a first impedance value between the at least one data pin of the multi-pin connector and the at least one power pin of the multi-pin connector, and outputting the a contamination signal indicating the state of contamination state when a change of impedance between the first impedance value and a known second impedance value between the at least one data pin and the at least [[on]] one power pin indicates an impedance event (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0071.).
Regarding claim 6, Kim teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches detecting the contamination state based on a measured voltage across a test resistance coupled to the at least one data pin of the multi-pin connector and the at least one power pin of the multi-pin connector (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0068.).
Regarding claim 8, Cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 9, 11, 13-17, 19-20, 22-24, & 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0393502) in view of Hsiao et al (U.S. PGPub # 2005/0068038).
Regarding Independent claim 9, Hsiao teaches:
A playback device comprising:
Kim teaches:
input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data (Fig. 2 Element 100a. See paragraph 0038.);
contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraph 0038.); and
the one or more processors (Fig. 1 Element 200.), wherein the one or more processors are configured to at least one of:
cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal (Paragraphs 0038-0040.), and
cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal (Paragraphs 0038-0040.).
Kim does not explicitly teach:
an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio;
one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device;
recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources;
Hsiao teaches:
an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.);
one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.);
recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.);
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Hsiao to the teachings of Kim such that an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio; one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device; recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources would use the input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data; contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector; and the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to at least one of: cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal, and cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal because the device of Hsiao already requires information transfer and recharging capabilities and the pin connector of Kim would allow for more data and power transfer with the added bonus of identifying possible problems with the connection.
Regarding claim 10, Cancelled.
Regarding claim 11, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the multi-pin connector comprises: one or more data pins configured to receive and transfer at least a portion of the data to the one or more processors (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraph 0066.), and; and one or more power pins configured to receive and transfer at least a portion of the charging power to the recharging circuitry (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraph 0066.); the contamination detection circuitry is configured to detect an impedance between at least one of the one or more data pins and at least one of the one or more power pins of the multi-pin connector (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraph 0038.); and the contamination detection circuitry is configured to output the contamination signal indicating the state of contamination of the multi-pin connector based on the impedance (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraph 0038.).
Regarding claim 12, Cancelled.
Regarding claim 13, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the contamination detection circuitry is configured to output the contamination signal indicating that the state of contamination of the multi-pin connector is contaminated based on the impedance indicating an electrical short between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0071.).
Regarding claim 14, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the contamination detection circuitry is configured to induce a test current through the at least one data pin and through a known resistance coupled to the at least one power pin, and measure a differential voltage across the known resistance (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0071.); and wherein the one or more processors are configured to: cause the playback device to determine a magnitude of the test current based on the measured differential voltage, and determine the impedance between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin based on the magnitude of the test current (Fig. 7A & 7B. Paragraphs 0066-0071.).
Regarding claim 15, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 11, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the input circuitry includes a first electrical connection between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin, the first electrical connection having a known first impedance value (Paragraph 0071.); and wherein the contamination detection circuitry is configured to: detect a second impedance value between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin, and output the contamination signal indicating the state of contamination of the multi-pin connector when a change of impedance between the first impedance value and the second impedance value indicates an impedance event (Paragraph 0071.), optionally wherein the impedance event indicates that there is an electrical short between the at least one data pin and the at least one power pin (Examiner determines this element to be unnecessary because of the use of “optionally.”).
Regarding claim 16, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the contamination detection circuitry includes: a test resistance coupled to the at least one data pin and to the at least one power pin (Paragraph 0068.); and a differential amplifier configured to measure a voltage across the test resistance; wherein the contamination detection circuitry is configured to output the contamination signal based on the measured voltage across the test resistance (Paragraph 0068.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 15, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the contamination detection circuitry comprises: at least one test resistor configured to measure the second impedance value; and at least one operational amplifier operably connected to the at least one test resistor and configured to output the contamination signal (Paragraph 0068.).
Regarding claim 19, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the multi-pin connector is a universal serial bus (USB) type-C connector (Paragraph 0030.).
Regarding claim 20, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the one or more processors are configured to cause the playback device to: receive a first audio stream via the input circuitry (Paragraph 0041.); and generate a second audio stream based on the first audio stream (Paragraph 0041.); transmit the second audio stream to at least one other playback device via the one or more wireless communication interfaces (Paragraph 0041.); and play back, via the audio output interface, audio content based on derived from the first audio stream via the audio output interface in synchrony with the at least one other playback device (Paragraph 0041.).
Regarding claim 21, Cancelled.
Regarding claim 22, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim & Hsiao do not explicitly teach one or more wireless communication interfaces, and wherein causing an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal comprises causing the playback device to transmit an indication that the multi-pin connector is contaminated to at least one external device via the one or more wireless communication interfaces.
But it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to have one or more wireless communication interfaces, and wherein causing an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal comprises causing the playback device to transmit an indication that the multi-pin connector is contaminated to at least one external device via the one or more wireless communication interfaces because wireless communication is the most desired form of communication between devices because wireless communication interfaces reduce clutter and allow one to expand both the utility of and effectiveness of the basic device. Wireless communication is ubiquitously used in many modern devices to allow alerts on mobile phones and other mobile devices so that one does not need to sit in one physical location to monitor any particular system. Therefore, all of the limitations of this claim are just an extension of the common practice of having an increasing number of devices being in constant wireless communication with one another..
Regarding Independent claim 23, Kim teaches:
A playback device assembly comprising:
Kim teaches:
input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data (Fig. 2 Element 100a. See paragraph 0038.),
contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraph 0038.),
wherein the one or more processors (Fig. 1 Element 200.) are configured to at least one of:
cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal (Paragraphs 0038-0040.), and
cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal (Paragraphs 0038-0040.); and
a multi-function cable configured to be connected to the multi-pin connector (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraph 0038.);
wherein the input circuitry is configured to receive the charging power and the data via the multi-function cable (Fig. 2 Element 100a. Paragraphs 0038-0040.).
Kim does not explicitly teach:
a playback device comprising
one or more processors,
an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio,
one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device,
recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources, and
Hsiao teaches:
a playback device comprising
one or more processors (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.),
an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.),
one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.),
recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Hsiao to the teachings of Kim such that an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio; one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device; recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources would use the input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data; contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector; and the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to at least one of: cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal, and cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal because the device of Hsiao already requires information transfer and recharging capabilities and the pin connector of Kim would allow for more data and power transfer with the added bonus of identifying possible problems with the connection.
Regarding claim 24, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 23, upon which this claim depends.
Kim teaches the multi-pin connector is a universal serial bus (USB) type-C connector and the multi-function cable includes a mating USB type-C connector (Paragraph 0030.).
Regarding claim 25, Cancelled.
Regarding claim 26, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 23, upon which this claim depends.
Kim does not explicitly teach the multi-function cable includes a resettable fuse that is configured to have an impedance that increases with temperature.
Hsiao teaches the multi-function cable includes a resettable fuse that is configured to have an impedance that increases with temperature (Paragraph 0010.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Hsiao to the teachings of Kim such that the multi-function cable includes a resettable fuse that is configured to have an impedance that increases with temperature because these are cheap, reliable, & effective means of protecting electronic devices from overcurrent.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0393502) in view of Bae et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0181590).
Regarding claim 7, Kim teaches all elements of claim 1, upon which this claim depends.
Kim does not explicitly teach when an external cable is not connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a first processing schedule; and when the external cable is connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a second processing schedule, wherein the second processing schedule comprises processing the contamination signal more frequently than the first processing schedule.
Bae teaches when an external cable is not connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a first processing schedule (Paragraphs 0042-0044 wherein a situation where the detection is not performed at all when the cable is not connected is disclosed.); and when the external cable is connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a second processing schedule, wherein the second processing schedule comprises processing the contamination signal more frequently than the first processing schedule (Paragraphs 0042-0044 a situation where the detection is performed at all when the cable is connected is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bae to the teachings of Kim such that when an external cable is not connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a first processing schedule; and when the external cable is connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a second processing schedule, wherein the second processing schedule comprises processing the contamination signal more frequently than the first processing schedule because this allows one to avoid using energy unnecessarily when the device is not connected and minimally when connected. It also would allow for testing only when connected to a device that can interpret the contamination data.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim (U.S. PGPub # 2020/0393502) in view of Hsiao et al (U.S. PGPub # 2005/0068038) & Bae et al (U.S. PGPub # 2019/0181590).
Regarding claim 18, Kim & Hsiao teach all elements of claim 9, upon which this claim depends.
Kim & Hsiao do not explicitly teach the one or more processors are configured to cause the playback device to: when an external cable is not connected to the input circuitry, process the contamination signal according to a first processing schedule; and when the external cable is connected to the input circuitry, process the contamination signal according to a second processing schedule, wherein the second processing schedule comprises processing the contamination signal more frequently than the first processing schedule.
Bae teaches the one or more processors are configured to cause the playback device to: when an external cable is not connected to the input circuitry, process the contamination signal according to a first processing schedule (Paragraphs 0042-0044 wherein a situation where the detection is not performed at all when the cable is not connected is disclosed.); and when the external cable is connected to the input circuitry, process the contamination signal according to a second processing schedule, wherein the second processing schedule comprises processing the contamination signal more frequently than the first processing schedule (Paragraphs 0042-0044 a situation where the detection is performed at all when the cable is connected is disclosed.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Bae to the teachings of Kim & Hsiao such that when an external cable is not connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a first processing schedule; and when the external cable is connected to the input circuitry, processing the contamination signal according to a second processing schedule, wherein the second processing schedule comprises processing the contamination signal more frequently than the first processing schedule because this allows one to avoid using energy unnecessarily when the device is not connected and minimally when connected. It also would allow for testing only when connected to a device that can interpret the contamination data.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The prior art listed but not cited represents the previous state of the art and analogous art that teaches some of the limitations claimed by applicant.
/CHRISTOPHER P MCANDREW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858
Hsiao teaches:
an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.);
one or more rechargeable power sources configured to provide power to the playback device (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.);
recharging circuitry configured to receive and condition the charging power from the input circuitry and to provide the conditioned charging power to the one or more rechargeable power sources (Fig. 6 Elements 330 & 331. See paragraph 0043.);
Hsiao does not explicitly teach:
input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data;
contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector; and
the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to at least one of:
cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal, and
cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Hsiao such that an input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data; a contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector; and the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to at least one of: cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal, and cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal would be incorporated into an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio because many electronic devices such as phones, tablets, laptops, etc. are all capable of audio playback and require recharging of their batteries. The system of Kim would aid in the longevity and durability of such listed devices.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective time of filing to apply the teachings of Kim to the teachings of Hsiao such that an input circuitry including a multi-pin connector configured to receive both charging power and data; a contamination detection circuitry configured to output a contamination signal indicating a state of contamination of the multi-pin connector; and the one or more processors, wherein the one or more processors are configured to at least one of: cause an alert to be provided based on the contamination signal, and cause at least a portion of the recharging circuitry to turn off based on the contamination signal would be incorporated into an audio output interface operably connected to one or more processors and configured to output audio because many electronic devices such as phones, tablets, laptops, etc. are all capable of audio playback and require recharging of their batteries. The system of Kim would aid in the longevity and durability of such listed devices.