DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because fig. 3 is a cross-sectional view but lacks proper cross-hatching. See 37 CFR 1.84 (h)(3).
Claim Objections
The claims are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.75(i) because elements of the claims are not separated by line indentation.
Claim 1 is further objected to because line 7 recites “a connection piece” when it should recite –the connection piece—as the connection piece as already been recited.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites that it comprises “a connection piece housing as claimed in claim 1”. The claim then later recites “a securing element” (line 2), “a connection piece” (line 3), and “at least one securing tab” (line 5). These elements have already been recited in claim 1 and these recitations make it unclear if the claim is intending to recite additional elements or if the articles are incorrect and this renders the claim indefinite.
Claim 7 recites the limitation "the ramp face" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 8 is rejected based on its dependency.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)/(a)(2) as being anticipated by Senftleben (EP 3850261B1).
In regards to claim 1, Senftleben discloses a connection piece housing (4) for connecting to a fluid line, comprising a sleeve portion (right portion in fig. 6) having an opening (central bore) for introducing a connection piece along a longitudinal axis and a wall which extends in the circumferential direction about the longitudinal axis and which, by way of an internal face, delimits the opening, wherein the internal face has a clearance (48) for passing through a securing tab of a securing element introducible into the opening for locking a connection piece introduced into the connection piece housing via the securing element, and a receptacle (26, see figs. 3 and 5) for receiving at least part of the securing tab, wherein the clearance extends in an axial direction from an axial access on a periphery of the opening, and the receptacle is spaced apart from the periphery of the opening in an axial direction, wherein a locking element (the edges of “26”) for locking the securing tab in the receptacle is disposed between the receptacle and the clearance, wherein the receptacle is disposed so as to be offset from the clearance in a circumferential direction.
In regards to claim 2, Senftleben further discloses the locking element has a latching edge (see edge of 26 in figs. 3 and 5) which extends in the axial direction and is spaced from the access (26) in the axial direction.
In regards to claim 3, Senftleben further discloses the receptacle has a release device (see figs. 3 and 5) for decoupling the securing tab from a connection piece introduced into the opening.
In regards to claim 4, Senftleben further discloses the release device has a ramp (40) face which is beveled radially inward in relation to the longitudinal axis.
In regards to claim 5, Senftleben further discloses the wall, proceeding from the receptacle in an axial direction pointing out of the opening, has a greater radial thickness than proceeding from the clearance in a radial direction (shown in figs. 5 and 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-8 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Each of the remaining cited prior art shows a similar connection system.
/ZACHARY T DRAGICEVICH/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3679
08/31/2026