DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amended claims filed on 3/19/2025.
Claims 1-15 are currently pending and have been examined below.
Claim Objections
Claims 1, 2, 12, and 14-15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 1, “the exterior of the vehicle” should read --an exterior of the vehicle--.
In line 2 of claim 2, “articulatedly” should read --articulately--.
In line 3 of claim 12, “driving a vehicle” should read --driving the vehicle--.
In line 1 of claim 14, “The use of a vehicle” should read --A use of the vehicle--.
In line 2 of claim 14, “an area of operation” should read --the area of operation--.
In line 1 of claim 15, “The use of a screen” should read --A use of the screen--.
In line 1 of claim 15, “an area of operation” should read --the area of operation--.
Appropriate correction is required. Above provides non-limiting examples, the applicant(s) must find and correct all issues similar to those discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5 and 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Steenson et al. (WO 2009121468) (hereinafter “Steenson”).
Claim 1
(Steenson discloses) A vehicle (40; figures 3A-4B) for use in an area of operation,
wherein the vehicle comprises a screen (112),
wherein the screen comprises a screen element (24; see at least figure 1A) and a securing element (Annotated figure 4A below),
wherein the screen is secured to the exterior of the vehicle via the securing element in a transport position (transport position in figure 3A),
wherein the screen comprises a frame (Annotated figure 4A below),
wherein the screen element is connected to the frame, and the frame is connected to the securing element (Annotated figure 4A below).
Annotated figure 4A
Claim 2
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the frame is articulatedly connected to at least one additional frame (neighboring frame next to the frame shown in Annotated figure 4A above).
Claim 3
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 2, wherein the frames are connected to one another via a double joint (see frames in figure 4A pivoted inward and outward).
Claim 4
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 2, wherein a support wheel (Annotated figure 4A above) is secured to at least one of the frames.
Claim 5
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the securing element is connected to the frame via a spacer (Annotated figure 4A above).
Claim 7
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein, in the transport position, the screen is secured to a rear side of the vehicle (figure 3A).
Claim 8
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the screen is articulatedly secured to the vehicle (figures 4A-4B).
Claim 9
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1, wherein the screen is secured to a guide rail (Annotated figure 4A above) connected to the vehicle (Annotated figure 4A above).
Claim 10
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 9, wherein the screen is secured to a carriage (48; figure 3A-3B) that is displaceable relative to the guide rail (see 48 displaceable relative to the guide rail as shown in figures 3A-4B).
Claim 11
(Steenson discloses) A screen (112; figures 3A-4B) for shielding an area of operation,
wherein the screen comprises a screen element (24; see figure 1A) and a securing element (Annotated figure 4A above),
wherein the securing element is configured for securing the screen in a transport
position (figure 3A) on the exterior of a vehicle (40),
wherein the screen has a frame (Annotated figure 4A above),
wherein the screen element is connected to the frame (Annotated figure 4A above), and the frame is connected to the securing element (Annotated figure 4A above).
Claim 12
(Steenson discloses) A method of shielding an area of operation (area of operation where the arrangement in figures 3A-4B is deployed), comprising the following steps:
(a) driving a vehicle (40) according to claim 1, up to the area of operation, with the screen in the transport position (figures 3A-3B), and
(b) setting up the screen (figures 4A-4B).
Claim 13
(Steenson discloses) The method according to claim 12, wherein the frame of the screen is articulatedly connected to at least one additional frame (neighboring frame next to the frame shown in Annotated figure 4A above),
wherein the frames are collapsed in the transport position (figures 3A-3B),
wherein the frames are at least partially unfolded during set up (figure 4A).
Claim 14
(Steenson discloses) The use of a vehicle according to claim 1, for shielding an area of operation (figures 4A-4B).
Claim 15
(Steenson discloses) The use of a screen (112) according to claim 11, for shielding an area of operation (figures 4A-4B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steenson, as applied to claims 1-5 and 7-15 above, in view of Green (US 7231954).
Claim 6
(Steenson discloses) The vehicle according to claim 1.
Douglas is silent regarding wherein the screen element is elastically connected to the frame.
(However, Green teaches) wherein a screen element (Green figures 14-15) is elastically connected to a frame (102; via elastic ties 198; Green figure 15).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to elastically connect the screen element of Steenson to the frame as taught by Green for providing elastic benefits to the screen element therefore they can revert to their original positions when external forces are affecting the screen element.
Conclusion
/PATRICK B. PONCIANO/Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/DANIEL P CAHN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3634