The specification, abstract, drawings and claims of March 19, 2025 are under examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) was/were submitted on March 19, 2025. The submission(s) is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the spring-loaded fasteners and longitudinal ribs separated by valleys must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 8, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fourney et al. (US Pub 20220009719 A1) in view of Fourney (USPN 7926647).
Regarding Claim(s) 1, Fourney et al. (US Pub 20220009719 A1) teaches a dynamic gapping conveyor, comprising: a frame (110) forming a carryway for a conveying surface [Para. 26]; a conveying surface (122) extending in a conveying direction from a first end to a second end and laterally from a first side edge to a second side edge; a first flight (160) having a rotatable panel (body portion 161) extending laterally across the conveying surface for catching a front of a parcel [Para. 32, “portion 161 can push an object on the conveying surface forward or backward”], the first flight connected to a first mover (133) of a linear transport system; and a second flight (160) having a horizontal panel (body portion 161 extends horizontally over the conveying surface), the second flight connected to a second mover (133) of the linear transport system. Fourney (USPN 7926647) teaches a conveyor having a first flight (2106b) engaging a front of a parcel (see Figure 27) and a second flight (2106a) below the parcel (see Figure 24). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the second flight to support the parcel from below to allow the parcel to move over the second flight to control the spacing of the parcels.
Regarding Claim(s) 2, the first flight includes a first cam follower (175) on a first end, and the frame includes a first track (117) for engaging the first cam follower to selectively rotate the rotatable panel to a vertical position.
Regarding Claim(s) 3, the first flight comprises a hinge rod (164) connected to the rotatable panel, the hinge rod extending through a bearing support (180) mounted to the first mover, and the cam follower extends from an end of the hinge rod (see Figure 6).
Regarding Claim(s) 8, Fourney et al. teaches a linear transport system comprising an endless rail (132) extending along a first side edge of the conveying surface and a plurality of movers (133), the endless rail housing a plurality of inducers [Para. 31, “inducers”] that interact with the movers to move the movers along the endless rail.
Regarding Claim(s) 9, the conveying surface comprises a raised rib conveyor belt having a series of longitudinal ribs (formed by surfaces of rollers 124) separated by valleys (spaces between rollers).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fourney et al. in view of Fourney as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Wessels et al. (US Pub 20120298657 A1).
Regarding Claim(s) 4, the bearing support is movably mounted to the first mover using fasteners (through base plate 171 and fasteners 172). Fourney et al. fails to teach the fasteners are spring-loaded. Wessels et al. teaches spring-loaded fasteners (40) for mounting two elements for impact resistance [Para. 44, 100, 102]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use spring-loaded fasteners to impart impact resistance to the bearing support.
Claim(s) 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lakey (USPN 5070679) in view of Wessels et al. (US Pub 20120298657 A1)
Regarding Claim(s) 10, Lakey teaches a flight for a dynamic gapping conveyor, comprising: a panel (126) for contacting a parcel; a rod (124) extending from the panel; a cam follower (136) connected to the rod for engaging a track (138) in a frame of the dynamic gapping conveyor; a bearing support housed in a sheath (block 132) for receiving the rod, the bearing support mounted to a mover (chain 94), so that raising the cam follower causes the panel to raise relative to the mover. Lakey fails to teach a plurality of spring-loaded fasteners for mounting the sheath to a mover. Wessels et al. teaches spring-loaded fasteners (40) for mounting two elements for impact resistance [Para. 44, 100, 102]. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person of ordinary skill in the art to use spring-loaded fasteners to mount the sheath to the mover to impart impact resistance to the sheath.
Regarding Claim(s) 11, the panel is rotatably connected to the bearing support. The panel rotates; therefore, it is rotatably connected.
Regarding Claim(s) 12, the cam follower is offset from the rod (as seen in Figure 7).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 5-7, 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 14-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: the prior art fails to anticipate or fairly suggest a plurality of longitudinally extending fingers extending from a lateral connecting bar, combined with the rest of the claim language.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. USPN 9073703 discloses a dynamic gapping conveyor having flights.
/WILLIAM R HARP/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3653