DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 03/19/2025 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-16 are currently pending. Claims 1, 4-7, 9-10, 14, and 16 are amended.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 4 states “the display is configured to display the fixed time period fixedly even based on the temperature adjustor being pressed,” which is confusing language. Examiner recommends updating the language to state “the display is configured to display the fixed time period even when the temperature adjustor is being pressed” or similar.
Claim 5 states “the display is configured to display the fixed time period fixedly even based on the dehydration adjuster being pressed,” which is confusing language. Based on the limitations in claim 5, Examiner is interpreting that the overall execution time remains unchanged, even when the dehydration cycle is adjusted. If this interpretation is correct, Examiner recommends updating the language to state “the display is configured to display the fixed time period even when the dehydration adjustor is being pressed” or similar.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 9 refers to an enhancement member, but it is unclear if the enhancement member is different or the same as a spraying member. For the purpose of examination, Examiner is interpreting the enhancement member is the same as a spraying member.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ahn et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0257021 (henceforth referred to as Ahn).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Ahn teaches a laundry treating apparatus comprising:
a cabinet (Fig. 1 paragraph [0068] body 110);
a tub disposed inside the cabinet to store water therein (FIG. 3 paragraph [0071] tub 130);
a drum rotatably disposed inside the tub to accommodate laundry therein (FIG. 3 paragraph [0075] drum 140);
a driver coupled to the tub to rotate the drum (FIG. 3 paragraphs [0075] and [0203] a motor 150 rotates the drum 140 and a driver 270 drives the motor 150); and
a control panel (FIG. 19 paragraph [0096] control panel 200) including a course selector configured to receive a selection command for selecting a time course to treat the laundry within a fixed time period (paragraph [0102] the period of time required for washing may include a default time displayed before the weight of the laundry is detected), and a display configured to externally display at least one of an amount of laundry and the fixed time period (paragraph [0101] the display 220 displays a period of time required for washing),
wherein the display is configured to, based on the selection command for selecting the time course being input via the course selector, display the fixed time period differently based on the amount of laundry (paragraphs [0102] and [0138] the period of time required for washing may include an operation time displayed after the weight of the laundry is detected. After detecting the weight of the laundry, the processor 240 controls the operation of the display 220 so that the display 220 changes the default time displayed on the display 220 into the actual operation time and displays the actual operation time).
As to claim 2, (Original) Ahn further teaches the display is configured to display the fixed time period larger as the amount of laundry increases (FIG. 12 paragraph [0250] when the actual weight of the laundry detected by the detector is greater than an estimated weight of the laundry corresponding to the weight estimation information, the washing machine may display an actual operation time, which is increased in comparison with the default time).
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) Ahn further teaches the control panel further includes a power member configured to receive a power command for supplying power (paragraphs [0098] and [0117] inputter 210 may include buttons 211 that can receive start, pause, and stop commands. The inputter 210 transmits input information input by the user to the processor 240),
wherein the driver is configured to rotate the drum based on the power member being pressed (paragraph [0205] driver 270 may include a power switching circuit configured to allow or block current flow to the motor 150 in response to an on/off command of the processor 240),
wherein the display is configured to display the fixed time period after the drum starts to rotate (FIG. 10 paragraph [0242]-[0244] according to the operation start command being received, the washing machine detects an actual weight of the laundry by rotating the drum 140 while displaying the default time on the display (284). The washing machine identifies the weight level corresponding to the detected actual weight of the laundry, and displays an actual operation time corresponding to the identified level and the received washing program on the display (285)).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3 and 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0257021 (henceforth referred to as Ahn) in view of Bae U.S. Publication 2016/0222568 (henceforth referred to as Bae).
As to claim 3, (Original) Ahn differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the display is configured to display the fixed time period differently in steps, with each step corresponding to a specific range of the amount of laundry.
Bae teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0029] washing machine). Bae teaches the display is configured to display the fixed time period differently in steps, with each step corresponding to a specific range of the amount of laundry (Table 1 paragraph [0042] as the laundry amount set through the laundry amount setting unit 33 increases, the controller 24 may increase the upper and lower limits of the range of time, which may be input through the time setting unit 32. The display unit 40 displays the lower limit of the time which may be selected as an initial value, and whenever the time setting unit 32 is selected, the time increases by 10 mins. Then, after the time reaches the upper limit, the time may return to the initial value. The 10 minute increments read on the steps corresponding to a specific range of the amount of laundry).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with a way to display the time period in steps. By having increments (or steps), the user will be able to modify the wash cycle according to their preference.
As to claim 10, (Currently Amended) Ahn differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the control panel includes a time adjustor configured to receive a change command for changing the fixed time period of the time course, and
wherein the display is configured to, based on the time adjustor being pressed, display the changed fixed time period.
Bae teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0029] washing machine). Bae teaches the control panel includes a time adjustor configured to receive a change command for changing the fixed time period of the time course (FIGS. 2 and 4 paragraph [0037] time setting unit 32), and
wherein the display is configured to, based on the time adjustor being pressed, display the changed fixed time period (paragraph [0042] whenever the time setting unit 32 is selected, the time displayed through the display unit 40 may be varied).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with a time adjustor as taught by Bae. It is known in the art to adjust the operating time of a laundry cycle to improve the cleaning cycle and minimize water and energy use.
As to claim 11, (Original) Bae further teaches the display has set minimum value and maximum value for the changeable fixed time period (paragraph [0042] the display unit 40 displays the lower limit of the time which may be selected as an initial value, and whenever the time setting unit 32 is selected, the time increases by 10 mins. Then, after the time reaches the upper limit, the time may return to the initial value.).
As to claim 12, (Original) Bae further teaches the display is configured to differently display at least one of the minimum value and the maximum value of the fixed time period changeable via the time adjustor, based on the amount of laundry (Table 1 paragraph [0042] as the laundry amount set through the laundry amount setting unit 33 increases, the controller 24 may increase the upper and lower limits of the range of time, which may be input through the time setting unit 32. The display unit 40 displays the lower limit of the time which may be selected as an initial value, and whenever the time setting unit 32 is selected, the time increases by 10 mins. Then, after the time reaches the upper limit, the time may return to the initial value. The time limit ranges are based on the laundry amount.).
As to claim 13, (Original) Bae further teaches the display is configured to differently display a change unit of the fixed time period changeable via the time adjustor, based on the amount of laundry (Table 1 paragraph [0042] The display unit 40 displays the lower limit of the time which may be selected as an initial value, and whenever the time setting unit 32 is selected, the time increases by 10 mins. Then, after the time reaches the upper limit, the time may return to the initial value. When the user confirms the time through the display unit by selecting operation/stop key 37, the time displayed on the display unit is set as an operation time. The set operation time reads on the claimed change unit.).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0257021 (henceforth referred to as Ahn) in view of Herr et al. U.S. Publication 2003/0024057 (henceforth referred to as Herr).
As to claim 4, (Currently Amended) Ahn further teaches the control panel further includes a temperature adjustor configured to receive an adjustment command for adjusting a water temperature inside the tub (paragraphs [0059] and [0061] a user can select an option such as a water temperature).
Ahn differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the display is configured to display the fixed time period fixedly even based on the temperature adjustor being pressed.
Herr teaches a laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0016] washing machine). Herr teaches the temperature adjustor can be pressed during a cycle (paragraph [0024] the user can adjust the wash/rinse temperature after the laundering option is started).
The combination of Ahn and Herr would teach that the display can display a fixed time even when the temperature adjustor is pressed (Ahn teaches in paragraph [0118] the display 220 displays a default time based on the control command of the processor 240, displays a setting time as an operation time after a predetermined period of time elapses, and displays a remaining time during the execution of the washing program. Herr teaches in paragraph [0024] that during a cycle, the temperature can be adjusted).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with a temperature adjustor as taught by Herr. It is known in the art to be able to adjust temperature of a washing/rinsing water to accommodate for different types of materials being washed.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0257021 (henceforth referred to as Ahn) in view of Im et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0033478 (henceforth referred to as Im) and Kwon et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0305851 (henceforth referred to as Kwon).
As to claim 5, (Currently Amended) Ahn differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the time course includes:
at least one of a washing cycle and a rinsing cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or lower than a reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove foreign substances from the laundry; and
a dehydration cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or higher than the reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove moisture from the laundry,
wherein the control panel further includes a dehydration adjustor configured to adjust an execution time of the dehydration cycle, and wherein the display is configured to display the fixed time period fixedly even based on the dehydration adjustor being pressed.
Im teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] washing machine 100). Im teaches
at least one of a washing cycle and a rinsing cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or lower than a reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove foreign substances from the laundry (paragraph [0165] in turbo washing 212, the contaminant adhered to the laundry is removed by rotating the drum 134. The drum 134 can spin at 108 rpm or more. Alternatively, paragraph [0181] in penetration rinsing 222, the drum 134 is rotated at a speed 1G, i.e., 108 RPM or more, at which the laundry is rotated while being attached to the drum 134); and
a dehydration cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or higher than the reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove moisture from the laundry (paragraph [0187] the drum 134 is maintained at a speed or more where the laundry is rotated while being attached to the drum 134. That is, the drum 134 is preferably rotated at a speed 1G, i.e., 108 rpm or more, where the laundry is rotated while being attached to the drum 134 from the penetration rinsing 222 to the simple dewatering 223).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with rotational speeds as taught by Im. It is known in the art that rotating the drum at high speeds can help remove dirt and remove water during a washing and dewatering cycle.
Kwon teaches a laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 2 paragraph [0143] laundry treating apparatus 20). Kwon teaches wherein the control panel further includes a dehydration adjustor configured to adjust an execution time of the dehydration cycle (FIG. 5 paragraphs [0174] and [0121] third option selection unit 163 for controlling dehydrating strength. An option of the course may be controlled, such as a sustain time of the dehydrating cycle), and
wherein the display is configured to display the fixed time period fixedly even based on the dehydration adjustor being pressed (FIGS. 5b-5d show that the dehydration selection unit 163 is pressed and the time display is fixed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with a dehydration adjuster as taught by Kwon. It is known in the art to modify a dehydration option based on the user’s preference in accordance with the amount of laundry, material of laundry, schedule, etc. (paragraph [0005]).
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) Kwon further teaches based on the dehydration adjustor being pressed and the execution time of the dehydration cycle increasing or decreasing (paragraph [0121] the sustain time of each cycle (including the dehydrating cycle) can be controlled), an execution time of at least one of the washing cycle and the rinsing cycle decreases or increases (if the overall execution time remains the same but the dehydrating cycle time is adjusted, it would have been obvious that either the washing cycle or the rinsing cycle would adjust in response to the dehydrating time).
Claims 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0257021 (henceforth referred to as Ahn) in view of Im et al. U.S. Publication 2015/0033478 (henceforth referred to as Im) and Kim U.S. Publication 2021/0207309 (henceforth referred to as Kim-309).
As to claim 7, (Currently Amended) Ahn differs from the instant claim in failing to teach the time course includes:
at least one of a washing cycle and a rinsing cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or lower than a reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove foreign substances from the laundry; and
a dehydration cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or higher than the reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove moisture from the laundry,
wherein the control panel further includes:
a washing adjuster configured to adjust an intensity of the washing cycle; and
a rinsing adjuster configured to adjust an intensity of the rinsing cycle,
wherein the display is configured to, based on at least one of the washing adjuster and the rinsing adjuster being pressed, display the changed fixed time period.
Im teaches a similar laundry treating apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0033] washing machine 100). Im teaches
at least one of a washing cycle and a rinsing cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or lower than a reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove foreign substances from the laundry (paragraph [0165] in turbo washing 212, the contaminant adhered to the laundry is removed by rotating the drum 134. The drum 134 can spin at 108 rpm or more. Additionally (or alternatively), paragraph [0181] in penetration rinsing 222, the drum 134 is rotated at a speed 1G, i.e., 108 RPM or more, at which the laundry is rotated while being attached to the drum 134); and
a dehydration cycle for rotating the drum at a speed equal to or higher than the reference speed allowing the laundry to be stuck and rotate once or more to remove moisture from the laundry (paragraph [0187] the drum 134 is maintained at a speed or more where the laundry is rotated while being attached to the drum 134. That is, the drum 134 is preferably rotated at a speed 1G, I.e., 108 rpm or more, where the laundry is rotated while being attached to the drum 134 from the penetration rinsing 222 to the simple dewatering 223),
wherein the control panel further includes:
a washing adjuster configured to adjust an intensity of the washing cycle (FIGS. 12 and 14 paragraphs [0130] and [0165] turbo wash button 185 reads on the claimed washing adjuster and turbo washing 212 reads on the claimed intensity of the washing cycle); and
a rinsing adjuster configured to adjust an intensity of the rinsing cycle (FIG. 14 paragraph [0195] and [0197] the turbo wash button 185 reads on the claimed rinsing adjuster and turbo rinsing 225 reads on the claimed intensity of the rinsing cycle. The turbo rinsing 225 is performed only when the turbo wash button 185 is selected),
wherein the display is configured to, based on at least one of the washing adjuster and the rinsing adjuster being pressed, display the changed fixed time period (paragraph [0133] if the turbo wash is set, the washing time display unit 186 displays an expected washing time changed according to the turbo wash).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with rotational speeds as taught by Im. It is known in the art that rotating the drum at high speeds can help remove dirt and remove water during a washing and dewatering cycle. Additionally, it would have been obvious that if the washing or rinsing intensity is increased, dirt can be removed quicker which will result in shorter execution times.
Alternatively (or in addition) to Im’s rinsing adjuster, Kim-309 teaches a laundry treating apparatus (paragraph [0341] washing machine 100). Kim-309 teaches a rinsing adjuster configured to adjust an intensity of the rinsing cycle (FIG. 7 paragraph [0319] when second button 262 is touched or pressed, the number of rinsing times for rinsing the laundry is changed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with a rinsing adjuster as taught by Kim-309. It is known in the art to have a rinsing adjuster in order for the user to modify the rinsing cycle according to their preference.
As to claim 8, (Original) Im and Kim-309 further teaches the washing adjustor is configured to receive a command for adjusting at least one of an execution time of the washing cycle and the number of repetitions of the washing cycle (Im paragraph [0133] if the turbo wash is set, the expected washing time is decreased.),
wherein the rinsing adjustor is configured to receive a command for adjusting at least one of an execution time of the rinsing cycle and the number of repetitions of the rinsing cycle (FIG. 7 paragraph [0319] when second button 262 is touched or pressed, the number of rinsing times for rinsing the laundry is changed).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) Im further teaches comprising a circulation pump configured to circulate water in the tub from the outside of the tub to the inside of the tub, and a spray member configured to supply water supplied from the circulation pump back into the tub (paragraph [0054] a pump 148 is used to drain water discharged from the tub 132 and pressure-feeds the water to a pair of circulation hoses 151 and 152 respectively connected to the first and second gasket nozzles 160 and 170),
wherein the control panel further includes an enhancement member configured to receive a command for performing a turbo shot cycle to re-spray water of the tub into the tub with the spray member (The gasket nozzles 160 and 170 would read on the claimed enhancement members that can perform a turbo shot cycle to re-spray water of the tub into the tub with the spray member, as the gasket nozzles would receive a command due to the turbo wash cycle being selected (see paragraph [0168])), and
wherein based on a command for increasing the intensity of one of the washing cycle and the rinsing cycle being received with the washing adjustor and the rinsing adjustor, the turbo shot cycle is added to the washing cycle and the rinsing cycle (paragraph [0168] in the turbo wash 212, the controller 199 controls the pump 148 to be operated to that the water mixed with the washing detergent in the tub 132 is circulated and then sprayed into the drum 134 through the gasket nozzles 160 and 170).
Claims 15-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ahn et al. U.S. Publication 2019/0257021 (henceforth referred to as Ahn) in view of Kim et al. KR20180048501 (henceforth referred to as Kim-501).
As to claims 15-16, (Original) Ahn further teaches an opening defined in the cabinet to allow the laundry to be introduced therethrough (paragraph [0068] the body 110 forms an inlet on one side of the washing machine, into which the laundry is put into or taken out of.), a door coupled to the cabinet to open and close the opening (paragraph [0069] a door 120 opening and closing the inlet), wherein the display is configured to display the fixed time period (paragraph [0244] the washing machine displays an actual operation time (285)).
Ahn differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a lock configured to lock the door to the cabinet, while the lock unlocks the door; and includes an execution member configured to receive an execution command for executing the time course, wherein the lock is controlled to lock the door based on the execution member being pressed.
Kim-501 teaches a similar laundry treatment apparatus (FIG. 1 paragraph [0013] washing machine 1). Kim teaches a lock configured to lock the door to the cabinet (paragraph [0040] locking part 71);
an execution member configured to receive an execution command for executing the time course, wherein the lock is controlled to lock the door based on the execution member being pressed (paragraph [0092] after selecting a washing course and operation, when the operation button is pressed, the control unit 110 drives a locking device to lock the main door and the auxiliary door).
The combination of Ahn and Kim-501 would result in a display that is configured to display the fixed time period while the door is unlocked. Ahn teaches that the operation time is displayed after a washing program is selected (Ahn FIG. 10 paragraph [0244]) while Kim-501 teaches that the lock is engaged after a washing course is selected and the operation button is pressed (Kim paragraph [0092]). The door will be unlocked after the washing course is selected and prior to the operation button being pressed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the laundry treating apparatus as taught by Ahn with a lock as taught by Kim-501. It is known in the art to use a lock during a cycle of operation as it can be used as a safety measure to prevent a user from opening the door during a cycle of operation.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711