DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being Anticipated by Tiemann (US 2007/0068165).
Regarding claim 1, Tiemann teaches an intermediate shaft cover (Annotated Fig. A) of a gas turbine (1, Fig. 3) including a gas turbine rotor 5 that is rotatable about an axis, and a gas turbine casing (Fig. 3) that covers an outer periphery of the gas turbine rotor (Fig. 3), in which the gas turbine rotor includes a gas turbine rotor shaft (Fig. 3) that extends in an axial direction, a plurality of compressor rotor blade rows that are provided in a portion of the gas turbine rotor shaft on an axial upstream side among the axial upstream side and an axial downstream side in the axial direction (Fig. 3), and a plurality of turbine rotor blade rows that are provided in a portion of the gas turbine rotor shaft on the axial downstream side with an interval from the plurality of compressor rotor blade rows to the axial downstream side (Fig. 3), the intermediate shaft cover comprising: a diffuser (15, 45, Annotated Fig. A) through which compressed air that has passed through the plurality of compressor rotor blade rows can flow and which forms an annular diffuser space centered on the axis (Annotated Fig. A); a tubular inner cover that covers an intermediate rotor shaft between the plurality of compressor rotor blade rows and the plurality of turbine rotor blade rows in the gas turbine rotor shaft, on the axial downstream side with respect to the diffuser (Annotated Fig. A); an annular outer cover 35 that covers an outer peripheral side of the diffuser space and that is connected to the gas turbine casing (Annotated Fig. A); and a strut 55 that extends from an outer periphery of the inner cover to a radial outer side with respect to the axis and that is directly or indirectly connected to the outer cover (Strut is coupled to outer cover 35,wherein the strut includes a thick wall portion having a large thickness in a circumferential direction with respect to the axis (Annotated Fig. A) and a thin wall portion having a smaller thickness in the circumferential direction than the thickness of the thick wall portion (Annotated Fig. A),the thick wall portion is formed in a region including an outer connecting portion that includes an end on the radial outer side and that is directly or indirectly connected to the outer cover (Annotated Fig. A), in the strut, and the thin wall portion is formed in a region including an inner connecting portion that includes an end on a radial inner side with respect to the axis and that is connected to the inner cover, in the strut (Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding claim 2, Tiemann teaches the invention as discussed above and Tiemann further teaches the strut includes a gradual wall thickness change portion in which the thickness in the circumferential direction gradually decreases from the thick wall portion toward the thin wall portion, between the thick wall portion and the thin wall portion (Annotated Fig. A, there is a gradual wall thickness change between the thin and the thick portions).
Regarding claim 4, Tiemann teaches the invention as discussed above and Tiemann further teaches the diffuser includes an outer diffuser 37 that defines an outer peripheral edge of the diffuser space and an inner diffuser 31 that defines an inner peripheral edge of the diffuser space, and the outer cover is the outer diffuser (37 is part of 35, which is defined as the outer cover, Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding claim 7, Tiemann teaches the invention as discussed above and Tiemann further teaches the intermediate shaft cover according to claim 1;the gas turbine rotor (Fig. 3); the gas turbine casing (Fig. 3); and a combustor 9 that is attached to the gas turbine casing and that generates combustion gas by combusting fuel in compressed air that has passed into the diffuser space (¶35), wherein the combustor is formed such that the combustion gas is guided to the plurality of turbine rotor blade rows (Fig. 3).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 5 and 6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAVID P. OLYNICK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741