DETAILED ACTION
Benefit/Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant’s claim for domestic benefit under 35 USC 365 (c) with PCT/JP2023/034151 which in turn has foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d) with JP2022-150307 and JP2022-150308. The certified copies have been filed with the Office on 01/05/2026. Accordingly, the earliest effective filing date was recognized as 09/21/2022.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 03/19/2025 and 01/06/206 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-15 are objected to because of the informalities, below.
Re Claim 1:
The claim lacks a transitional phrase as required under MPEP § 2111.03.
Re Claims 2-5 and 11-12:
The claims are objected to due to their dependence on base claim 1.
Re Claim 6:
The claim lacks a transitional phrase as required under MPEP § 2111.03.
Re Claims 7-10 and 13-15:
The claims are objected to due to their dependence on base claim 6.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sugiyama et al. (US 20190322209 A1; listed as Cite No 1 under US Patent Application Publications in the IDS filed on 03/19/2025; “Sugiyama”).
Re Claim 1:
Sugiyama discloses a drawing lamp (road sign projector 10; shown in at least Figs 1A-1B; described in at least ¶¶ 0049-0052 as well as below) for forming a drawing light distribution pattern (display/arrow images 31-34, Fig 2) by emitting emitted light (Fig 2; ¶ 0052) from a light emitting element (solid-state light sources 41a-41b, 42a-42b, 43a-43c, 44a-44d; Figs 4 and 5a; ¶¶ 0056-0057) toward a front of the lamp (front of 10) via a projection lens (via projection lens plate 20 including projection lenses 21-24; at least Fig 6 transposed with Fig 1; at least ¶ 0054),
wherein a light shielding plate (shades 71-74; Fig 4; ¶ 0056) is disposed between the light emitting element and the projection lens (between 41a-41b, 42a-42b, 43a-43c, 44a-44d and 20-24; Fig 4; ¶ 0056), the light shielding plate (71-74) being configured to shield a part of light traveling from the light emitting element to the projection lens (from 41a-41b, 42a-42b, 43a-43c, 44a-44d and 20; configuration shown in Figs 4, 8A, and 9A; described in at least ¶¶ 0076-0081),
in the projection lens (20), a first projection lens portion (23) for long-distance drawing (33) and a second projection lens portion (22) for short-distance drawing (32) are integrally formed (integral formation shown in at least Fig 3; described in at least ¶ 0055 as projection lenses 21 to 24 are formed to be unified with each other by an injection molding method. Therefore, each of the projection lenses 21 to 24 is made of only one lens) in a state where the first projection lens portion (23) and the second projection lens portion (22) are aligned in a required direction (required direction shown in at least Figs 3-4) intersecting a front-rear direction of the lamp (shown in Fig 4, where the direction from 23-22 intersects the direction from 20 to substrate 12) and in a state where lens effective surfaces of the first projection lens portion (lens effective surfaces of 33) and the second projection lens portion (lens effective surfaces of 32) are adjacent to each other (adjacency shown in Fig 4 transposed with Figs 6, 8A, and 9A),
a first opening (opening 73m) and a second opening (opening 72m) are formed in portions of the light shielding plate (portions shown in Figs 4 and 5B) on a rear side of the lamp of the first projection lens portion and the second projection lens portion (73m and 72m formed on a rear side of 23 and 22, respectively; Fig 4), and
the light emitting element (41a-41b, 42a-42b, 43a-43c, 44a-44d) includes a first light emitting element (43a-43c) and a second light emitting element (42a-42b) that are disposed on a rear side of the lamp of the first opening and the second opening (43a-43c and 42a-42b disposed rear side of 73m and 72m, respectively; Fig 4 transposed with Fig 5A).
Re Claim 3:
Sugiyama further discloses wherein the projection lens (20-25) includes a third projection lens portion (21) for close-distance drawing (31), the third projection lens portion (21) is integrally formed with at least one of the first projection lens portion and the second projection lens portion (integral formation shown in at least Fig 3; described in at least ¶ 0055) in a state where lens effective surfaces of the third projection lens portion (lens effective surfaces of 23) are adjacent to a lens effective surface of at least one of the first projection lens portion and the second projection lens portion (adjacency shown in Fig 4 transposed with Figs 6, 8A, and 9A), a third opening (73m) is formed in a portion of the light shielding plate (specifically 73) on a rear side of the lamp of the third projection lens portion (on rear side of 23; shown in Fig 4), and the light emitting element (41a-41b, 42a-42b, 43a-43c, 44a-44d) includes a third light emitting element (43a-43c) disposed on a rear side of the lamp of the third opening (rear side of 73m; Fig 4 transposed with Fig 5A).
Re Claim 4:
Sugiyama further discloses wherein a plurality of light emitting elements (43a, 43b, and 43c are a plurality) are disposed, as the first light emitting element (43a-43c; Fig 5A).
Claims 6-9 and 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Woo et al. (US 20220120406 A1; listed as Cite No 2 under US Patent Application Publications in the IDS filed on 01/06/2026; “Woo”).
Re Claim 6:
Woo discloses a drawing lamp (vehicle lamp 200; shown in at least Figs 2, 5, and 10-11; described below) for forming a drawing light distribution pattern (road surface pattern 20) by emitting emitted light (Figs 2, 7, and 11) from a light emitting element (from light source unit 300; Fig 7; ¶¶ 0041-0042) toward a front of the lamp via a projection lens (via lens unit 500),
wherein a light shielding plate (shield unit 400) is disposed between the light emitting element and the projection lens (between 300 and 500), the light shielding plate (400) being configured to shield a part of light traveling from the light emitting element to the projection lens (shown in Fig 7 transposed with Fig 11; described conversely by the description of light passing through main transmission apertures 411 and auxiliary transmission apertures 421 in at least ¶¶ 0040 and 0047-0048),
in the projection lens (500), a first projection lens portion for long-distance drawing (auxiliary lens unit 520 for the light distribution pattern (20) furthest from the projection lens (500); Fig 14) and a second projection lens portion for short-distance drawing (perimeter/outside/right-side main lens unit 510 for the middle light distribution pattern (20)) is disposed in a state where the first projection lens portion (520) and a second projection lens portion (right-side 510) are aligned in a required direction (disposed in state of required alignment shown in Fig 14) intersecting the front-rear direction of the lamp (intersecting the direction from 500 to 300; Fig 6),
a plurality of openings (411 and 421) are formed in the light shielding plate (formed in 400), the light shielding plate (400) includes, as the plurality of openings (411 and 421), a first opening (any one of 421) disposed on a rear side of the lamp of the first projection lens portion (Figs 5-6), and a plurality of second openings (all of right-side 411; Fig 5) disposed on a rear side of the lamp of the second projection lens portion (disposed on rear side of right-side 510; Figs 5-6), and
the light emitting element (300) includes a first light emitting element (light source 321) disposed on a rear side of the lamp of the first opening (rear side of any one of 421; Figs 5-6 and 11), and a second light emitting element (right or bottom side light source 311; Fig 5 or 6, respectively) disposed on a rear side of the lamp of the plurality of second openings (rear side of all of right-side 411; Figs 5-6 and 10-11).
Re Claim 7:
Woo further discloses wherein the plurality of second openings (right-side 411) are aligned in an upper-lower direction (Figs 10-11).
Re Claims 8 and 13:
Woo further discloses wherein the second light emitting element (right-side 311) is disposed on a rear side of the lamp of each of the plurality of second openings (Figs 5-6).
Re Claim 9 and 14:
Woo further disclose wherein the plurality of openings (411 and 421) are formed in a positional relationship in which each of a plurality of drawing light distribution patterns (relations ship with all three 20 shown in Fig 11) formed by the light passing through the plurality of second openings (formed by light passing through all of right side 421) and a drawing light distribution pattern (middle 20) formed by the light passing through the first opening (light passing through any one of 411) partially overlap each other (overlap of light passing through any one of 411 and all of right-side 421 shown to partially overlap forming the bottom two drawing light distribution patterns (20) in Fig 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sugiyama.
Sugiyama further discloses wherein a light modifying lens (light guide 63c) for causing emitted light from the plurality of light emitting elements configuring the first light emitting element (43a-43c) to be incident on the first opening (on 73m) is disposed between the first light emitting element and the light shielding plate (between 43a-43c and 73; Figs 4, 5A, 8A, and 9A).
With further regard to the light modifying lens, is a settled principle of law that a mere carrying forward of an original patented conception involving only change of form, proportions, or degree, or the substitution of equivalents doing the same thing as the original invention, by substantially the same means, is not such an invention as will sustain a patent, even though the changes of the kind may produce better results than prior inventions. In re Williams, 36 F.2d 436, 438 (CCPA 1929). In the specific instance the claimed light modifying lens (condenser lens) and Sugiyama’s disclosed light modifying lens (light guide 63c) both cause light to be focused into the first opening (described in at least ¶ 0065 of Sugiyama as a divergence angle of the image projection light emitted from each of the light guides 63a to 63c is small. Therefore, almost all the image projection light that has been emitted from each of the solid-state light sources 43a to 43c and that has passed the shade 73 reaches the projection lens 23). Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize Sugiyama as at least suggesting an equivalent light modifying lens (63) to the claimed light modifying lens (condenser lens) for the purpose of causing light to be focused into the first opening.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 10-12, and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the claim objections set forth in this Office action and include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Re Claim 2:
The closest prior art of record (Sugiyama) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the first projection lens portion is larger in size than the second projection lens portion as set forth in the claim.
Re Claims 11-12:
The claims contain allowable subject matter due to their dependence on intervening claim 2.
Re Claims 10 and 15:
The closest prior art of record (Sugiyama) fails to any one of disclose, teach, suggest, or render obvious the combined structure and functionality of the first projection lens portion is formed to have a larger size than the second projection lens portion as set forth in the respective claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record but not relied upon are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure, because they disclose drawing lamps.
KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE JR.
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2875
/KEITH G. DELAHOUSSAYE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2875