DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, a frictional surface, a surface on the center arm and a frictional surface engagement of claims 4 and 13, a fixing member of claims 9, 10, 18 and 19 and a motor generator of claims 10 and 19 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, line 6, recites “a dynamic pivot around which the tensioner dynamically rotates”. It is unclear what is meant by and how a pivot is dynamic. Dynamic is defined as changing, active, in motion. Pivot is defined as a thing on which something turns. How is the claim further limited using the word dynamic over “a pivot around which the tensioner rotates”? Claim 11 has the same issue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 4, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO2021093836.
As per claim1, WO2021093836 discloses a tensioner (dual arm tensioner) (para [0029]) comprising:
a center arm (13) [first tensioning arm] having a first tensioning pulley (11) journaled thereto and engageable with a mounting surface through a mounting axis (para [0034]);
a side arm (14) [second tensioning arm] having a second tensioning pulley (12) journaled thereto and coupled to the center arm (13) (figs. 1, 2);
a dynamic pivot (15) [first pivot center) (figs. 1, 2)around which the tensioner dynamically rotates (para [0032]); and
the dynamic pivot (15) journaled to the center arm (13).
As per claim3, WO2021093836 as set forth above, discloses a torsion spring (19) [deflection member] disposed between the side arm (14) and the center arm (13) (figs. 1-3).
As per claim 4, WO2021093836 as set forth above, discloses a carrier member (fig. 3) having a frictional surface that engages a surface on the center arm (13), and having a frictional surface engagement with the side arm (14) to damp an oscillatory movement of the side arm (para [0036]).
As per claim 9, WO2021093836 as set forth above, discloses a fixing member (17) [locking member] (fig. 3).
As per claim 10, WO2021093836 as set forth above, discloses the fixing member (17) comprises a bolt (17) configured and arranged to pass through a dynamic pivot center bore (near 15) aligned to the mounting axis of the dynamic pivot (15) to fix the tensioner to a motor generator (50) (para [0030]) (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WO2021093836 in view of Sas, FR2931917.
As per claims 5 and 6, WO2021093836 as set forth above, does not disclose the center arm is stamped or cast. However, Sas in his Belt Guiding and Tensioning Device invention teaches a dual member tensioning device where the members can be made from sheet metal (stamped) or cast (molding an aluminum alloy) (p. 2, paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a center arm from stamping or casting, as taught by Sas, for the purpose of meeting the physical property requirements of the tensioner at an economical price.
As per claims 7 and 8, WO2021093836 as set forth above, does not disclose the side arm is stamped or cast. However, Sas in his Belt Guiding and Tensioning Device invention teaches a dual member tensioning device where the members can be made from sheet metal (stamped) or cast (molding an aluminum alloy) (p. 2, paragraph 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to produce a side arm from stamping or casting, as taught by Sas, for the purpose of meeting the physical property requirements of the tensioner at an economical price.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 2 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails to teach or suggest a tensioner comprising: a center arm having a first tensioning pulley journaled thereto and engageable with a mounting surface through a mounting axis; a side arm having a second tensioning pulley journaled thereto and coupled to the center arm: a dynamic pivot around which the tensioner dynamically rotates; and the dynamic pivot journaled to the center arm;
wherein the dynamic pivot comprises an eccentric bushing.
The closest prior art of record is considered to be WO2021093836. WO ‘836 teaches a similar dual arm tensioner with a pivot joint attachment. However, WO ‘836 has a conventional pivot joint and does not meet the limitation of the pivot joint containing an eccentric bushing, enabling optimized belt tensioning. An International Search Report, dated December 14, 2023, under PCT/US2023/033024 rejected claim 2 wherein the dynamic pivot comprises an eccentric bushing with WO 2000/034686 – Hydraulic Damping Cartridge for a Belt Tensioner. WO ‘686 teaches a single arm tensioner, not a dual arm tensioner, with an eccentric rubber core 64. The eccentric 64 is used to force fluid through channels of the construction as part of overall damper 44. In other words, the search report relies on a single arm tensioner, not a dual arm tensioner as claimed, with an eccentric used as part of a fluid based damping system in conjunction with the base reference WO2021093836 which doesn’t used a fluid based damping system. Therefore, it would not have been obvious to teach this pivot attachment with an eccentric feature to the invention of WO2021093836.
Claims 11-19 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance: see reasons for indication of allowable subject matter above for claim 2.
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654