DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant’s arguments filed 6-8-26 have been fully considered but are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the combination of Pan and Hartnett does not teach of an operation in which, in relation to one or more live broadcast rooms that provide the user an opportunity to participate, a server determines a matching suitability between the user and the one or more hosts corresponding to the one or more live broadcast rooms based on a matching logic of the matching service, and based on the matching suitability, the server decides on a live broadcast room in which the user will participate. The Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As detailed in the claim rejections below, Pan teaches of an operation in which, in relation to one or more rooms that provide the user an opportunity to participate (See Figs. 1-2; video connection room; See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098]), a server determines a matching suitability between the user and one or more second clients corresponding to the one or more rooms based on a matching logic of the matching service, and based on the suitability, the server decides on a room in which the user will participate (See Figs.1-2; See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] sever matches requests and determines matching result for video connection room based on matching results for the user and the second clients) and Hartnett teaches of wherein the video connection rooms is that of a live broadcast rooms, the one or more second clients it that of one or more hosts (See [0033]-[0038], [0044], [0058]-[0079], and [0252]-[0269], [0292]-[0302], and [0303]-[0317]). Hence, it is clear that the combination of Pan and Hartnett teaches of the above claim limitation.
For the reasons stated above and detailed below, the rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-15 and 18-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 2022/0166811 in view of Hartnett et al., US 2022/0070504.
Regarding claim 1, Pan teaches of a method of providing information from a terminal of a user (See [0031], [0051]-[0052] and [0060]-[0090] providing information to server), comprising:
an operation in which an input is obtained requesting to use a matching service for matching with another person (See [0031], [0051]-[0052] and [0060]-[0090] which discloses of the first user sending a request to the server to match with second user(s));
an operation in which, in response to the input requesting to use the matching service, it is checked whether to provide a participation service to the user (See [0031], [0051]-[0052] and [0060]-[0090] checking for a match and to provide the video connection); and
if it is confirmed to provide the participation service to the user, an operation in which information is provided to the user related to participation in a video connection (See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] verification and connection information is provided), and
an operation in which, in relation to one or more rooms that provide the user an opportunity to participate (See Figs. 1-2; video connection room; See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098]), a server determines a matching suitability between the user and one or more second clients corresponding to the one or more rooms based on a matching logic of the matching service, and based on the suitability, the server decides on a room in which the user will participate (See Figs.1-2; See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] sever matches requests and determines matching result for video connection room based on matching results for the user and the second clients).
Pan is silent with respect to the participation service of a video connection being that of a live broadcast and a step in which one or more items of content associated with the user are provided to a viewer of a live broadcast room in which the user is participating, wherein the video connection rooms is that of a live broadcast rooms, and the one or more second clients it that of one or more hosts.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hartnett teaches of the participation service being that of a live broadcast and a step in which one or more items of content associated with the user are provided to a viewer of a live broadcast room in which the user is participating (See [0252]-[0269], [0292]-[0302], and [0303]-[0317]), wherein the video connection rooms is that of a live broadcast rooms, and the one or more second clients it that of one or more hosts (See [0033]-[0038], [0044], [0058]-[0079], and [0252]-[0269], [0292]-[0302], and [0303]-[0317]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Pan to have incorporated the teachings of Hartnett for the mere benefit of being able to share desired content between users.
Regarding claim 2, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 1, wherein the operation in which it is checked whether to provide the live broadcast participation service to the user comprises:
an operation in which information is obtained from a server indicating whether to provide the live broadcast participation service to the user (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0100]-[0107] server provides matching; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317]); and
wherein the server checks one or more pieces of information related to the user, and based on the one or more pieces of information, it is decided whether to provide the live broadcast participation service to the user (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0100]-[0107] server matches based on the information from the users; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317]).
Regarding claim 3, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 2, wherein the one or more pieces of information related to the user comprises one or more of:
information indicating the user's preference related to the provision of the live broadcast participation service, and information about the user's history of attempting to match with another user (See Pan, [0060], profile information/preferences for a match; Hartnett, [0346], [0395], and [0397] preferences).
Regarding claim 4, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 3, wherein information indicating the user's preference is obtained based on one or
more of:
history information related to cases in which the live broadcast participation service was previously provided to the user; and
history information related to cases in which it was previously attempted to provide the live broadcast participation service to the user (See Pan, [0041]-[0044] and [0121]; Hartnett, [0035], [0116]-[0118], [0197]-[0213], [0295], [0325], [0415]-[0416] which discloses of historical matching with respect to the success rate of the connection request and of historical metrics such as previous participation and viewing metrics and of former devices that previously participated).
Regarding claim 5, the method of providing information according to claim 1,
wherein the information related to participating in the live broadcast comprises one or more of:
information about one or more live broadcast rooms that provide the user an opportunity to participate (See Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317]); and
information about the user's wait for the one or more live broadcast rooms (See Hartnett, [0170] and [0266] timer and countdown for waiting).
Regarding claim 6, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 5, wherein the server checks a filter condition that is set for each of the plurality of live broadcast rooms in relation to participation in the broadcast room by the person requesting to use the matching service, and based on the filter condition, the server decides on one or more live broadcast rooms from among the plurality of live broadcast rooms (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0100]-[0107] server matches and filters based on the information from the users; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317] matches/filters based on criteria and metrics).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 6, wherein the filter condition comprises one or more of:
whether the person requesting to use the matching service is allowed to participate in the live broadcast room; and
a condition that the person requesting to use the matching service must satisfy in order to participate in the live broadcast room (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0098]-[0092] matching by the server; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317] which discloses of allowing the requesting viewer who meets criteria to participate).
Regarding claim 8, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 6, wherein the functionality to set the filter condition in exchange for payment is provided to the host of the live broadcast room (See Hartnett, [0043], [0045], [0067], [0212], [0270]-[0274], and [0305]-[0308] bidding and purchase metrics for filtering and prioritizing participants and target devices).
Regarding claim 9, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 5, wherein the information about the user's wait is obtained from the server based on at least some of:
the user's priority in relation to participating in the one or more live broadcast rooms;
the priority of another person requesting to use the matching service; and the priority of a viewer of the one or more live broadcasts (See Pan, [0064]; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317] user priorities with respect to the broadcast room and matching/ranking amongst other users and comparing the score).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 9, wherein, on the assumption that the user is a viewer of the one or more live broadcast rooms, the server determines the user's priority based on a logic for selecting a broadcast participant from among the viewers (See Pan, [0064]; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317] server determines the priorities based on matching order and ranking based on metrics).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 5, wherein, with respect to a particular live broadcast room among the one or more live broadcast rooms, if there are a plurality of participation slots associated with the particular live broadcast room, some of the plurality of participation slots are allocated for participation by persons requesting to use the matching service, and the remaining slots are allocated for participation by viewers of the particular live broadcast room (See Pan, [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] ;Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317] which discloses of multiple slots being available and filling the slots according to requests and priority and matching).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 5, wherein the operation in which information related to participating in the live broadcast is provided comprises an operation in which functionality is provided for interacting with a host of the one or more live broadcast rooms (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0098]-[0092]; Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0150]-[0168], [0229], [0235], [0248]-[0317], [0338], [0378] interactions such as likes and comments).
Regarding claim 13, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 1, wherein the matching suitability is further determined based on one or more of: a preference of the user, a country of the user, a language of the user, a gender of the user, and interests of the user (See Pan, [0051]-[0052] and [0055]-[0075]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 1, further comprising an operation in which, if information indicating that the user's participation in the live broadcast is not permitted is obtained during the user's participation in a live broadcast, provision of at least some of the information related to participation in the live broadcast is stopped (See Hartnett, [0051], [0059], [0112]-[0116], [0160]-[0168], [0229], [0235], and [0248]-[0317] which discloses of the user threshold no longer being met or of presence/activity or other metrics are not met, the user is replaced and therefore participation for the viewer is stopped).
Regarding claim 15, the combination teaches the method of providing information according to claim 1, further comprising an operation in which if the user is participating in a live broadcast, one or more pieces of information related to the user's live broadcast participation are recorded (See Hartnett, [0208], [0295], [0357], and [0415]-[0416] content and user interactions are recorded).
Regarding claim 18, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 19, the claim has been analyzed and rejected for the same reasons set forth in the rejection of claim 1. Furthermore, the combination teaches the terminal of a user that provides information, comprising a transceiver (See Pan, Fig.1 and Fig.12 [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] network interface for communication of sending and receiving), a memory that stores commands, and a processor (See Pan Fig.12, memory and processor); wherein the processor: is connected to the transceiver and the memory (See Pan Fig.1 and Fig.12, [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] processor is connected to the network interface).
Regarding claim 20, Pan teaches a method of providing information from a server (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], and [0060]-[0092] server provides information), comprising:
an operation in which, in relation to a user requesting to use a matching service for matching with another person, it is checked whether to provide a participation service to the user (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0098]-[0092] user requests a match for connection to another user/group based on match);
an operation in which if it is confirmed to provide the participation service to the user, information is obtained about one or more rooms that provide the user an opportunity to participate (See Pan, [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0090] and [0098]-[0092] information of at least connectivity information is provided such that the participation is performed);
an operation in which, a server determines a matching suitability between the user and one or more second clients corresponding to the one or more rooms based on a matching logic of the matching service, and based on the suitability, the server decides on a room in which the user will participate (See analysis of claim 1; Figs.1-2; See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098] server matches requests and determines matching result for video connection room based on matching results for the user and the second clients).
an operation in which, in relation to one or more viewers and/or second clients corresponding to one or more rooms, information about the user is provided to at least some terminals of the one or more viewers/second clients (See analysis of claim 1; Figs.9-10 and [0003], [0091]-[0106] information sent to the host/second device of at least the room, avatar, and information identification of the user).
Pan is silent with respect to the participation service of a video connection being that of a live broadcast and a step in which one or more items of content associated with the user are provided to a viewer of a live broadcast room in which the user is participating, wherein the video connection rooms is that of a live broadcast rooms, and the one or more second clients it that of one or more hosts.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hartnett teaches of the participation service being that of a live broadcast and a step in which one or more items of content associated with the user are provided to a viewer of a live broadcast room in which the user is participating (See [0252]-[0269], [0292]-[0302], and [0303]-[0317]), wherein the video connection rooms is that of a live broadcast rooms, and the one or more second clients it that of one or more hosts (See [0033]-[0038], [0044], [0058]-[0079], and [0252]-[0269], [0292]-[0302], and [0303]-[0317]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Pan to have incorporated the teachings of Hartnett for the mere benefit of being able to share desired content between users/hosts.
Regarding claim 21, Pan teaches the method of providing information from a terminal of a viewer/another person/second client (See Pan, [0003], [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], and [0060]-[0092] information passed to the second client/device), comprising:
an operation in which: with respect to a user requesting to use a matching service for matching with another person, it is checked whether the user will be provided an opportunity to participate in a room of the viewer/another person/second client (See Pan, [0003], [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], and [0060]-[0092] user requests for a match to another person and server determines whether an opportunity exists for a video connection);
an operation in which, if it is confirmed that the user will be provided an opportunity to participate in the room of the viewer/another person/second client, a priority of the user is checked with respect to participating in the room of the viewer/another person (See Pan, [0003], [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], and [0060]-[0092] priority according to the matching algorithm is performed);
an operation in which a matching suitability between the user and the other viewers/second client is determined based on a matching logic of the matching service (See analysis of claim 1; Figs.1-2; See [0003], [0031], [0051]-[0052], [0060]-[0098])
an operation in which it is determined, based on the priority and the matching suitability, whether the user will participate in the room (See analysis of claim 1;Pan, [0003], [0024]-[0031], [0051]-[0052], and [0060]-[0092] matching based on the priority algorithm).
Pan is silent with respect to the participation service being that of a live broadcast, the viewers/another person/second client being one or more hosts, and an operation in which, if the user participates in the room, one or more items of content associated with the user are provided to a viewer of room.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Hartnett teaches of the participation service being that of a live broadcast, the viewers/another person/second client being one or more hosts, a step in which, if the user participates in the room, one or more items of content associated with the user are provided to a viewer of room (See analysis of claim 1; See [0033]-[0038], [0044], [0058]-[0079], [0252]-[0269], [0292]-[0302], and [0303]-[0317]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Pan to have incorporated the teachings of Hartnett for the mere benefit of being able to share desired content between users/hosts.
4. Claims 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 2022/0166811 in view of Hartnett et al., US 2022/0070504, and in further view of Zavesky et al., US 10,498,973.
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Pan and Hartnett teaches the method of providing information according to claim 1, wherein if the user is participating in the live broadcast, at least some of the one or more contents are provided to viewers of the live broadcast room (See analysis of claim 1).
The combination is silent with respect to the content being in an altered form.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Zavesky teaches of the content being in an altered form (See col.3 lines 1-25 blurring).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Pan and Hartnett to have incorporated the teachings of Zavesky for the mere benefit of parental controls for objectionable materials.
5. Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pan et al., US 2022/0166811 in view of Hartnett et al., US 2022/0070504, in further view of Zavesky et al., US 10,498,973, and in further view of Pranger et al., US 2023/0022986.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Pan, Hartnett, and Zavesky teaches the method of providing information according to claim 16, wherein, if a set condition is satisfied, the one or more contents are provided to viewers of the live broadcast room in unaltered form (See Zavesky, col.3 lines 1-25 blurring is based on the user preferences); and wherein the set condition comprises one or more of: whether there is an explicit request from the user, whether the viewer satisfies a set criterion, and whether another person who has participated in the live room satisfies a set criterion (See Zavesky, col.3 lines 1-25 user condition of personal preferences which satisfies criteria of what is objectionable and what is not).
The combination is silent with respect to the removing of the alteration.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Pranger teaches of the removing of the alteration (See [0024]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the teachings of Pan, Hartnett, and Zavesky to have incorporated the teachings of Pranger for the mere benefit of parental controls for objectionable materials.
Conclusion
6. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact
/Ricky Chin/
Primary Examiner
AU 2424
(571) 270-3753
Ricky.Chin@uspto.gov