DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's rebuttal of the claim interpretation of "pitch setting system" under 35 U.S.C §112(f) is not persuasive, MPEP 2181 VI. recites;
"In response to the Office action that determined 35 U.S.C. 112(f) was invoked, if applicant does not want to have the claim limitation interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) applicant may: (1) present a sufficient showing to establish that the claim limitation recites sufficient structure to perform the claimed function so as to avoid interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f); or (2) amend the claim limitation in a way that avoids interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) (e.g., by reciting sufficient structure to perform the claimed function)."
However, the Applicant has not presented evidence constituting a sufficient showing to establish that the claim limitation recites sufficient structure to perform the claimed function (beyond asserting that a person of ordinary skill is well aware of what the Applicant considers a pitch setting system), indicated which claim limitations provide said structure, or amended the claim limitation in a way that avoids interpretation under 35 U.S.C. 12(f).
Therefore, "a pitch setting system" in claim 16, 28, and 30 will continue to interpreted as, "at least one actuator for each of the blades" as on page 13 of the immediate specification, or equivalents thereof. (emphasis added).
Applicant's arguments filed 10/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the argument (page 6) that Wang does not disclose the third and fourth information of Applicant’s independent claims 16, 28, and 30.
The Examiner respectfully asserts that Wang et al. discloses providing a third information which is representative for a critical area of thrust forces and tilt bending moments (Pg. 11:6-35; the dynamic look up table); and determining fourth information depending on:
the first information (M_SHtilt; Pg. 9:24-26; Pg. 10:11, “M_SHtilt may be the result of a nonlinear result of three different M_bladeroot values”),
the second information which is representative for a thrust force acting on the rotor (110 operational values; Pg. 8:21-22 “torque”);
the third information (Pg. 11:6-35; the dynamic look-up table);
wherein determining the fourth information based on the first information (tilt bending moment), second information (torque), and third information (the dynamic look-up table), which changes the lower limit of the IPC set point to control the hub bending to avoid extreme tip clearance (the TCC is shown in Page. 9:6-end; and shows that the inputs change at least the lower set points in the IPC set point table) and therefore shows ultimately the dynamic look-up table is dependent on not only the wind speed and calibrated hub moment value, but also the data (M_SHtilt, torque, pitch angle, generator speed, thrust) that is collected and inputted through the TCC.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 16-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (WO 2019/200526 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Wang et al. discloses a method for operating a wind turbine (1) having a rotor (4) with at least one rotor blade (5), a tower (2) and a pitch setting system for setting a pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade (Pg. 1:22-31), the method comprising:
providing a first information which is representative for a tilt bending moment acting on the rotor (M_SHtilt, Pg. 9:24-26; Pg. 10:11, "M_SHtilt may be the result of a nonlinear result of three different M_bladeroot values");
providing a second information which is representative for a thrust force acting on the rotor (110 operational values, Pg. 8:21-22, "torque");
providing a third information which is representative for a critical area of thrust forces and tilt bending moments (Pg. 11:6-35; the dynamic look-up table);
determining fourth information depending on the first information, the second information, and the third information which is representative for whether the tilt bending moment and the thrust force lie within the critical area (Pg. 11:6-35); and
if the tilt bending moment and the thrust force lie within the critical area, generating an output signal configured to cause the pitch setting system to change the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade in order to leave the critical area (Pg. 11:6-35).
Regarding claim 17, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 16 as above, wherein: the rotor includes two or more rotor blades (Fig. 1); and, the output signal is configured to collectively change the pitch angles of all of the two or more blades (Pg. 11:6-35).
Regarding claim 18, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 16 as above further comprising:
providing fifth information which is representative for a bending moment of the at least one rotor blade (150, "blade load values"); and,
wherein the first information is determined depending on the fifth information (Pg. 10:11) via a coordinate transform from a rotating reference frame to a fixed reference frame (Pg. 10:12; M_SHtilt is a nonlinear result of plural rotationally dependent values).
Regarding claim 19, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 18 as above, wherein the coordinate transformation is a Coleman transformation (Pg. 11:7-10).
Regarding claim 20, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 18 as above, wherein the fifth information is determined depending on measurements taken via a first sensor system (Pg. 4:30-31).
Regarding claim 21, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 16 as above, wherein the second information is determined depending on measurements taken via a second sensor system (Claim 1 indicates separation between operational values 110 which include the torque and the blade load values 150, and therefore has a separate sensor system for reading the second values)
Regarding claim 22, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 16 as above, wherein the third information is determined via computer simulations of the wind turbine (200) simulating a distance of the at least one rotor blade to the tower (8) when passing the tower in dependence on the tilt bending moment and the thrust force ("A TC Model 200 is used to simulate tip clearance. Since tip clearance may not be used directly as an in-put to the controller, then turbine performance or operation signals are used to reconstruct the tip clear-ance. Such operational values may include blade root loads, pitch angles, generator speed, torque, and hub tilt moment." Pg. 9:6-9).
Regarding claim 23, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 16 as above, further comprising: providing sixth information which is representative for a desired pitch angle change to be caused by the pitch setting system (312, pitch command); and,
wherein the output signal includes the sixth information and is configured to cause the pitch setting system to change the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade by the desired pitch angle change (Fig. 7, see Set-Point going to the IPC (individual pitch controller) and Pitch Command going back to the Wind Turbine 1 from the IPC).
Regarding claim 24, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 23 as above, further comprising: providing seventh information (Pg. 4:14-19, "The dynamics may be in that the upper limit profile and/or the lower limit profile change as a function of say wind speeds.
This may be advantageous during extreme wind conditions such as wind shear and wind change condi-tions. In example, if a change or a fast change, of say hub load, is detected, then a (individual) pitch command or set point lower limit value may be increased or the upper limit value may be decreased to anticipate the behaviour of pitch commands.") which is representative for a wind turbulence intensity at the rotor; and wherein the sixth information is determined depending on the seventh information ("individual pitch command or set point lower limit may be increased...").
Regarding claim 25, Wang et al. discloses a computer program (400) comprising instructions store on a non-transitory computer readable medium (Pg. 7:24), wherein the instruction, when the program is executed by a computer (Pg. 7:24), cause the computer to carry out the method of claim 16 as above (Claim 10).
Regarding claim 26, Wang et al. discloses a computer-readable data carrier having the computer program of claim 25 (as above) stored thereon (Pg. 7:24).
Regarding claim 27, Wang et al. discloses a device comprising at least one processor (Pg. 7:24) configured to perform the method of claim 16 as above.
Regarding claim 28, Wang et al. discloses a control system (1000) for operating a wind turbine (1) having a rotor (4) with at least one rotor blade (5), a tower (2) and a pitch setting system for setting a pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade (Pg. 1:22-31), the control system comprising:
a first sensor system configured to take measurements (150) via which a tilt bending moment acting on the rotor is determinable (M_SHtilt, Pg. 9:24-26; Pg. 10:11, "M_SHtilt may be the result of a nonlinear result of three different M_bladeroot values");
a second sensor system (110) configured to take measurements via which a thrust force acting on the rotor is determinable (7:4-9, Pg. 3:19-20, "torque");
a control device (1000) including a processor and a non-transitory computer medium having program code is stored thereon (Pg. 7:24);
said program code being configured, when executed by the processor, to;
provide first information which is representative for a tilt bending moment acting on the rotor (M_SHtilt, Pg. 9:24-26; Pg. 10:11, "M_SHtilt may be the result of a nonlinear result of three different M_bladeroot values");
provide second information which is representative for a thrust force acting on the rotor (110 operational values, 7:4-9, Pg. 3:19-20, "torque");
provide third information which is representative for a critical area of thrust forces and tilt bending moments (Pg. 11:6-35; the dynamic look-up table);
determine fourth information depending on the first information, the second information, and the third information which is representative for whether the tilt bending moment and the thrust force lie within the critical area (Pg. 11:6-35); and
if the tilt bending moment and the thrust force lie within the critical area, generating an output signal configured to cause the pitch setting system to change the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade in order to leave the critical area (Pg. 11:6-35);
said control device being signally connectable to said first sensor system and second system in order to provide said control device with measurements of said first sensor system and said second sensor system (Claim 1); and,
said control device being signally connectable to the pitch setting system in order to provide the pitch setting system with said output signal of said control device so that the pitch setting system sets the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade depending on said output signal (Claim 5).
Regarding claim 29, Wang et al. discloses all of claim 28 as above, wherein: said first sensor system includes at least one strain sensor coupled to the at least one rotor blade (Claim 8); and,
said second sensor system includes at least one sensor for measuring the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade and at least one sensor for measuring a rotational velocity of the rotor (110, 7:4-9, Pg. 3:19-20).
Regarding claim 30, Wang et al. discloses a wind turbine (1) comprising: a rotor (4) with at least one rotor blade (5);
a tower (2);
a pitch setting system (IPC, Fig. 7; Pg. 4:7-9) for setting a pitch angle (Pg. 3:19-20) of the at least one rotor blade; and,
a control system (Fig. 2) including a first sensor system configured to take measurements (150) via which a tilt bending moment acting on the rotor is determinable (M_SHtilt, Pg. 9:24-26; Pg. 10:11, "M_SHtilt may be the result of a nonlinear result of three different M_bladeroot values");
a second sensor system (110) configured to take measurements via which a thrust force acting on the rotor is determinable (7:4-9, Pg. 3:19-20, "torque");
a control device (1000) including a processor and a non-transitory computer medium having program code is stored thereon (Pg. 7:24);
said program code being configured, when executed by the processor, to; provide first information which is representative for a tilt bending moment acting on the rotor (M_SHtilt, Pg. 9:24-26; Pg. 10:11, "M_SHtilt may be the result of a nonlinear result of three different M_bladeroot values");
provide second information which is representative for a thrust force acting on the rotor (110 operational values, 7:4-9, Pg. 3:19-20, "torque");
provide third information which is representative for a critical area of thrust forces and tilt bending moments (Pg. 11:6-35; the dynamic look-up table);
determine fourth information depending on the first information, the second information, and the third information which is representative for whether the tilt bending moment and the thrust force lie within the critical area (Pg. 11:6-35); and
if the tilt bending moment and the thrust force lie within the critical area, generating an output signal configured to cause the pitch setting system to change the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade in order to leave the critical area (Pg. 11:6-35);
said control device being signally connectable to said first sensor system and second system in order to provide said control device with measurements of said first sensor system and said second sensor system (Claim 1); and,
said control device being signally connectable to the pitch setting system in order to provide the pitch setting system with said output signal of said control device so that the pitch setting system sets the pitch angle of the at least one rotor blade depending on said output signal (Claim 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RYAN C CLARK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3745