DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-9 and 11-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception without significantly more. The judicial exception being an abstract idea. The claim(s) recite(s) receiving data, analyzing data, determining a value and displaying an output from received, analyzed, and determined data similar to Electric Power Group v. Alstom, S.A., 830 F.3d 1350, 1353-54, 119 USPQ2d 1739, 1741-42 (Fed. Cir. 2016) a claim to "collecting information, analyzing it, and displaying certain results of the collection and analysis," where the data analysis steps are recited at a high level of generality such that they could practically be performed in the human mind and found to be patent ineligible. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because when the claims are considered as a whole, there is no element or combination of elements in the claims that are sufficient to ensure that the claims amount to significantly more that the abstract idea itself. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the claims fail to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the processor itself, and/or meaningful limitation beyond generally link the use of an abstract idea to a particular environment (i.e. there is not structural relationship between the abstract idea of receiving data, analyzing data, and displaying an output from received and analyzed data). The use of a computer/processor is merely generic. Therefore, because there is no meaningful limitations in the claim to transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that the claim amounts to significantly more than the exception itself, the claim is rejected under 35 USC 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-9, 11-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Min et al. (US 20210256693).
Regarding claim 1, Min discloses a computer-implemented method of planning an intravascular plaque treatment procedure for a vessel (abstract), the method comprising:
receiving computed tomography (CT) data representing the vessel generating (section 0016), from the CT data, a cross-sectional representation of the vessel at each of a plurality of positions along the vessel (section 0016);
extracting, from the cross-sectional representation, plaque data comprising at least one measurement of a plaque deposit at the plurality of positions along the vessel (Section 0016);
outputting a graphical representation 116 of the plaque data (Fig. 1, section 0132);
determining, based on the plaque data, a recommended value of at least one parameter of an intravascular treatment device for use in the intravascular plaque treatment procedure 118 (Fig. 1, section 0133); and
outputting the recommended value 122 of the at least one parameter (Fig. 1, Section 0133-0134).
Regarding claim 2, Min discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the generating the cross-sectional representation of the vessel at each of the plurality of positions along the vessel (Section 0012), comprises:
identifying, from the CT data a centerline of the vessel, and wherein the cross-sectional representation of the vessel is generated at the plurality of positions along the centerline of the vessel (Fig. 7U-W, section 0062-0063, 0315).
Regarding claim 3, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 2, wherein the identifying the centerline of the vessel, comprises
determining a centerline of the lumen of the vessel, and defining the centerline of the vessel as the centerline of the lumen (Fig. 7U-W, section 0062-0063, 0315).
Regarding claim 4, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the at least one measurement of the plaque deposit comprises at least one of:
a thickness of the plaque deposit (Section 0142), a depth of the plaque deposit from a centerline of the vessel, an angular extent of the plaque deposit around the centerline of the vessel, and an eccentricity of the plaque deposit.
Regarding claim 5, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the plaque data further comprises
an estimation of a length of the plaque deposit along the vessel (Section 0136); and
wherein the estimation of the length of the plaque deposit along the vessel is calculated based on a separation between the plurality of positions along the vessel corresponding to proximal and distal ends of a contiguous set of cross-sectional representations in which at least one measurement of the plaque deposit exceeds a predetermined value (Section 0136, 0141).
Regarding claim 6, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
extracting, from the cross-sectional representation, at least one of lumen data or vessel wall data for the vessel, the lumen data comprising at least one measurement of a lumen of the vessel and the vessel wall data comprising at least one measurement of a wall of the vessel, at the plurality of positions along the vessel (sections 0139, 0208).
Regarding claim 7, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 6, wherein the method further comprises:
estimating, for cross-sectional representation wherein at least one measurement of the plaque deposit exceeds a threshold value (section 0014), a plaque-free measurement of the lumen at a corresponding position along the vessel (Section 0142-0143); and
wherein the estimated plaque-free measurement of the lumen is determined based on a corresponding measurement of the lumen from a neighboring cross-sectional representation wherein the at least one measurement of the plaque deposit is below the threshold value (Section 0142-0143).
Regarding claim 8, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 3, wherein
the CT data comprises spectral CT data defining X-ray attenuation of the vessel in a plurality of different energy intervals (section 0152); and
wherein at least one of the extracting plaque data, the determining the centerline of the lumen of the vessel or extracting lumen data for the vessel, comprises applying a material decomposition algorithm to the spectral CT data (section 0426).
Regarding claim 9, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 8, wherein
the extracting plaque data comprises applying a material decomposition algorithm to the spectral CT data to identify a type of the plaque deposit at the plurality of positions along the vessel (section 0426).
Regarding claim 11, Min discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 1, wherein:
the intravascular treatment device comprises an intravascular lithotripsy (IVL) balloon, and wherein the at least one parameter comprises one or more of:
a size of the IVL balloon, a location of the IVL balloon with respect to the plaque deposit, a number of shock wave pulses to deliver to the vessel from one or more shock wave emitters of the IVL balloon, an IVL balloon pressure to use during a delivery of shock waves to the vessel from the IVL balloon (section 0114); or
the intravascular treatment device comprises a laser atherectomy catheter, wherein the at least one parameter comprises one or more of: a size of the laser atherectomy catheter, a location of the laser atherectomy catheter with respect to the plaque deposit, a fluence of optical irradiation emitted by the laser atherectomy catheter, a repetition rate of optical pulses emitted by the laser atherectomy catheter, a duty cycle of optical irradiation emitted by the laser atherectomy catheter, and an advancement speed of the laser atherectomy catheter; or the intravascular treatment device comprises an orbital atherectomy device, and wherein the at least one parameter comprises one or more of:
an advancement speed of the orbital atherectomy device, a size of the orbital atherectomy device, a location of the orbital atherectomy device with respect to the plaque deposit, and a rotation speed of the orbital atherectomy device; or
the intravascular treatment device comprises a rotablation atherectomy device, and wherein the at least one parameter comprises one or more of:
a location of the rotablation atherectomy device with respect to the plaque deposit, an advancement speed or length of the rotablation atherectomy device, a retreatment length or speed of the rotablation atherectomy device, a burr size of the rotablation atherectomy device, and a rotation speed of the rotablation atherectomy device; or the intravascular treatment device comprises a scoring or cutting balloon, and
wherein the at least one parameter comprises one or more of:
a location of the balloon with respect to the plaque deposit, a size of the balloon, an inflation pressure of the balloon, a blade length of the balloon, and an inflation time of the balloon.
Regarding claim 12, Min discloses the computer-implemented method according to claim 11, wherein
the recommended value of the at least one parameter is determined based further on a value of the a corresponding at least one parameter from one or more similar historic intravascular plaque treatment procedures (Section 0172, 0444).
Regarding claim 13, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 12, wherein
the one or more similar historic intravascular plaque treatment procedures (section 0172) comprise at least one of:
a procedure performed using a similar type of intravascular treatment device;
a procedure performed in a similar type of vessel;
a procedure performed in a vessel having a similar geometry;
a procedure performed in a vessel having similar plaque data;
a procedure performed in a vessel having similar lumen data;
a procedure performed on a subject having a similar body mass index (Section 0180);
a procedure performed on a subject having the same gender (Section 0172);
a procedure performed on a subject having a similar age (Section 0172).
Regarding claim 14, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 1, further comprising:
receiving X-ray projection image data representing the vessel, the X-ray projection image data being generated during the intravascular plaque treatment procedure (Section 0124);
registering the CT data to the X-ray projection image data (section 0124); and
outputting a graphical representation 116 of the X-ray projection image data and the CT data as an overlay image (Fig. 1, section 0124).
Regarding claim 15, Min discloses The computer-implemented method according to claim 14, further comprising:
receiving input data representing a delivery of a treatment to the vessel by the intravascular treatment device (Section 0130); and
updating the overlay image based on the received input data, wherein the updating comprises including in the overlay image 116, 118 an indication of the delivery of the treatment to the vessel (Fig. 1, Section 0130, 0132-0133).
Regarding claim 16, Min discloses a system for planning an intravascular plaque treatment procedure for a vessel, the system comprising:
a processor operatively coupled to memory (section 0012); the processor configured to: receive CT data representing the vessel (Section 0016);
generate, from the CT data, a cross-sectional representation of the vessel at each of a plurality of positions along the vessel (Section 0016);
extract, from the cross-sectional representation, plaque data comprising at least one measurement of a plaque deposit at the plurality of positions along the vessel (Section 0016);
output a graphical representation 116 of the plaque data (Fig. 1, section 0132);
determine, based on the plaque data, a recommended value of at least one parameter of an intravascular treatment device for use in the intravascular plaque treatment procedure 118 (Fig. 1, section 0133); and
output the recommended value 122 of the at least one parameter (Fig. 1, Section 0133-0134).
Regarding claim 17, Min discloses The system according to claim 16, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive X-ray projection image data representing the vessel, the X-ray projection image data generated during the intravascular plaque treatment procedure (Section 0124);
register the CT data to the X-ray projection image data (section 0124); and
output a graphical representation 116 of the X-ray projection image data and the CT data as an overlay image (Fig. 1, section 0124).
Regarding claim 18, Min discloses The system according to claim 17, wherein the processor is further configured to:
receive input data representing a delivery of a treatment to the vessel by the intravascular treatment device (Section 0130); and
update the overlay image 116, 118, based on the received input data, to include an indication of the delivery of the treatment to the vessel in the overlay image (Fig. 1, Section 0130, 0132-0133).
Regarding claim 19, Min discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored a computer program comprising instructions for planning an intravascular plaque treatment procedure for a vessel (section 0012), the instructions, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:
receive CT data representing the vessel (Section 0016);
generate, from the CT data, a cross-sectional representation of the vessel at each of a plurality of positions along the vessel (Section 0016);
extract, from the cross-sectional representation, plaque data comprising at least one measurement of a plaque deposit at the plurality of positions along the vessel (Section 0016);
output a graphical representation 116of the plaque data (Fig. 1, section 0132);
determine, based on the plaque data, a recommended value of at least one parameter of an intravascular treatment device for use in the intravascular plaque treatment procedure 118 (Fig. 1, section 0133); and
output the recommended value 122 of the at least one parameter (Fig. 1, Section 0133-0134).
Regarding claim 20, Min discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 19, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
receive X-ray projection image data representing the vessel, the X-ray projection image data generated during the intravascular plaque treatment procedure (Section 0124);
register the CT data to the X-ray projection image data (Section 0124); and
output a graphical representation 116, 118 of the X-ray projection image data and the CT data as an overlay image (Fig. 1, Section 0124).
Regarding claim 21, Min discloses the non-transitory computer-readable storage medium according to claim 20, wherein the instructions, when executed by the processor, further cause the processor to:
receive input data representing a delivery of a treatment to the vessel by the intravascular treatment device (Section 0130); and
update the overlay image 116, 118, based on the received input data, to include an indication of the delivery of the treatment to the vessel in the overlay image (Fig. 1, Section 0130, 0132-0133).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20200222018 A1
US 20120243764 A1
US 20110071404 A1.
/JON ERIC C MORALES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796 /J.C.M/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3796