DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier.
Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “speed reduction mechanism” in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Osborne (6843506).
Regarding claim 1, the Osborne reference discloses a fuel gas supply device (Figure 3) comprising: a gas supply pathway (14) for supplying fuel gas to a tank (11); a nozzle (12) that is provided on the side of one end of the gas supply pathway to be connected to the tank; and a breakaway coupling (18) that is provided in the middle of the gas supply pathway to separate the gas supply pathway to one side that is on the side of the nozzle and the other side that is on the opposite side to the nozzle side (see col. 4, lines 3-20), characterized by including: a speed reduction mechanism (24, 34) located closer to the side of the nozzle than the breakaway coupling in the middle of the gas supply pathway (bite 34 is located toward nozzle side; see Fig. 9C), wherein the speed reduction mechanism, when the breakaway coupling is separated to a nozzle-side coupling and a counter nozzle-side coupling, reduces a speed of the separated nozzle-side coupling (see col. 4, lines 35-47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2 – 4 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Claim 2 further defines the nozzle-side coupling and the nozzle are connected on one side of the gas supply pathway by a hose having flexibility, and the restriction member restricts the separating direction of the separated nozzle-side coupling to a direction in which the hose extends. None of the cited prior art, alone or in combination, teach this.
Claims 3 and 4 are dependent upon claim 2.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
The Cardona reference (9625074) discloses another breakaway coupling for a high pressure conduit having a speed reduction mechanism (34, 36; Fig. 5).
The Abrams reference (8800586) discloses another breakaway coupling for a high pressure conduit having a speed reduction mechanism (49; Fig. 6).
The Waterman et al. reference (3859692) discloses another breakaway coupling (14, 15) for a high pressure conduit (13) having a speed reduction mechanism (11; Fig. 1).
/TIMOTHY L MAUST/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3753