DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-11, and 13-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 36-46 and 51-53 are drawn to a method, a system, and a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, which is/are statutory categories of invention (Step 1: YES).
Step 2A Prong One
Independent claim 1 recites extracting an uplift probability feature set from the received patient data; analyzing, at a first time point, the uplift probability feature set to determine an uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization; analyzing, at a second time point a second uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization and generating an average uplift probability from the determine uplift probabilities; comparing the generated average uplift probability to a predetermined uplift probability threshold to determine a recommendation, wherein the recommendation is to keep the hospitalized patient hospitalized when the generated average uplift probability is below the predetermined uplift probability threshold, and wherein the recommendation is to discharge the hospitalized patient when the generated average uplift probability is above the predetermined uplift probability threshold; and providing the recommendation to a user.
Independent claim 10 recites (ii) extract an uplift probability feature set from the received patient data; (iii) analyze, at a first time point, the uplift probability feature set to determine an uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization; (iv) analyze, at a second time point a second uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization and generate an average uplift probability from the determine uplift probabilities; (v) compare the generated average uplift probability to a predetermined uplift probability threshold to determine a recommendation, wherein the recommendation is to keep the hospitalized patient hospitalized when the generated average uplift probability is below the predetermined uplift probability threshold, and wherein the recommendation is to discharge the hospitalized patient when the generated average uplift probability is above the predetermined uplift probability threshold; and provide the recommendation to a user.
Independent claim 16 recites extract an uplift probability feature set from the received patient data; analyze, at a first time point, the uplift probability feature set to determine an uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization; analyze, at a second time point a second uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization and generate an average uplift probability from the determine uplift probabilities; compare the generated average uplift probability to a predetermined uplift probability threshold to determine a recommendation, wherein the recommendation is to keep the hospitalized patient hospitalized when the generated average uplift probability is below the predetermined uplift probability threshold, and wherein the recommendation is to discharge the hospitalized patient when the generated average uplift probability is above the predetermined uplift probability threshold; and provide the recommendation to a user
The respective dependent claims 3-9, 11, 13-15, and 17-22, but for the inclusion of the additional elements specifically addressed below, provide recitations further limiting the invention of the independent claim(s).
Said above recited limitations, as drafted, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover functions performable in the mind or with a pen and paper, as reflected in the specification, which states the invention is to “determining a home care uplift probability for a hospitalized patient” (see: specification page 1, lines 3-4). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind or with a pen and paper, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. The present claims cover mental processes because they address abstract problems whereby “[h]ospital stays can have serious complications for patients as a result of negative events such as hospital-acquired infections, falls, delirium, and depression, making a stay in the hospital even longer” (see: specification page 1, lines 6-8). Said problems are addressed with abstract solutions involving observation, evaluation, judgment, and opinion whereby, “as a safe alternative for a hospitalization due to an acute episode, hospital systems explore the opportunity of care virtualization. Instead of staying in the hospital, patients are discharged and receive care at home using digital virtual care support such as remote patient management (RPM). Hospitals therefore aim at discharging patients earlier, but within safe bounds and with post-discharge home care support, in order to reduce inpatient costs and avoid hospital-acquired complications” (see: specification, page 1, lines 25-29). Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea(s) (Step 2A Prong One: YES).
Step 2A Prong Two
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. The claims are abstract but for the inclusion of the additional elements including an “by a trained uplift probability algorithm…via a user interface…” (claim 1), “a trained uplift probability algorithm trained to analyze an uplift probability feature set for the hospitalized patient to determine an uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization; a user interface; and a processor configured to:…by the trained uplift probability algorithm…via the user interface…” (claim 10), “via the user interface” (claim 3), “via a user interface of a clinical decision support system” (claim 6), “via a user interface of a mobile device” (claim 7), “via the user interface…” (claim 8), “via the user interface” (claim 13), “via a user interface of a clinical decision support system” (claim 14), “via a user interface of a mobile device” (claim 15), “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having stored a computer program comprising instructions, which, when executed by a processor, cause the processor to:…by a trained uplift probability algorithm…via a user interface…” (claim 16), “via the user interface” (claim 17), “via a user interface of a clinical decision support system” (claim 20), “via a user interface of a mobile device” (claim 21), and “via the user interface” (claim 22), which are additional elements that are recited at a high level of generality (e.g., the “uplift probability algorithm” is configured through no more than a statement than that it is “trained” such that analysis “by” said algorithm determines a result; the “user interface” is configured through no more than a statement than that functions such as providing and receiving data are performed “via” said interface; the “processor” is implemented through no more than a statement than that it is “configured to” perform functions; the “clinical decision support system” is configured through no more than a statement than that the user interface is “of” said system; the “mobile device” is configured through no more than a statement than that the user interface is “of” said device; the “non-transitory computer-readable storage medium” is configured through no more than a statement than that a “stored” computer program, when “executed by” a processor, will “cause” the processor to perform the instructions of the computer program) such that they amount to no more than mere instruction to apply the exception using generic computer elements. See: MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claims recite the additional elements of “receiving patient data from a medical record database” (claim 1), “(i) receive patient data from a medical record database” (claim 10), “a medical record database comprising the patient data” (claim 11), and “receive patient data from a medical record database” (claim 16), which are nominal or tangential addition to the abstract idea(s) and amount to extra-solution activity concerning mere data gathering and storage. The addition of an insignificant extra-solution activity limitation does not impose meaningful limits on the claim such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention. In the claimed context, these claimed additional elements are incidental to the performance of the recited abstract idea(s) as outlined in the recitations above. Similarly, the claims recite the additional elements of “implementing, by the clinician, the provided recommendation” (claim 8), which are considered an insignificant post-solution activity concerning an insignificant application, and similarly, the addition of insignificant extra-solution activity does not impose meaningful limits on the claim such that it is not nominally or tangentially related to the invention. In the claimed context, these claimed additional elements are incidental to the performance of the recited abstract idea(s) as outlined in the recitations above. See: MPEP 2106.05(g).
The combination of these additional elements is no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer elements and limitations directed toward extra-solution activity. Accordingly, even in combination, these additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea(s) into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea(s). Accordingly, the claims are directed to an abstract idea(s) (Step 2A Prong Two: NO).
Step 2B
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above with respect to integration of the abstract idea(s) into a practical application, using the additional elements to perform the abstract idea(s) amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic elements. Mere instructions to apply an exception using generic elements cannot provide an inventive concept. See MPEP 2106.05(f).
The claimed additional elements directed toward extra-solution activity, identified above, are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because they are representative of concepts identified by the courts to be extra-solution activity and/or to perform well-understood, routine, and conventional activities previously known to the industry. The claims include limitations to receiving patient data from a medical record database, and a medical record database comprising the patient data, which are representative of concepts of receiving or transmitting data over a network such as by using the Internet to gather data or sending messages over a network (Symantec; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc.; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc.), storing and retrieving information in memory (Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc.), and/or electronic recordkeeping (Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l; Ultramercial). The claims further include limitations to implementing, by the clinician, the provided recommendation, which are representative of concepts to immunizing a patient against a disease (Classen Immunotherapies, Inc. v. Biogen IDEC) and/or cutting hair after first determining the hair style (In re Brown). See: MPEP 2106.05(d)(II) and MPEP 2106.05(g).
The claimed additional elements directed to pre-solution and post-solution activity, identified above, each amount to extra-solution activity and/or do not provide anything other than well‐understood, routine, and conventional functions when claimed in a merely generic manner (as they are presently). Viewing the limitations as an ordered combination, the claims simply instruct the additional elements to implement the concept described above in the identification of abstract idea(s) with routine, conventional activity specified at a high level of generality in a particular technological environment. Hence, the claims as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and as an ordered combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea(s) (Step 2B: NO).
Dependent claim(s) 3-9, 11, 13-15, and 17-22, when analyzed as a whole, considering the additional elements individually and/or as an ordered combination, are held to be patent ineligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the additional recited limitation(s) fail(s) to establish that the claim(s) is/are not directed to an abstract idea(s) without significantly more. These claims fail to remedy the deficiencies of their parent claims above and are therefore rejected for at least the same rationale as applied to their parent claims above and incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-11, and 13-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Application Publication 2020/0411193 to Wald in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2019/0066151 to Michaeli further in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication 2006/0206013 to Rothman.
As per claim 10, Wald teaches a system for determining a home care probability for a hospitalized patient, the system comprising:
a trained probability algorithm trained to analyze an probability feature set for the hospitalized patient to determine an probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization (see: Wald, paragraph [0021]: a prediction model trained to predict a likelihood that a patient will be readmitted with pneumonia within a future time interval based on the selected features is an adverse promotional probability algorithm for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization);
a user interface (see: Wald, FIG. 1A, ele. 142; and paragraph [0026]-[0027] and [0154]: emitting or otherwise electronically communicating a recommendation or notification to a caregiver responsible for the patient's care, such as a physician or nurse, where the notification may be presented via a user/clinician interface); and
a processor configured to (see: Wald, Fig. 1A and 1B; paragraph [0032]: Computer system 120 comprises one or more processors operable to receive instructions and process them accordingly and may be embodied as a single computing device or multiple computing devices communicatively coupled to each other; paragraphs [0038]-[0039]: memory 184, one or more processors 186, one or more presentation components 188, input/output (I/0) ports 190, input/output components 192, and computer storage media includes both volatile and nonvolatile, removable and non-removable media implemented in any method or technology for storage of information such as computer-readable instructions, data structures, program modules or other data):
(i) receive patient data from a medical record database (see: Wald, Fig. 1A; Fig. 2; and paragraph [0023]: EHR system 160; paragraphs [0046], a plurality of patient information is received. The patient information may comprise current patient data, patient demographic data, and/or historical patient data. In exemplary aspects, current patient data includes data relating to the patient's current encounter (e.g., the current admission into the healthcare facility). The current encounter information may include a diagnosis of and/or treatment for pneumonia, which may be community-acquired, healthcare-associated, viral, bacterial, and the like; paragraph [0048] all patient data is received at step 210 from the patient's EMR);
(ii) extract an probability feature set from the received patient data (see: Wald, Fig. 2; and paragraph [0049]-[0050]: the set of features within the patient's data used for each one of the ten machine learning models of the ensemble);
(iii) analyze, at a first time point, the probability feature set by the trained probability algorithm to determine an probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization (see: Wald, paragraph [0049]: generating the prediction, the likelihood of the patient being readmitted);
(v) compare the probability to a predetermined probability threshold to determine a recommendation, (see: Wald, paragraph [0154]: initiating one or more intervening actions based on readmission intervening the predicted likelihood of with pneumonia, wherein an action includes emitting a notification, the notification indicating the predicted probability of the patient being readmitted with pneumonia within the future time interval, and presenting instructions to not discharge the patient or to discharge patient with particular discharge instructions; paragraph [0157]: the intervening actions being initiated automatically based on a threshold); and
provide, via the user interface, the recommendation to a user (see: Wald, paragraph [0154]: the notification indicating the predicted probability of the patient being readmitted with pneumonia within the future time interval, and presenting instructions to not discharge the patient or to discharge patient with particular discharge instructions).
Wald teaches that the patient is recommended to be discharged if the readmission probability is below a threshold, and is recommended to remain hospitalized if the readmission probability is above the threshold (see: Wald, paragraphs [0154] and [0157]), and also generally that a threshold level may vary depending on the action such that, when the threshold is satisfied, an action is automatically initiated (see: Wald, paragraph [0157]), but Wald fails to specifically teach an uplift probability wherein the recommendation is to keep the hospitalized patient hospitalized when the uplift probability is below the predetermined uplift probability threshold, and wherein the recommendation is to discharge the hospitalized patient when the uplift probability is above the predetermined uplift probability threshold; however, Michaeli teaches computing an uplift value as the difference between the rate of a desired action for a variation and the rate of that action for control content serving as a benchmark (see: Michaeli, paragraph [0178]), and selecting recommendations having an uplift above a predefined threshold (see: Michaeli, paragraph [0214]), computed for clusters of target entities defined by their features (see: Michaeli, paragraph [0038]), and the variations include medical treatments for a patient, assigned according to patient characteristics such as blood test results (see: Michaeli, paragraphs [0035], [0101], and [0127]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the threshold-based discharge recommendation as taught by Wald, with discharge as the treatment and continued hospitalization as the control, to compare an uplift probability against the predetermined threshold as taught by Michaeli with the motivation of determining which of two or more alternatives results in a higher probability of a desired outcome for a target entity defined according to its features (see: Michaeli, paragraph [0103]).
Wald and Michaeli fail to specifically teach a generated average uplift probability determined by functions to (iv) analyze, at a second time point a second uplift probability for discharge of the hospitalized patient versus continued hospitalization and generate an average uplift probability from the determine uplift probabilities; however, Rothman teaches recalculating a patient score at multiple time points during a hospital stay, at periodic or irregular intervals (see: Rothman, paragraphs [0101]-[0102]), using the current score together with the patient’s past scores (see: Rothman, paragraph [0037]), and displaying a running average of the calculated scores over time (see: Rothman, Fig. 10; and paragraph [0114]-[0116]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the uplift probability as taught by Wald and Michaeli to be determined at a first and second time point during the hospital stay and to generate an average uplift probably from the determined uplift probabilities as taught by Rothman with the motivation of reducing the effect of noise caused by large variations between individual score measurements such that a running average of the scores more reliably reflects the trend in the patient’s condition over time (see: Rothman, paragraphs [0114] and [0116]).
As per claim 11, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 10, and further teach:
a medical record database comprising the patient data (see: Wald, Fig. 1A; and paragraphs [0023], [0048]: patient’s EMR and EMR systems).
As per claim 13, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 10, and further teach:
wherein, to provide the recommendation to the user, the processor is further configured to provide one or more of patient information and the generated average uplift probability to the user via the user interface (see: Wald, FIG. 1A, ele. 142; and paragraph [0026]-[0027] and [0154]: emitting or otherwise electronically communicating a recommendation or notification to a caregiver responsible for the patient's care, such as a physician or nurse, where the notification may be presented via a user/clinician interface).
As per claim 14, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 10, and further teach:
wherein the recommendation is provided via a user interface of a clinical decision support system (see: Wald, FIG. 1A, ele. 142; and paragraphs [0026]-[0027] and [0154]: user/clinician interface 142 takes the form of a graphical user interface on a computing device).
As per claim 15, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 10, and further teach:
wherein the recommendation is provided via a user interface of a mobile device (see: Wald, FIG. 1A, ele. 142; and paragraphs [0026]-[0028] and [0154]: user/clinician interface 142 takes the form of a graphical user interface on a computing device such as a mobile computing device).
Claims 1, 3, 6-7, 16-17, and 20-21 repeat the subject matter of claims 10 and 13-15, which have been shown to be fully disclosed by the cited prior art in the rejections above; as such, claims 1, 3, 6-7, 16-17, and 20-21 are rejected here for the same reasons given in the above rejections of claims 10 and 13-15, which are incorporated herein.
As per claim 4, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the first time point is triggered by a care event for the hospitalized patient (see: Wald, paragraph [0046]: current patient data includes data relating to the patient's current encounter (e.g., the current admission into the healthcare facility) where the current encounter information may include a diagnosis of and/or treatment for pneumonia).
As per claim 5, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
wherein the first time point is a predetermined time point at a particular time during the hospitalized patient's stay (see: Rothman, paragraphs [0101]-[0102]: recalculating a patient score at multiple time points during a hospital stay, at periodic or irregular intervals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the uplift probability as taught by Wald and Michaeli to be determined where recalculating a patient score is performed at multiple time points at periodic or irregular intervals during a hospital stay as taught by Rothman with the motivation of reducing the effect of noise caused by large variations between individual score measurements such that a running average of the scores more reliably reflects the trend in the patient’s condition over time (see: Rothman, paragraphs [0114] and [0116]).
As per claim 8, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 1, and further teach:
receiving, from a clinician via the user interface, a decision regarding the provided recommendation (see: Wald, FIG. 1A, ele. 142; and paragraph [0027]: user/clinician interface 142 facilitates accessing and receiving and display of predictions (including plotting or displaying the determined outcome and/or issuing an alert), results, recommendations, or orders, and also facilitates receiving orders, such as orders for more resources, from a user based on the results of predictions, and may also be used for providing diagnostic services or evaluation of the performance of various embodiments); and
implementing, by the clinician, the provided recommendation (see: Wald, paragraph 154-157: one or more intervening actions may be initiated where an intervening action may include modifying the patient's discharge protocol to one that is designed to reduce the likelihood of readmission, requiring additional approval of discharge by a care provider (which may require further examination by a care provider), providing discharge instructions tailored to reduce the risk of readmission due to pneumonia, scheduling a follow up appointment with a care provider within a specified time from discharge, ordering additional testing, and prescribing medications designed to reduce the risk of pneumonia developing, scheduling a time for a care provider to see the patient prior to discharge or scheduling a follow-up appointment within a designated time period that is less than the time period (e.g., 30 days) for which the pneumonia readmission is forecasted, electronically adding one or more documents with special discharge instructions to a queue associated with the patient's record, additional testing to confirm the increase risk and medications may be ordered prior to patient's discharge).
As per claim 9, Wald, Michaeli, and Rothman teach the invention as claimed, see discussion of claim 8, and further teach:
wherein the provided recommendation is a recommendation to discharge the hospitalized patient (see: Wald, paragraph 154-157: one or more intervening actions may be providing discharge instructions tailored to reduce the risk of readmission due to pneumonia, and the notification indicating the predicted probability of the patient being readmitted with pneumonia within the future time interval, and presenting instructions to discharge patient with particular discharge instructions).
Claims 18-19 and 22 repeat the subject matter of claims 4-5 and 22, which have been shown to be fully disclosed by the cited prior art in the rejections above; as such, claims 118-19 and 22 are rejected here for the same reasons given in the above rejections of claims 4-5 and 22, which are incorporated herein.
Conclusion
/ROBERT A SOREY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3682